Connolly Returns

Always good to see the best players involved. I still remember Matt Connor from Offaly. This is not to say I didn't wake up then hissing at them. Some things will never change. Love the sinner. Hate the sin.

plike (Kerry) - Posts: 569 - 16/07/2019 11:51:58    2211806

Replying To plike:  "Always good to see the best players involved. I still remember Matt Connor from Offaly. This is not to say I didn't wake up then hissing at them. Some things will never change. Love the sinner. Hate the sin."
He was some footballer. Perhaps the greatest there ever was.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/07/2019 17:26:37    2211970

Connolly almost lost Dublin the 2016 final. I doubt he'll play much. Connolly needs Dublin more than Dublin needs Connolly.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 16/07/2019 17:35:58    2211977

Replying To plike:  "Always good to see the best players involved. I still remember Matt Connor from Offaly. This is not to say I didn't wake up then hissing at them. Some things will never change. Love the sinner. Hate the sin."
Fair play to you bud. An honest man unlike some of the Kerry brigade on this show.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/07/2019 19:34:06    2212023

An overrated player. He has played poorly more often than he has played well in big matches. I'll
be surprised if he sees more than a few minutes of action.

qwerty368 (Kildare) - Posts: 69 - 16/07/2019 19:43:46    2212027

The fact Gavin has brought him straight into the squad at this point tells you all you need to know about how good he is and highly rated. Exceptional player.

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 16/07/2019 20:39:41    2212058

Replying To reithi:  "The fact Gavin has brought him straight into the squad at this point tells you all you need to know about how good he is and highly rated. Exceptional player."
Gavin and co have continually stated he'd be welcomed back if he wanted it for himself

There were doubts if Gavin was telling the truth

There was talk of Gavin and him falling out etc

Well there's the answer

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/07/2019 21:11:01    2212078

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gavin and co have continually stated he'd be welcomed back if he wanted it for himself

Well there's the answer"
But sure nobody believed me Jim what's a girl to do :)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 16/07/2019 22:05:46    2212111

Replying To Jackeen:  "But sure nobody believed me Jim what's a girl to do :)"
There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot

He spoke honestly to the media on the Connolly issue and was deemed to be playing the politician and spinning things..

Some folk really don't have a clue about the man

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 16/07/2019 22:22:30    2212118

Great to see dirmuid back and best of luck to him (except against Kerry of course) We want to see the best players play our game.

Themall1916 (Kerry) - Posts: 98 - 16/07/2019 22:27:01    2212119

Replying To jimbodub:  "Gavin and co have continually stated he'd be welcomed back if he wanted it for himself

Well there's the answer"
Who said they fell out? If Gavin thought he might need him he would be back. And he's back.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 16/07/2019 23:01:47    2212127

Brave decision to return I must say I'm very surprised, and intrigued to see what impact he might have. There is obviously a story behind his absence but whatever the case may be I'd like to wish him well.

I don't expect him to start but he may yet have a part to play in deciding the destination of Sam 2019. What an impact sub to have available!

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/07/2019 23:51:09    2212149

Replying To qwerty368:  "An overrated player. He has played poorly more often than he has played well in big matches. I'll
be surprised if he sees more than a few minutes of action."
Yea right , pull the other one !

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/07/2019 00:40:19    2212162

Replying To qwerty368:  "An overrated player. He has played poorly more often than he has played well in big matches. I'll
Which will be more than your lot -:) Winter well LOL...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/07/2019 08:06:27    2212185

Shrewd move on Gavins part. Deflect attention from the drive for five for a while and take a bit of pressure off the players.

Shocked that Dermo is letting himself be used in this manner.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/07/2019 08:40:23    2212193

I know your looking a bite but commolly is a once in a generation player, i'd literally pay in to a game just to see him play! Pure genius and even though i want to see dublin beat it's great to have him back!

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 17/07/2019 08:43:47    2212195

Replying To jimbodub:  "There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot

He spoke honestly to the media on the Connolly issue and was deemed to be playing the politician and spinning things..

Some folk really don't have a clue about the man"
"Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot"

Don't forget there are a couple here who think if you're not bouncing around on the sideline like a looper screaming your head off then you're a soulless bore or robotic or whatever.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 17/07/2019 09:11:12    2212201

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Who said they fell out? If Gavin thought he might need him he would be back. And he's back."
I'd just leave off at this stage. .

Vague messages from months now being spun to make it look as tho they could read Jim Gavin's mind.

The fact of the matter is that Gavin wasn't in control of the Connolly situation until his visa fell thru and he got his 30day ban. Now he's looking to Dublin for game-time and he may or may not get it. Sin e.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 17/07/2019 09:18:16    2212204

Replying To jimbodub:  "There's a few (some amongst our own) that have to stop believing that Gavin is some sort of authoritarian cold robot

Some folk really don't have a clue about the man"
Absolutely jimbo, the man just doesn't play the media game. I think that frustrates sports journalists because he doesn't give them any great insight, but he doesn't have to. He keeps his own council. He doesn't seek the limelight, all the success is for the team. Amazing manager
I thought that was a lovely touch where he rang Roy Curtis' mam in the hospice to say that Connolly was back just like he promised he would tell her the last time he was in to see her

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 17/07/2019 09:18:32    2212205

Replying To cavanman47:  "I'd just leave off at this stage. .

Vague messages from months now being spun to make it look as tho they could read Jim Gavin's mind.

The fact of the matter is that Gavin wasn't in control of the Connolly situation until his visa fell thru and he got his 30day ban. Now he's looking to Dublin for game-time and he may or may not get it. Sin e."
Nothing vague about any of my messages. It was Connollys decision. Which is what I've always said. Not Gavin shutting the door on him as has been suggested. It has always been up to the lad himself. Sin é.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 17/07/2019 09:41:33    2212217