Who Are Dublins Challenger Now?

Replying To lilylanger:  "The usual oul scutter to coin a phrase someone used here recently."
Cant see it myself, sure the Kerry are only waines have serious development needs, learning how to share Farleys Rusks and getting too easily distracted during games by Paw Patrol. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/06/2019 11:04:51    2197496

Replying To royaldunne:  "Did donegal need to pay attention to Meath?? Two games , one lost by a horrendous keeper error, the other by missing a glaring goal chance and a questionable disallowed goal."
What was questionable about the disallowed goal?

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 19/06/2019 11:21:46    2197503

At the start of the year i would have said
Tyrone - are the most likely challengers, They really looked to have dublin rattled in the first 20 minutes of the all ireland last year (i know you have to play for 70+ to beat dublin) and i felt they were one of the few teams that could match dublin physically and athletically, unfortunately this year they look to have regressed so far. They look wide open at the back but more worryingly they really lack classy forwards . Bradley and Brennan are losses for sure in that department. I still think the back door could suit them as a run will get their tales up and Tyrone with confidence are one of the few teams that would back themselves to beat dublin in a knockout game. Does Mickey have another something up his sleeve?

Donegal - Very impressed with them so far . showed great patience against Fermanagh and were brilliant against Tyrone, Bonnar is obviously a shrewed operator. They too have fantastic athleticism with great speed throughout and importantly top forwards, McBrearty is yet to hit full gear too so when he does they will be even more dangerous.
I think theres an all ireland in this talented young donegal team and they might well be capable of shocking the country this year, but maybe a small bit green this year to knock the dubs out in a full croke park with the match going to the wire.

Mayo - Nothing in the championship would suggest Mayo have a chance and its difficult to see another treck through the backdoor being beneficial to the old legs on the panel, however this is obviously a special bunch of lads to see them coming back year after year and if they can hit a bit of form in the super 8s you never know. O'Shea is playing well and they really need him to step up later in the year, O'Connor needs to come back and hit top gear immediately. there defenders can put the dubs on the backfoot like nobody else, Keegan is one of the greatest players ever imo and i dont buy the opinion that higgins isnt a man marker.
As much as it would capture the imagination of everyone to see these lads back in contention and give the dubs a rattle it seems to tall an order and i think theyve missed the boat.

Kerry - Still difficult to know where this team is at because of Munsters lack of competitivness, Clare put up a fight and im sure Cork will do the same so you would think Kerry are still a bit green atm but i feel Keane is a real old fashioned Cute hoor and has his targets futher down the line. Look a bit loose at the back and maybe a bit light all over but undoubtably have real X factor upfront , O'Shea and Clifford are new kids on the block with no respect for the old order , theyre both class. Tommy Walsh is a useful lad to have around too. Geaney i hope will hit full form again in late summer.
I struggle to see them living with Dublin in the physicality stakes but without looking at it logically Kerry are a side who would also back themselves to knock the dubs off there perch in a packed Croke Park.
You would do anything to see a shootout like 2013 and maybe just maybe Kerrys young Gunslingers could catch the Dubs.

Galway - Without trying to be disrespectful i just dont see the fuss with this Galway side. while undoubtably a good team i just couldnt in any way see them beating Dublin in kncokout football.
Walsh has done good work since he took over but this team seriously needs to evolve, while obvioulsy not going kamikaze they really need to adobt a Corofin-ish style. Galway have class player O'Ceallaigh at full back , Molloy , Bradshaw, Daly at 11, Burke, Walsh and Cormer , and i think they could be a really good team if they went more attacking and played with a bit of gusto.
For now though i wouldnt give them a chance.

Roscommon - Delighted for them last sunday , a really likeable bunch who play quality football to watch. To win a connacht beating Mayo and galway away is a serious achievement but a bit like Monaghan when they won ulsters i just cant see them having much impact on the race for sam.

Meath - Royaldunne will tog out on Sunday and himself and his club mate Biggy Reilly will come of the bench to rattle a couple of goals each into the hill 16 onion bag then the prodigious Son of bettystown James Conlon will land the winning point and shock the world. Furlong will write a book on this win and Meath will be well and truly back.
Unfortunately after winning leinster Navan will be rocking for the rest of the year and little to no attention will be payed to the race for sam inside the royal county .

