Monaghan Vs Kildare

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Emmet Bolton from Kildare predicting a Kildare win. Amazing that...and Dick Clerkin from Monaghan predicting Monaghan to get out of the group while Kildare finish last. Equally amazing.
'strong contenders for the all Ireland'....will you give over...you have not heard one person in the media saying that ! You're fooling nobody with the 'hype' talk. We're least favoured to come out of the group by the bookies, least favoured to come out of the group on the quick poll on this website too..."
The media really really should have given Monaghan a lot more praise for their win over Laois instead of doting over us beating Fermanagh. Can you not see these lads feel we took all the headlines from their glory? Imagine, Bernard Flynn praising the likes of Dan Flynn.

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 11/07/2018 20:29:56    2120819

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Emmet Bolton from Kildare predicting a Kildare win. Amazing that...and Dick Clerkin from Monaghan predicting Monaghan to get out of the group while Kildare finish last. Equally amazing.
'strong contenders for the all Ireland'....will you give over...you have not heard one person in the media saying that ! You're fooling nobody with the 'hype' talk. We're least favoured to come out of the group by the bookies, least favoured to come out of the group on the quick poll on this website too..."
C'mon only having a bit of craic with ye. My message from "seriously "on are my real thoughts. Have a few mates from kildare and your performance both on and off the field the week of mayo match has been the highlight so far of the summer in the football championship. Think ye were unlucky in league and just needed that win over derry to get going again. Kildare have always been tough opposition and ye had a great side back in 2010 which should have made the final so if ye weren't playing us id cheer ye on. Being honest v hard to tell where we are at a cross between Tyrone win and second half in navan maybe. Think if our defence can tighten up and our midfield breaks even we will win but the kildare attack is v dangerous and are in serious form.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 11/07/2018 21:02:11    2120820

Kildare going to be hard to beat for monaghan. They've the wind in their sails at the moment.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 11/07/2018 21:25:44    2120825

Replying To seanie08:  "C'mon only having a bit of craic with ye. My message from "seriously "on are my real thoughts. Have a few mates from kildare and your performance both on and off the field the week of mayo match has been the highlight so far of the summer in the football championship. Think ye were unlucky in league and just needed that win over derry to get going again. Kildare have always been tough opposition and ye had a great side back in 2010 which should have made the final so if ye weren't playing us id cheer ye on. Being honest v hard to tell where we are at a cross between Tyrone win and second half in navan maybe. Think if our defence can tighten up and our midfield breaks even we will win but the kildare attack is v dangerous and are in serious form."
Fair enough. If our defence tightens up I think we will win too but that isn't going to happen on evidence to date !
It could be a cracker of a game.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 11/07/2018 21:44:08    2120829

Replying To Caoimhog88:  "There were more kildare than monaghan fans at the league game?"
what league game would that be ?

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 11/07/2018 23:56:40    2120857

Let's stop the silly beggers over who's favorites and hype etc. this is as 50/50 a game as you are likely to get in the super 8s. The way I see it if Monaghan start with an offensive line up including McCarthy, McCarron along with McManus we will give ourselves the best chance to win the game if we go defensive with a half forward line of defenders we will get exactly what we deservedly got against Fermanagh a flat performance with a much bigger losing margin. Conor McCarthy should start and finish every game for Monaghan just like McManus he is a class act given the chance! Looking forward to a great game on Sunday. This is a massive few weeks for Monaghan GAA.

CurlyFingers (Monaghan) - Posts: 52 - 12/07/2018 00:28:03    2120862

Poor oul Dick I think might be a bit sore on us given how he was left with egg on his face during the Newbridge row when he confidently predicted on TV3 Kildare would fold and play in Croke Park. Only to be proved wrong about 12 hours later. Dunno what he thinks we ever did to annoy him so much but there ya go. Even remember him saying by the middle of the following week "nobody would give a hoot about Kildare"............he seems to give a hoot about us now!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/07/2018 00:30:07    2120863

