The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices

Replying To TheUsername:  "And here we get to it, lads just wanting to have a go at Dublin or its people.

This debate definitely isn't about bitterness jealousy! ;)

The Box room mafia have spoken. :D"
We're just annoyed about the extra money your ex-taoiseach, the one with no bank account, engineered for ye!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1791 - 30/06/2019 12:29:31    2202809

Replying To TheHermit:  "Must be after all you posted the above at 1:30am last night :D"
:-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/06/2019 12:47:59    2202822

Replying To greysoil:  "Or working perhaps. I know probably an alien concept in the welfare city."
Speaks volumes about you bud. Remember you said that when your kids or grandkids are coming to the capital to get an education and/or employment to keep a roof over their head.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 30/06/2019 13:23:18    2202845

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  ":-)"
There will be one swipe right this week by the looks of it! ;)

The Macari's in Tralee wont know what hit it. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 13:27:25    2202846

Someone seems to be a tinder expert Kingdomboy, I wonder does the arnotts jersey ever come off, even when some poor girl has been persuaded to head back to his :D

Then again he's the kind of Dublin "supporter" that prob bought his first jersey the day after the 2011 final ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/06/2019 14:24:43    2202882

Replying To Jackeen:  "Haha give over. Jimbo is not the leader. I am :)"
What type of money can you "engineer" for us and do you have a bank account, we need to be transparent about these things! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 14:25:12    2202883

Youd have to do your bit to keep the population advantage up, people make light of the volunteerism as if it takes no effort, youd be jacked and nights out in coppers would have you skint.

People dont appreciate the work that goes in behind the scenes by us volunteers.

The luxury of a Saturday night alone in a box room, browsing whatever tickles your Donaghey. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/06/2019 14:48:13    2202895

Replying To TheHermit:  "Someone seems to be a tinder expert Kingdomboy, I wonder does the arnotts jersey ever come off, even when some poor girl has been persuaded to head back to his :D

Then again he's the kind of Dublin "supporter" that prob bought his first jersey the day after the 2011 final ;D"
Do remember back in February when there was rumors that jayo had left the dubs backroom team and he told us all that jayo had been gone for months and then it turned out jayo was still with Dublin :-)

That made me chuckle and showed us all how much he actually knows about Dublin football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/06/2019 15:22:32    2202909

I really like this Dublin team they play a beautiful brand of football and I for one wouldn't begrudge them the 5 in a row .

I'd be jealous and envious of them and I'd love for us to beat them but I do admire them.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 30/06/2019 16:00:42    2202941

To those saying it's all about grass-roots work; sure, up to a point; but there's a big difference between the likes of me "in charge" of kids' games (I'm reminded of Brolly's story about 'tactics' in the 80s - "right, I'm midfield, the brother is full forward and the rest of yiz - just spread out") - or a paid-for coach who actually knows what he's doing; and having the money to have a spread of talented coaches across a county. A systematic approach to identifying and nurturing talent requires money and resources and a well-funded, quasi-professional operation will beat a poorly-funded enthusiastic amateur operation all day long.

I don't begrudge Dublin one bit - I idolised the '70s Dublin team as a child and I worked in Dublin in the 1990s and encountered more than my fill of sneering anti-GAA prejudice from the white collar classes (I left pubs sometimes for fear I was going to punch some of them in their W Brit gobs) who now are happily sending their kids to GAA training - so there's been a genuine transformation - I personally know of Dublin parents from a rugby background who sent their kids to rugby only for the kids to rebel and insist they get to go to the GAA training instead as the GAA kids training was perceived to be better ran and more fun.

That's all very positive; the support has worked; but it's time for the GAA to spread it around a bit. Belfast, for instance, is a tragi-comedy at the moment and desperately needs attention.

The GAA should also publicly support: (i) a high-speed modern rail network on an all-island basis (Irish rail North and South is over-priced and dog slow and Donegal, Fermanagh and Tyrone haven't seen a railyway line since the 1950s) to ensure people can stay in their own counties and commute as needed (for a very small island, journey times are ridiculously long); and (ii) decent broadband for all; and (iii) much more regional devolution - local assemblies in Cork and Galway. Otherwise, never mind the GAA, we might as well openly admit we're pulling the plug on everywhere outside Belfast and Dublin.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 30/06/2019 16:54:17    2202978

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Do remember back in February when there was rumors that jayo had left the dubs backroom team and he told us all that jayo had been gone for months and then it turned out jayo was still with Dublin :-)

