Mayo V Monaghan

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "Lads just enquiring ...........how far is ground from rail station ? ...... hope we have a good game tomorrow !"
When you come out from the station onto the road turn right, straight on at the traffic lights and then right at McHale road. Couple of hundred yards down there.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 23/03/2019 20:32:45    2174573

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "When you come out from the station onto the road turn right, straight on at the traffic lights and then right at McHale road. Couple of hundred yards down there."
Appreciate that !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 348 - 23/03/2019 21:00:49    2174580

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "10 minute walk."
Thanks Rossie !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 348 - 23/03/2019 21:14:04    2174584

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "10 minute walk."
Thanks Rossie !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 348 - 23/03/2019 21:26:01    2174586

Job #1 done. Once again Mayo doesn't use the extra man to best effect, almost screwed it up again. All in all a National League Final to look forward to.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 24/03/2019 15:44:19    2174715

Congrats to Mayo on reaching the final

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 24/03/2019 16:02:05    2174733

The last time Mayo were in the final, was the last year Dublin weren't. Must be avoiding each other!

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 24/03/2019 16:06:04    2174739

Replying To cluichethar:  "Job #1 done. Once again Mayo doesn't use the extra man to best effect, almost screwed it up again. All in all a National League Final to look forward to."
We got there, that's the main thing and he's given some new lads a chance which is a bonus. Now we're there we should give it a good rattle. Don't fear the hype!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 24/03/2019 16:13:05    2174743

A good win and great to get to a league final following some nail biting relegation battles in recent years. A little bit fortunate with the sending off by the looks of it, but some clinical finishing from Kevin McLoughlin of all people made a huge difference.

Any word on David Clarke's injury?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 24/03/2019 16:17:30    2174747

As usual we had to get Kerry to do the business to Keep us in Division 1.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 24/03/2019 16:30:48    2174757

Replying To border Gael:  "As usual we had to get Kerry to do the business to Keep us in Division 1."
As usual ??

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 24/03/2019 16:48:35    2174769

Disappointed to lose but the main thing is we remain in Division 1, and we can now look forward to the championship without being on a downer. It was an enjoyable, high scoring game, but again I'd probably not be as upbeat about that if other results went against us.

Thought the ref rode us for a few key decisions such as the penalty call in the first half where McManus appeared to be hauled down in the box. A couple of other big moments didn't go our way either, like the second Mayo goal which came directly from a poor Beggan kickout, then their third which Beggan was very unlucky to concede after a great save. But when's all said and done, both teams are where they would wanted to have been before the game - Mayo in the final, and us still in the top flight. Some fantastic scores and passages of play from both sides, and even though we lost, the way which we kept going to the end(especially being a man down) was something we can take heart from ahead of the championship.

Mayo v Kerry should be a very enjoyable final next week, looking forward to that.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 24/03/2019 17:03:43    2174780

Best of luck in the final to mayo. I enjoyed the game today . Was disappointed with the referees game taught he was very harsh on us . The mayo support was absloutly unreal fair play to ye. Best supported team in ireland in my opinion , although I think it was the shouting from the stands that got Kelly sent off. I haven't seen the replays but I think we had a few harsh decisions like the red and a peno too. But overall you were slightly the better team . Well done and good luck

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 25/03/2019 00:57:48    2175078

Looking at the sending off again, Fintan Kelly was high in the tackle but his arm was extended straight on contact while trying to get a hand to the ball. He did not lead with the classic pointed elbow/doubled arm (like what TOSe expertly demonstrated on TV last night)

While it was understandable from the referees view why the card was given, the linesman on the stand side could have picked that up as the was facing the play.
Fair dues to James Horan for highlighting the harsh call in his post match interview.
Happy enough with the resolve our lads showed in the second half. Jack Mac brilliant but he still needs to hit a big tally in championship to shake off the doubts.
Looking forward to 2 excellent games in Div1 and Div2 finals. Walsh and Clifford in combination are a big test for the Mayo FB line.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1057 - 25/03/2019 10:00:41    2175154

