Kilkenny Vs Limerick

Great game of hurling. Congrats to Limerick. They can't mess up goal chances like that against Cork. Hard ground wet on top...drive it low and hard and it will skid and be impossible to stop.

Hurling far and away ahead of football in terms of the percentage of good games you get.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 15/07/2018 22:10:50    2122421

Replying To Sheedy:  "Kilkenny didn't get at least 4 frees. I don't know what's going on with the refs. Are the refs doing challenge matches and getting high expenses down in some counties. Limerick were the better team,but Kilkenny should have won if awarded the frees they deserved."
That's a ridiculous post. Are you suggesting somehow the ref cost Kilkenny the game!!

We only got 2points from frees today. One excellent side line cut over the bar. and the rest from play.
What does that say about the free count in our favour. Kilkenny might have won if they actually managed to take their shots on target.
They hit some terrible wides...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 15/07/2018 22:12:28    2122423

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "As I keep saying, I am repeating the observations of the neutral commentators on TV, and on here."
You are selectively repeating observatios and refusing to accept equally valid observations highlighting other incidents that favoured KK. In any case more informed analysts have not supported your opinion so I think we will just ignore you and move on to the next challenge.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 941 - 15/07/2018 22:21:53    2122429

kilkenny supporters are the greatest bunch of whingers about the referee.every single day they go out they are booing,roaring,etc the second a kk man hits the deck regardless of whether he was fouled or not.
when decisions go their way they are grand,when they go against them they are not.
and they should have had 14 for the second half,deegan is doing that every day.
sean cleere is the first inter county referee from kk in about 20 years,why havent they produced more?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/07/2018 08:39:41    2122494

Replying To Westfester:  "Both teams put in huge effort today and the ref should not be the focus of attention"
i would agree with that too by the way,it was an absolute epic and great credit to all involved is due.
i am firmly behind limerick now,feet on the ground and it might just happen.
having said that,i cant look beyond galway.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/07/2018 08:43:08    2122496

Replying To perfect10:  "kilkenny supporters are the greatest bunch of whingers about the referee.every single day they go out they are booing,roaring,etc the second a kk man hits the deck regardless of whether he was fouled or not.
when decisions go their way they are grand,when they go against them they are not.
and they should have had 14 for the second half,deegan is doing that every day.
sean cleere is the first inter county referee from kk in about 20 years,why havent they produced more?"
I think you'll find every county whinges about referees this weather, it's not just Kilkenny, and most have just cause as there are some glaring mistakes being made in both football and hurling, given that there are 8 officials over a game it's not on that so many mistakes are made and it's getting increasingly frustrating for players and management given the efforts and time put into the modern day games.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/07/2018 09:10:57    2122507

Replying To Richieq:  "I think you'll find every county whinges about referees this weather, it's not just Kilkenny, and most have just cause as there are some glaring mistakes being made in both football and hurling, given that there are 8 officials over a game it's not on that so many mistakes are made and it's getting increasingly frustrating for players and management given the efforts and time put into the modern day games."
so the solution is more abuse,more whinging.
that will make refereeing better alright.
i loved dj careys mantra recently when asked about a ref "sure i made plenty of mistakes every day i played a match".
have we lost all sense that referees are human and are under massive pressure?there is so much pulling,dragging,crowding in modern gaa.
maybe we should all accept they get some decisions wrong.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/07/2018 09:48:40    2122528

Replying To perfect10:  "so the solution is more abuse,more whinging.
i loved dj careys mantra recently when asked about a ref "sure i made plenty of mistakes every day i played a match".
have we lost all sense that referees are human and are under massive pressure?there is so much pulling,dragging,crowding in modern gaa.
maybe we should all accept they get some decisions wrong."
Agreed, the ref had no impact on the result. I think Limerick are one of the most honest and genuine team out there and if anything lack that bit of "cuteness" other teams have. E.g. Holding your opponents Hurley seems to be a valid tackle in Kilkenny. I have never seen them blown for it.

Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 384 - 16/07/2018 10:33:42    2122554

Replying To perfect10:  "so the solution is more abuse,more whinging.
maybe we should all accept they get some decisions wrong."
No that's not the solution, I have no problem acknowledging the stresses or pressures of refereeing but when a blatantly obvious call happens in front of your face and you don't make it......well that's a problem and it's happening all too often in both codes and it's a problem that's not being acknowledged. All too often it's brushed under the carpet and that's not good enough, the thing about making mistakes is that your supposed to learn from them and that doesn't seem to be happening in the GAA in general.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/07/2018 10:46:08    2122566

Were all off to croke park were all off to croke park lalalala hey lalalala hey!!

For the kilkenny lads whinging about the ref -yes he did make mistakes but hey so did players -ye had around 16 wides, what won it was not the ref it was that we finished the games better outscored ye 5 1 after the goal.

We got huge bit of luck with three saves resulting in points (how often does that happen)

Fantastic display and result yesterday our full back and full forward lines immense , but you gotta hand it to the two morrisseys they were outstanding, toms point after th egoal crucial but his final point was ciaran caaey esque , he could have easily made a bags of it or not taken the responsibility.