Replying To kildare73:  "Poor oul Dick I think might be a bit sore on us given how he was left with egg on his face during the Newbridge row when he confidently predicted on TV3 Kildare would fold and play in Croke Park. Only to be proved wrong about 12 hours later. Dunno what he thinks we ever did to annoy him so much but there ya go. Even remember him saying by the middle of the following week "nobody would give a hoot about Kildare"............he seems to give a hoot about us now!"
I think you're having an argument with yourself there.......who cares.......for what it's worth I believe Dick said the compromise would likely be a neutral venue ......but who cares...let's talk about the game...it's 50/50 IMO

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 12/07/2018 14:46:54    2121022

Hon the Farney, Cant wait for Sunday"

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 12/07/2018 15:00:57    2121027

Replying To Shelbourne:  "I think you're having an argument with yourself there.......who cares.......for what it's worth I believe Dick said the compromise would likely be a neutral venue ......but who cares...let's talk about the game...it's 50/50 IMO"
God no I knew what side of the argument I was on:). Just couldn't understand what that lad's problem was. Said earlier this week on here it's 50/50. You can make an even case for both sides. Should be a good match anyway.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/07/2018 15:20:31    2121033

Huge tactical battle on the cards here. Kildare have suddenly found their power game up front so MOR needs to get the matchups spot on from the start. Dan Flynn the obvious threat but what is the solution? I don't think Drew Wylie would work. Possibly Kieran Duffy for the job of first line defence here, with Conor Boyle on Paddy Brophy and Drew at centre back to check P.Cribben. Hands full for this defence. Expect a deep lying Monaghan half forward until things settle down.

At the other end, Kildare have shipped some high point totals against ordinary enough teams. Peter Kelly v McManus will be some duel if it materializes. Monaghan have struggled to make the long ball stick inside in the last few games. Jack McCarron in particular has needed 60:40 ball played to win his own ball. He tends to drift out on a long loop and slow things down as a result. Kieran Hughes fared no better from the bench the last day and he looked to be playing his own game- O'Rourke could do with a return from him at full forward but I don't see it coming. Owen Duffy to inject some direct running would not be a surprise, however you don't know which version will turn out.

More questions surround the Farney's forward lineup than Kildare's at the minute so I would lean towards Kildare starting as favourites. However, if MOR makes the right calls on 11 and 13, and 14 it will tilt the result.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1056 - 12/07/2018 16:16:42    2121057

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Huge tactical battle on the cards here. Kildare have suddenly found their power game up front so MOR needs to get the matchups spot on from the start. Dan Flynn the obvious threat but what is the solution? I don't think Drew Wylie would work. Possibly Kieran Duffy for the job of first line defence here, with Conor Boyle on Paddy Brophy and Drew at centre back to check P.Cribben. Hands full for this defence. Expect a deep lying Monaghan half forward until things settle down.

At the other end, Kildare have shipped some high point totals against ordinary enough teams. Peter Kelly v McManus will be some duel if it materializes. Monaghan have struggled to make the long ball stick inside in the last few games. Jack McCarron in particular has needed 60:40 ball played to win his own ball. He tends to drift out on a long loop and slow things down as a result. Kieran Hughes fared no better from the bench the last day and he looked to be playing his own game- O'Rourke could do with a return from him at full forward but I don't see it coming. Owen Duffy to inject some direct running would not be a surprise, however you don't know which version will turn out.

More questions surround the Farney's forward lineup than Kildare's at the minute so I would lean towards Kildare starting as favourites. However, if MOR makes the right calls on 11 and 13, and 14 it will tilt the result."
Look kildare are coming off a morale boosting win against an ageing and tired Mayo and we must factor in how lower tier teams tend to raise their game for matches against the elite 5. I can't see them winning but I suppose if all goes for them at the start they could hang in for 50 minutes. The last 20 should see our superior fitness, dynamism, and firepower ease us over the line by 5 or more.

