Mayo V Galway

Replying To morris8:  "its a pitty the 3 best teams in connaught are not playing this weekend"
well we have the top 2 i dont think leitrim was going to make it this year

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 12/07/2019 14:19:25    2209964

Replying To mayo_123:  "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"
LOL. As if you know anything about how good winning Sam feels! Are you over 80?

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 12/07/2019 14:26:07    2209968

Replying To Galway2019:  "What would a Dub know about Galway and Mayo rivalry, you prob couldn't even point out where either are located on a Map.

It's a bit of craic, Galway and Mayo people will always be arguing and slagging each other over our football teams. That's why last weekend was more about bragging rights than anything."
Insulting comment.I have Galway connections and a great Grá for Galway teams who I always found entertaining to watch because of their style and the sporting way they played the game.
I can certainly point it out on the map.
Mayo on the other hand I always found them to be a bit delusional with a higher than normal cohort of boors in their support.
After Tyrone the worst fans I have encountered.
I can also point to them on the map by the way.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 12/07/2019 14:34:22    2209974

Replying To Condorman:  "LOL. As if you know anything about how good winning Sam feels! Are you over 80?"
wind in nobody said anything about winning sam its about best 2 teams in connaught read it again

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 12/07/2019 14:34:50    2209975

Replying To mayo_123:  "wind in nobody said anything about winning sam its about best 2 teams in connaught read it again"
Replying To mayo_123: "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"

I've highlighted, underlined, and italicized your own words to remind you of the time you wrote about winning Sam in the past tense. Though, on a technicality, you did write "wining".

Just trying to be helpful. You're welcome.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/07/2019 16:14:58    2210015

Replying To Condorman:  "Insulting comment.I have Galway connections and a great Grá for Galway teams who I always found entertaining to watch because of their style and the sporting way they played the game.
Mayo on the other hand I always found them to be a bit delusional with a higher than normal cohort of boors in their support.
I can also point to them on the map by the way."
It's amazing how so many lads will slate fans of other counties without a critical eye being cast whatsoever towards their own fans. It's like some weird form of one upmanship. Any thoughts on the relative number of "boors" within the Dublin support? Where would you think Dublin fans as a group rank in terms of the best and worst in Ireland? And specifically what makes Mayo fans a bit delusional?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/07/2019 16:17:17    2210016

Replying To the_walls:  "It's amazing how so many lads will slate fans of other counties without a critical eye being cast whatsoever towards their own fans. It's like some weird form of one upmanship. Any thoughts on the relative number of "boors" within the Dublin support? Where would you think Dublin fans as a group rank in terms of the best and worst in Ireland? And specifically what makes Mayo fans a bit delusional?"
Someone who compares soccer teams to Gaa teams probably only started following Dublin in 2011. I wouldn't get to strung out from his likes. The true Dublin supporters are some of the soundest you will meet, not these bandwagon ones.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 12/07/2019 17:13:47    2210032

Replying To the_walls:  "It's amazing how so many lads will slate fans of other counties without a critical eye being cast whatsoever towards their own fans. It's like some weird form of one upmanship. Any thoughts on the relative number of "boors" within the Dublin support? Where would you think Dublin fans as a group rank in terms of the best and worst in Ireland? And specifically what makes Mayo fans a bit delusional?"
Dublin has its fair share of boors too ok? We have more fans than anyone else so we have more who are inclined to be obnoxious too.
My point is that Mayo seems to have a disproportionate amount of them.
Regarding the delusion I have know plenty of Mayo supporters and talking to them about football would leave you under the impression they had 30 All Ireland's won instead of 3.
A lot of the self regard seems to be based on the fact that ye ran Dublin very close in a couple of finals.
Close be no cigar!

