Kerry V Dublin

Replying To Belclare1:  "First yellow was for persistent fouling.."
He didn't even make the tackle lol

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2019 21:30:15    2163804

It was a great game you would not have known there was bad weather conditions the way both teams played.
Didn't like losing that game hate losing to Kerry.
But Kerry deserved it the two indvidual Dublin goals put a gloss on the scoreline.
Kerry were extremely accurate in fairness. Some great scores from play and O'Shea looks like 'Byran Sheehan 2.0 ' for the frees.
The question for Kerry is can they replicate it when both sides play thier full strength and the pressure is on?

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 09/02/2019 21:33:24    2163807

Replying To Belclare1:  "First yellow was for persistent fouling.."
"Red card!
A ludicrous second yellow card for Dublin's Michael Fitzsimons, who is sent off by Maurice Deegan. Peter Crowley (yellow) grabbed him but the Dublin defender did nothing."

This what was reported on the Hogan Stand regarding the sending off of the Dublin player.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 09/02/2019 21:34:14    2163808

Replying To greysoil:  "Ah come on now man, it was a great game. Result may not have gone your way but don't take away from that great spectacle. Some super play from the young Kerry lads. Remember Kerry (and every other county) all at the same stage in the year as Dublin & I have no doubt that they will come on as the year goes on - they and the other top teams are not going to stand still as Dublin build up to their grand crescendo in August !!
Really surprised by the petulant tone UN. Great to see the league so alive."
That's my honest assessment of it GS.

It's not being petulant, Inwouodnt argue with the result in the night. I'm not one iota concerned about it, nor do I think Kerry will beat Dublin in the championship. I could be wrong just my opinion.

Personally I didn't think it was a great game of football, exciting certainly but i thought it was cynical, gamesmanship, unessary frees etc.

Not to take anything away from Kerry, probably deserved it on the night, a very well done!

I'm down here, drinking pints with them not one hard feeling, just my honest assetmemt!

Enjoy the night boys!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/02/2019 21:40:37    2163811

Replying To greysoil:  "Ah come on now man, it was a great game. Result may not have gone your way but don't take away from that great spectacle. Some super play from the young Kerry lads. Remember Kerry (and every other county) all at the same stage in the year as Dublin & I have no doubt that they will come on as the year goes on - they and the other top teams are not going to stand still as Dublin build up to their grand crescendo in August !!
That's my honest assessment of it GS.

It's not being petulant, Inwouodnt argue with the result in the night. I'm not one iota concerned about it, nor do I think Kerry will beat Dublin in the championship. I could be wrong just my opinion.

Personally I didn't think it was a great game of football, exciting certainly but i thought it was cynical, gamesmanship, unessary frees etc.

Not to take anything away from Kerry, probably deserved it on the night, a very well done!

I'm down here, drinking pints with them not one hard feeling, just my honest assetmemt!

Enjoy the night boys!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 09/02/2019 21:49:31    2163820

Good post, and you are right it's February for everybody. Kerry are missing half a team between Crokes, Kilcummin and injured players, and one of their main coaches only started working with them a few weeks ago. It's a whole new setup and a team finding its feet.

Glad to get the win but still a lot of work to do particularly at the back those two goals were well taken but really soft from a Kerry point of view you simply cannot give that to Dublin and expect to win. Dublin's experience showed at the end and despite having an extra man it was Kerry who tired most they were clinging on. The red card was daft and probably cost Dublin the game.

Despite the assumptions on here that Kerry started the melee did anybody actually see what kicked it off?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/02/2019 21:57:30    2163825

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Good post, and you are right it's February for everybody. Kerry are missing half a team between Crokes, Kilcummin and injured players, and one of their main coaches only started working with them a few weeks ago. It's a whole new setup and a team finding its feet.

Glad to get the win but still a lot of work to do particularly at the back those two goals were well taken but really soft from a Kerry point of view you simply cannot give that to Dublin and expect to win. Dublin's experience showed at the end and despite having an extra man it was Kerry who tired most they were clinging on. The red card was daft and probably cost Dublin the game.

Despite the assumptions on here that Kerry started the melee did anybody actually see what kicked it off?"
Ahh feck the melee

Pity it had to happen

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2019 22:05:28    2163828

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Good post, and you are right it's February for everybody. Kerry are missing half a team between Crokes, Kilcummin and injured players, and one of their main coaches only started working with them a few weeks ago. It's a whole new setup and a team finding its feet.

Despite the assumptions on here that Kerry started the melee did anybody actually see what kicked it off?"
Rte showed in from a different angle.. it started by guess who? John Small...

