The Dubs, The Monies & The Prejudices

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well I'll correct your grammer for a start: These are the facts, boy. ;D"
Can I correct your spelling? It''s 'grammar' old boy, not 'grammer'.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2019 22:38:12    2204656

Replying To Joxer:  "No they were handed AIs instead. Check their run to the 1980 AI title. Even the current Meath team would have won that one. Of course you do realise that most of this current Dublin team are about 30 years old and were developed about 14-15 years ago. How many millions in GDF was pouring into Dublin in 2004?"
The strategic report was published in 2002 and the funding started that same year. So 2004 would've seen 2 years worth at that stage. Funny how the timeline adds up.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 02/07/2019 22:42:58    2204659

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Does this mean you've given up ghost writing Dublins GAA biography?

Thank god for that, coz we can see with our own eyes what's going on and we don't need your spin ."
No what we don't need is your anti Dub bitterness kid.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 22:45:54    2204661

Replying To avonali:  "Can I correct your spelling? It''s 'grammar' old boy, not 'grammer'."
Ha Ha excellent :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 22:48:00    2204663

Replying To baire:  "You're as a good a spinner as bertie the banker!"
Poor Bertie , do you not like him :)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 02/07/2019 22:52:40    2204665

Replying To superbluedub:  "Another nonsense post kid , undefeated in Kerry since 1995 !! . yea beat hurling Counties and a Tyrone team in 2012 well past there best , when did you beat Mayo Sligo and Longford at home in the championship ? as for beating Dublin in a neutral ground , whats wrong with you kid , we are discussing Kerry being undefeated in Kerry since 1995 -:)"
Yes sure Cork have won nothing in football and were never a top team :)
The more posters like yourself and your buddy Joker (a perfect Nom de plume there) attempt to talk about anything GAA related outside the capital or pre 2011 for that matter, the more your ignorance shines through.
Give us a few more red thumbs there lads, there's about 5 or 6 of ye who would dispute someone typing Dublin is the largest urban centre in Ireland these times, ha ha.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/07/2019 22:56:16    2204667

Replying To joeteor:  "The strategic report was published in 2002 and the funding started that same year. So 2004 would've seen 2 years worth at that stage. Funny how the timeline adds up."
I wonder what the figures were for those 2 years and what effect if any they would have had on today's Dublin panel. I've only ever seen the reported figures from 2007-2017 and I suppose you'd have to ask when did the GDOs start coming on stream at clubs etc. not when today's Dublin team were being developed anyway. I get the impression that the big investment in Dublin began around 2007. I've never seen published figures for before then and this was just 4 years before their first AI in the current era.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 23:03:43    2204671

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes sure Cork have won nothing in football and were never a top team :)
The more posters like yourself and your buddy Joker (a perfect Nom de plume there) attempt to talk about anything GAA related outside the capital or pre 2011 for that matter, the more your ignorance shines through.
Give us a few more red thumbs there lads, there's about 5 or 6 of ye who would dispute someone typing Dublin is the largest urban centre in Ireland these times, ha ha."
Would you ever give over with your "pre-2011 b.s.". Dublin posters know their history and the breadth of Intercounty football well enough. I get the narrative: we all just jumped on the bandwagon after 2011. I met Mick o"Connell as a child and I revered him. I also shook hands with Matt Connor. Stop with your oul narrative that Dubs are noting but bandwagon jumpers who don't appreciate the history of our games. Pathetic horsesh*te.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 02/07/2019 23:19:55    2204681

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes sure Cork have won nothing in football and were never a top team :)
Give us a few more red thumbs there lads, there's about 5 or 6 of ye who would dispute someone typing Dublin is the largest urban centre in Ireland these times, ha ha."
I gave you a green thumb there Hermit. You deserve it. But look, 81 titles. Something is very very rotten in Munster. It's been dead for decades but don't expect Tipp, Clare, Waterford, Cork and Limerick to object. Just read those county names again. Why would they not object to a football monopoly in their own region? It needs to be fixed. Football is dead in Munster. Just look at Cork.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/07/2019 23:30:48    2204691

