Kerry V Dublin

Replying To westkerry:  "Id say your used to yawning watching Galway."
They remind me of the David Moyes Everton team that had a top 4 status for a season until order was restored.
Horrible to view , and to play against.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 14/02/2019 12:26:53    2165291

John Small and the Kerry lad are getting suspended for the handbags at the end of Saturday's game yet a Monaghan and Tyrone player clearly kneed players on the ground and no suspensions. What a joke.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/02/2019 11:36:32    2165458

Replying To clondalkindub:  "John Small and the Kerry lad are getting suspended for the handbags at the end of Saturday's game yet a Monaghan and Tyrone player clearly kneed players on the ground and no suspensions. What a joke."
Blessing in disguise for us in my opinion, means Jimmy Mc will stay in the half back line and we will have the opportunity to bring young Gavin on in midfield. Jack might have to get a stretch in the legs though or Scully or Howard can drop back there.

Hes a real warrior is Jonny, plays on the edge but you dont win All Ireland's without players like him. We will welcome him back in Breffni.

All good.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 15/02/2019 12:20:41    2165471

Replying To clondalkindub:  "John Small and the Kerry lad are getting suspended for the handbags at the end of Saturday's game yet a Monaghan and Tyrone player clearly kneed players on the ground and no suspensions. What a joke."
The rest will do Small no harm at all, we have plenty that can fill in for him!

FOB (Dublin) - Posts: 912 - 15/02/2019 12:26:36    2165473

Pity

He's actually a good footballer. Can kick off both feet, can take a score and has the skill to setup and support attacking football as well as being a solid tackler

Unfortunately he's made a name for himself and he's been rightly punished at times. I think Gavin likes him because he had Keith Barr and Eamon Heary looking down at him back in his playing days.. every team needs players like that but I'd like to see bloody more of him on the pitch

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/02/2019 13:38:50    2165484

It really is ridiculous. on a side note is that 3 games out of 4 now that John small has in bother ?

All Ireland final against Tyrone
League against Monaghan
League against Kerry (albeit after the game )

A bit worrying.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 15/02/2019 13:46:36    2165488

Every team needs a few sinners. All successful teams have had 'Hard' men in the team down the years.

GreenAndGold74 (Kerry) - Posts: 194 - 15/02/2019 14:22:15    2165506

Replying To waynoI:  "It really is ridiculous. on a side note is that 3 games out of 4 now that John small has in bother ?

All Ireland final against Tyrone
League against Monaghan
League against Kerry (albeit after the game )

A bit worrying."
For doing absolutely nothing except he's from the wrong club. Watch every incident nothing in any of them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 15/02/2019 14:28:35    2165507

No doubt he's a tough uncompromising player but every successful team has a couple of them. He's been a bit unlucky with some of them, double yellows and a couple of blacks. Didn't get a clear view of the handbags on Sat but no doubt that Small will give it if he gets it and maybe even before he gets it. Ye don't mess with the Flats. A smashing player though.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/02/2019 15:02:26    2165511

Replying To clondalkindub:  "For doing absolutely nothing except he's from the wrong club. Watch every incident nothing in any of them."
agreed, i honestly think he's picked on by the officials

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 15/02/2019 15:10:13    2165513

Another case of double standards. I do think Small plays on the line but when you see the inconsistency in discipline being handed out across the board it makes you wonder about how they choose their punishments

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 15/02/2019 15:40:16    2165517

Small should know he's in the firing line by now.
Fair enough if they are minor incidents but don't give these wind up merchants the satisfaction. Discipline is now more important than ever ,When you are on top of the pile , everyone looks for any weakness.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/02/2019 16:29:15    2165534

Poor John Small, always involved but always the victim.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/02/2019 18:18:20    2165546

Replying To westkerry:  "Poor John Small, always involved but always the victim."
Just like Paul Galvin of old really.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 15/02/2019 18:21:09    2165547

Replying To Joxer:  "Just like Paul Galvin of old really."
Ah no , Paul was just misunderstood.
There's irony in there aswell somewhere. ;D

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/02/2019 18:30:50    2165550

Replying To Joxer:  "Just like Paul Galvin of old really."
Difference being... GAA trew the book at Galvin multiple times.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/02/2019 18:32:44    2165551

Replying To westkerry:  "Difference being... GAA trew the book at Galvin multiple times."
We'll it was actually him that threw the book if you remember.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/02/2019 18:55:41    2165553

Replying To westkerry:  "Difference being... GAA trew the book at Galvin multiple times."
Thought it was Galvin that threw the book ?

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 15/02/2019 19:13:52    2165558

Furthermore Galvin never had an appeal overturned, all his bans where for long periods too. Apparant Fish hook against Cork got him months compared to eye gouging that got philly what 1 game??
My point being John Small is a lucky boy he gets away with a lot.
Every team needs a lad with some divilment. though.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 15/02/2019 20:07:37    2165569

Jaysus i hope Dublin & Kerry don't meet in the all Ireland final this year - this thread would go on until the early 2030's!! You are both the greats of Gaelic football, with the most amazing players, managers & supporters & both teams are often hard done by, with officials, referees & the world in general out to get you ...
Please please please make it stop ......

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 15/02/2019 21:49:04    2165581