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 09/02/2019 22:17:07    2163830

Thoroughly enjoyed the game. When Kerry played Cavan last week, i didn't see much to trouble the dubs. They certain worked on things (even in the week) and deserved to win. Although he ran out of steam i though the O'Brien lad in the middle added something new. Thought they emptied the tank really and they really were about making a statement this evening. Morley played well for me but he's more a man down the middle than on the wing.

Dublin are a work in progress and its looks like some of the lads that are only coming back wintered well.. I wouldn't be worried at all even with the high ball problem in the fullback line.

Last thing. I though some of the kerry tackling was very high this evening. It was in the Cavan game too where 1 or two tackles belonged in the WWE (Clothesline). What was interesting too was that there were no black cards tonight. I hope the cynical pull down is not being replaced with a shoulder high arm charge to bring down a player. To me this is just as professional a fowl and only gets a yellow at best.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 09/02/2019 22:27:03    2163833

Great win for the new Kerry lads...would have left a scar I think if they lost dat game. For Dublin think it'll just spur them on...might just mean they don't make the league final.
Now it's all about how much Kerry can progress and develop the young lads pre champo. Seem to be finding young lads with the pace and ability so hopefully we can get the style of play right an see where it takes us.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 09/02/2019 22:41:36    2163837

Replying To Gaa Fan:  ""Red card!
A ludicrous second yellow card for Dublin's Michael Fitzsimons, who is sent off by Maurice Deegan. Peter Crowley (yellow) grabbed him but the Dublin defender did nothing."

This what was reported on the Hogan Stand regarding the sending off of the Dublin player."
With respect whoever wrote that needs to go to specsavers, Fitsimons had Crowley in a headlock for the second card, they both should have been booked tbh. It's the first one that was never a card. It was a very harsh sending off though no doubt.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/02/2019 22:44:50    2163838

Replying To WanPintWin:  "No. The 90s was lower-scoring on average and most forwards were very one-footed."
Nonsense, 8 different teams won in the 90s including your own, each province winning at least once. Some of the best footballers that ever graced the game played in that era

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 09/02/2019 22:45:05    2163839

John small started the melee, also Dara Moynihan was attacked by 3 dubs going down the tunnel at half time but he didn't take it and gave it back and I'd say they were sorry they started on him.

Moynihan my man of the match.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2019 22:48:35    2163842

Replying To TheUsername:  "That's my honest assessment of it GS.

Enjoy the night boys!"
Take your medicine boy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/02/2019 22:50:00    2163843

Great game of football, nice to have the drama of the close game. Dublin had had three scoreable chances at the end to kill the game and they didn't take them, well done Kerry. Looking like a Mayo Kerry final!

FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 09/02/2019 22:50:19    2163844

Replying To kingdomfan:  "Great to beat that shower in Tralee tonight. Hope ye enjoy the long trip back to the kip that is Dublin. Ciarraí abú"
Only thing that is worse than a bad loser is a bad winner. Thankfully the Kerry fans near me this evening displayed a bit more breeding than this.

AHP (Dublin) - Posts: 323 - 09/02/2019 22:54:17    2163846

Excellent game for this time of year, thought gavin o brien, dara Moynihan and tom o Sullivan played really well. I feel jack barry needs to impose himself more, needs more urgency in his game. I still don't know about Adrian spillane, maybe a lot of unseen work and in fairness they kept the Dublin midfield quiet. I see the usual patronising arrogant dub posters on here. Enjoy yere period of dominance, it will be coming to an end sooner rather than later. Class was never one of yere traits.

blueshirt1 (Kerry) - Posts: 19 - 09/02/2019 22:55:16    2163847

Alot if heavy defending , swarm tackling , very Ulster like game....15 men behind the ball.

Game2Halves (Tyrone) - Posts: 265 - 09/02/2019 23:01:06    2163851

Brilliant game for the time of the year. Some great swift foot passing on display not to mention some great point scoring. Congrats to both teams on a very enjoyable spectacle. What sparked the debacle at the end? Who were the Dublin and Kerry players involved in the bjj bout after the whistle?

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 09/02/2019 23:22:37    2163854

nice one to kerry for your hospitality tonight, walking past austin stack park as we speak going back to the hotel, not able for these mad sessions any more lol, bed now.and the long journey back in the morning, well done kerry, better team won, proud of dublins battling qualities, didnt lie down and die, many teams wpuld have caved in, kerry look good but still believe in the summer dublin will take some beating, roll on mayo in two weeks, up the dubs.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 09/02/2019 23:38:47    2163857