NFL Division 1

Replying To TheUsername:  "Thats fair enough, maybe im over nuanceing it, seemed to me in recent years the vogue to do was to go full pelt in the league and take it all very seriously.

Just feels a bit different to me this year, a lot of teams seem under cooked or focusing on transition, or giving lads extra time of or whatever.

That may just freshen up the league and maybe a bit more competitive or perhaps a more variant outcome to previous years.

I wondered had teams looked at the S8's for example and the frequency and recovery period in games and is the emphasis on a different fitness regime with an eye to peaking for them or developing a wider panel in the league to draw on in the heat of the summer and does this change the meaning to be gleaned in the league this year. Just feels to me teams are approaching it a bit differently this year to the last few.

But fair point its still early and all that."
It feels the same to me anyway, the only difference this year is dubs lost their first game maybe that's what has you stumped ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2019 17:36:11    2160773

Replying To jimbodub:  "Very good start for Kerry and a good chance of picking up another 2pts

That'll be them on 4. Looking at their games at home they'll be in with a great chance of making a final"
I don't know jim, away to Cavan won't be easy for us, also we made a good start to the league last year beating Donegal and Mayo but then things shot to shite as we got beat by Monaghan and hockey'd By yer selves then Galway gave us a thumping in Tralee before scraping safety against Kildare and then Tyrone beat us on the last day in omagh so we won't count our chickens just yet, one game at a time and all that lark.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2019 20:54:27    2160803

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I don't know jim, away to Cavan won't be easy for us, also we made a good start to the league last year beating Donegal and Mayo but then things shot to shite as we got beat by Monaghan and hockey'd By yer selves then Galway gave us a thumping in Tralee before scraping safety against Kildare and then Tyrone beat us on the last day in omagh so we won't count our chickens just yet, one game at a time and all that lark."
Will ya get up the yard, Cavan are muck and well you know it! 7 points plus in favour of the Kerry men...

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 29/01/2019 21:11:00    2160810

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Will ya get up the yard, Cavan are muck and well you know it! 7 points plus in favour of the Kerry men..."
Classic yerra.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 29/01/2019 21:29:16    2160816

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Will ya get up the yard, Cavan are muck and well you know it! 7 points plus in favour of the Kerry men..."
Classic yerra.

fingalman (Dublin) - Posts: 233 - 29/01/2019 21:31:50    2160818

Madking or what everway it's spelt should be locked in a room ...early in the year for this , I've nothing against Cavan and they are division 1 because they earned it ...no call for this or down with this sort of thing !

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 29/01/2019 21:54:23    2160819

Hi it's all on the day , it's 15 men again 15 men plus home advantage and a big home crowd baying for blood, and we only scrope a draw with ye up there 2 years ago with a stronger panel.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 29/01/2019 22:41:12    2160828

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi it's all on the day , it's 15 men again 15 men plus home advantage and a big home crowd baying for blood, and we only scrope a draw with ye up there 2 years ago with a stronger panel."
Dear oh dear, how many GAA cliches can you fit in one post? And the biggest one of all is kerry talking about up the opposition. Annoying!
We are well aware of our own position in this division. We are here on merit and will struggle to compete. Survival wud be a major achievement for this group and manager. Can we turn Kerry over? Yes but it depends on which version of Kerry turn up. A low scoring day would suit Cavan. We don't have the weapons for a shootout

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 29/01/2019 23:45:33    2160842

Replying To MadgeKing:  "Dear oh dear, how many GAA cliches can you fit in one post? And the biggest one of all is kerry talking about up the opposition. Annoying!
We are well aware of our own position in this division. We are here on merit and will struggle to compete. Survival wud be a major achievement for this group and manager. Can we turn Kerry over? Yes but it depends on which version of Kerry turn up. A low scoring day would suit Cavan. We don't have the weapons for a shootout"
Hey I hope you're right and we beat ye, but I've been on the road long enough now to know you can't take any team for granted and you don't count your chickens before they're hatched .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/01/2019 10:23:26    2160870

Galway a fair bit behind where they were this time last year, got to start taking their goal chances too. They've missed too many going back to the league campaign last year. All about staying up and finding a player or two.
Monaghan look like their the only team who invested a bit of time in the new 'mark' rule. Perhaps they've found a couple of new forwards that will give them an extra edge.
The Dubs looked brilliant early one, give them a few weeks and they'll be winning games very comfortably.
I've seen several people say Reape was been fouled hence the extra steps, he wasn't been fouled. A wonderful finish though. Mayo probably at more full strength than anyone else currently.
Roscommon look to have toughened up, they might struggle to score enough to win matches.
Kerry surprised me, really don't think there's an All Ireland in them this year. I think either them or Monaghan will get to the league final.
Cavan going to really struggle, they've not enough talent to make any inroads in the championship and their not fit enough or streetwise enough to stay up.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 30/01/2019 13:29:48    2160921

I will go with the Dubs, Kerry, Monaghan and Mayo all to win this weekend.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 31/01/2019 23:32:12    2161309

I'll go with dublin, monaghan , Tyrone, Kerry

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 01/02/2019 09:47:32    2161347

Dublin, Monaghan, Mayo, Kerry

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 01/02/2019 10:38:50    2161366

Dublin Roscommon Tyrone, draw Cavan Kerry game

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 01/02/2019 12:05:39    2161394

Dublin, Kerry, Tyrone and Monaghan.

Kerry15 (Kerry) - Posts: 957 - 01/02/2019 23:21:45    2161584

Dublin Tyrone Kerry Monaghan.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 02/02/2019 15:16:37    2161675

Galway, Kerry, Roscommon and Mayo all to win NFL Round 2.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 02/02/2019 15:33:15    2161676

I will go with Kerry, Mayo, Roscommon and Monaghan all to win this coming weekend.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 06/02/2019 23:56:42    2163118

Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone and Monaghan.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 07/02/2019 12:26:06    2163175

Kerry, Mayo, Roscommon and Galway all to win in Round 3 NFL

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 07/02/2019 16:44:35    2163255