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 12/07/2019 17:27:24    2210040

Replying To Condorman:  "Insulting comment.I have Galway connections and a great Grá for Galway teams who I always found entertaining to watch because of their style and the sporting way they played the game.
Majority of Dub fans are soccer fans who jump on the GAA bandwagon
to pass time during the summer.
Mate of mine couldn't even name the Dublin team when i put the question to him in the pub last week...
and he claims to be die hard fan.
Reckon 5 out of every 10 know jack about GAA

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 12/07/2019 18:09:26    2210056

Replying To Condorman:  "Dublin has its fair share of boors too ok? We have more fans than anyone else so we have more who are inclined to be obnoxious too.
My point is that Mayo seems to have a disproportionate amount of them.
Regarding the delusion I have know plenty of Mayo supporters and talking to them about football would leave you under the impression they had 30 All Ireland's won instead of 3.
A lot of the self regard seems to be based on the fact that ye ran Dublin very close in a couple of finals.
Close be no cigar!"
So what are you basing the disproportionate thing on? Absolutely nothing would be my guess but sure welcome to the wonderful world of the internet I suppose. Mayo have a huge fan base too, that's bound to amplify the "boorish" element just like Dublin. But again, lads see what they want to see and ignore the same behaviour from their own. You seem to have Mayo and then Tyrone down as the worst fans in Ireland. Again I'll ask you, where would you place Dublin in these rankings?

So the whole delusion thing is on the back of purely anecdotal evidence thanks to a few Mayo fans you've talked to. What specifically did they say that was delusional? I'm obviously not looking for a word for word quote but an approximate summary of the discussions you've had with these Mayo lads. Thanks in advance

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/07/2019 18:21:46    2210060

Replying To festinog:  "Replying To mayo_123: "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"

I've highlighted, underlined, and italicized your own words to remind you of the time you wrote about winning Sam in the past tense. Though, on a technicality, you did write "wining".

Just trying to be helpful. You're welcome."
you have plenty time now for spell check

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 12/07/2019 18:27:24    2210066

Replying To Galway2019:  "Someone who compares soccer teams to Gaa teams probably only started following Dublin in 2011. I wouldn't get to strung out from his likes. The true Dublin supporters are some of the soundest you will meet, not these bandwagon ones."
I live in Dublin and play football up here. I'd agree that the majority of Dublin GAA fans are sound as a pound. The last final I was sitting in the cussack a good while after the final whistle, still properly upset and had plenty of Dubs who were going by genuinely commiserating. Outside the ground some auld Dub in his 60s going in the opposite direction just roaring abuse at any green and red jeresys, "ya culchie losers" with a few expletives thrown. I roared back at him as I wasn't all in the humour. Loads of Dubs who saw it came up to me afterwards apologising and insisting that lads like him don't represent Dublin GAA. I couldn't agree more, but I appreciated them saying it. The vast majority of Dublin GAA people, just like their counterparts in Mayo (despite some of the crazy stuff to the contrary on this thread) are bang on

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/07/2019 18:29:50    2210068

Replying To mayo_123:  "
Replying To festinog:  "Replying To mayo_123: "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"

you have plenty time now for spell check"
Good deflection.

I can see how as a Mayo supporter you'd need help from spell check when it comes to writing "winning". I bet you can spell "maybe next year" with your eyes closed though.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/07/2019 20:17:11    2210100

Replying To BeJasus:  "Majority of Dub fans are soccer fans who jump on the GAA bandwagon
to pass time during the summer.
Mate of mine couldn't even name the Dublin team when i put the question to him in the pub last week...
and he claims to be die hard fan.
Reckon 5 out of every 10 know jack about GAA"
That's nonsense. Having lived and worked in Dublin on and off for years, I've met any number of mad GAA fans, a fair few casual fans, and a few self-confessed band-wagoners. But far more of the former than the latter, and that was going back to before this period of dominance when they were still actually getting beaten by other Leinster teams. We can all pull out stories about 'lads we met in pubs', but you don't fill a stadium with fair-weather supporters; just go to Pearse stadium on match day to see that for a fact.

