Congratulations Dublin!

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yeah some team..:congrats. Never looked like loosing and won the final in 3rd gear in my opinion.

Hopefully we will be beach next year to try and stop ye winning the 5"
I think you might wanna worry about making the Super 8's first mate.. Mayo are gone, you had you chance...

derekm58 (Monaghan) - Posts: 24 - 03/09/2018 10:24:38    2138673

Congrats to team and all the Dubs on here, 4 in a row is a magnificent achievement. These are the good days lads, enjoy them as I think its inevitable that this cycle will come to an end at some stage.
6 time winners now include Cluxton, Mick Fitz, Philly McMahon, Cian O'Sullivan, James McCarthy, Mick McCauley, Paul Flynn, Kevin McMannamon, Eoghan O'Gara, Bernard Brogan, Darren Daly, Paddy Andrews.
I think they'll all give it at least one more season for the chance to win 5 in a row, but I do think after next season, going into the new decade we'll see a big change.
But look, this isn't the time for that debate. Its been a disappointing season in terms of competitiveness but next season is set up to be a hum dinger. If I'm right, Dublin and Kerry will be sharing a group in the super 8's. Kerry will have another rake of young lads to integrate into their team along with a new manager that could very well bring a whole new dynamic to their team. Mayo will be back with a strong core of a team with a new manager who could bring something new to the party.
All the pressure will be on Dublin, immortality awaits them!!

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 03/09/2018 10:34:36    2138677

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Thought Tyrone played very well, they just lack the forwards to carry them when an attack breaks down. Brian Howard and Murchan just slot in and are already all star caliber. This is no golden generation. A golden generation couldn't afford the loss of Connolly, O'Carroll, Bastick and the decline of Brogan, Flynn, O'Gara, MDMA. This is a conveyor belt, the wheel of the GAA cycle is broke and Dublin are on top. I can cling to their 20's being well bet by Kildare and our lads beating ye a few times at 18's and 17's but when they get to senior they might just get whipped by the Dubs then go abroad like about 5 of our lads did this year. It's a tough place to be, no real end in sight for the dominance. Made all the worse by how I like almost every trait this Dublin team has on and off the field just not the jersey they wear"
Well it serves to highlight what a great team Dublin had through 11-13 when Brogan, Connolly and Flynn were at their height. I don't think that the lads who have come in are quite of the same calibre but they have kept Dublin sufficiently ahead. Mayo's rapid demise this year also ensured an easier path for Dublin. You have to consider that this time next year players like Cluxton, Philly, McCarthy, Kev Mc... well may call it a day. Dublin's lack of underage success would suggest that we will struggle to replace these fellas and that will certainly even out the playing field. This isn't going to last forever. The snakes are in the long grass.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/09/2018 11:16:59    2138707

Well done to the Dubs, the best team out there by a distance at the mo.

Hard to see the drive for five being stopped at this point and it will probably take a few years for Kerry's young guns (Clifford aside) to fully develop.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/09/2018 11:38:30    2138725

Best team on the day, Fair Play Dublin. Tyrone like the rest of us need to mark the likes of Ciaran Kilkenny with his cross 45 line metre strolls, no system can beat this Dublin team, 15x15 time again, time to pronounce the Mc Guinness/Harte or Galway hybrid systems etc as d.o.a. to win an Ireland. Need to mark up especially at kickouts. Mark up.
Dublin have great efficiency in front of the posts. Dublin, enjoy the celebrations and thank you for saving the game.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 03/09/2018 11:43:30    2138730

Well done Dublin. From the 20th minutes on they were excellent. Without doubt my favorite top tier team to watch. They also seem like a great bunch of guys.

Enjoy the celebrations Dublin posters

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 03/09/2018 11:50:45    2138734

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Seriously a very poor sporting post - most Tyrone fans have supported Mayo and hoped you would win an AI. But let's be frank you were never good enough so let's not start being high and mighty judging Tyrone!!!"
Very salty reply on your part.

Tyrone didn't ever look like reeling in the Dubs once the penalty went in, that's just the way it went. I struggle to understand what's so objectionable about Mayo fans wanting to get back to a senior final next year, isn't that what every fan wants for their county?

I've seen quite a few posts from Tyrone supporters suggesting that Mayo gifted the Dubs a few All-Ireland wins and that Tyrone are a different animal in finals (Galway fans were at the same thing before the semis this year too).

But this Dublin outfit are an exceptional side, and it takes an exceptional performance to beat them.

