Dublin's Success Not Down To Money - GAA President

Just relax lads, sit back and enjoy the attention, we're at the pinnacle.

Count the number of threads people have posted about Dublin on the front page of the forum.

Think of all those desolate years of the 90s and 00s.

The whole worlds eyes are on us, love, hate, obsession, greatness, bitterness.

It's the realm of giants.

Mana for those raised and songs and stories. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 23/07/2019 22:44:50    2215499

Replying To legendzxix:  "Less people will watch the best final in years?

A former Dublin player reckons their will be merit in two teams if it's seen after a decade that this is more than a cyclical phase. It's not going to happen at the stroke of a pen. There will be an extensive review.

2026 will be 25 years on from the 2001 report. After a generation of heavy investment and a decade of complete dominance, a natural evolution might come to fruition.

The Laois hurlers got great praise for their efforts this year. Donegal, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone are putting up an incredible challenge. Killarney, Dr Hyde Park and Ballybofey were fantastic in phase 1. Tyrone v Cork, Meath v Mayo and Kerry v Donegal were all good clashes. It's just all been overshadowed. It is what it is. The former Waterford hurling manager said we all get so caught up in winning, it was great to see the Laois hurling story. The fight in Donegal, Kerry, Mayo and Tyrone is also an incredible story."
The fight in Kerry an incredible story ? What a load of nonsense , 81 Munster titles , 37 All Ireland titles , 5 in a row minor All Irelands etc etc ……..
Your only fooling yourself lol... , Donegal , Mayo and Tyrone are fantastic teams , but your lot are out on there own.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 23/07/2019 22:48:33    2215503

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just relax lads, sit back and enjoy the attention, we're at the pinnacle.

Count the number of threads people have posted about Dublin on the front page of the forum.

Mana for those raised and songs and stories. ;)"
Well said.

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 23/07/2019 23:00:08    2215509

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just relax lads, sit back and enjoy the attention, we're at the pinnacle.

"We're at the pinnacle". Hahaha!

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 23/07/2019 23:09:51    2215514

Replying To superbluedub:  "It would do the opposite , 2 Dublin teams in a Leinster final would be played in an empty Croke Park."
Really? So you think kids growing up in the next 20 years wouldn't want to attend Dublin North vs South. There's no way they won't and it will capture their attentions far more then the current Turkey shoots. I'm sure they'll want a return to the days where Dublin would win every game by 20 points and there was no excitement. The older Dublin fans will care but in 40 years you'll not be around and the GAA will be in a better place.

Looking at the average age profile on the hill these days it's like going to mass so the 40 years could be a bit generous.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/07/2019 23:43:50    2215533

Replying To avonali:  "Precisely. If we are going to look at demographic inequality let's look at the whole picture. Think of poor Waterford in the past. Waterford's population is 50k. Their footballers face, let's say, Kerry with a population of 150k.That's an imbalance of 3:1. Dublin differs from Kerry in this respect only by a matter of degree. Look at the Connacht Championship. Mayo has population 135K. Leitrim has a population of just over 30k. That's an imbalance of 4.5: 1. The you look at the likes of London and New York in our IC Championships.
Where do you draw the line? People only get exercised by this question when it comes to Dublin.
Now, if we are going to argue that this kind of population imbalance is fundamentally unfair, let's look at the whole inter county system. It is arguable that the whole IC scene needs to a comprehensive re-evaluation.
Then again our club scene also has these imbalances. Look at a club like Kilmacud Crokes . They have a massive membership and plenty of resources yet they were beaten by Mullinalaghta, a parish with a population of 450. Should that Lind of advantage be allowed in our game?

I'll say it again. If you uphold the principle of equality it must apply across the board."
Thanks avonali. That puts it more succinctly than I did. :)

CornAghais91 (Dublin) - Posts: 126 - 24/07/2019 00:16:47    2215542

I was in the Cusack stand for the 78 drubbing. Ten in a row will remove that memory. Halfway there. COYBIB

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 24/07/2019 00:41:02    2215545

Replying To Jack_Goff:  "Really? So you think kids growing up in the next 20 years wouldn't want to attend Dublin North vs South. There's no way they won't and it will capture their attentions far more then the current Turkey shoots. I'm sure they'll want a return to the days where Dublin would win every game by 20 points and there was no excitement. The older Dublin fans will care but in 40 years you'll not be around and the GAA will be in a better place.