In all seriousness though in my very unqualified opinion i do feel the dubs will face a massive test somewhere on the Drive for 5 . They may well tighten up on the cusp of history later in the year and one of Tyrone-Donegal-Kerry will be waiting to pounce.
If i have to call it i reckon it will be far tighter than predicted on here but with my head over-ruling my heart i would tentatively back the dubs to complete the drive for 5.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 19/06/2019 12:07:00    2197517

Replying To TheHermit:  "Forgot that classic alright! A man for all seasons and people, mate/a chara ;D"
I still used it if I'm having trouble falling asleep :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/06/2019 12:16:00    2197525

Replying To the_walls:  "Yeah but to Royaldunne everything can be brought back to Meath, no matter the subject matter."
Ah you have to admire Royal all the same. He has been the one shining light for Meath in their troubled times, defending the indefensible, bullish in their very own bear market. Talking up their chances year after year as teams they would usually treat with disdain easily brushed them aside. The new manager had won this that and the other so surely it was only a matter of time. Their players, who others rated as reasonable, were nailed on all stars. In their darkest hour when the only way was up, he spoke of past glories as if it were yesterday. Over the last few years as the Dubs held all the aces Royal bluffed with a little pair of twos. Now that Meath are finally showing some form he will be insufferable but every dog is entitled to his day. Leinster needs a strong Meath, much like Cork in Munster, to keep the Dubs honest as they have been using the Leinster championship merely to fine tune their push for the All Ireland. My one regret, apart from winning Sam of course, is that we didn't get to play Meath when we were at our best. A win over Meath, even if they were in the doldrums, would have been very satisfying. Now they are on the way up and we are on the way down that chance may well have passsed. Of course if Meath do put us to the sword Royal will be gracious, as ever, in victory!!!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/06/2019 13:12:01    2197559

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Ah you have to admire Royal all the same. He has been the one shining light for Meath in their troubled times, defending the indefensible, bullish in their very own bear market. Talking up their chances year after year as teams they would usually treat with disdain easily brushed them aside. The new manager had won this that and the other so surely it was only a matter of time. Their players, who others rated as reasonable, were nailed on all stars. In their darkest hour when the only way was up, he spoke of past glories as if it were yesterday. Over the last few years as the Dubs held all the aces Royal bluffed with a little pair of twos. Now that Meath are finally showing some form he will be insufferable but every dog is entitled to his day. Leinster needs a strong Meath, much like Cork in Munster, to keep the Dubs honest as they have been using the Leinster championship merely to fine tune their push for the All Ireland. My one regret, apart from winning Sam of course, is that we didn't get to play Meath when we were at our best. A win over Meath, even if they were in the doldrums, would have been very satisfying. Now they are on the way up and we are on the way down that chance may well have passsed. Of course if Meath do put us to the sword Royal will be gracious, as ever, in victory!!!"
There is a chance ye could be meeting Meath in the next few weeks Llaw boy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/06/2019 14:37:41    2197605

At the moment you can't make a case for anyone giving Dublin a game but that can change over the next month. I like Donegal and they have a lot of fantastic players but I wouldn't be getting carried away with them just yet As Tyrone were appalling.

We're just going to have to wait and see what happens during the super 8's and see if someone gets their act together.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 19/06/2019 14:50:49    2197615

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There is a chance ye could be meeting Meath in the next few weeks Llaw boy."
I wouldn't feel confident about beating any team at the minute KingdomBoy and we'll do well to come away from Newry with the win. It's been a funny championship so far with only the Dubs and Donegal showing any sort of form. Looks like another Dublin procession though so maybe we're as well to throw in the towel early. Still a few points win against Down and we'll be dreaming again, nature of the beast. Looking forward to your game against Cork. Should be a Kerry win but Cork are one of those teams who can be rubbish one week and brilliant the next so you have to be wary of them. Interesting weekend of football as it's getting serious from now on.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/06/2019 15:16:36    2197621

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I wouldn't feel confident about beating any team at the minute KingdomBoy and we'll do well to come away from Newry with the win. It's been a funny championship so far with only the Dubs and Donegal showing any sort of form. Looks like another Dublin procession though so maybe we're as well to throw in the towel early. Still a few points win against Down and we'll be dreaming again, nature of the beast. Looking forward to your game against Cork. Should be a Kerry win but Cork are one of those teams who can be rubbish one week and brilliant the next so you have to be wary of them. Interesting weekend of football as it's getting serious from now on."
As we say down here Cork are like mushrooms they can pop up over night Llaw.

I know what you mean , it's always tough when you lose a game but at least ye have another bite at the cherry this weekend.

