Dublin Knock Galway Out!

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Tell us what was nonsense about his post. It was spot-on. We've been poor this year, but to say last week's win was "very lucky" is the only nonsense I see. We outplayed KK last week and were the better team.
We certainly didn't deserve to go through based on tonight's performance. Fair play Dublin."
Outplayed? You won by by 1 point against 14 men., then 13 men. Plus, only two minute played of the four added on time when Kilkenny had you on the rack!

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 15/06/2019 22:05:57    2195522

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Nonsense. Carlow "put it up to them" in Salthill as did Wexford. They got a very lucky win against Kilkenny last week; but got found out today.

The emporer has no clothes."
Kilkenny were found out too keep TJ quite and you have them in your pocket. Lucky goal kept ye in the championship mind you just be glad it ain't your crew sent packing tonight. If Wexford had half bothered to play a forward line they would have beaten ye.
Don't get your point about my post been nonsense everyone else including KK beat Carlow handy enough but Galway didn't and I think that was more Carlow been up for it than Galway been poor. They did beat ye afterall and I don't think that was a lucky win to be honest.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/06/2019 22:22:46    2195533

why oh why did they play joe canning in the league
surely they should have kept him under wraps for the championship
sad to say the signs of our dependence on him were there to be seen in the league
and boy have we missed him

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 15/06/2019 22:25:53    2195534

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Outplayed? You won by by 1 point against 14 men., then 13 men. Plus, only two minute played of the four added on time when Kilkenny had you on the rack!"
Yes, outplayed. We dominated the majority of the game. It was by far our best performance of the year, but that isn't saying much as we've been very poor for large spells of the championship. There's nothing very lucky about scoring 3-17 from play spread among a large number of players. We also created a number of other goal chances and as was mentioned, left a lot of frees behind us.
I'll ask you again. What was nonsense about his post?

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 15/06/2019 22:27:19    2195536

Replying To WildPundit:  "Kilkenny were found out too keep TJ quite and you have them in your pocket. Lucky goal kept ye in the championship mind you just be glad it ain't your crew sent packing tonight. If Wexford had half bothered to play a forward line they would have beaten ye.
Don't get your point about my post been nonsense everyone else including KK beat Carlow handy enough but Galway didn't and I think that was more Carlow been up for it than Galway been poor. They did beat ye afterall and I don't think that was a lucky win to be honest."
Huh, Kilkenny didn't lose despite Reid not having an influence, probably should have won if Leahy etc. had their eye in and what was the lucky goal you mention?

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 15/06/2019 22:34:57    2195540

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Nonsense. Carlow "put it up to them" in Salthill as did Wexford. They got a very lucky win against Kilkenny last week; but got found out today.

The emporer has no clothes."
We got what we deserved tonight and fair play to the Dubs. I wouldn't crow too much though if I was you. Bad and all as we are, we beat you last week. Take TJ Reid out of the Kilkenny team and you're no great shakes either.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 859 - 15/06/2019 22:35:01    2195541

Galway were not good enough to drive on, yes the referee was poor but we had plenty of chances to take a commanding lead. Galway are not a bad team but they also not a good team. Changes changes need. Finally well done Dublin it's a long year for me to be heartbroken.

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 15/06/2019 22:35:29    2195542

Absolutely delighted with our lads tonight. I felt when Sean Moran got that last gasp goal against Wexford there was a bit of faith at play and we'd get out of the group. For excitement, best Leinster championship in ages and it's tough on Galway going out on such small margins. We'll go into the next round with a bit of confidence and anything can happen on a given day. Leinster final could be cracker too, I hope Wexford win it. Na Dubs abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 15/06/2019 22:39:25    2195545

great for Leinster hurling that KK and Wexford are in Final (pity KK didnt get knocked out- they will hang around now like a wounded dog)....delighted for Dublin, I actually predicted Dublin to win by 3 points on Facetheball competition, I just had a hunch that Dublin would be up for Galway tonight being at home in Parnell Park, Galway probably had a tinge of complacency after beating KK last week...Dublin will be happy with their QF place..jaysus we in Offaly would take it with both hands!!....Dublin will cause an upset or two yet, they have some fine hurlers...Wexford should be happy enough with their draw, infairness KK kept going ahead everytime Wexford levelled and Wexford just bided their time and levelled again...I thought Wexford should have got a couple of more frees..KK were lucky some of their tackling was pulled up on...People will say Wexford were as bad but KK borderline on a few and got away with them whereas Wexford got pulled more often..I thought anyway....great to see a propper Leinster Final again....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 15/06/2019 22:55:37    2195549

