Who Can Stop Kerry Minors?

Replying To The_analyser:  "Very good my friend i'm just after watching my team comeback from 8 points down at half time to beat defending Connacht U17 champions and this years favourites by 2 points but Hoganstand with their article tries to tell us that it'a Galway's first defeat in Connacht for 4 years. Funny as i'm nearly sure i watched our U17s beat Galway in the 2017 Connacht final.

Nothing about belittle achievements which i would never do. For the record it was 4 U18s and 1U17 All Ireland in the last 5 years, my point was the word minor should have been dropped once it became the U17 championship and all this confusion would be saved."
You see that U17 competition that was run in 2017 wasn't a proper legitimate competition it was only run to give lads born in 2000 a second chance to play minors.

We were the only team in that U17 competition that had a team in the real allireland of that year and so we had lads playing in both competitions so our U17 lads were more focused on the real minor allireland semifinal and final that year.

Well done to yer minors last night, is that Galway gone now for this year?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/05/2019 13:20:16    2185184

Replying To The_analyser:  "Hello how are you. Nobody is belittling your achievements and you did win five underage All Ireland's played before the senior ones in Croke Park however the fact Is the last U18 All Ireland was won in 2017.

No one has such confusion for the U21 grade which is now U20. For example Kerry won U21 Munster in 2017 and Munster U20 in 2018 do you claim that as two in a row? and i'm nearly sure the cup used for U21 level are now used for U20."
My God Kerry won five in a row minor all-irelands,it's fact not fiction, well done to Kerry on a great achievement, great credit when it's due,if Dublin do it at senior this year it will be a brilliant achievement as well.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 18/05/2019 15:06:05    2185215

Sure look , it's not a big deal really.
Whether it's 4 or 5 it's the damage at underage that it's doing to the game in Munster really.
Hurling is the real winner here.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/05/2019 19:33:34    2185288

Replying To cityman73:  "My God Kerry won five in a row minor all-irelands,it's fact not fiction, well done to Kerry on a great achievement, great credit when it's due,if Dublin do it at senior this year it will be a brilliant achievement as well."
The fact is Kerry won 4 U18 All Irelands and 1 U17 All Ireland the last 5 years why is this so hard to understand for some?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3337 - 18/05/2019 19:34:51    2185289

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "The fact is Kerry won 4 U18 All Irelands and 1 U17 All Ireland the last 5 years why is this so hard to understand for some?"
The U17 replaced the old U18 and is now referred to as the minor title, same as the U20 replace the old U21. They are the two premier underage competitions now.

I think most people consider Kerry's 2018 win as a fifth in a row. If there are some that don't thats fine too, given they are all essentially different teams what does it matter. Plenty of more worthy things us Kerry folk could be getting upset about.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 18/05/2019 20:55:58    2185313

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The U17 replaced the old U18 and is now referred to as the minor title, same as the U20 replace the old U21. They are the two premier underage competitions now.

I think most people consider Kerry's 2018 win as a fifth in a row. If there are some that don't thats fine too, given they are all essentially different teams what does it matter. Plenty of more worthy things us Kerry folk could be getting upset about."
Yes plenty other things for Kerry supporters or people who thought minor was still U18 to get upset about. We shall move on now and accept it was 4 in a row U18 All ireland's and 1 U17 All ireland won and i expect to become 2 in a row for Kerry this summer.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3337 - 18/05/2019 21:14:31    2185319

Jaysus but there are some sad, petty little feckers around this place :(

Best of luck to our minors as they go in search of an incredible six in a row!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/05/2019 22:12:13    2185332

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "The fact is Kerry won 4 U18 All Irelands and 1 U17 All Ireland the last 5 years why is this so hard to understand for some?"
Il try and dumb this down for you as much as I can buddy , 4 + 1= 5 , it's basic mathematics that you learn when you're 4 years old.

5 in a row baby ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/05/2019 22:14:07    2185334

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Il try and dumb this down for you as much as I can buddy , 4 + 1= 5 , it's basic mathematics that you learn when you're 4 years old.

5 in a row baby ;-)"
Only one that is making himself dumb here is you. Well done! 5 in a row wasn't possible as U18 became no more after 2017 baby.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3337 - 18/05/2019 22:23:18    2185340

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Il try and dumb this down for you as much as I can buddy , 4 + 1= 5 , it's basic mathematics that you learn when you're 4 years old.

5 in a row baby ;-)"
He might need an abacus kingdomboy .