Replying To avonali:  "Can I correct your spelling? It''s 'grammar' old boy, not 'grammer'."
Mic drop ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2019 23:30:59    2204692

You used an inverted comma instead of an apostrophe in "it's", tut tut.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 03/07/2019 06:25:08    2204725

Replying To TheHermit:  "For me, this is about as best as I can articulate about the whole issue with Dublin and their dominance and how its been achieved. I suspect and indeed hope its how most other GAA supporters outside the Capital and now it seems quite a few in it are now feeling as the 5 in a row looks set in stone.
To me it's as simple as this - money (by itself) does not create a Gooch or a Brogan - but money pays for the multiple of qualified youth coaches now plying their trades across Dublin, it pays for the strength and conditioning programmes, the skills coaches, the nutritionist and dieticians, the psychologists and physiotherapists all of which help raw talents deliver fully on their potential.
Money pays for the army of backroom staff Dublin have, last count, they had 20-30 people on their books to again insure their team and its individual players play to their upmost potential.
This is the huge background support to inter-county and potential inter-county players Dublin have, something which dwarfs what every other county had and which is paid for by hugely imbalanced grants structure supplied from a variety of streams. That's not counting the massive (in a GAA context) sponsorship by AIG and the what is it, 25 odd other official sponsors of Dublin including our state airline!!

On top of this, in sports the world over playing at home in front of your own fans has been proven to be a significant advantage hence the away goals rule in the Champions League for example.
Kerry have not lost a Championship game in Kerry since 1995. At the elite level of sport - the difference between success and failure is measured by fractions, by the 1 or 2%. At this stage it is beyond me how anyone can think the money and funding Dublin enjoy (which is vastly superior to any other county); the Home games they are handed; being officiated by referee's with strong links to Dublin and Dublin clubs and the benefits from other things like smaller commutes to collective training don't add up to give them to 1 or 2% advantage to get over the Mayo's and Kerry's over the past decade.

Anyone who cannot see that elite inter-county football is not a level playing field because of what Dublin have, at this stage is a fool.

No genuine GAA person thinks that Dublin are some team of charlatans that are winning because of money alone. We all appreciate they are a great team, with a great manager and some amazing players. But I ask anyone, are their players and is their team really superior to a Kerry 2004-09 or a Tyrone 2003-08?
No, they aren't.
And yet Dublin have dominated to an extent those two equally talented teams didn't. Why? For me the answer is what I've listed above.
Kerry managed to get to 6 finals in a row, but they had tough away games, they had to deal with hostile referees, they didn't have any great financial assistance to pay for an army of backroom teams to look after them. The wear and tear of this meant they came up just short in finals like 05 and 08. If Kerry played all those games in Killarney you can beat we would have threatened a 4 or 5 in a row!
My ultimate point is this - because of the artificial advantages (money, home games etc) bestowed on Dublin at the expense of their rivals, when they do unearth a great side, like they have this decade, they can dominate to an extent no other county with similar talented sides has done before or will hope to after.
That's completely against the ethos of what the GAA is. It is something that completely undermines the tradition counties like Kerry have painstakingly built over 110 years.
To be blunt Dublin haven't earned the dominance they've enjoyed.

P.S. - I've seen a few Dublin posters over the last while throw out 'sure Micko's team were well looked after'. So just because they got a bit of money from advertising (which they went out and secured for themselves to go on some great team holidays), somehow that equates to the 17+ million that's been poured into Dublin's coffers? Get a grip lads!"
"but money pays for the multiple of qualified youth coaches now plying their trades across Dublin, it pays for the strength and conditioning programmes, the skills coaches, the nutritionist and dieticians, the psychologists and physiotherapists all of which help raw talents deliver fully on their potential"