You want to see bad GAA supporters? Look no further than our own county unfortunately. You could walk around the city on match-day and have absolutely no idea there was even a game in Pearse until after the fulltime whistle and you'd see the other county supporters walking up shop street. Usually Mayo lads goggle-eyed at buildings with stone roofs, more than two stories high, and no cow pats on the ground. God love'em.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/07/2019 20:26:37    2210106

Replying To the_walls:  "I live in Dublin and play football up here. I'd agree that the majority of Dublin GAA fans are sound as a pound. The last final I was sitting in the cussack a good while after the final whistle, still properly upset and had plenty of Dubs who were going by genuinely commiserating. Outside the ground some auld Dub in his 60s going in the opposite direction just roaring abuse at any green and red jeresys, "ya culchie losers" with a few expletives thrown. I roared back at him as I wasn't all in the humour. Loads of Dubs who saw it came up to me afterwards apologising and insisting that lads like him don't represent Dublin GAA. I couldn't agree more, but I appreciated them saying it. The vast majority of Dublin GAA people, just like their counterparts in Mayo (despite some of the crazy stuff to the contrary on this thread) are bang on"
Couldn't agree more. The only time I got grief from GAA supporters was the time in 2001 when I made the mistake of going into the Aulde Dubliner after the Leinster final to meet a mate for some scoops. The other Dub's, still smarting from the experience, heard my 'cuchie' accent and got a little boisterous.

I got an all together different welcome when I went back in September of that year. Good times.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/07/2019 20:30:11    2210108

Agree. Silly comment from a fellow Galway poster. Most Galway football fans I have come across in 35 yrs going to Galway games are grand. At times we could be louder. Am a dual fan. Different experience with some fellow Galway hurling fans. Maybe it is because the game is faster but i had to calm a Galway fan down at that wonderful semi final match v Kilkenny in 2005.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 12/07/2019 21:14:44    2210130

Replying To festinog:  "That's nonsense. Having lived and worked in Dublin on and off for years, I've met any number of mad GAA fans, a fair few casual fans, and a few self-confessed band-wagoners. But far more of the former than the latter, and that was going back to before this period of dominance when they were still actually getting beaten by other Leinster teams. We can all pull out stories about 'lads we met in pubs', but you don't fill a stadium with fair-weather supporters; just go to Pearse stadium on match day to see that for a fact.

You want to see bad GAA supporters? Look no further than our own county unfortunately. You could walk around the city on match-day and have absolutely no idea there was even a game in Pearse until after the fulltime whistle and you'd see the other county supporters walking up shop street. Usually Mayo lads goggle-eyed at buildings with stone roofs, more than two stories high, and no cow pats on the ground. God love'em."
I believe someone has a knockout blow but not sure which team.
Dubs peaked v Mayo 2017

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 12/07/2019 21:30:12    2210136

Replying To festinog:  "
Replying To mayo_123:  "[quote=festinog:  "Replying To mayo_123: "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"

Good deflection.

I can see how as a Mayo supporter you'd need help from spell check when it comes to writing "winning". I bet you can spell "maybe next year" with your eyes closed though."]I can copy your spelling you are very good spelling next year

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 12/07/2019 22:23:14    2210154

Replying To mayo_123:  "

You'll have plenty of time for whining before August is out! Come on Roscommon! lol

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1794 - 12/07/2019 23:00:21    2210174

Replying To festinog:  "That's nonsense. Having lived and worked in Dublin on and off for years, I've met any number of mad GAA fans, a fair few casual fans, and a few self-confessed band-wagoners. But far more of the former than the latter, and that was going back to before this period of dominance when they were still actually getting beaten by other Leinster teams. We can all pull out stories about 'lads we met in pubs', but you don't fill a stadium with fair-weather supporters; just go to Pearse stadium on match day to see that for a fact.

You want to see bad GAA supporters? Look no further than our own county unfortunately. You could walk around the city on match-day and have absolutely no idea there was even a game in Pearse until after the fulltime whistle and you'd see the other county supporters walking up shop street. Usually Mayo lads goggle-eyed at buildings with stone roofs, more than two stories high, and no cow pats on the ground. God love'em."
That's completely untrue. We've been to New York you know for the football and that's even bigger than Galway. So there! Have the wellingtons to prove it too.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 12/07/2019 23:03:10    2210176