Looking at the average age profile on the hill these days it's like going to mass so the 40 years could be a bit generous."
No they wont , Dublin north v south will never be supported by Dublin , Adults or Kids , the current turkey shoots will end soon enough , but yea you can predict the future right -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 24/07/2019 07:32:05    2215575

Replying To Jackeen:  "Its actually quite easy to prove what the lads do. Also, if you've eyes and a twitter or instagram account you can see what players from what counties have gotten cars. Still can't put my finger on who you are but a few more posts targeting just Dubs & I'll get there. Older posters who remembers Vice?"
No one is saying players aren't getting cars?

Already told you i was a poster before but stopped. Again what has that got to do with anything?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 24/07/2019 08:51:08    2215593

Replying To oneoff:  "No one is saying players aren't getting cars?

Already told you i was a poster before but stopped. Again what has that got to do with anything?"
Because I dont engage with WUMS, that's why.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2019 10:05:09    2215621

Replying To Sindar:  "Who's talking about "irregularities"? There are 17 members on the GAA Management Committee from all the provinces and Education and 50+ on Central Council. Those committees make the decisions how funds are apportioned. It's one thing to question the decisions on where the money goes but it's an entirely different matter to start using words like financial irregularities and ethics and governance when there's no evidence that this needs to be even discussed"
Are you saying that how funds are allocated should ignore ethics and governance?

Re what happened in the past .If funds were allocated on a proper basis fine. If not should it be ignored? What do you think?

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 24/07/2019 10:24:03    2215630

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "I'd suggest actually researching some Spanish history before making incorrect analogies. Embarrassing stuff."
I'd suggest having an original thought instead of parroting others, you might enjoy the new experience. Your subsequent posts are what's embarrassing, nothing but rock throwing.

steve097 (Dublin) - Posts: 109 - 24/07/2019 12:13:48    2215688

How does DCU's facilities compare with that of the centres of excellence in other parts of the country? Better or worse?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 24/07/2019 14:31:57    2215775

Replying To legendzxix:  "Dublin's athleticism does not not come cheap. Other counties do not have the finances to get near that."
Yeah you get out what you put in. A lesson for all, train hard, very hard.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 24/07/2019 15:20:15    2215803

Replying To Ashrules:  "Are you saying that how funds are allocated should ignore ethics and governance?

Re what happened in the past .If funds were allocated on a proper basis fine. If not should it be ignored? What do you think?"
Ethics and Governance have nothing to do with this debate neither does "financial irregularities" which you used previously. If the GAA decide tomorrow to give all of Mayo´s Games Development funding to Roscommon and make that decision in an open and transparent manner through ther committees then that is not an ethics and governance issue.

If a few influential people in the GAA managed to bypass the committees and get such a decision through in a non-transparent manner then you have an ethics and governance issue.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 24/07/2019 17:25:57    2215873

Sure money doesn't get the best of everything.

Imagine thinking that money meant you get the best in what sports science has to offer. People are bonkers thinking these things. Imagine thinking the likes of S and C has something to do with financing.

Money has nothing to do with success at all.

IamDonegal (Donegal) - Posts: 134 - 24/07/2019 17:56:49    2215886

Money helps ,but having the right structures in place with the right people also helps ,and this is what got Dublin football to where it is today, development squads with devoted volunteers,players and parents ,this all came about about 12 to 16 years ago hence we have the benefits of it now ,but times change and things go stale and this is starting to happen now a bit with these structures, hopefully the powers that be will stop it before the rot sets in ,if not Dublin will slide a bit in about 2 to 3 years

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 24/07/2019 18:54:02    2215914

Replying To keithlemon:  "How does DCU's facilities compare with that of the centres of excellence in other parts of the country? Better or worse?"
Facilities wise Dublin GAA is behind many counties. Especially at club level.

Many Dublin clubs, if not most do not have their own ground. Cannot afford it.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 24/07/2019 20:11:57    2215944

Replying To IamDonegal:  "Sure money doesn't get the best of everything.

Imagine thinking that money meant you get the best in what sports science has to offer. People are bonkers thinking these things. Imagine thinking the likes of S and C has something to do with financing.

Money has nothing to do with success at all."
Still no response to my post? Grand so. How is Dublins S&C coach any different to Donegals coach. Bryan Cullen former player. He's hardly the top man in his industry.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/07/2019 20:21:02    2215953

Replying To witnof:  "Facilities wise Dublin GAA is behind many counties. Especially at club level.

Many Dublin clubs, if not most do not have their own ground. Cannot afford it."
Bull
There are only a few park clubs left in Dublin

Most clubs have their own pitches
And a full time coach

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 24/07/2019 20:32:11    2215962