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Outplayed? You won by by 1 point against 14 men., then 13 men. Plus, only two minute played of the four added on time when Kilkenny had you on the rack!"
Rubbish. Galway had only a few minutes with 15/14 numerical advantage and less 14/13. You're one of the least graceful posters on here. Another Wexford point and you would have been walking home with your tail between your legs tonight, unless you're a Manx cat.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 15/06/2019 23:09:45    2195556

Potentially one more year in this Galway panel but like tipp, time is running out for a few. Still the bulk of the team in their prime years tho. There's a few lads on the panel in their late 20's who for me haven't been ever able to contribute enough and they need to be replaced now with some more new blood.
Apart from Cathal mannion and conor whelan no one else has performed. Too many big players had little or no hurling before the cship too

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 15/06/2019 23:11:44    2195558

Was travelling, so listened to the games on RTE and what a shambles at the end as the commentators tried to fill in tlime after the games as they did not have a clue what the various ramifications were.

It must have been 5 minutes later they announced that Kilkenny and Dublin had reached the final.

Embarrassing

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 15/06/2019 23:18:19    2195569

All Ireland will go to Munster. Galway a tired outfit, half injured and not up to All Ireland Standard. The Punishment Clare and Galway dished out to each other last year has left both teams exhausted and they have not recovered from it yet.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 16/06/2019 01:10:11    2195593

Well done Dublin. I knew you'd take a big scalp sooner or later and unfortunately it was ours. I'm sad but we just did not have it this year. Get well Conor Whelan and anyone else that was injured. Galway Abu!!!

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 16/06/2019 01:24:37    2195597

Galway were hard done by and with canning returning they were probably top 3 contenders. With the spotlight on Tipp and Limerick they would have been so dangerous.

I feel for their fans. Such tight margins. If that Wexford lad didn't lose the head and get himself sent off, who knows maybe it would have knocked kilkenny out instead. Or if they'd taken their goal chances. As a neural the munster hurling was unbelievable last year but this year it goes to Leinster.

The best part is we still have 3 more matches in Munster and another in Leinster. The GAA must resist calls to remove the provincial championships, especially in hurling.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 16/06/2019 02:35:47    2195603

Still on the go!

Up The Dubs

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/06/2019 04:37:27    2195606

Lads having a swipe at Donohue for not unearthing new players since 17 - that's ridiculous. The only player that may be past it is Callanan and anyone that knows Galway hurling knows there is no replacement at the minute. Further out the field he has tried numerous young lads and not one has stood up consistently. Concannon got his chance this year but is not a patch on Conor Whelan, Loftus was given plenty of game time and didn't prove himself. If Donohue goes, I certainly wouldn't like to step into his shoes. From a Galway hurling fan I hope he gets another 2 years at the very least.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 16/06/2019 06:10:15    2195607

Very good post Clare Sparrow. Give Donoghue a break. Galway exited the championship on the narrowest of margins. They lost one game. A team (perhaps two if Clare and Tipp win) will qualify frim Munster championship having lost twice. Galway still a very good side.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 16/06/2019 09:32:55    2195624

Replying To ROYALOPTIMIST:  "Was travelling, so listened to the games on RTE and what a shambles at the end as the commentators tried to fill in tlime after the games as they did not have a clue what the various ramifications were.

It must have been 5 minutes later they announced that Kilkenny and Dublin had reached the final.

Embarrassing"
Kilkenny and Dublin?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 16/06/2019 10:36:15    2195641

Replying To bennybunny:  "Very good post Clare Sparrow. Give Donoghue a break. Galway exited the championship on the narrowest of margins. They lost one game. A team (perhaps two if Clare and Tipp win) will qualify frim Munster championship having lost twice. Galway still a very good side."
Very good point

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 16/06/2019 10:37:47    2195643