Apart from the FACT this applies to every county, I don't know who these Youth Coaches are, you mean the ones paid for by the clubs/county board? You see i drive a lot around the country and what really amazes me is the amount of GAA clubs outside the capitol with superb facilites. So Dublin invests its money and capitol in participation and quality participation at that at all levels, it seems to me other counties place far greater emphasis and importance on capitol projects. Centres of excellence with tumbleweed swirling around them (we can all exaggerate to make a point no?), millions spent on stadiums with no games for them, beautiful clubhouses, manicured pitches with no teams to fill them. Maybe, just maybe counties will take a long hard look at themselves and say "we got this gig all wrong". Dublin have done at Inter-county level what Slaughtneil have at club level. The template is there, it is proven, but you have no bodies to invest in so you invest in grass and concrete, you have no desire to do the hard work. Most of the better coaches in Dublin BTW are country folk. Maybe this is why no one in Dublin takes anything you have to say seriously.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 03/07/2019 08:34:17    2204739

Replying To arock:  ""but money pays for the multiple of qualified youth coaches now plying their trades across Dublin, it pays for the strength and conditioning programmes, the skills coaches, the nutritionist and dieticians, the psychologists and physiotherapists all of which help raw talents deliver fully on their potential"

Apart from the FACT this applies to every county, I don't know who these Youth Coaches are, you mean the ones paid for by the clubs/county board? You see i drive a lot around the country and what really amazes me is the amount of GAA clubs outside the capitol with superb facilites. So Dublin invests its money and capitol in participation and quality participation at that at all levels, it seems to me other counties place far greater emphasis and importance on capitol projects. Centres of excellence with tumbleweed swirling around them (we can all exaggerate to make a point no?), millions spent on stadiums with no games for them, beautiful clubhouses, manicured pitches with no teams to fill them. Maybe, just maybe counties will take a long hard look at themselves and say "we got this gig all wrong". Dublin have done at Inter-county level what Slaughtneil have at club level. The template is there, it is proven, but you have no bodies to invest in so you invest in grass and concrete, you have no desire to do the hard work. Most of the better coaches in Dublin BTW are country folk. Maybe this is why no one in Dublin takes anything you have to say seriously."
To be fair arock good facilities are necessary and important if you want to keep players and coaches involved. I don't know where exactly you are talking about that has been so wasteful but my local club has invested heavily in facilities over the years and they are put to good use almost every night of the week this time of year. They hope to further develop the clubhouse and put in an all weather training pitch the future. Coaching is done purely by volunteers.

The fact that stadiums are under used is a failure of the GAA competitions format and fixtures policy generally speaking, do you think we should just play everything in Dublin? There is so much wrong with the way things are done right now it would require another thread.

Should we let the infrastructure around the country fall to pieces then in your opinion? Where exactly is all this waste? I'm not seeing it in any club I am familiar with. And please don't generalise, can you name a couple of projects that were wasteful and now underused and let's see if the locals agree.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 03/07/2019 10:13:44    2204776

Replying To arock:  ""but money pays for the multiple of qualified youth coaches now plying their trades across Dublin, it pays for the strength and conditioning programmes, the skills coaches, the nutritionist and dieticians, the psychologists and physiotherapists all of which help raw talents deliver fully on their potential"

Apart from the FACT this applies to every county, I don't know who these Youth Coaches are, you mean the ones paid for by the clubs/county board? You see i drive a lot around the country and what really amazes me is the amount of GAA clubs outside the capitol with superb facilites. So Dublin invests its money and capitol in participation and quality participation at that at all levels, it seems to me other counties place far greater emphasis and importance on capitol projects. Centres of excellence with tumbleweed swirling around them (we can all exaggerate to make a point no?), millions spent on stadiums with no games for them, beautiful clubhouses, manicured pitches with no teams to fill them. Maybe, just maybe counties will take a long hard look at themselves and say "we got this gig all wrong". Dublin have done at Inter-county level what Slaughtneil have at club level. The template is there, it is proven, but you have no bodies to invest in so you invest in grass and concrete, you have no desire to do the hard work. Most of the better coaches in Dublin BTW are country folk. Maybe this is why no one in Dublin takes anything you have to say seriously."
In simple Maths, here's the rub. For example:

Kerry get six Avocados to share amongst 5 people.

Dublin get 50 Avocados to share amongst 55 people.

Now 6 Avocados can seem like very few when you compare it to 55 avocados. Especially when you leave out the differences of people the avocado has to be shard around, but lets not mention that. Its the fundamental flaw in the victim card in all honesty.

