Mayo V Galway

Replying To Belclare:  "Last Sat Galway under 16 beat Mayo, ladies beat Mayo and last night 20s comprehensive winners over Mayo, do that's 3 cups.."
galway 1-13 mayo 2-13 thats all that matters never mind the cups

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 11/07/2019 10:26:10    2209375

Replying To mayo_123:  "galway 1-13 mayo 2-13 thats all that matters never mind the cups"
In your head.. it only matters if ye win Sam...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/07/2019 10:32:31    2209378

Replying To Belclare:  "In your head.. it only matters if ye win Sam..."
You needn't worry about them winning Sam Belclare, they always find a way to lose sadly, og's, goalkeeping errors, it's so sad really.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 11/07/2019 10:40:41    2209383

Replying To the_walls:  "I plain don't believe this happened. Literally roaring in your face? You should have got the guards involved if that was the case! In all my time following Mayo all over the country I have never come across anything close to that, either from Mayo fans or opposition fans. I was roaring on Mayo the whole game in an area that was about 5:1 Mayo fans. I'd a Galway man with his teenage son shake my hand after the game and wished us the best of luck. Had about a 5 minute conversation with him. He didn't seem intimidated or upset in any way, shape or form.

As for the cheering wides thing, so what? I don't see what the issue is there, a wide for the opposition is essentially like a score for your team. Why wouldn't you cheer that and be happy about it?"
I'm afraid it did happen. But so be it. The vast majority of supporters are generally decent. As mentioned previously, I abhor Mayo's cheering of the opposing team's wides, it really puts neutrals and proper GAA people off getting behind Mayo when they progress. By all means, cheer your own scores til the cows come home but cheering wides shouldn't be happening in the GAA, as these are young amateur sportsmen, doing their best at the game we love and if they miss a pressure kick or any attempt at the posts then it doesn't hurt to just stay silent in the stands. They know what they've done without punters on the sidelines rubbing their noses in it. Again, they're not professionals, they're amateurs giving us their time and the best they can bring of their talent. Cheer your successes not somebody else's failures, it's the decent thing to do.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 897 - 11/07/2019 12:27:58    2209442

Replying To festinog:  "Away with you, you naughty man. The bookies and most of the pundits had Mayo as favorites going into the game, and that was before they even knew ye were telling porkies about some of the injury concerns.

Galway were outplayed on the field, and out-maneuvered on the side-line, it's as simple as that. And it was compounded by the terrible form of some of the senior players continuing, and by our manager second-guessing his own tactics that had us beat ye in seven previous encounters.

Hope ye do well in the Super 8s, and I hope someone, anyone, de-thrones Dublin!

'Gwan the West!"
Hardly surprising that he'd second-guess his own tactical approach at this point either, with the flack that's flying his way from all sides, for not 'playing football the way it should be played!!'. Joe Brolly mouthing on and on is one thing, but when the local elders of Galway football start whinging about the state of the way we play, it's possible that KW felt compelled to respond tactically. Either that, or we just thought being less conservative was the way to go against this Mayo side.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 11/07/2019 12:45:41    2209457

Replying To the_walls:  "I plain don't believe this happened. Literally roaring in your face? You should have got the guards involved if that was the case! In all my time following Mayo all over the country I have never come across anything close to that, either from Mayo fans or opposition fans. I was roaring on Mayo the whole game in an area that was about 5:1 Mayo fans. I'd a Galway man with his teenage son shake my hand after the game and wished us the best of luck. Had about a 5 minute conversation with him. He didn't seem intimidated or upset in any way, shape or form.

As for the cheering wides thing, so what? I don't see what the issue is there, a wide for the opposition is essentially like a score for your team. Why wouldn't you cheer that and be happy about it?"
As for the cheering wides thing, so what? I don't see what the issue is there, a wide for the opposition is essentially like a score for your team. Why wouldn't you cheer that and be happy about it?

Because it's not sporting or gracious. Grand being happy or relieved if your opponent misses a scoring chance, there should be no place for cheering their miss.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7324 - 11/07/2019 12:46:26    2209458

Replying To togoutlads:  "I'm afraid it did happen. But so be it. The vast majority of supporters are generally decent. As mentioned previously, I abhor Mayo's cheering of the opposing team's wides, it really puts neutrals and proper GAA people off getting behind Mayo when they progress. By all means, cheer your own scores til the cows come home but cheering wides shouldn't be happening in the GAA, as these are young amateur sportsmen, doing their best at the game we love and if they miss a pressure kick or any attempt at the posts then it doesn't hurt to just stay silent in the stands. They know what they've done without punters on the sidelines rubbing their noses in it. Again, they're not professionals, they're amateurs giving us their time and the best they can bring of their talent. Cheer your successes not somebody else's failures, it's the decent thing to do."
Galway fans have cheered mayo wides at all the games ive been at, Cillian O Connor gets the biggest cheer when he hits a wide.
Stop trying to make out its only Mayo fans do it.
What about the booing and jeering of Galway fans at the minor game..it happens everywhere

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 11/07/2019 13:17:15    2209481

what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 11/07/2019 13:27:47    2209485

Look lads, best of luck to Mayo in the quarter finals, ye fully deserve the spot and see ye in the glamorous FBD in January.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 11/07/2019 13:37:42    2209490

Replying To Spoddgy:  "No credit for your players finding a way to win. Mayo let you win so is it. You will be like Kerry in the noughties never get the respect because of who you bet not and not get the respect for what ye achieved. That's your logic."
They ain't mutually exclusive Pal.Of course credit to our boys for winning despite not playing well but the fact is there is a strong element of self destruct in Mayo.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 11/07/2019 14:02:02    2209504