That made me chuckle and showed us all how much he actually knows about Dublin football."
Ah no come on now, he's a man in the know and so terribly open-minded at the same time. Sure he can't stop telling us how open-minded he is, and didn't he pen that beautiful lyrical piece about his travels to Kerry during the League and all the genuine Kerry supporters he counts as he friends :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/06/2019 21:57:27    2203150

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ah no come on now, he's a man in the know and so terribly open-minded at the same time. Sure he can't stop telling us how open-minded he is, and didn't he pen that beautiful lyrical piece about his travels to Kerry during the League and all the genuine Kerry supporters he counts as he friends :D"
That was a classic for sure :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/06/2019 23:27:00    2203186

Replying To jimbodub:  "Chief..

That's all up to you.

I haven't forgotten what it took to achieve this era of success, there's a revisionist narrative at play here that doesn't stack up to the actual games. You know the actual stats of play involved in determining who won what!

Sort of important information.. the actual events year on year..

All those ridiculously close and competitive games where a single kick of a ball decided it all.

All Played on the same pitch where only a few years before we couldn't beat a team outside Leinster even though we enjoyed the advantage of playing far more games at HQ compared to the teams that beat us with ease at times

There was no Croke Park advantages then man!

Unfortunately you seem to have forgotten.

Nothing else I can say and tbh such a post was fully warranted in response to your own. I'm glad you feel disheartened for saying such. Because you're 100% diminishing the substantial efforts that these fellas have put in to achieve what they have just because you're not satisfied on a certain level.

Feck off out of that!

With all due respect I agree with what you're saying about the S8 games, but sorry the rest of it... nah. You're wallowing in some sort of self imposed BS.

I remember what it took to win those games.

It's a pity you don't. It's the only logical explanation, because if you remembered yourself you wouldn't be banging on like this.

We won games we should have lost.. it's been that close.. game after game of legendary battles.. I listed them all, those games will go down as absolute classics, yet you're taking like this....

Daft."
Hmmm very close games ye should of lost but ye won.... playing at home.... And you don't see the problem? Across every sport in the world statistical analysis shows that team with home advantage over any period of time produce better results at home than they do away. Maybe sit back and think and I mean really think is it possible Dublin may have lost one of those close games if it was played in Castlebar, Kilarney or Clones? After spending a few hours on a bus to get there. Or spending the night before in a hotel. Might seem like minor issues but in very close games these issues do matter. Top teams in tight games the margins are very small and I know if I had Stephen Cluxton standing over a ball to win an All Ireland as a Dublin Supporter I would want him kicking in it Croke Park and into Hill 16.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 01/07/2019 08:32:42    2203226

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Hmmm very close games ye should of lost but ye won.... playing at home.... And you don't see the problem? Across every sport in the world statistical analysis shows that team with home advantage over any period of time produce better results at home than they do away. Maybe sit back and think and I mean really think is it possible Dublin may have lost one of those close games if it was played in Castlebar, Kilarney or Clones? After spending a few hours on a bus to get there. Or spending the night before in a hotel. Might seem like minor issues but in very close games these issues do matter. Top teams in tight games the margins are very small and I know if I had Stephen Cluxton standing over a ball to win an All Ireland as a Dublin Supporter I would want him kicking in it Croke Park and into Hill 16."
No doubt there is some advantage to playing more games in Croker than not but check out this Dublin teams away record. I think you'll see that is is top notch. Our record against Mayo in Castlebar is as good as Croke Park. We may have lost one of those finals if it was in Castlebar but we may not have. Finals aren't played outside of Croke Park anyway so the point is a bit moot there. At the business end of the championship every team should want to play in Croke Park and in a winner takes all game should be sufficiently fired up to overcome any perceived Dublin home advantage. Besides, Dublin play where the other counties tell them to play. You won't get objections from Dublin fans to being put on the road. We'd great craic in Omagh last year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/07/2019 09:07:13    2203249

Replying To Joxer:  "No doubt there is some advantage to playing more games in Croker than not but check out this Dublin teams away record. I think you'll see that is is top notch. Our record against Mayo in Castlebar is as good as Croke Park. We may have lost one of those finals if it was in Castlebar but we may not have. Finals aren't played outside of Croke Park anyway so the point is a bit moot there. At the business end of the championship every team should want to play in Croke Park and in a winner takes all game should be sufficiently fired up to overcome any perceived Dublin home advantage. Besides, Dublin play where the other counties tell them to play. You won't get objections from Dublin fans to being put on the road. We'd great craic in Omagh last year."
I understand Dublin have a great away record. What is there away record like in All Ireland Finals? I don't want Dublin put on the road either. Dublin shouldn't be punished for any reason and should get home games when they are due. Dublin CB should build a stadium suitable to the needs of the county. This should be financed like every other county by which the Dublin CB pay for the stadium along with help from Croke Park and whatever grants are available.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 01/07/2019 09:39:21    2203288