For example this years figures per head of population:

Kerry GDF 197.600 euro, population of Kerry 147.000, ratio = 1.34 euro per head.

Dublin GDF 1.3 mill, population 1.34 mill, ratio = 97 cent per head.

*Source GAA Audited accounts - available online.

*Kerry also receive a provincial grant from the Munster council to fund GDO's. Dublin do not.

*Waits to throw eyes up to heavens when someone mentions registered players.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/07/2019 10:31:25    2204783

At this stage it is very clear that there was poor governance in relation to the GAA's distribution of funds over many years which now will destroy the Football inter county championship. It is already too late to save the next few years but should be addressed sooner rather than later.

Dublin officials used their location and influence to steal a march on their rivals who were asleep at the wheel. HQ let it happen.

Some posters here are like the type of people who instead of admitting something is wrong have a knee jerk reaction of insisting they themselves are great and attack anyone telling the truth

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 03/07/2019 11:15:45    2204802

Replying To TheUsername:  "In simple Maths, here's the rub. For example:

Kerry get six Avocados to share amongst 5 people.

Dublin get 50 Avocados to share amongst 55 people.

Now 6 Avocados can seem like very few when you compare it to 55 avocados. Especially when you leave out the differences of people the avocado has to be shard around, but lets not mention that. Its the fundamental flaw in the victim card in all honesty.

For example this years figures per head of population:

Kerry GDF 197.600 euro, population of Kerry 147.000, ratio = 1.34 euro per head.

Dublin GDF 1.3 mill, population 1.34 mill, ratio = 97 cent per head.

*Source GAA Audited accounts - available online.

*Kerry also receive a provincial grant from the Munster council to fund GDO's. Dublin do not.

*Waits to throw eyes up to heavens when someone mentions registered players."
You're one of the better, more balanced, more knowledgeable posters on this forum.

But do you honestly believe in the crap you write on this topic??

And I don't mean the figures you've quoted, I'm not questioning the numbers themselves.

But *Waits to throw eyes up to heavens when someone mentions registered players.

Are you telling me that shouldn't be considered??
Or the fact Dublin have a huge non-national population?
Or the fact that the vast majority of "development" is really bringing the best talent into the ever-growing senior clubs regardless of their actual address?
Or that no games development money needs to be spent on a bigger home stadium?

Are you really that out of touch with the scale of the uphill task other counties are facing to compete with what Dublin have?? If so, the use of avocados as an example couldn't be more apt!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/07/2019 11:27:11    2204811

Replying To Ashrules:  "At this stage it is very clear that there was poor governance in relation to the GAA's distribution of funds over many years which now will destroy the Football inter county championship. It is already too late to save the next few years but should be addressed sooner rather than later.

Dublin officials used their location and influence to steal a march on their rivals who were asleep at the wheel. HQ let it happen.

Some posters here are like the type of people who instead of admitting something is wrong have a knee jerk reaction of insisting they themselves are great and attack anyone telling the truth"
You've hit the nail on the head. Rural county boards and administrators are to blame too. As recently as the most recent congress, the idea of voting against Dublin having 2 Croke Park games in the Super 8s was called being mean spirited!

It a team engineers a soft penalty, are they going to decline it? Were Mayo going to ask for 12 minutes of injury time last Saturday?

The Munster Council declaring that Kerry and Cork should be seeded in opposite semi-finals was wrong. Fair play to the Munster Footballers who stood up against it.

Fair play to the Donegal County Board for trying to bring Stadia fairness to the Super 8s.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7840 - 03/07/2019 11:49:59    2204828

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're one of the better, more balanced, more knowledgeable posters on this forum.

And I don't mean the figures you've quoted, I'm not questioning the numbers themselves.

But *Waits to throw eyes up to heavens when someone mentions registered players.

Or the fact that the vast majority of "development" is really bringing the best talent into the ever-growing senior clubs regardless of their actual address?

