Mayo V Galway

Replying To mayo_123:  "win or lose it wont feel as good as last saturday evening and ye wont feel until the fbd league come around again enjoy your summer"
I must say I enjoyed last night very much. Tuam awash with a vocal Galway support as we crushed your beloved Mayo.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/07/2019 20:09:26    2209666

Replying To Belclare:  "Well if ye lose I'm sure it wont.. How could it? Ye were 4 years without the feeling so it must have been unbelievable for ye..."
not really after 5 in a row

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 11/07/2019 21:11:55    2209698

Replying To mayo_123:  "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"
You must be well in your 70's if it was as good as the feeling as winning "Sam", fair play to you been so up to date on the social media and tech, a real " Silver surfer" I sometimes have the buzz when I reflect on Galways last win. But to have it after 68 years must be something.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 11/07/2019 21:29:31    2209704

Folks this game is over and the Super 8s are about to start yet this thread is top of the pops. Time to move on! There's always next year

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 11/07/2019 21:35:51    2209709

Replying To GDL:  "You must be well in your 70's if it was as good as the feeling as winning "Sam", fair play to you been so up to date on the social media and tech, a real " Silver surfer" I sometimes have the buzz when I reflect on Galways last win. But to have it after 68 years must be something."
Silly post by that mayo poster put sure forums and social media is full of nonsense...plenty of Galways counting FBD league wins over Mayo as "x" in a row wins...more nonsense

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 11/07/2019 21:43:24    2209715

Replying To yew_tree:  "Silly post by that mayo poster put sure forums and social media is full of nonsense...plenty of Galways counting FBD league wins over Mayo as "x" in a row wins...more nonsense"
Indeed, I've seen posters hammering the players from the most successful club to have ever come out of Connacht, any excuse, a good job Galway won last night or the Corofin 5 would have been blamed.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 11/07/2019 22:29:34    2209732

Replying To togoutlads:  "I'm afraid it did happen. But so be it. The vast majority of supporters are generally decent. As mentioned previously, I abhor Mayo's cheering of the opposing team's wides, it really puts neutrals and proper GAA people off getting behind Mayo when they progress. By all means, cheer your own scores til the cows come home but cheering wides shouldn't be happening in the GAA, as these are young amateur sportsmen, doing their best at the game we love and if they miss a pressure kick or any attempt at the posts then it doesn't hurt to just stay silent in the stands. They know what they've done without punters on the sidelines rubbing their noses in it. Again, they're not professionals, they're amateurs giving us their time and the best they can bring of their talent. Cheer your successes not somebody else's failures, it's the decent thing to do."
Pearl clutching nonsense. Now to be fair I'm not suggesting that anyone should be leaping about like they've just won the All Ireland, but in lots of games all scores, and misses, can make the difference. Sitting in complete silence, particularly near the end of the game, when the other team misses, I don't get it. But a cheer and a fist pump to yourself when a ball goes wide big wow!! It can also give your team a lift. If an opposition player is forced into a mistake in general play that is normally accompanied by a big roar. Would you have a problem with that? Surely it would have the same affect on a player when they kick a wide.

Extreme examples granted but it is the same principle. Cillian O'Connor had a free that was near enough the last kick of the game to bring the All Ireland Final Replay to extra time. He missed and Dublin fans were cheering like mad. Do you have a problem with that? Just for the record I don't, it essentially won them the All Ireland, why wouldn't they cheer!

Hypothetical situation but say a long innocuous ball is dropped in around the square, there is no one near the goalkeeper, he drops the ball and it trickles over the line into the goal resulting in a goal for your team. By your logic you shouldn't cheer

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 11/07/2019 22:37:33    2209738

Replying To dublin5:  "I think it's comments like this that sums Mayo fan's up. Lack of class.
Much rather have Galway's history, both in hurling and football than Mayo's. Mayo remind me of Newcastle United, sense of entitlement about both fans and players, they had a good spell in the 90's of challenging for honours but much like Mayo in the last few year's they alway's end up as the bridesmaid's :)"
Talking about a lack of class without a hint of irony. Impressive in a way. The little smiley face at the end in particular when repeating the same tired, petty put down that has been repeated ad infinitum, parrot like, by the whole country at this stage.

Genuine question, what's the sense of entitlement you are referring to? Solid example now, not some wishy washy feeling you have.

I nearly get a feeling that some lads genuinely get upset that a team that ultimately has nothing to show for their endeavours in terms of Sam since 1951 still has a big, noisy, passionate support behind them.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 11/07/2019 22:48:15    2209743

Replying To yew_tree:  "Silly post by that mayo poster put sure forums and social media is full of nonsense...plenty of Galways counting FBD league wins over Mayo as "x" in a row wins...more nonsense"
Fair enough Yew but when it comes to beating Mayo I would count a game of tiddleywinks as a reason to add an x over Mayo!

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 11/07/2019 23:05:31    2209751

Replying To GDL:  "Indeed, I've seen posters hammering the players from the most successful club to have ever come out of Connacht, any excuse, a good job Galway won last night or the Corofin 5 would have been blamed."
Dont worry plenty of fanboys like you to tell us why dublin should play like corofin

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 11/07/2019 23:48:08    2209762

Replying To mayo_123:  "win or lose it wont feel as good as last saturday evening and ye wont feel until the fbd league come around again enjoy your summer"
Wrll said. Last Saturday evening was the best ever!