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 18/05/2019 22:41:29    2185349

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You see that U17 competition that was run in 2017 wasn't a proper legitimate competition it was only run to give lads born in 2000 a second chance to play minors.

We were the only team in that U17 competition that had a team in the real allireland of that year and so we had lads playing in both competitions so our U17 lads were more focused on the real minor allireland semifinal and final that year.

Well done to yer minors last night, is that Galway gone now for this year?"
Ha... wasn't a "proper legitimate" competition even though that All Ireland final was played in Croke Park and all. You only had 2 or 3 players that played on both U17-U18 panels so focus was not a problem and if i recall right one was goalkeeper. And remember that 2017 U17 team would have been your U18 team last year if it was kept on and not changed by HQ.

No Galway are not gone. Connacht U17 is a group stage. Knock championship football it was at U18 level for years in our province.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 18/05/2019 22:44:20    2185351

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jaysus but there are some sad, petty little feckers around this place :(

Best of luck to our minors as they go in search of an incredible six in a row!"
It really is bizarre that anybody outside the county is that worried about whether it is four or five in a row, honestly who cares.

Would be nice if they could add a U20 this year but I suspect it will be difficult without Clifford and O'Connor.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 18/05/2019 23:18:20    2185359

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Only one that is making himself dumb here is you. Well done! 5 in a row wasn't possible as U18 became no more after 2017 baby."
Ok will you get a calculator and type in 4+1 and let us know how get on , I bet it will tell you it's 5.

Like I said it's 5 in a row.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/05/2019 23:53:52    2185372

if people are really this bitter about 17-18 year olds having success at underage level what will it be like if these guys ever start winning senior all Ireland's? Can't believe some of the comments on here

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 19/05/2019 00:19:13    2185375

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "It really is bizarre that anybody outside the county is that worried about whether it is four or five in a row, honestly who cares.

Would be nice if they could add a U20 this year but I suspect it will be difficult without Clifford and O'Connor."
Yerra Gerry plenty fellas on here obsessed with Kerry, they'll pick at anything at all!
I mean they seem to have no problem with the fact a team going for 5 in a row has been allowed home advantage for all but 3 games in a decade and is getting funded hundreds of multiples of any other county but they'll jump up and down about minor not being minor because they changed the age by one year :D

Anyway, your right we need to start translating these minor titles into U20s!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/05/2019 00:41:39    2185377

For what its worth i can't see any team stopping Kerry from winning a 2nd under 17 All Ireland in a row.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 19/05/2019 00:59:07    2185381

In Leinster Kildare Dublin or Meath Wicklow in Ulster Tyrone Donegal. In Connacht Galway or Mayo. They are the teams that will challenge Kerry' s dominance. Kerry's record at minor level is remarkable and their achievement should not be denigrated by the the silly argument over the transition from U 18/17.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2987 - 19/05/2019 01:00:50    2185382

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "if people are really this bitter about 17-18 year olds having success at underage level what will it be like if these guys ever start winning senior all Ireland's? Can't believe some of the comments on here"
Tis true for you Gerry boy sure there still only kids really. It's not that big a deal it's senior that's the standard I suppose but football is the poor relation in the province and hurling is the rich uncle.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/05/2019 09:43:52    2185414

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Only one that is making himself dumb here is you. Well done! 5 in a row wasn't possible as U18 became no more after 2017 baby."
It is still called The All Ireland Minor Football Championship with the winners receiving The Tom Markham Cup with has been the case since 1930 all that has changed is the format u18 to u17

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 19/05/2019 12:08:25    2185452

Replying To Triple H:  "Told that last nights trouncing of Cork was their 31st win on the trot at this level . Two questions. Can anybody stop them in 2019 and who was the last team to beat them at championship level?."
By the looks of it every u-20 and senior team in the country. I don't mean to give stick to they minors or Kerry.... But not one U21 or u 20 since this began. No all Ireland appearance at senior level since 2015. One league fair enough. But nothing from 5 years of minors. It may take time but Dublin are doing it at u 20 level there 2 years ago I think. Players rolling out.

Mayo for all the talk of their demise have converted minors winners of 2013 into u-21 winners of 2016 and league winners of 2019 and a u-20 final last year. They seem building nicely again.

I'm just struggling to understand how so many minors and nothing at u20 level. There's a few in the crop this year from early years in the seniors yes but still.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 19/05/2019 12:36:15    2185465