Kildare Vs Galway

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "a swing and a miss is not a yellow card, sorry lads. Gutted for Flynn and he was unlucky but gritty performance by Galway who need to tidy up for the next day. Delighted for Kildare after the league they had, wish them well next season."
No a strike or an attempted strike is a red card. The Referee didn't see it and the linesman was right to intervene.

What is you view on the other two incidents involving Kildare on Varley and Cooke, Red?, Yellow, Black or move on nothing to see here!!

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 23/07/2018 17:41:05    2125327

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "a swing and a miss is not a yellow card, sorry lads. Gutted for Flynn and he was unlucky but gritty performance by Galway who need to tidy up for the next day. Delighted for Kildare after the league they had, wish them well next season."
swing and a miss is intent whatever way you look at it....I only seen the one replay and couldn't really make it out but the referee (whom had a very poor game to honest!) got that right I think..Daniel Flynn a fine footballer but had opportunities to pass to better placed colleagues who made space for passes and he tried to do it all himself...and unfortunately at crucial times...it was a close game and Kildare know they had the winnings of it, upto the sending off in particular...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 23/07/2018 17:44:00    2125329

Replying To kildare73:  "Of course a strike is a strike, so why wasn't Donaghy sent off? And nobody please make out all the shenanigans was one sided in our game. Moolick was held from jumping by two arms wrapped around by a Galway midfielder right in front of the ref and in the next play was being dragged by his arm to stop him jumping. Both times nothing was done. Sean Andy pulling Flynn was just an example of what was happening all day. There was a pair of teams at it equally, one was punished more than the other."
Sure we will give you a free on them calls, what is the view on the strikes on Varley and Cooke? Red perhaps!!! Would you have given Damo a free in when the Ref disallowed the goal or was that not holding and dragging by two defenders?

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 23/07/2018 17:46:48    2125332

Replying To kildare73:  "Of course a strike is a strike, so why wasn't Donaghy sent off? And nobody please make out all the shenanigans was one sided in our game. Moolick was held from jumping by two arms wrapped around by a Galway midfielder right in front of the ref and in the next play was being dragged by his arm to stop him jumping. Both times nothing was done. Sean Andy pulling Flynn was just an example of what was happening all day. There was a pair of teams at it equally, one was punished more than the other."
Referee was poor overall but Kildare can be very happy with how they fared from the ref. Comer shouldve had a penalty in the first half, was fouled twice before his disallowed goal in the second half, was manhandled in front of the goal in the second half another time, no free given and Ian Burke was blatantly tripped in front of the goal and nothing given. The ref went completely one sided after the sending off. Galway would happily have kept Flynn on the field id say but had those 3 tap over frees that shouldve been given instead

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 23/07/2018 17:47:00    2125333

Replying To KildareKelly:  "'Kildare want it everyway, the Moorfield fullback had a Corofin player sent off earlier in the year and not a word out off Kildare about it, you couldn't make it up.'

Sorry but that's just rubbish. Every Kildare poster on here after that game said the Moorefield lad made a show of himself. It appears you can make it up !"
Perhap the admin will put back up the thread on Corofin v Moorefield as it is currently not accessible. I can't wait to read the messages of support for the Corofin player from you and your county men.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 23/07/2018 17:51:26    2125336

Replying To PressureKick:  "Referee was poor overall but Kildare can be very happy with how they fared from the ref. Comer shouldve had a penalty in the first half, was fouled twice before his disallowed goal in the second half, was manhandled in front of the goal in the second half another time, no free given and Ian Burke was blatantly tripped in front of the goal and nothing given. The ref went completely one sided after the sending off. Galway would happily have kept Flynn on the field id say but had those 3 tap over frees that shouldve been given instead"
No penalty, I was on the 21 line on the standside and had a fullview of this and the Flynn incident and the contact was outside the 14.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 23/07/2018 18:00:33    2125341

Replying To EDH:  "No a strike or an attempted strike is a red card. The Referee didn't see it and the linesman was right to intervene.

What is you view on the other two incidents involving Kildare on Varley and Cooke, Red?, Yellow, Black or move on nothing to see here!!"
ya the refs can only legislate for what they see or perceive to see, they will miss some calls obviously so that's all there is to it. Consistency is what we all look for. Spectacular red card for Flynn but he got drawn into it and he took the bait I suppose. Also, Galway should have scored goals, maybe the next day.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 23/07/2018 18:12:25    2125344

It was no penalty, outside the area. I did think Comer should have had a free when the goal was disallowed, no problem saying that. Didn't see the Cooke incident but i did see the Slattery one at the end which was a nothing incident in all fairness. Linesman clearly saw it too so you can't be happy when one linesman intervenes and the other one doesn't go your way. I saw the manhandling in particular Moolick got too and got zero frees for. Look lads, Galway won what was a great game yesterday and fair play to them but there's no need to make out there was angel wings stuffed under the maroon jerseys yesterday. They were pulling out of Kildare lads as much as anyone was holding onto them. In Flynn's case he overreacted to being held onto and rightly saw red. I don't get how Donaghy didn't get the same. And yes, lots and i mean lots, of Kildare people condemned the Moorefield full back in that game back 6 months ago.................but why anyone would want to bring that up in relation to yesterday seems a bit childish.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 23/07/2018 18:32:41    2125354

Replying To kildare73:  "It was no penalty, outside the area. I did think Comer should have had a free when the goal was disallowed, no problem saying that. Didn't see the Cooke incident but i did see the Slattery one at the end which was a nothing incident in all fairness. Linesman clearly saw it too so you can't be happy when one linesman intervenes and the other one doesn't go your way. I saw the manhandling in particular Moolick got too and got zero frees for. Look lads, Galway won what was a great game yesterday and fair play to them but there's no need to make out there was angel wings stuffed under the maroon jerseys yesterday. They were pulling out of Kildare lads as much as anyone was holding onto them. In Flynn's case he overreacted to being held onto and rightly saw red. I don't get how Donaghy didn't get the same. And yes, lots and i mean lots, of Kildare people condemned the Moorefield full back in that game back 6 months ago.................but why anyone would want to bring that up in relation to yesterday seems a bit childish."
On balance it is fair to say all teams to some degree pull and drag. I know the conundrum from Kildare is if Daniel Flynn had not got sent off would it have been a different game. Cian O'Neill is convinced but equally if we had coverted one of our 3 clear goal chances plus the issue in the 49th minute of the disallowed goal would it have been a different game from our perspective. From a Kildare perspective ye are in a good place with the u20's in the all Ireland and the rejuvenation effort after the Carlow debacle. For us it has been a slow upward curve for 2 years with areas need to improve on but definitely now in the next layer of teams trying to catch the Dubs.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 24/07/2018 09:36:19    2125560