Mona1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 12/07/2018 16:47:58    2121068

Replying To Mona1:  "Look kildare are coming off a morale boosting win against an ageing and tired Mayo and we must factor in how lower tier teams tend to raise their game for matches against the elite 5. I can't see them winning but I suppose if all goes for them at the start they could hang in for 50 minutes. The last 20 should see our superior fitness, dynamism, and firepower ease us over the line by 5 or more."
On what grounds have you at all to suggest Monaghan have superior fitness? I've very seldom heard of an "elite 5" . Kildare played division 1 football this year meaning we're prpbably not considered "lower tier" (only lost to Monaghan by 1 and have been playing considerably better ball in the champo than league)... I don't know I just don't see a lot of proper arguments there but that's just me, hope for a good game.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 12/07/2018 17:06:59    2121074

Replying To Mona1:  "Look kildare are coming off a morale boosting win against an ageing and tired Mayo and we must factor in how lower tier teams tend to raise their game for matches against the elite 5. I can't see them winning but I suppose if all goes for them at the start they could hang in for 50 minutes. The last 20 should see our superior fitness, dynamism, and firepower ease us over the line by 5 or more."
No we're coming off a huge win against the same Fermanagh team that beat yourselves. The more I read of your ramblings the more I'm convinced you haven't actually watched much football. Sounds like you are trying to convince yourself more than anything else. It'll be a tight game.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 12/07/2018 17:54:51    2121085

Replying To Sweetspot:  "On what grounds have you at all to suggest Monaghan have superior fitness? I've very seldom heard of an "elite 5" . Kildare played division 1 football this year meaning we're prpbably not considered "lower tier" (only lost to Monaghan by 1 and have been playing considerably better ball in the champo than league)... I don't know I just don't see a lot of proper arguments there but that's just me, hope for a good game."
Monaghan have consistently been in the top half of div 1. Outside of the top 5 are sides of the quality of cavan, Roscommon, Kildare etc. In all honesty they are little better than the likes of Meath, longford, Carlow. Kildare are a banana skin for the likes of Monaghan or Kerry. 19 out of 20 days we win handy.

Mona1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 12/07/2018 17:56:25    2121086

What county are you really from? Your posts seem to be trying to build up antipathy towards Monaghan.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 12/07/2018 19:21:25    2121107

Replying To Sweetspot:  "On what grounds have you at all to suggest Monaghan have superior fitness? I've very seldom heard of an "elite 5" . Kildare played division 1 football this year meaning we're prpbably not considered "lower tier" (only lost to Monaghan by 1 and have been playing considerably better ball in the champo than league)... I don't know I just don't see a lot of proper arguments there but that's just me, hope for a good game."
The teams in the top half of div 1 are miles ahead of the rest. Kildare, Roscommon, and Cavan, etc are on a par with the likes of Longford, Meath, and Carlow.

Mona1 (Monaghan) - Posts: 21 - 12/07/2018 19:30:00    2121108

Replying To Mona1:  "Monaghan have consistently been in the top half of div 1. Outside of the top 5 are sides of the quality of cavan, Roscommon, Kildare etc. In all honesty they are little better than the likes of Meath, longford, Carlow. Kildare are a banana skin for the likes of Monaghan or Kerry. 19 out of 20 days we win handy."
At this moment I recon you're about the only one who doesn't recon we play at the same level at the minute but that's okay, Sunday will tell

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 12/07/2018 19:47:01    2121113

Replying To Mona1:  "Monaghan have consistently been in the top half of div 1. Outside of the top 5 are sides of the quality of cavan, Roscommon, Kildare etc. In all honesty they are little better than the likes of Meath, longford, Carlow. Kildare are a banana skin for the likes of Monaghan or Kerry. 19 out of 20 days we win handy."
At this moment I recon you're about the only one who doesn't recon we play at the same level at the minute but that's okay, Sunday will tell. (I always think it's been widely accepted that there's a top 3/4 and everyone else (rank5-15) can beat each other e.g Carlow Kildare and Fermanagh Monaghan). That includes Kildare and Monaghan.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 12/07/2018 19:49:05    2121114

Replying To Sweetspot:  "At this moment I recon you're about the only one who doesn't recon we play at the same level at the minute but that's okay, Sunday will tell"
Kildare beat a mayo team that struggled to stay in division one. Mayo just didn't have the hart for the fight again. Missing a couple of there best players and a couple of the other ones were carrying injuries. Monaghan have been beating top teams for the last few years now and will win by 4 to 5. Including Dublin in croke park.

Mon99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 6 - 12/07/2018 20:20:11    2121121