Replying To farneygael:  "Best of luck in the final to mayo. I enjoyed the game today . Was disappointed with the referees game taught he was very harsh on us . The mayo support was absloutly unreal fair play to ye. Best supported team in ireland in my opinion , although I think it was the shouting from the stands that got Kelly sent off. I haven't seen the replays but I think we had a few harsh decisions like the red and a peno too. But overall you were slightly the better team . Well done and good luck"
The sending off seemed harsh, but according to a lot of Mayo supporters, Monaghan should have had a Red for the foul on Clarke which resulted in him getting stretchered off. Sometimes referees try to even up the score when they realize they've missed a big call.

whitey (USA) - Posts: 9 - 25/03/2019 14:59:59    2175314

Replying To whitey:  "The sending off seemed harsh, but according to a lot of Mayo supporters, Monaghan should have had a Red for the foul on Clarke which resulted in him getting stretchered off. Sometimes referees try to even up the score when they realize they've missed a big call."
He diddent miss any big call he gave a yellow for it And that yellow he picked up for that I'd love to see it again also . It was never a yellow couldn't possible be . Was either a straight red if he came in late to take the keeper out or was nothing . I don't know which as haven't seen the replays but Hughes is defo not a dirty player and my biased opinion was he kept his eye on the ball. Unfortunately every time there was a mayo man fouled the crowded were jeering at the ref to brandish a red .
This does not take away from the teams performance though I taught both teams played decent ball.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 25/03/2019 20:54:28    2175411

Replying To farneygael:  "He diddent miss any big call he gave a yellow for it And that yellow he picked up for that I'd love to see it again also . It was never a yellow couldn't possible be . Was either a straight red if he came in late to take the keeper out or was nothing . I don't know which as haven't seen the replays but Hughes is defo not a dirty player and my biased opinion was he kept his eye on the ball. Unfortunately every time there was a mayo man fouled the crowded were jeering at the ref to brandish a red .
This does not take away from the teams performance though I taught both teams played decent ball."
Giving the guy a yellow instead of a red is a missed call. I have read comments from several people in attendance that it was a straight red and the ref bottled it

whitey (USA) - Posts: 9 - 25/03/2019 22:03:29    2175437

Replying To whitey:  "Giving the guy a yellow instead of a red is a missed call. I have read comments from several people in attendance that it was a straight red and the ref bottled it"
But you weren't in attendance yourself .........all depends on who you believe ....Mayo supporters I take it. Look......1st thing James Horan said in his after match comments as quoted on this site

"We were probably lucky. The bounce of the ball went our way and not Monaghan's," the Mayo manager told the Irish Sun.

"They might have felt harshly done by with some of the decisions - I would say they were. We were lucky to get out in the end".

Fair play James Horan !

Shelbourne1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 348 - 26/03/2019 16:01:36    2175589

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "But you weren't in attendance yourself .........all depends on who you believe ....Mayo supporters I take it. Look......1st thing James Horan said in his after match comments as quoted on this site

"We were probably lucky. The bounce of the ball went our way and not Monaghan's," the Mayo manager told the Irish Sun.

"They might have felt harshly done by with some of the decisions - I would say they were. We were lucky to get out in the end".

Fair play James Horan !"
Welcome to Mayo fans, Shelbourne1.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 26/03/2019 16:24:14    2175597

Replying To Shelbourne1:  "But you weren't in attendance yourself .........all depends on who you believe ....Mayo supporters I take it. Look......1st thing James Horan said in his after match comments as quoted on this site

Fair play James Horan !"
Being in attendance doesnt always help, alot of mayo fans at the Galway game last year couldnt understand why Diarmuid O Connor was sent off, it didnt look that bad but later when saw replays it looked terrible. The lads on League Sunday werent fully sure about Kellys red card, it was harsh but he had the elbow out going into it and straight arm as he connected but split second decidion on the field you can see why they thought it was an elbow.
And as for James Horan, hes not the first manager to down play a win and wont be the last

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 26/03/2019 17:58:11    2175619