GormlaighG (Mayo) - Posts: 77 - 12/07/2019 01:05:27    2209771

Agreed. By the by, I reckon you lads have a great chance against Kerry; a team I feel has been talked up by a media desperate to create another challenger to the Dublin monopoly.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 12/07/2019 03:29:57    2209775

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I must say I enjoyed last night very much. Tuam awash with a vocal Galway support as we crushed your beloved Mayo."
lets all get behind the best 2 teams in connaught and give it a good lash

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 12/07/2019 08:39:37    2209790

Replying To festinog:  "Agreed. By the by, I reckon you lads have a great chance against Kerry; a team I feel has been talked up by a media desperate to create another challenger to the Dublin monopoly."
I don't know what media you're listening to but any I hear seem to talk Kerry down, saying how awful their defense is. They are only team I can remember being lambasted after winning a provincial title with their opponents being praised to the hilts.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 12/07/2019 08:52:10    2209793

Replying To brisbane:  "Dont worry plenty of fanboys like you to tell us why dublin should play like corofin"
There it is another dig from Brisbane at Corofin.

Look back through my posts, I explained all of our clubs have experienced being "Corofined" it happens, you need to let it go it eventually gets better when you do. You shoud take a spin out some day to their extensive facilities with all the trophy cabinets and pictures of winning teams and montages of great players they've had, I was told recently that they are going to have a gold statue of Kieran Fitzgerald looking out on his kingdom with him laden down with cups and medals.

I will keep an eye out for your posts from now on and keep helping you come to terms with it, it is even quite cathartic if you write it down.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 719 - 12/07/2019 09:42:21    2209807

Replying To the_walls:  "Pearl clutching nonsense. Now to be fair I'm not suggesting that anyone should be leaping about like they've just won the All Ireland, but in lots of games all scores, and misses, can make the difference. Sitting in complete silence, particularly near the end of the game, when the other team misses, I don't get it. But a cheer and a fist pump to yourself when a ball goes wide big wow!! It can also give your team a lift. If an opposition player is forced into a mistake in general play that is normally accompanied by a big roar. Would you have a problem with that? Surely it would have the same affect on a player when they kick a wide.

Extreme examples granted but it is the same principle. Cillian O'Connor had a free that was near enough the last kick of the game to bring the All Ireland Final Replay to extra time. He missed and Dublin fans were cheering like mad. Do you have a problem with that? Just for the record I don't, it essentially won them the All Ireland, why wouldn't they cheer!

Hypothetical situation but say a long innocuous ball is dropped in around the square, there is no one near the goalkeeper, he drops the ball and it trickles over the line into the goal resulting in a goal for your team. By your logic you shouldn't cheer"
Just don't cheer wides. That's all. Trust me, a lot of people comment on that disappointing trait in a sizable percentage of mayo supporters. It's only Mayo and Dublin's Hill 16 brains department that do it in large numbers. Says a lot. Don't be like them. Maintain a semblance of dignity and class when you're behind your team and you'll have us all right behind you. That probably doesn't matter to you though.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 898 - 12/07/2019 10:35:08    2209841

Replying To togoutlads:  "Just don't cheer wides. That's all. Trust me, a lot of people comment on that disappointing trait in a sizable percentage of mayo supporters. It's only Mayo and Dublin's Hill 16 brains department that do it in large numbers. Says a lot. Don't be like them. Maintain a semblance of dignity and class when you're behind your team and you'll have us all right behind you. That probably doesn't matter to you though."
So you're not going to comment on the specific examples I gave you? Fair enough.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 12/07/2019 10:44:34    2209852

Replying To togoutlads:  "Just don't cheer wides. That's all. Trust me, a lot of people comment on that disappointing trait in a sizable percentage of mayo supporters. It's only Mayo and Dublin's Hill 16 brains department that do it in large numbers. Says a lot. Don't be like them. Maintain a semblance of dignity and class when you're behind your team and you'll have us all right behind you. That probably doesn't matter to you though."
Sounds like you should watch games at home with the sound off incase your offended by opposing fans..
And its not just Mayo or hill16 that cheer wides, every county Mayo have played have done it.
The problem may be that Mayo and Dubs fans would outnumber other county fans so for every counties 1 eejit thats there , there would be 2 from both those counties.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 12/07/2019 11:20:23    2209874

Replying To tommy132:  "Sounds like you should watch games at home with the sound off incase your offended by opposing fans..
And its not just Mayo or hill16 that cheer wides, every county Mayo have played have done it.
The problem may be that Mayo and Dubs fans would outnumber other county fans so for every counties 1 eejit thats there , there would be 2 from both those counties."
thats exactly it

that Tommy fella is talking nonsense tbf

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 12/07/2019 11:39:30    2209884

Replying To mayo_123:  "lets all get behind the best 2 teams in connaught and give it a good lash"
its a pitty the 3 best teams in connaught are not playing this weekend

morris8 (Mayo) - Posts: 1 - 12/07/2019 13:59:32    2209955