The Last 5 Years In Football

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "This mayo team are the complete opposite of bottlers. The courage they show year after year is outstanding this galway man is making a tool of himself"
Where does this courage go on All Ireland day?
Let's hope they win tomorrow and go all the way this summer ! I , for one , hope they do it

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 30/03/2019 12:09:47    2176374

Replying To candlewax:  "You have proven my point beautifully. Very sensitive"
Not much of a point... do you know anything about football? There are no doubt other forums for amateur psychologists.

How do you think Galway will go this year? Do you agree with the Galway's tactical approach under KW? Do Galway really have the players to go man for man against another top 5 side?

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/03/2019 12:46:18    2176380

Replying To Pericles:  "Not much of a point... do you know anything about football? There are no doubt other forums for amateur psychologists.

How do you think Galway will go this year? Do you agree with the Galway's tactical approach under KW? Do Galway really have the players to go man for man against another top 5 side?"
I know that Mayo haven't won an All Ireland since 1951. I know that they've lost 9 All Ireland's since 1989. They've lost three since 2012.
I've learnt that they have been underdogs in every final. Underdog tag means it's okay If they lose. I've learnt they've played against superior teams everytime. I've learnt they've great courage up until All Ireland final day. I'm learning a lot and I have all of ye to thank for that.
I think Galway can get to Semi final or final this year if Kevin tweaks a few things and if the Corofin lads gel into the team. Ian Burke was only player from Corofin last year , Silke is back from US. Lads like Leonard , Wall , Molloy will hopefully add more to this Galway team. Do Galway have one of the best squad's in Ireland? No doubt . Mayo would love a Shane Walsh or Comer in there team? Or am I wrong about that too?
Now how far do you think Mayo will get this year? Would like to see them in super 8s this time around

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 30/03/2019 13:12:04    2176385

Replying To candlewax:  "I know that Mayo haven't won an All Ireland since 1951. I know that they've lost 9 All Ireland's since 1989. They've lost three since 2012.
I've learnt that they have been underdogs in every final. Underdog tag means it's okay If they lose. I've learnt they've played against superior teams everytime. I've learnt they've great courage up until All Ireland final day. I'm learning a lot and I have all of ye to thank for that.
I think Galway can get to Semi final or final this year if Kevin tweaks a few things and if the Corofin lads gel into the team. Ian Burke was only player from Corofin last year , Silke is back from US. Lads like Leonard , Wall , Molloy will hopefully add more to this Galway team. Do Galway have one of the best squad's in Ireland? No doubt . Mayo would love a Shane Walsh or Comer in there team? Or am I wrong about that too?
Now how far do you think Mayo will get this year? Would like to see them in super 8s this time around"
answer his question

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 30/03/2019 14:53:18    2176393

Replying To Vishred:  "answer his question"
Visited - You're back. Thought you had bottled it !

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 30/03/2019 19:14:41    2176437

Imagine if Galway had the full county focusing on the one team like Mayo. Now that would be nice lads wouldn't it?

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 30/03/2019 19:50:40    2176453

Replying To candlewax:  "Imagine if Galway had the full county focusing on the one team like Mayo. Now that would be nice lads wouldn't it?"
oh but you have , thats why you keep tripping up in random games ..
Whats good for the goose sometimes isnt for the gander..
Tipp was the day that reality set in.
A complete overhaul in structure and style of play so to never suffer such a humiliating defeat again.
A lack of quality or faith by the management i wonder..

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 30/03/2019 20:32:36    2176475

Replying To Vishred:  "oh but you have , thats why you keep tripping up in random games ..
Whats good for the goose sometimes isnt for the gander..
Tipp was the day that reality set in.
A complete overhaul in structure and style of play so to never suffer such a humiliating defeat again.
A lack of quality or faith by the management i wonder.."
Our footballers got to the semi final and the hurlers got to the final. Not easy on the fans to be heading up to the big smoke every weekend either I suppose.
The hurlers showed great " courage " to get to the final as well. They've won their All Ireland , time for a few of them to join the footballers and let us win Sam. To be fair it's a disgrace that we haven't won one since 2001. That's a lifetime ago. That's not good enough for Galway football anyway.
Yes Tipp beat us easily that day, would rather be in our shoes now then in division 3 next year though so Kevin's style must be working. Don't think he wants to follow the Horan/ Pat Holmes / Rochford gameplan and not get over the line. Let's see how far it gets us this year, you have to remember Kildare and Meath were favorites to beat Galway in 98 and 01 so here's hoping we upset the odds again.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 30/03/2019 21:15:47    2176492

Replying To candlewax:  "Superbluedub - No doubt you were smiling while typing this."
Actually no , have nothing but respect for this Mayo team, extremely unlucky not to win at least one All Ireland possibly two , they most certainly never bottled it in my opinion anyway.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/03/2019 21:44:35    2176504

Replying To candlewax:  "I know that Mayo haven't won an All Ireland since 1951. I know that they've lost 9 All Ireland's since 1989. They've lost three since 2012.
Now how far do you think Mayo will get this year? Would like to see them in super 8s this time around"
Funny enough I wouldn't have Walsh, but Comer I would. I don' think Walsh does enough without the ball.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/03/2019 10:21:32    2176577

Replying To Pericles:  "Funny enough I wouldn't have Walsh, but Comer I would. I don' think Walsh does enough without the ball."
walsh is in another league to comer based on ability..felt he wasnt far off player of the year last year

