Meath And Cork Football In Trouble?

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Mostly fair arguments, I see where you're coming from but as much as you're quoting the Tyrone game as a once off good performance for Meath and Mayo for Kildare, we came just as close against Tyrone as ye did in the league, as we did Donegal.. and Monaghan.. could've beat Galway and Kerry in the championship too and DID beat Mayo, so I'd argue, despite the results, our good performances were much more consistent than Meaths last year and I would expect us to stand out in division 2, but I concede that we have the potential to completely fall flat."
I can only comment on your league game v us in Ballyshannon and that was a game you should have won. We had all the breaks that day. You had the gumshield red card fiasco, a goal rules out for a dubious square ball and Ryan Mc Hugh getting a goal from the 45 m line when shooting for a point.
I think Kildare are building nicely and with their underage also going fairly well I expect them to build again in Division 2 this year and be in good shape for the championship. They're in the pack with the group behind Dublin.
Cork football has been on the decline for a while and it's hard to believe what has happened to both them and Down since they contested the AI final. I'm sure their lack of underage success hasn't gone unnoticed either and would expect that the powers that be in Cork are trying to rectify this. With the population in Cork the only reason they aren't at least competing is that they have poor structures and the wrong people involved.
Meath is very similar to Cork in that they have a big population but just don't seem to be producing the teams. They have had decent underage teams in the past few years though so maybe the tide is turning. There is still a strong traditional view within Meath of the way the game should be played and I think this has led them to be stuck between traditional football and defensive football and haven't really got to grips with any particular one. Their county team system should reflect what way these players are playing at club level and if that is the traditional 15 on 15 then they should set up that way for most games and with a few minor tweeks could become competitive again.
Leinster and Munster need Cork and Meath back to their traditional competitive levels.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 20/11/2018 21:14:21    2151906

Replying To OLLIE:  "Royaldunne if you are looking for 12 virgins I would suggest to go up to County Cavan and pick a virgin from one of the following places: Cavan Town, Virgina, Baileborough, Ballyjamesduff, Kingscourt, Ballyconnell, Belturbet, Cootehill, Shercock, Mullagh, Swanlinbar and Blacklion. That's your magic 12 plus I heard that they are tight in every way."
Haha. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/11/2018 22:08:34    2151915

Over the last 3 years in championship terms Mayo are away ahead of Tyrone. In league terms Kildare are away ahead of Meath- all based on results over the last 3 years. In championship I think it was a mistake for Kildare not to play in CP as if you want to win something, there is where you need the experience of playing in a full size pitch.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/11/2018 00:26:09    2151930

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. Brilliant. Absolutely brilliant."
How on earth did you get that one through ollie :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 21/11/2018 03:11:05    2151934

Jaysus imagine if poor MOD had a season in charge where Meath came 5th in Div 2 behind Tipperary and then lost to Longford in the championship...

McAntee got away with a lot less abuse.. another poor year and I don't think he'll have the same freedom to under perform so poorly.

Himself freaking out on the pitch and making a show of himself worked for him

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/11/2018 08:29:53    2151941

Replying To OLLIE:  "Royaldunne if you are looking for 12 virgins I would suggest to go up to County Cavan and pick a virgin from one of the following places: Cavan Town, Virgina, Baileborough, Ballyjamesduff, Kingscourt, Ballyconnell, Belturbet, Cootehill, Shercock, Mullagh, Swanlinbar and Blacklion. That's your magic 12 plus I heard that they are tight in every way."
Virgina????
Now I'm not one for all this PC nonsense but is this appropriate. And why do they have to be female, can they not be male, Meath is full of them

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 21/11/2018 09:07:36    2151944

Replying To realdub:  "How on earth did you get that one through ollie :D"
Realdub its not what you know but who you know. Myself and the Mods go back a long way.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/11/2018 10:21:02    2151957