Are you really that out of touch with the scale of the uphill task other counties are facing to compete with what Dublin have?? If so, the use of avocados as an example couldn't be more apt!"
Just the same old tripe that Horan is rolling out like a bot at the moment. Reminds me of another northside resident who dismissed those talking down the economy in 2007 & that took 10 years to recover from.
Pointless engaging with some of the individuals on here - that quote 'none so blind than those who will not see' comes to mind.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 03/07/2019 12:00:30    2204833

Replying To cavanman47:  "You're one of the better, more balanced, more knowledgeable posters on this forum.

Are you really that out of touch with the scale of the uphill task other counties are facing to compete with what Dublin have?? If so, the use of avocados as an example couldn't be more apt!"
I suspect my population to funding model and the registered players model are both flawed and not actually, how funds are distributed in all honesty, likely a hybrid model, ive often said that the GAA dont do themselves favors being transparent in their allocation. But i suspect my model is closer to the Ewen model in all honesty which seems to be the one that creates the ire with most people.

The difficulty i have with the registered players model for example, is its the greatest case for the need for Dublins funding in all honesty. If you have 39k registered players out of a population of 1.3 million, its shockingly bad so then you can see the need why a significant investment needs to be made to attract people to Gaelic games.

To answer your points, i definitely believe that Dublin have a huge non national population, i also believe we have a huge displaced national population as well, i personally dont think they or their children should be excluded form playing Gaelic games in fact the exact opposite.

There is also a definite synergy between schools, club and county board, that is a great thing in fact its discharging the function of the GAA. Another narrative to be busted is that ISC/GAA are funding Dublin's game development in isolation they arent. Dublin's allocation was 1.3 million. Dublin spent 3.6 million on Games development last year, the GAA provided a third and the rest of the 66% of the funding was provided through the DCB and Club, split 50/50. Meaning the bulk of Dublin games development in self funding fact 66% of it. Now compare that ratiio to other counties who look almost constantly for handouts. You can see why the GAA talk about volunteerism and following the Dublin model. What would the GAA be like if every county funded its own development to the tune of 66%.

In terms of stadium costs, i think you are wrong there too, the DCB maintain Parnell Park and they pay rent to Corke Park for use of the ground. Ideally in all honesty Dublin would like to develop their own ground, but the GAA wont support it, for what it means in the broader funding model for Croke Park, Premium tickets, attendances, commercial sponsorship etc. In all honesty i think if Dublin developed their own ground they would be uncatchable from a commercial point of view. Croke park commercially is a millstone for us. I would acknowledge its our home though and the unfairness of that.

Away from GDF i would also acknowledge we are commercial behemoth, no one can compete sustainabley, but as illustrated much of that goes back into grass roots. Mayo put in a massive effort, though i doubt there funding model is sustainable myself.

Its far from a simple matter of the amouts of funds Dubllin are given from A GDF point of view comparatively to be honest. the funding model is different to the rural one who rely wholly on handouts and drip fed by the association, you can see why the Dublin funding model is so well thought of by the GAA and recommend other counties to aspire to it. Thats not being arrogant, just the GAA would love everyone else to be funding 66% of their games development rather then rely of their allocation and provincial council grants - that Dublin again dont get..

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/07/2019 12:18:00    2204843

Unbelievable that John Horan is out again defending the inequitable funding which has been proven beyond a doubt. Surely this is the role of the Dublin County Board CEO John Costello & not that of the Uachtaran of the Association who is elected to represent all ! Any comparisons between individual counties is only whitewashing, it must be looked at a nationwide basis. The problem is no one is willing to challenge them or stand up as most elected officials are too busy worrying about their own political ambitions & funding within the Association. If they want analysis let them have independent auditors appointed from Sport Ireland, not from within that they can influence. A certain western seaboard county had a GAA appointed investigation into gate money & credit card mismanagement, the details or actions or consequences to individuals never made public. Let's hope that he doesn't appoint the officials from both Croke Park & Cork County Board involved in the PUC story, to this or he will come up with two different figures, just a couple of Million in the difference. Outcome will be GAA appointed investigation, finds no major difference in funding no matter what way it's played, all the sports journalists were wrong, time to move on, lift the carpet, now where's that brush !

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 03/07/2019 12:36:49    2204863