Is yer game on sky? I checked the planner earlier on and there was nothing up for it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/06/2019 15:46:52    2197631

At this point in time it is really difficult to find a genuine contender to beat Dublin. On the back of beating Tyrone, Donegal seem to have jumped to the top of the queue from nowhere. We have played in div 2 this year and Tyrone played poorly against us, not sure we would be able to get close to Dublin. It's always possible that Dublin could have a really bad day in the semi-final or final but I can't see any of the teams being good enough to take advantage. I hope I am wrong.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 19/06/2019 16:02:47    2197638

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "As we say down here Cork are like mushrooms they can pop up over night Llaw.

I know what you mean , it's always tough when you lose a game but at least ye have another bite at the cherry this weekend.

Is yer game on sky? I checked the planner earlier on and there was nothing up for it."
Don't think sky are showing any gaa this weekend. Three provincial finals on RTÉ so good weekend of viewing. Won't enjoy the two on Sunday if we lose though. Think sky are showing a couple of third round qualifier matches the following week.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 19/06/2019 17:45:24    2197685

Replying To Green_Gold:  "At this point in time it is really difficult to find a genuine contender to beat Dublin. On the back of beating Tyrone, Donegal seem to have jumped to the top of the queue from nowhere. We have played in div 2 this year and Tyrone played poorly against us, not sure we would be able to get close to Dublin. It's always possible that Dublin could have a really bad day in the semi-final or final but I can't see any of the teams being good enough to take advantage. I hope I am wrong."
It does look that way. I am not convinced by any of the contenders outside the capital but the beauty of sport is in surprises it throws up. An off day, an early sending off or a team like yourselves rising to the occasion as ye did in 2014 could do it. It would surprise but not shock me if they are beaten this year. There are a couple of teams that could do it if a few things go right for them.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/06/2019 19:37:05    2197718

kildare

thecraw1 (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 19/06/2019 20:12:37    2197726

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Ah you have to admire Royal all the same. He has been the one shining light for Meath in their troubled times, defending the indefensible, bullish in their very own bear market. Talking up their chances year after year as teams they would usually treat with disdain easily brushed them aside. The new manager had won this that and the other so surely it was only a matter of time. Their players, who others rated as reasonable, were nailed on all stars. In their darkest hour when the only way was up, he spoke of past glories as if it were yesterday. Over the last few years as the Dubs held all the aces Royal bluffed with a little pair of twos. Now that Meath are finally showing some form he will be insufferable but every dog is entitled to his day. Leinster needs a strong Meath, much like Cork in Munster, to keep the Dubs honest as they have been using the Leinster championship merely to fine tune their push for the All Ireland. My one regret, apart from winning Sam of course, is that we didn't get to play Meath when we were at our best. A win over Meath, even if they were in the doldrums, would have been very satisfying. Now they are on the way up and we are on the way down that chance may well have passsed. Of course if Meath do put us to the sword Royal will be gracious, as ever, in victory!!!"
I pride myself on been gracious in both victories and defeat. Before a game I will hammer anyone and anything, but afterwards I'll shake hands and wish the best regardless of win lose or draw.
For me that's what the gaa is all about (well football anyway) the hurlers seem to take a different view. I enjoy the craic and the build up to a game and during it. I am passionate (ask herself)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2019 21:16:25    2197756

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "At the start of the year i would have said
Tyrone - are the most likely challengers, They really looked to have dublin rattled in the first 20 minutes of the all ireland last year (i know you have to play for 70+ to beat dublin) and i felt they were one of the few teams that could match dublin physically and athletically, unfortunately this year they look to have regressed so far. They look wide open at the back but more worryingly they really lack classy forwards . Bradley and Brennan are losses for sure in that department. I still think the back door could suit them as a run will get their tales up and Tyrone with confidence are one of the few teams that would back themselves to beat dublin in a knockout game. Does Mickey have another something up his sleeve?

Donegal - Very impressed with them so far . showed great patience against Fermanagh and were brilliant against Tyrone, Bonnar is obviously a shrewed operator. They too have fantastic athleticism with great speed throughout and importantly top forwards, McBrearty is yet to hit full gear too so when he does they will be even more dangerous.
I think theres an all ireland in this talented young donegal team and they might well be capable of shocking the country this year, but maybe a small bit green this year to knock the dubs out in a full croke park with the match going to the wire.

