Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President

Look it's pretty simple yes money is a HUGE advantage you don't have to break it down in some scholarly way it's a fact ....as too is nearly every big game a home advantage with 60000 supporters cheering you on two steps and a leap from your own bed .......BUT would dublin still be champions anyway despite all this perhaps yes certainly be up there but going for 5 in a row not a hope

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 09/08/2019 19:38:14    2223174

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Look it's pretty simple yes money is a HUGE advantage you don't have to break it down in some scholarly way it's a fact ....as too is nearly every big game a home advantage with 60000 supporters cheering you on two steps and a leap from your own bed .......BUT would dublin still be champions anyway despite all this perhaps yes certainly be up there but going for 5 in a row not a hope"
Galway broke the spending record in 2018 and won nothing.

Dublin spent millions on their teams from 1996-2010 - didn't even make a final. They undoubtedly spent over many rivals. Won nothing.

Money guarantees nothing. It helps but without the players it's not enough.

Galway a good example in 2018

Despite playing more games at Croke Park and all the natural advantages that brings Dublin were regularly beaten by better teams there because they weren't good enough from 1996-2010

Leinster final, Qtr finals, semi finals, finals always going to be played at HQ across this current run regardless.

So why wouldn't Dublin be winning titles in a row?

Now yes, they had some close calls and great battles in this run and were tested to the maximum.. but they were good enough to come through it.

If Dublin weren't good enough ie 2012, 2014 then they'd have lost.

Perhaps a couple games less in Leinster at HQ.. would it have stopped Dublin winning. Most unlikely.

Dublin went on the greatest competitive winning game run in history across league and championship, plenty of away games in the mix.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/08/2019 21:26:31    2223205

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Look it's pretty simple yes money is a HUGE advantage you don't have to break it down in some scholarly way it's a fact ....as too is nearly every big game a home advantage with 60000 supporters cheering you on two steps and a leap from your own bed .......BUT would dublin still be champions anyway despite all this perhaps yes certainly be up there but going for 5 in a row not a hope"
Yes money helps. Do you believe that Dublin had 60,000 supporters against Mayo at our last AI Final? I actually think that Mayo out-numbered Dublin on that occasion.. Anyway, re this current Dublin crop if Dublin had to beat any team out of the national stadium in the championship I think they would do it. Should every Dublin game except AI semi and final be played outside of Croke Park? It may not sit well with some Leinster counties but yeah why not? As long as the neutral venue can accommodate the fans, no problem.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 09/08/2019 21:37:27    2223210

Replying To Joxer:  "Yes money helps. Do you believe that Dublin had 60,000 supporters against Mayo at our last AI Final? I actually think that Mayo out-numbered Dublin on that occasion.. Anyway, re this current Dublin crop if Dublin had to beat any team out of the national stadium in the championship I think they would do it. Should every Dublin game except AI semi and final be played outside of Croke Park? It may not sit well with some Leinster counties but yeah why not? As long as the neutral venue can accommodate the fans, no problem."
Yep, thanks Jimbo and Joxer. It's not to degrade or minimise the quality players ye have but you both have said that money helps and since you have received significantly more money than the rest of us, that's the issue. Not the money alone is a problem for me, not the 5inarow alone but the fact that the money (imo and in your opinion) helps and that there is about to be a record broken when they've come together.

I hope that is understood by pro-Dublin GAA fans. Things might not have been any different, your quality of players is so high etc etc but a record breaker has been given an advantage and that is what sticks... with me anyway

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 09/08/2019 22:05:37    2223223

Replying To jimbodub:  "Galway broke the spending record in 2018 and won nothing.

Dublin spent millions on their teams from 1996-2010 - didn't even make a final. They undoubtedly spent over many rivals. Won nothing.

Money guarantees nothing. It helps but without the players it's not enough.

Galway a good example in 2018

Despite playing more games at Croke Park and all the natural advantages that brings Dublin were regularly beaten by better teams there because they weren't good enough from 1996-2010

Leinster final, Qtr finals, semi finals, finals always going to be played at HQ across this current run regardless.

So why wouldn't Dublin be winning titles in a row?

Now yes, they had some close calls and great battles in this run and were tested to the maximum.. but they were good enough to come through it.

If Dublin weren't good enough ie 2012, 2014 then they'd have lost.

Perhaps a couple games less in Leinster at HQ.. would it have stopped Dublin winning. Most unlikely.

Dublin went on the greatest competitive winning game run in history across league and championship, plenty of away games in the mix."
Look pal even the most ardent of dub supporters will have to concede that dublin have so many advantages at all levels in all areas that it's a HUGE factor in their success if u want to cherry pick this point and that point to suit ur argument well I'm not going there with ya ......

Hitnhurl (Cork) - Posts: 92 - 09/08/2019 22:06:53    2223224

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Look pal even the most ardent of dub supporters will have to concede that dublin have so many advantages at all levels in all areas that it's a HUGE factor in their success if u want to cherry pick this point and that point to suit ur argument well I'm not going there with ya ......"
Grand.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/08/2019 22:51:27    2223237

Replying To wicklu:  "Yep, thanks Jimbo and Joxer. It's not to degrade or minimise the quality players ye have but you both have said that money helps and since you have received significantly more money than the rest of us, that's the issue. Not the money alone is a problem for me, not the 5inarow alone but the fact that the money (imo and in your opinion) helps and that there is about to be a record broken when they've come together.

I hope that is understood by pro-Dublin GAA fans. Things might not have been any different, your quality of players is so high etc etc but a record breaker has been given an advantage and that is what sticks... with me anyway"
But a lot of the same advantages existed when they weren't good enough to win.

I just think the *9 million + going into football coaching young children (boys and girls) since 2003 has been given a greatly over blown significance and completely devalues the vast effort of the volunteer on the ground which is vastly above any GDO's input into their development across their career.

