Connolly Returns

Replying To greysoil:  "Well that's the difference I guess. My internet in the game remains even when we are not still involved. No soccer terrace alternative for me :-)"
Making snide remarks about Connolly is your level of interest in the game yeah?

Sounds about right going on your previous regarding all things Dublin

Winter well

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/06/2019 11:45:25    2200527

Replying To jimbodub:  "Making snide remarks about Connolly is your level of interest in the game yeah?

Winter well"
Ooooh. Someone got out of bed on the wrong side today.

Snide remarks. Lol. You're a delicate wee flower if you think that was snide.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 25/06/2019 11:56:32    2200530

Replying To TheUsername:  "Isnt it scary to think that we arent even putting out our best team.

But sure players in all the other counties are leaving in their droves becuase of Dublin, Dublin dont have this problem.

Thats Collie Basquel and Dermo of to the states this year"
The difference is your guys are going on their holidays where lads from the country are going for work.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2019 12:03:20    2200535

Disappointed he won't give the hurlers a go. I was always curious to see how he'd get on.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 25/06/2019 12:06:45    2200540

just out of curiosity, what does Connolly work at?

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 25/06/2019 12:10:03    2200543

Replying To Rosineri1:  "just out of curiosity, what does Connolly work at?"
Account Manager

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/06/2019 13:25:27    2200589

Sales Manager

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 13:31:05    2200593

Replying To jimbodub:  "Making snide remarks about Connolly is your level of interest in the game yeah?

Winter well"
Sorry Jim. You got it wrong. No snide remarks directed at Connolly .... I don't have anything against Dublin. In fact I have significant interests in the capital!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/06/2019 13:58:56    2200609

Sultan of Marino.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/06/2019 14:11:55    2200617

Pro footballer

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 25/06/2019 14:22:18    2200626

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Did Jim Gavin invite him back into the squad but he turned it down? Or was that never on the cards?"
Very closely kept secret. I suspect that talks were held, a la ROC, but that Dermo turned it down. Pure speculation on my part. I don't think he needs the hassle TBH. Pity as he had the chance to be a member of a very select club if they can manage the 5. Some player though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/06/2019 14:53:59    2200649

Replying To Joxer:  "Very closely kept secret. I suspect that talks were held, a la ROC, but that Dermo turned it down. Pure speculation on my part. I don't think he needs the hassle TBH. Pity as he had the chance to be a member of a very select club if they can manage the 5. Some player though."
What hassle?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 25/06/2019 15:13:00    2200663

Connolly is a great talent, if the Dubs fail to do the 5 in a row (which is unlikey being realistic I know) it could be a big regret for Dublin that they didn't do all they could to get him to come back.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 25/06/2019 15:18:00    2200671

Replying To clondalkindub:  "He'll regret this forever imo.

20 years time he'll look back and say to himself "what was I thinking"

Best of luck to him anyway he owes Dublin football nothing."
He probably doesn't want to be on the team that messes up the drive for five.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 25/06/2019 15:30:51    2200685

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "He probably doesn't want to be on the team that messes up the drive for five."
Haha very good.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/06/2019 15:48:24    2200695

Also let's be realistic he is going to get a small fortune for a couple of month's football in Boston playing at half pace for him. Can't blame him at all for heading off and earning the dollars. Also he is probably sick of being the villain any time Dublin face anyone at all. I'd say seeing the leniency of the McCann ban already had him thinking why bother going back to play after he had the book thrown at him for a lot less. Anyway a huge shame we won't get to see him in a Dublin shirt again but best of luck to the chap he owes us absolutely nothing and has given us some fantastic memories.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 25/06/2019 16:05:42    2200707

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Also let's be realistic he is going to get a small fortune for a couple of month's football in Boston playing at half pace for him. Can't blame him at all for heading off and earning the dollars. Also he is probably sick of being the villain any time Dublin face anyone at all. I'd say seeing the leniency of the McCann ban already had him thinking why bother going back to play after he had the book thrown at him for a lot less. Anyway a huge shame we won't get to see him in a Dublin shirt again but best of luck to the chap he owes us absolutely nothing and has given us some fantastic memories."
He is just right. And good luck to him.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/06/2019 16:55:47    2200736

Replying To TrueBlue35:  "Also let's be realistic he is going to get a small fortune for a couple of month's football in Boston playing at half pace for him. Can't blame him at all for heading off and earning the dollars. Also he is probably sick of being the villain any time Dublin face anyone at all. I'd say seeing the leniency of the McCann ban already had him thinking why bother going back to play after he had the book thrown at him for a lot less. Anyway a huge shame we won't get to see him in a Dublin shirt again but best of luck to the chap he owes us absolutely nothing and has given us some fantastic memories."
A brilliant footballer.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 25/06/2019 16:58:34    2200738

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Did Jim Gavin invite him back into the squad but he turned it down? Or was that never on the cards?"
All sorts of rumours doing the rounds but the most credible, in my opinion, is that Jim Gavin wouldn't have him.
I can see his point of view in that Jim likes everyone "on message" but he will be a big miss as he had an X Factor that not many players have.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 25/06/2019 17:29:46    2200760

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "All sorts of rumours doing the rounds but the most credible, in my opinion, is that Jim Gavin wouldn't have him.
I can see his point of view in that Jim likes everyone "on message" but he will be a big miss as he had an X Factor that not many players have."
100% not true.

Yiz are looking good this year Muck.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2019 17:46:51    2200772