Playing finals in Corker isn't the problem.
It's letting Dublin play every other match there that is the problem.
It's the influence that has on referees (see yesterdays independent).
It's the sponsorship advantage, the population advantage, it's the no of professional coaches, it's the development funding advantage, it's everything.

When the GAA started Dublin had twice the population of Mayo, now it's 10 times and increasing.

Stop denying the facts. Dublin have a great team no doubt. Considering all of the above, if they weren't winning every second all Ireland it would be gross incompetence

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1106 - 01/07/2019 09:53:45    2203309

Back by popular request ;)

Back in the home Vikings. Open disclosure i spent the best part of the week down there, hit Castleisland on Weds and caught up with some pals I met traveling in NZ. Stayed out there Weds and we did a leisurely trek of Ivergh pensulla on Thurs and Fri, featuring two memorable nights out in Waterville and Glenbeigh, met some really interesting GAA people steeped in Kerry GAA history and folklore, even got to have a kick about on two or three club pitches. Some fascinating conversations, not least with an 85 year old man in Sneem, god it's embarrassing to think we actually try to understand the game on here listening to this guy, such wisdom and lived experience in the GAA.

Much needed fri, in Killarney on Sat before an all day job in Tralee, game then back to Killarney for the night, leisurely Sunday and light evening refreshments then home. I'm sure no cares, the reason I mention it that traveling around a bit gave me an insight and to be honest a bit of a shock into how hurt people are in Kerry and how much this current teams success means to them, it's like a yearning need or a reassurance of relevance.

It's quite amazing the missing out on their five in a row, still is very raw, they know they should have done it, but are equally very proud and rightly so of their four, it's not nice that anyone has equaled that never mind having the opportunity of five. That's not a criticism everyone I met down there wished Dublin luck. More a sense of what should have been and wishing it had been, or close to being done by themselves. It's irrelevant at this stage because Dublin will have to earn it.

The above hasnt been helped by two seasons of limits in their own teams and to be honest, that was the biggest hurt I picked up, Kerry should not be beaten convincingly by Mayo, Galway, or need a last minute scramble against Monaghan to keep a breath of life in a championship campaign.

My sense is there is a lot of hurt in the Kingdom, built up over years of opposing forces of another team matching and having an opportunity to over take some of their historic greatness, while in the current context struggling to maintain their own standards and expectations in the Championship.

But hope springs eternal and plenty of it at play in the fields of Kerry, the green shoots are coming and there was a Wry smile on Sun then their was on Fri.

As I said all of the above, was all conveyed in great spirit, sport, banter and honesty, the vast majority of people you meet in places in Kerry are welcoming, gracious and great hosts, fantastic GAA people, despite the messing you see on here, I hope they are back in sunny days deep in Summer, in Dublin 3 soon.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/07/2019 10:07:57    2203327

State Aid will be home to Cork in their first game before taking on Roscommon in a neutral venue. State Aid should have their semi-final place secure by the time they travel to Omagh, which should allow them field a State Aid B team to rest up ahead of the semi-finals.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 01/07/2019 10:27:15    2203345

Replying To greysoil:  "Or working perhaps. I know probably an alien concept in the welfare city."
What a quality post!

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 01/07/2019 10:34:52    2203357

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "I understand Dublin have a great away record. What is there away record like in All Ireland Finals? I don't want Dublin put on the road either. Dublin shouldn't be punished for any reason and should get home games when they are due. Dublin CB should build a stadium suitable to the needs of the county. This should be financed like every other county by which the Dublin CB pay for the stadium along with help from Croke Park and whatever grants are available."
You won't get any objections from Dublin fans on any of this. AI Finals have to be played in some county, who will then have an advantage, so why not at HQ in the biggest stadium in the capital? No problem playing semis outside of Dublin. I think it would be great and for the players, like 83 when we were lucky to draw with Cork in Croke Park only to go down to PUC and hammer them. I'm sure the Dublin players would like to get out of Croker and away from the hassle, media bashing and just play ball. They're very good at it you know.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 01/07/2019 10:59:43    2203390