Mayo V Galway

Replying To realdub:  "Great draw for the neutrals. Looking very much forward to this one."
Great draw is right and the whole Country will love watching this match between two very good teams....really looking forward to this game!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 01/07/2019 18:46:01    2203835

Replying To katser:  "Great draw is right and the whole Country will love watching this match between two very good teams....really looking forward to this game!!"
Ahh now. Two very good teams??? That's stretching it a bit. One without a shed load of players through injuries and the other that won't leave their own half.
For me it's mayo despite the amount of injuries, until Galway actually come up and go man to man , which is a pity as I have a soft spot for Galway (always have had) but their current way of playing is doing them no favors at all . Hopefully they will be allowed to take the shackles off and go for it. If they do they win. But I don't think management will allow that. Pity. But here's hoping

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/07/2019 19:07:43    2203849

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh now. Two very good teams??? That's stretching it a bit. One without a shed load of players through injuries and the other that won't leave their own half.
For me it's mayo despite the amount of injuries, until Galway actually come up and go man to man , which is a pity as I have a soft spot for Galway (always have had) but their current way of playing is doing them no favors at all . Hopefully they will be allowed to take the shackles off and go for it. If they do they win. But I don't think management will allow that. Pity. But here's hoping"
Maybe they meant two very good teams compared to meath

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 01/07/2019 19:15:54    2203856

Been to watch Mayo play twice in Limerick, 2 very enjoyable games for a neutral. Definitely not missing this.
25 euro to watch Mayo in the qualifiers is a bargain, most of there games are priceless. Thats not meant as an insult just great entertainment.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 01/07/2019 19:18:20    2203861

Any word on Lee Keegan yet. He looked banjaxed as he was helped off. He'll hardly be playing at the weekend but will he be back at all this year?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 01/07/2019 20:16:33    2203906

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Bit unfair on Galway having to play this game in Limerick with Mayo having playing there a few times in the last few years. Almost their second home ground!"
True...A friend of mine in Limerick is happy anyway...the local economy gets a boost whenever Mayo roll into town. Unlike Da Kerry folk he reckons who still eat hang sandwiches and flasks of tea from da boot....;) Up Mayo

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/07/2019 20:16:41    2203908

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh now. Two very good teams??? That's stretching it a bit. One without a shed load of players through injuries and the other that won't leave their own half.
For me it's mayo despite the amount of injuries, until Galway actually come up and go man to man , which is a pity as I have a soft spot for Galway (always have had) but their current way of playing is doing them no favors at all . Hopefully they will be allowed to take the shackles off and go for it. If they do they win. But I don't think management will allow that. Pity. But here's hoping"
you embarrass Meath everytime you post on the HS.
You kicked 4 points against Dublin, you just about got over Offaly in Navan and were lucky againt Laois.
Id pipe down if i were you.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 01/07/2019 20:46:31    2203931

Replying To Belclare:  "I wonder who said no first?"
Guarantee it was Mayo, the same crowd who agreed to play Kerry in the neutral venue of Limerick in 2014 (Kerry to Limerick around 2 hrs from some part, Mayo to Limerick 3-4 hrs).
Another issue is the prize for whoever wins, a trip to Killarney to play Kerry the following week, that means either Galway or Mayo supporters have to travel down that same road again twice in a week, co boards not thinking of their supporters, local businesses or sponsors, be hard to ask a business for sponsorship next year after sticking up their 2 fingers to your business last year by refusing the 50/50 chance of a massive match in your town

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/07/2019 20:48:47    2203935

Replying To katser:  "Great draw is right and the whole Country will love watching this match between two very good teams....really looking forward to this game!!"
Cant wait to host You in the wonderful city of Limerick Kathy. Irelands 3rd biggest and in my view most beautiful city.

Just to warn You though I know You love bitter but You wont find it in any of the lovely Limerick pubs

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 01/07/2019 20:53:07    2203938

Replying To catch22:  "Any word on Lee Keegan yet. He looked banjaxed as he was helped off. He'll hardly be playing at the weekend but will he be back at all this year?"
Won't be fit for Galway sadly...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 01/07/2019 20:55:42    2203941

Should be a very competitive game

Galway currently have Mayo's number but it's not been the best year so far for Galway

Mayo's injuries, very unlucky and if they had a couple of them boys I'd fancy them

They'll be sweating on Keegan, I'd expect to see COC start, they need him.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/07/2019 21:01:13    2203946

Replying To yew_tree:  "Won't be fit for Galway sadly..."
Wouldn't rule him out just yet if it's a sprain but highly unlikely he will play.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 01/07/2019 21:02:29    2203948

Replying To yew_tree:  "True...A friend of mine in Limerick is happy anyway...the local economy gets a boost whenever Mayo roll into town. Unlike Da Kerry folk he reckons who still eat hang sandwiches and flasks of tea from da boot....;) Up Mayo"
How would he know anything about the kerry folk, when we met Mayo and all the complaining with the fixture fixed for Limerick I think we had played there once in 9 years but justice prevailed in the end with a Kerry win so all was good -)

Hopefully Mayo do win though as would make for a better game in Killarney then it would if Galway got through, should be a cracker anyway on Saturday.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 01/07/2019 21:02:56    2203949

Replying To Breezy:  "Cant wait to host You in the wonderful city of Limerick Kathy. Irelands 3rd biggest and in my view most beautiful city.

Just to warn You though I know You love bitter but You wont find it in any of the lovely Limerick pubs"
5th biggest.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 01/07/2019 21:03:36    2203952

For anyone planning to spent a bit of time in the city on match day the 2 famous eateries are Dinkeys for the fish and chips or chicken hut which does a gravy that puts KFC to shame and is even better than that spot in Cork that they love down there.

And if you are after a pint do visit Tom Collins. Its not a GAA pub but it is possibly the nicest little pub ive ever been to in the world

Honorable mention too for JJ Bowles and Curraghgower by the river and on your route back to town, Mother Macs for craft beer or Nancys for a late one. And dont shy away from the dark dingy pubs as Limerick is full of hidden gems

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 01/07/2019 21:04:41    2203955

Replying To Breezy:  "Cant wait to host You in the wonderful city of Limerick Kathy. Irelands 3rd biggest and in my view most beautiful city.

Just to warn You though I know You love bitter but You wont find it in any of the lovely Limerick pubs"
Ireland's 3rd biggest city???- Sean South would be proud of you,

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 01/07/2019 21:18:15    2203969

Replying To gunman:  "5th biggest."
Apologies. Its 4th with the north included

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 01/07/2019 21:21:54    2203972

I'll never understand the obsession in Limerick with that take away gravy! Gravy for me is what comes with the Sunday roast, the Limerick version is just awful!

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 01/07/2019 21:22:45    2203974

God I would love it if the Clare lads put some manners on ye!

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 01/07/2019 21:26:37    2203976

Replying To Breezy:  "For anyone planning to spent a bit of time in the city on match day the 2 famous eateries are Dinkeys for the fish and chips or chicken hut which does a gravy that puts KFC to shame and is even better than that spot in Cork that they love down there.

And if you are after a pint do visit Tom Collins. Its not a GAA pub but it is possibly the nicest little pub ive ever been to in the world

Honorable mention too for JJ Bowles and Curraghgower by the river and on your route back to town, Mother Macs for craft beer or Nancys for a late one. And dont shy away from the dark dingy pubs as Limerick is full of hidden gems"
Ssh. Don't give away our secrets.
Katser will love it here so much she might not leave!!

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1057 - 01/07/2019 21:27:27    2203978