I mean I could list many players that said funding had absolute zero relevance. Players that have made the 5 a possibility and nothing would have been won without them...

Dublin has always had natural advantages but they counted for nothing when they simply didn't have the players and Croke Park being an object found in Dublin mattered very little indeed and there was zNo talk of it being an advantage.

I agree though, money helps but guarantees nothing and yes Dublin are forced to play too many games at HQ which is something many Dub fans would like to see changed.

At least 2-3 less a year is possible and I'd like to see the end of the Spring series, yes it'll be less revenue and less exposure for the league but so be it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/08/2019 23:09:29    2223240

Replying To wicklu:  "Yep, thanks Jimbo and Joxer. It's not to degrade or minimise the quality players ye have but you both have said that money helps and since you have received significantly more money than the rest of us, that's the issue. Not the money alone is a problem for me, not the 5inarow alone but the fact that the money (imo and in your opinion) helps and that there is about to be a record broken when they've come together.

I hope that is understood by pro-Dublin GAA fans. Things might not have been any different, your quality of players is so high etc etc but a record breaker has been given an advantage and that is what sticks... with me anyway"
With a population of 1.4m would you have expected us to have received less than anyone else? Unless you have a reasonable, logic based argument around funding, Dublin fans will just dismiss you as another begrudger. Yes Dublin receive more funding than any other county, much more, and that is to be expected. Too much? Yes probably. Is this being used as a stick to beat Dublin with? Yes. Is it the reason for this Dublin team's success since 2011? Almost certainly, no. Is it a point of debate in relation to this Dublin team's success? No. Is it a potential point of debate in relation to potential future Dublin teams' successes across various codes? Yes. Is it a populist point argued by many who begrudge the Dublin senior football team's success? Absolutely. We've heard it all. It's tiresome. Enjoy the 15 lads on the pitch for what they do, what they have sacrificed and the entertainment they bring. Football is a great sport when played well. They play it well. They won't be here forever and God forbid, when they're gone we may be left with a competition stacked with teams with defensive systems. Imagine that.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/08/2019 00:10:02    2223250

Replying To Hitnhurl:  "Look pal even the most ardent of dub supporters will have to concede that dublin have so many advantages at all levels in all areas that it's a HUGE factor in their success if u want to cherry pick this point and that point to suit ur argument well I'm not going there with ya ......"
Not that I disagree with your passion, but your aggression creates an us v them, Hitnhurl. That's a problem and when emotion is involved, balanced argument goes out the window.

This topic has been done to death but I'd like to see more responses from Dublin fans to my legit question

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 10/08/2019 00:22:35    2223251

At this rate the leinster final attendance could be so bad they might as well play it in portlaoise. This year was only 47k despite the biggest rivalry in Leinster. I think we'll get a sub 30k attendance before too long.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 10/08/2019 06:57:43    2223266

I'm not sure about the 'ardent' Dublin supporter conceding anything, but I have met lots of Dublin supporters with rural backgrounds and they openly admit that Dublin's advantages are numerous. But you're right, there's no point in arguing with some of the blue hues here!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 10/08/2019 09:18:04    2223275

Replying To baire:  "I'm not sure about the 'ardent' Dublin supporter conceding anything, but I have met lots of Dublin supporters with rural backgrounds and they openly admit that Dublin's advantages are numerous. But you're right, there's no point in arguing with some of the blue hues here!"
Well I suppose it's 15v15. We're not talking about the space race here. 15v15 and if you've good enough you're good enough. Decent sized population in Galway in the west. How'd they get on in Connaught?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/08/2019 11:59:14    2223327

Weather getting brighter as we head eastward...I just knew the dubs had a weather machine bought from da CIA. It will be 30 degree by da time we reach the capital ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 10/08/2019 12:22:28    2223335

Replying To Joxer:  "Well I suppose it's 15v15. We're not talking about the space race here. 15v15 and if you've good enough you're good enough. Decent sized population in Galway in the west. How'd they get on in Connaught?"
You suppose? It's gaelic football, teams play 15 v 15 out of a panel of 26. You're probably more familiar with soccer. In soccer as you well know, whether it's Man City v the lowest team in Division 3 they still play 11 v 11. I didn't mention population but Galway do well in Connacht, about the same as Mayo in Connacht titles.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 10/08/2019 12:31:11    2223338

Replying To yew_tree:  "Weather getting brighter as we head eastward...I just knew the dubs had a weather machine bought from da CIA. It will be 30 degree by da time we reach the capital ;)"
The best of luck yew_tree, may your team's return journey to Maigh Eo be a happy one!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 10/08/2019 13:07:49    2223352

Replying To baire:  "You suppose? It's gaelic football, teams play 15 v 15 out of a panel of 26. You're probably more familiar with soccer. In soccer as you well know, whether it's Man City v the lowest team in Division 3 they still play 11 v 11. I didn't mention population but Galway do well in Connacht, about the same as Mayo in Connacht titles."
There we go with the old soccer smear again. Jesus, i thought we were beyond that tripe.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 10/08/2019 13:22:54    2223354

Replying To baire:  "You suppose? It's gaelic football, teams play 15 v 15 out of a panel of 26. You're probably more familiar with soccer. In soccer as you well know, whether it's Man City v the lowest team in Division 3 they still play 11 v 11. I didn't mention population but Galway do well in Connacht, about the same as Mayo in Connacht titles."
Well very sad for you I have to say to act like this

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 10/08/2019 13:42:33    2223360

Yeah I'm just as familiar with soccer. Played both sports. Follow Bohs (that's an Irish soccer team in Dublin) and the Dubs with equal passion. I have no idea why you raise it but sure if it makes you feel better.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/08/2019 13:51:08    2223368