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 31/03/2019 10:42:54    2176580

Replying To alano12:  "walsh is in another league to comer based on ability..felt he wasnt far off player of the year last year"
I love watching him ball in hand, but don't think he does enough when he hasn't got it. Just my opinion... I could be Dunphy to his Platini... and he can develop these other aspects, time will tell.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 31/03/2019 11:03:41    2176583

Replying To Pericles:  "I love watching him ball in hand, but don't think he does enough when he hasn't got it. Just my opinion... I could be Dunphy to his Platini... and he can develop these other aspects, time will tell."
Unfortunately Comer prob has too much to do without the ball when his real strength is terrorising defences. He's a great all rounder that never quits.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7343 - 31/03/2019 13:41:24    2176612

Replying To Pericles:  "Funny enough I wouldn't have Walsh, but Comer I would. I don' think Walsh does enough without the ball."
Think there's a strong argument for Comer , Walsh and Burke to all get into that Mayo forward line.
Must say I was disappointed with that league final. Think it shows how far ahead of everyone Dublin will be come this summer. They wiped the floor with that Mayo team in the league . Galway also bet Mayo in there back garden. Mayo should have wiped the floor with Kerry today.
I think when Dublin get them goal chances late on, they won't be so wasteful!

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 31/03/2019 17:58:04    2176701

Replying To candlewax:  "Think there's a strong argument for Comer , Walsh and Burke to all get into that Mayo forward line.
Must say I was disappointed with that league final. Think it shows how far ahead of everyone Dublin will be come this summer. They wiped the floor with that Mayo team in the league . Galway also bet Mayo in there back garden. Mayo should have wiped the floor with Kerry today.
I think when Dublin get them goal chances late on, they won't be so wasteful!"
Dublin wiped the floor with Mayo in 2017 in the league as well, Mayo are usually fighting for relegation but ended up in a final while making 6-8 changes in every game. No pleasing the begrudgers even when they win.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 31/03/2019 18:12:16    2176708

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Dublin wiped the floor with Mayo in 2017 in the league as well, Mayo are usually fighting for relegation but ended up in a final while making 6-8 changes in every game. No pleasing the begrudgers even when they win."
I don't sugarcoat it TheFlaker. Mayo deserved to win today , and if anything I thought the score line flattered Kerry. If Dublin get that goal chance at the end, it's game over.
Yeah and they bet ye in the final that year as well? Suspect if two are to meet later on in championship, unfortunately the same thing will happen.
I even said earlier in this thread that I hope ye would win today. Very sensitive even when you win! There's no pleasing you... Even though ye tried your best to bottle it again today. You can thank Mr. Clifford for the get out of jail card

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 31/03/2019 18:29:26    2176718

Replying To candlewax:  "I don't sugarcoat it TheFlaker. Mayo deserved to win today , and if anything I thought the score line flattered Kerry. If Dublin get that goal chance at the end, it's game over.
Yeah and they bet ye in the final that year as well? Suspect if two are to meet later on in championship, unfortunately the same thing will happen.
I even said earlier in this thread that I hope ye would win today. Very sensitive even when you win! There's no pleasing you... Even though ye tried your best to bottle it again today. You can thank Mr. Clifford for the get out of jail card"
Firstly Mayo are behind Dublin. I am not sensitive at all and if you ever see my posts even after losing finals there are no excuses.

You brought up Mayo losing to Dublin and Galway as a pointer to the summer. Which is nonsensical if you see what Mayo did in the league in 16 and 17. Mayo blooded a tonne of new players and selection wise he wasn't gunning for a league final, but they ended up there and won it. What else could they do?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 31/03/2019 18:51:51    2176726

Replying To Pericles:  "I love watching him ball in hand, but don't think he does enough when he hasn't got it. Just my opinion... I could be Dunphy to his Platini... and he can develop these other aspects, time will tell."
fairly wasteful against mayo in connacht but v good after i felt...comer very poor championship last season outside of the semi i felt

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 31/03/2019 18:56:17    2176730

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Firstly Mayo are behind Dublin. I am not sensitive at all and if you ever see my posts even after losing finals there are no excuses.

You brought up Mayo losing to Dublin and Galway as a pointer to the summer. Which is nonsensical if you see what Mayo did in the league in 16 and 17. Mayo blooded a tonne of new players and selection wise he wasn't gunning for a league final, but they ended up there and won it. What else could they do?"
Yes , every county is. Dublin, in my opinion will be rubbing their hands after watching that today.
No excuses - That's refreshing.
Yes but every county bloods a tonne of new players in the league including Dublin.
Yes, you could look at it that way . Or you could look at 2018 league where Mayo struggled and survived by the skin of their teeth and continued to struggle throughout the championship. Doesn't matter what time of year it is not good to get heavily beaten.
We did a favour for ye up in Tyrone! Delighted to see our neighbours finally win some silverware in Croke Park. Can see from the footage at the end, the sheer joy and emotion on each fan's face. Never seen more tears shed at a league final! Mayo abú

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 31/03/2019 20:27:51    2176778

The most ridiculous comment of the year on here.

Walsh is becoming the most underrated player in the game. He had a very good championship last year and should have won an All Star was one of the best players in the league the last few months.

Mayo don't have a player like Shane Walsh.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 01/04/2019 10:22:40    2176897