Mayo - Nothing in the championship would suggest Mayo have a chance and its difficult to see another treck through the backdoor being beneficial to the old legs on the panel, however this is obviously a special bunch of lads to see them coming back year after year and if they can hit a bit of form in the super 8s you never know. O'Shea is playing well and they really need him to step up later in the year, O'Connor needs to come back and hit top gear immediately. there defenders can put the dubs on the backfoot like nobody else, Keegan is one of the greatest players ever imo and i dont buy the opinion that higgins isnt a man marker.
As much as it would capture the imagination of everyone to see these lads back in contention and give the dubs a rattle it seems to tall an order and i think theyve missed the boat.

Kerry - Still difficult to know where this team is at because of Munsters lack of competitivness, Clare put up a fight and im sure Cork will do the same so you would think Kerry are still a bit green atm but i feel Keane is a real old fashioned Cute hoor and has his targets futher down the line. Look a bit loose at the back and maybe a bit light all over but undoubtably have real X factor upfront , O'Shea and Clifford are new kids on the block with no respect for the old order , theyre both class. Tommy Walsh is a useful lad to have around too. Geaney i hope will hit full form again in late summer.
I struggle to see them living with Dublin in the physicality stakes but without looking at it logically Kerry are a side who would also back themselves to knock the dubs off there perch in a packed Croke Park.
You would do anything to see a shootout like 2013 and maybe just maybe Kerrys young Gunslingers could catch the Dubs.

Galway - Without trying to be disrespectful i just dont see the fuss with this Galway side. while undoubtably a good team i just couldnt in any way see them beating Dublin in kncokout football.
Walsh has done good work since he took over but this team seriously needs to evolve, while obvioulsy not going kamikaze they really need to adobt a Corofin-ish style. Galway have class player O'Ceallaigh at full back , Molloy , Bradshaw, Daly at 11, Burke, Walsh and Cormer , and i think they could be a really good team if they went more attacking and played with a bit of gusto.
For now though i wouldnt give them a chance.

Roscommon - Delighted for them last sunday , a really likeable bunch who play quality football to watch. To win a connacht beating Mayo and galway away is a serious achievement but a bit like Monaghan when they won ulsters i just cant see them having much impact on the race for sam.

Meath - Royaldunne will tog out on Sunday and himself and his club mate Biggy Reilly will come of the bench to rattle a couple of goals each into the hill 16 onion bag then the prodigious Son of bettystown James Conlon will land the winning point and shock the world. Furlong will write a book on this win and Meath will be well and truly back.
Unfortunately after winning leinster Navan will be rocking for the rest of the year and little to no attention will be payed to the race for sam inside the royal county .

In all seriousness though in my very unqualified opinion i do feel the dubs will face a massive test somewhere on the Drive for 5 . They may well tighten up on the cusp of history later in the year and one of Tyrone-Donegal-Kerry will be waiting to pounce.
If i have to call it i reckon it will be far tighter than predicted on here but with my head over-ruling my heart i would tentatively back the dubs to complete the drive for 5."
Haha. Very good. But I need a xxxxl Jersey these days

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/06/2019 21:21:39    2197759

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Don't think sky are showing any gaa this weekend. Three provincial finals on RTÉ so good weekend of viewing. Won't enjoy the two on Sunday if we lose though. Think sky are showing a couple of third round qualifier matches the following week."
They should be showing Down v Mayo and Armagh v Monaghan as well.

They have really given up on football.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/06/2019 21:42:29    2197766

The answer is no one looks able to challenge the dubs this year. The question really is can they be stopped from getting six, or dare i say it....seven in a row? After all the resources are very very unevenly spread within the Gaa

bunnoe1 (Cavan) - Posts: 60 - 20/06/2019 00:11:16    2197804

Monaghan gone Mayo get a 5 point win against Down, Tyrone beat Longford by 4 and Kerry nearly bate by Cork a div 3 team.

Has the road for 5 ever looked so sweet for any team?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/06/2019 02:30:20    2198805

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Monaghan gone Mayo get a 5 point win against Down, Tyrone beat Longford by 4 and Kerry nearly bate by Cork a div 3 team.

Has the road for 5 ever looked so sweet for any team?"
Donegal looking like main challenge. ..,Who knows with Kerry...,they can raise their game on the day ,...,munster and Ulster are paired in Super8ths

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 23/06/2019 19:40:42    2199271

Donegal win a game so they're the contenders. The next day out some other team will win a game, then they'll be the contender.

Truth is, this Dublin team is light years ahead of the pack and rumors of their imminent fall have been greatly exaggerated.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 23/06/2019 19:50:24    2199291