Connolly Returns

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What hassle?"
Well I guess that most would agree that this team and Connolly in particular have had a microscope on them for a number of years. Every movement on and off the field is monitored. For better or for worse the media are on top of them. Some lads can live with the attention others may view it as "hassle" and would rather forego the attention and pursue a normal life away from the spotlight. Connolly wouldn't have had the chance to pursue Summer adventures in the US if it wasn't for his absence from the panel. Fair play to him.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/06/2019 17:48:12    2200774

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He'll regret this forever imo.

20 years time he'll look back and say to himself "what was I thinking"

Best of luck to him anyway he owes Dublin football nothing."
You have done it again. First your laughable posts when ROC left the panel and now this?

He was never called back into the Dublin squad by Gavin and was not going to be. I am getting a good laugh at some of the Twitter posts from die hard Hill 16 fans. How can he be walking away from a panel he isn't even involved in?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/06/2019 18:17:04    2200780

Outrageous footballer and athlete. Hopefully never see him in a Dublin jersey again.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/06/2019 18:26:00    2200791

He was never called back into the panel. The posts here are hilarious. He is not walking away from anything.

And for those saying his off the pitch life was under scrutiny? As far as I am aware he was totally responsible for that himself.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/06/2019 18:46:27    2200800

Big loss for dublin.
It could bite them in the back side.

They were a beaten docket in the 2017 final before his introduction in the 2nd half.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 25/06/2019 18:48:51    2200801

Replying To BeJasus:  "Big loss for dublin.
It could bite them in the back side.

They were a beaten docket in the 2017 final before his introduction in the 2nd half."
Yea.

Mad how we won the all Ireland last year without him, we will just do the same this year.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/06/2019 19:01:59    2200808

Replying To waynoI:  "Yea.

Mad how we won the all Ireland last year without him, we will just do the same this year."
that's because Dublin coasted last year.

Mayo halfback line and midfield overran and bullied ye that year in the 1st half, ...i was at that game bud......
Even Jayo was sent sampering through the field to get orders sent down to cluxton to change things up ..

Dermo was brought on to peg keegan back , and add physiality to the dublin attack which had was more or less nullified up to that point.

What game were you watching bud .

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 25/06/2019 19:33:10    2200829

Fair enough Dublin can more than cope without Diarmuid Connolly and take away the fact Dublin are going for 5 in a row all Ireland titles, I'm of the opinion it's actually a sad fact that 1 of the stars of the modern game has passed up the chance of being a part of a legendary achievement to play in the US. I would equate this to if Kilkenny lost Tommy Walsh or JJ Delaney to a US team during their drive for 5. As a GAA fan it's the likes of Connolly you want to watch on tv his battles with Lee Keegan in the all Ireland's in 2016 and 2017 and his scoring talent were a joy to watch in big games.

To be fair it's hard to blame a guy going away to earn a few pounds but for Dublins dominance there would be more made of this like the time Setanta Ó hAilpín left for Australia.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 25/06/2019 19:40:39    2200833

Replying To Joxer:  "Well I guess that most would agree that this team and Connolly in particular have had a microscope on them for a number of years. Every movement on and off the field is monitored. For better or for worse the media are on top of them. Some lads can live with the attention others may view it as "hassle" and would rather forego the attention and pursue a normal life away from the spotlight. Connolly wouldn't have had the chance to pursue Summer adventures in the US if it wasn't for his absence from the panel. Fair play to him."
Very harsh on him and I always made this same point when Graham Geraghty got the exact same treatment. Some horrible vile media attention about his personal life including rumours. I wonder in hindsight do Dublin fans have sympathy for him now after many years of hatred. You can most certainly relate with Connolly.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/06/2019 19:46:09    2200837

Replying To TheFlaker:  "He was never called back into the panel. The posts here are hilarious. He is not walking away from anything.

And for those saying his off the pitch life was under scrutiny? As far as I am aware he was totally responsible for that himself."
Remember when he got Keegan black carded

Jaysus that was just the cherry on top of our Sam filled ice cream All Ireland Sunday

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/06/2019 20:09:54    2200855

Replying To jimbodub:  "Remember when he got Keegan black carded

Jaysus that was just the cherry on top of our Sam filled ice cream All Ireland Sunday"
Yer boys are good at getting opposition players black carded, Johnny cooper as made a career of it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2019 20:28:35    2200866

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Yer boys are good at getting opposition players black carded, Johnny cooper as made a career of it."
kid your boys are angels -:) , Donaghy made a career out of diving.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 25/06/2019 21:08:25    2200895

Jaysus that was just the cherry on top of our Sam filled ice cream All Ireland Sunday"
Ah go away out that, he also scored the resulting penalty.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/06/2019 21:13:42    2200898

Fair play to him, he will have a great time, he owes no one anything, class footballer was more sinned against than sinned. whatever he did off the pitch has zero relevance to what he did on it. Anyway he is better off out of it.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 25/06/2019 21:21:15    2200906

Jimo logic. Crys when he claims others are making sley remarks about Dublin. Does the same thing about other's

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 25/06/2019 22:05:13    2200944

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ah go away out that, he also scored the resulting penalty."
The penalty wasn't even in that half of the game!!??

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/06/2019 22:47:38    2200980

Well done. How about responding to my actual factual statement that Jim Gavin never asked him back.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 03:13:32    2201030

Replying To arock:  "Fair play to him, he will have a great time, he owes no one anything, class footballer was more sinned against than sinned. whatever he did off the pitch has zero relevance to what he did on it. Anyway he is better off out of it."
A Dublin poster brought up his off the pitch stuff. And it does have relevance, it's the main reason he isn't involved under Gavin.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 03:16:06    2201031

And just to be clear. Connolly is one of the most gifted players we have seen and would make any team in the country. Dublin posters seem to have a real chip on their shoulder when it comes to the reality of why he wasn't called back in by Gavin. Surely some posters on here know that there were issues behind the scenes?

So please stop saying he walked away, he wasn't picked.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 09:22:40    2201071

Replying To TheFlaker:  "And just to be clear. Connolly is one of the most gifted players we have seen and would make any team in the country. Dublin posters seem to have a real chip on their shoulder when it comes to the reality of why he wasn't called back in by Gavin. Surely some posters on here know that there were issues behind the scenes?

So please stop saying he walked away, he wasn't picked."
That's actually untrue but i cant prove it. It was left up to the chap to come back if he wanted but he had to let Gavin know before the league started. Jim wasn't lying when he said that but Connolly didnt want to. I said over on the Dublin board back at the start of the league that it was a no from me when asked if he would be back. He just had too much on personally.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 09:43:38    2201081