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "You needn't worry about them winning Sam Belclare, they always find a way to lose sadly, og's, goalkeeping errors, it's so sad really."
I don't think you will find many Mayo people who think we have a chance of winning Sam in the near future, if ever. I don't believe that I will see it in my lifetime. At one time that would have bothered me but not anymore. Does that stop us going out and supporting our team even though we know it will inevitably end in disappointment, not at all. I'm going around with a smile on my face all week after beating Galway in Limerick and you can't buy that feeling. I have been going to Mayo, Galway matches for over fifty years and no matter who is or isn't going well beforehand, you can never predict the outcome. We have a healthy respect for Galway and that's why we get great enjoyment out of beating them as we know our dominance may be very temporary. I think people who make jokes about Mayos inability to win an All Ireland are missing the broader picture to an extent. Mayo people have enjoyed the last ten years immensely. For the one or maybe two bad days out in the year there have always been four or five good and sometimes great days. I think winning an All Ireland might do us more harm than good as we'd have nothing to talk about and nothing to aspire to in a sporting sense. Last week when we should have worried about the imminent threat of brexit, Donald waging war on Iran, Ireland going to war with Scotland and word of the certainty of another recession, all we could talk about down here was Aidos foot and Leroy's ankle. Do we still want to win Sam, of course we do but it's not the be all and end all that some people think. We will go to Killarney in our numbers and win, lose or draw we will travel to Croke Park the following week also in our numbers. And all that knowing the brick wall that is the Dubs will be there in front of us even if we do progress. We are not doing this because we are on a quest or out of some sort of loyalty to the team, we do it because we enjoy it. The camaraderie, the unpredictabity and the sheer sense of fun. Long may it continue!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 11/07/2019 14:13:39    2209508

Replying To mayo_123:  "what a great feeling driving through galway county last saturday evening with the green and red flags flying on the car it was just as good as wining sam"
Delighted for you.. it was a long time coming.. hope when your driving through again on Sunday you have the same feeling...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/07/2019 14:18:50    2209511

Replying To togoutlads:  "I'm afraid it did happen. But so be it. The vast majority of supporters are generally decent. As mentioned previously, I abhor Mayo's cheering of the opposing team's wides, it really puts neutrals and proper GAA people off getting behind Mayo when they progress. By all means, cheer your own scores til the cows come home but cheering wides shouldn't be happening in the GAA, as these are young amateur sportsmen, doing their best at the game we love and if they miss a pressure kick or any attempt at the posts then it doesn't hurt to just stay silent in the stands. They know what they've done without punters on the sidelines rubbing their noses in it. Again, they're not professionals, they're amateurs giving us their time and the best they can bring of their talent. Cheer your successes not somebody else's failures, it's the decent thing to do."
I think that's the thing I find most distasteful about some of the Mayo fans, and it seems to be a majority of them that are at it rather than the few ejits you get following any successful team, sure we all like to have a bit of craic but I'd never cheer an opposing teams wides, that's just childish, though fans jeering at Cillian O'Connor is understanable when you consider how he conducts himself at times, still though as you say, amateur players doing their best for their county,
I would acknowledge a good score from an opposing team too.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 11/07/2019 17:04:40    2209596

Replying To Belclare:  "Delighted for you.. it was a long time coming.. hope when your driving through again on Sunday you have the same feeling..."
win or lose it wont feel as good as last saturday evening and ye wont feel until the fbd league come around again enjoy your summer

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 11/07/2019 17:20:45    2209604

Seemed to matter to most of the 19k that were at the match the last day

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2019 17:32:10    2209609

why are we still talking about Galway. Not contenders as has been the case the last 17 years

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2019 17:34:28    2209610

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I think that's the thing I find most distasteful about some of the Mayo fans, and it seems to be a majority of them that are at it rather than the few ejits you get following any successful team, sure we all like to have a bit of craic but I'd never cheer an opposing teams wides, that's just childish, though fans jeering at Cillian O'Connor is understanable when you consider how he conducts himself at times, still though as you say, amateur players doing their best for their county,
I would acknowledge a good score from an opposing team too."
is there any grade in Gaelic Football that Donegal have won more than Mayo

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 11/07/2019 17:35:30    2209611

Replying To mayo_123:  "win or lose it wont feel as good as last saturday evening and ye wont feel until the fbd league come around again enjoy your summer"
I think it's comments like this that sums Mayo fan's up. Lack of class.
Much rather have Galway's history, both in hurling and football than Mayo's. Mayo remind me of Newcastle United, sense of entitlement about both fans and players, they had a good spell in the 90's of challenging for honours but much like Mayo in the last few year's they alway's end up as the bridesmaid's :)

dublin5 (Dublin) - Posts: 30 - 11/07/2019 18:52:05    2209631

Replying To dublin5:  "I think it's comments like this that sums Mayo fan's up. Lack of class.
Much rather have Galway's history, both in hurling and football than Mayo's. Mayo remind me of Newcastle United, sense of entitlement about both fans and players, they had a good spell in the 90's of challenging for honours but much like Mayo in the last few year's they alway's end up as the bridesmaid's :)"
What would a Dub know about Galway and Mayo rivalry, you prob couldn't even point out where either are located on a Map.

It's a bit of craic, Galway and Mayo people will always be arguing and slagging each other over our football teams. That's why last weekend was more about bragging rights than anything.

Galway2019 (Galway) - Posts: 55 - 11/07/2019 19:37:35    2209646

Replying To mayo_123:  "win or lose it wont feel as good as last saturday evening and ye wont feel until the fbd league come around again enjoy your summer"
Well if ye lose I'm sure it wont.. How could it? Ye were 4 years without the feeling so it must have been unbelievable for ye...

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 11/07/2019 20:06:40    2209663