Boring All-Ireland Winning Speeches

Boring and stale, but whats really cringeworthy is the hip hip hooray for the losing team, please stop it, im sure hearing it wont make the losing team feel any better

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 22/08/2018 16:15:14    2135646

Replying To PyatPree:  "Boring and stale, but whats really cringeworthy is the hip hip hooray for the losing team, please stop it, im sure hearing it wont make the losing team feel any better"
what about adding a few more hip hips?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/08/2018 09:43:16    2135831

Replying To perfect10:  "what about adding a few more hip hips?"
Thats a great idea :D

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 23/08/2018 10:26:58    2135842

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Is it really necessary to thank individually every member of the back room speeches?
Could a captain not thank "the entire back room team". I don't think the water boy or the hurl carrier needs a special thank you from the steps of the Hogan stand.
It has made speeches tedious. Bring back "whipping boys", "people of Galway we love you", "Wexford have been described as the bridesmaids of hurling, well today we got married", or all those famous speeches made even more famous by YouTube.
Agree/disagree?"
I would listen to the after match speeches, imagine yer man that comes out year after year on RTE's Rose of Tralee, thanking, the Garda Band, Tipperary Crystal, irish Inpendent, this hair stylist, that beauty therapist blah blah blah, and to make it worse all them names are on the credits at the end anyway..its is beyond boring just doing it for the sake of doing it...give me a fellah on the steps of the Hogan Stand any All Ireland Sunday thank you very much...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 23/08/2018 17:32:03    2136054

Replying To PyatPree:  "Thats a great idea :D"
thank you,its great when a good idea gets the recognition it deserves

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 23/08/2018 21:12:36    2136101

I miss the speeches which a large proportion were in Irish!! I really hate that one line every captain uses at the start (with the exception of Cluxton who uses no Irish!)

Two memorable speeches were Lester Ryan for Kilkenny in 2015 and John Lee Galway minor in the replayed 2004 final where the full speech was in Irish

jkiamasnake (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 24/08/2018 18:26:43    2136390

Anthony Daly's speech in 1995 which I watched on YouTube was very good...more or less gave 2 fingers to all the critics of Clare hurling down the years...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 24/08/2018 19:59:02    2136416

Replying To Sweetspot:  "I feel though the rounds of applause give the speech giver seconds to gather their thoughts and not forget anyone. I also feel the people mentioned are worthy of their mentions, their involvement will do their families and friends as proud as any players and they want their name mentioned. It's only a few minutes lads and ye don't even have to watch it.."
A big +1

Over the past few weeks I've read posts where we should scrap the speeches, the national anthem, the parade, the loud music at Croke Park prior to matches, half time entertainment.

Anything else we don't like? Maybe we should just let the teams come out, throw the ball in, play the game, hand the winners the trophy, " see ya later guys " and all go home.

Lets enjoy the sport for what it is and stop whinging about everything.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 24/08/2018 21:17:53    2136432

Replying To kingpuck71:  "A big +1

Over the past few weeks I've read posts where we should scrap the speeches, the national anthem, the parade, the loud music at Croke Park prior to matches, half time entertainment.

Anything else we don't like? Maybe we should just let the teams come out, throw the ball in, play the game, hand the winners the trophy, " see ya later guys " and all go home.

Lets enjoy the sport for what it is and stop whinging about everything."
I wouldn't call weins playing at half time entertainment, I have been to 3 games in 10 years so I have basically retired from live sport anyway.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 222 - 24/08/2018 23:34:45    2136446

Replying To PattyONeill:  "I wouldn't call weins playing at half time entertainment, I have been to 3 games in 10 years so I have basically retired from live sport anyway."
I was actually referring to the music played at Croke Park.

Some of the half time games that I see in Derry are played by handicapped children which means so much to them. I'm sure if one of the children involved was related to you then you would be delighted for them.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 25/08/2018 14:13:10    2136500

Totally agree, this week jack McCaffrey was talking about the parade , he said a buzz and adrenaline rush that can't be replicated, he said after last years disappointment there was s time if he wasn't sure if he'd get back to a parade again , now that he will he's determined to soak it up , if a player feels like that who am I a supporter to take that away few enough benefits for the players

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/08/2018 15:09:17    2136508

That "everything is rosy in the garden, nothing to see here" attitude has served Ireland and the GAA well alright!
People are only looking for ways to improve what is on offer. I started this thread because I thought the speech was boring and that the captain doesn't need to thank 20 people in the backroom, when he can thank them in the dressing room afterwards

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 26/08/2018 13:04:40    2136616

Replying To StoreysTash:  "That "everything is rosy in the garden, nothing to see here" attitude has served Ireland and the GAA well alright!
People are only looking for ways to improve what is on offer. I started this thread because I thought the speech was boring and that the captain doesn't need to thank 20 people in the backroom, when he can thank them in the dressing room afterwards"
Your getting your knickers in a twist because you've posted and someone disagrees, shock

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/08/2018 13:34:58    2136628