Tyrone are a young side with plenty of potential, but they need to sort out the goalie position and their shooting accuracy to get close to Sam IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/09/2018 12:02:05    2138742

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Seriously a very poor sporting post - most Tyrone fans have supported Mayo and hoped you would win an AI. But let's be frank you were never good enough so let's not start being high and mighty judging Tyrone!!!"
Where did I bash tyrone? Good team but nowhere near Dublin's level yet.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 03/09/2018 12:02:47    2138744

Replying To derekm58:  "I think you might wanna worry about making the Super 8's first mate.. Mayo are gone, you had you chance..."
Gone where? This year is done and dusted now. People have been writing Mayo football off for years but we keep coming back.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 03/09/2018 12:04:14    2138746

Well done to the Dubs, they really are an outstanding team, one of the best ever without question. Tyrone battled well yesterday but in all honesty Dublin were never in danger, they could have won that game by 10pts+ if they were in the mood, that's the scary thing about it.

Will they get 5 in a row? Hard to know, but as it stands, it's going to take something very special to stop them.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/09/2018 12:18:42    2138755

The scary thing about yesterday was that Dublin won it at a canter.

Its a An All Ireland final dealt with in the same manner as an early round Leinster game.

Its a domination of the game in reality and im sure people will say no no its not, all a phase etc etc etc but when Dublin started dominating Leinster to the same extent the same arguments were being made and look at where we are now.

Fair play to Dublin, Sam Maguire is theirs for as long as they really want it imho.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1328 - 03/09/2018 12:23:53    2138759

Congrats to Dublin on the 4 in a row. They have probably cemented their claim as the greatest of all time now.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 03/09/2018 21:10:21    2138966

Listening to off the ball last night and I was struck by something I think it was wille joe padden said , he believes Jim Gavin to be incredibly under rated For the job he's done ,his point being to keep 35 players happy and motivated for as long as he has in the capital with the media and distractions , it's only when he has to be replaced Dublin will have a wobble , few coaches could do the job he's done , what's held against him is that he makes it look easy and doesn't seek publicity ,his stamp as a man is all over the squad if you ever meet players away from the pitch , they are humble and feel privileged, in this day and age that's as fine an achievement as any all Ireland, of course I'm sure there's many on here think it's easy and they could do the job themselves, but that's the problem with democracy you have listen to a gobshi7

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/09/2018 07:48:32    2139031

Replying To yew_tree:  "Yeah some team..:congrats. Never looked like loosing and won the final in 3rd gear in my opinion.

Hopefully we will be beach next year to try and stop ye winning the 5"
Think Dublin beat mayo in 4th gear over the past few yrs. Tyrone are a young team playing in their 1st ai final together and I've no doubt they'll be back at it soon.

Smiler21 (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 04/09/2018 11:43:24    2139095

Fair play and well done on yer 4th in a row.
It'll shorten the winter and I'm sure all the talk will be of 5 shortly. Well we know what happened the last time.
Don't go printing any tshirts too soon.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/09/2018 08:05:40    2139318

Well done Dublin, winning 4 in a row when 2 in a row is very tough these days is some achievement.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 05/09/2018 11:25:46    2139385

Replying To Smiler21:  "Think Dublin beat mayo in 4th gear over the past few yrs. Tyrone are a young team playing in their 1st ai final together and I've no doubt they'll be back at it soon."
Maybe in the league chief

But it took every ounce of maximum effort to beat this Mayo team in the Champ since 3013

Having failed to do so in 06/12

Mayo haven't helped themselves at times but they've also had a couple of big fat slices of bad luck cake over those games

It was ultimately competitive and were some of the greatest AI finals ever witnessed

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/09/2018 14:09:06    2139477

Haven't had a chance to be on here much lately but i do want to register my congratulations to Dublin. Fine team, fine manager and heading far into the history books. Well done.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/09/2018 14:22:12    2139489

Fair play for the kind words on here

My tongue in cheek GOAT thread thankfully got the response that I was going for! Might as well have a laugh before the copy and paste merchants got their chance..

It was a great day, great view from up the top of the canal end, could see all the positioning and runs off the ball. I'll be back there.

Incredible achievement in the modern game where back to backs are so difficult to achieve.

Dublin have just done a back to back back to back..

To think of the intense battles they've come through to achieve such this decade.. it makes it feel like 8 in a row

It's been incredibly competitive and that makes it so much worthwhile. Winning so many games that could have gone the other way.. it takes so much commitment and desire to come through so many battles like that and they now find themselves breaking a 100 year old record and currently sit at 28 games unbeaten in the championship.

A magnificent achievement that has never been seen before.

Another treble winning season

Another record now owned by Dublin

6 in a single decade no ones done that in over 100 years (Dublin)

4 in a row

Simply great.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/09/2018 15:44:52    2139529