Incredible atmosphere at the game and credit to limerick players for staying on pitch for ages afterwards signing stuff and taking photos, kids got puck about on pitch , singson in car on way home mighty end to a special day

hopefully our minors can beat kilkenny saturday and make it a double date in croke park.

congratulations and thanks to john, declan players, coaches and staff.

youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 16/07/2018 11:20:05    2122590

Replying To Richieq:  "No that's not the solution, I have no problem acknowledging the stresses or pressures of refereeing but when a blatantly obvious call happens in front of your face and you don't make it......well that's a problem and it's happening all too often in both codes and it's a problem that's not being acknowledged. All too often it's brushed under the carpet and that's not good enough, the thing about making mistakes is that your supposed to learn from them and that doesn't seem to be happening in the GAA in general."
so you didn't propose any solution in your response either.just more complaining.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/07/2018 11:30:25    2122595

Replying To Fitzy01:  "Agreed, the ref had no impact on the result. I think Limerick are one of the most honest and genuine team out there and if anything lack that bit of "cuteness" other teams have. E.g. Holding your opponents Hurley seems to be a valid tackle in Kilkenny. I have never seen them blown for it."
You're another poster who accuses Kilkenny players of committing an offence that is done by every decent intercounty team in the game, and as for "cuteness", one of the most cynical pieces of play ever seen in the modern game was performed by a Limerick player in the monsoon game in Croke Park against Kilkenny, tripping up Richie Power as he was through on goal, minutes after the same player should have been sent off for pulling across the head of a Kilkenny defender. You can state I'm reaching back in time to provide this example, but I guarantee you the cliched accusations of "dart arts, playing on the edge" that people continue to spew out weren't earned by the current Kilkenny team

Another aspect of cuteness that Limerick players over the last few seasons have not been found wanting, is the initiate jostling and then hit the deck like a tonne of bricks, hoping to get their opponent sent off, not the "the most honest and genuine" really is it? No I don't think you've anything to worry about on the cuteness front

And as for the ref had no bearing on the result? The ref allowed two head high challenges on Kilkenny players in the final minutes of the game go unpunished, not even advantage played, when the game was very much up for grabs, how is that not have a bearing on the result? The ref was poor, but these things happen, he made mistakes and we all have to live with them, he should not face punishment or abuse, but nor should people be forced to not discuss his performance.

Overall Limerick deserved the win, they caused Kilkenny untold trouble at the back but Kilkenny could have snatched a draw or win but for McGrath ignoring those incidents when the game was in the melting pot

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 16/07/2018 11:32:21    2122598

FairPlay to Limerick and the best of luck going forward, the ref was very harsh on Kilkenny but what's done is done. Kilkenny as a county have given us great entertainment over the past 20 years, a never say die attitude, a brand of hurling in their prime that no one could match! And off to Croke Park Limerick go again, they need to stay grounded and not get to cocky the auld track record in Croke Park wouldn't be great, will the famine of all Ireland wins continue or can they finally get over the line.

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 16/07/2018 12:00:20    2122624

Heftydickonem since you are going back in time did you complain when richie power got the penalty v tipp in 09 (i think) which should have been a free out for charging?

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/07/2018 12:02:21    2122625

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "You're another poster who accuses Kilkenny players of committing an offence that is done by every decent intercounty team in the game, and as for "cuteness", one of the most cynical pieces of play ever seen in the modern game was performed by a Limerick player in the monsoon game in Croke Park against Kilkenny, tripping up Richie Power as he was through on goal, minutes after the same player should have been sent off for pulling across the head of a Kilkenny defender. You can state I'm reaching back in time to provide this example, but I guarantee you the cliched accusations of "dart arts, playing on the edge" that people continue to spew out weren't earned by the current Kilkenny team

Another aspect of cuteness that Limerick players over the last few seasons have not been found wanting, is the initiate jostling and then hit the deck like a tonne of bricks, hoping to get their opponent sent off, not the "the most honest and genuine" really is it? No I don't think you've anything to worry about on the cuteness front

And as for the ref had no bearing on the result? The ref allowed two head high challenges on Kilkenny players in the final minutes of the game go unpunished, not even advantage played, when the game was very much up for grabs, how is that not have a bearing on the result? The ref was poor, but these things happen, he made mistakes and we all have to live with them, he should not face punishment or abuse, but nor should people be forced to not discuss his performance.

Overall Limerick deserved the win, they caused Kilkenny untold trouble at the back but Kilkenny could have snatched a draw or win but for McGrath ignoring those incidents when the game was in the melting pot"
Appreciate you are going through the "morning after the day before" but you're talking crap. Dark Art's are part of the game of hurling (historically a.k.a. Faction Fighting)...... it's just KK are better at it! There was no melting pot....Limerick bate ye yesterday playing honest hurling.....ye were gone going into the last 10 minutes of the first half! Have no problem with KK ...but your analysis is wrong......Limerick were superior for 55 minutes.

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 16/07/2018 12:11:32    2122629

Replying To perfect10:  "Heftydickonem since you are going back in time did you complain when richie power got the penalty v tipp in 09 (i think) which should have been a free out for charging?"
Of course I didn't, why would I? Kilkenny benefited from the decision on that occasion (should have been a free in rather than out in my opinion) . I'm not sure however why you are asking? I suspect that you're asking it as counter to some point that I am in fact not making.

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 16/07/2018 12:18:49    2122635

Replying To perfect10:  "Heftydickonem since you are going back in time did you complain when richie power got the penalty v tipp in 09 (i think) which should have been a free out for charging?"
Strange you should say that, because KK's final killer goal in '09 also came off a Ritchie Power infringement. One of the Tipp half-backs, probably Fanning or O'Mahoney, was backpedaling in the no5 slot to get under a high ball, when Ritchie pushed him in the chest, the Tipp player fell backwards, spilled the ball, and Ritchie then picked the ball up in a 2on1 situation to set up Comerford for the coup de grace. Ritchie Power was a superb player, one of the greatest in a team of greats.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 16/07/2018 12:22:45    2122636

Replying To Heftydickonem:  "Of course I didn't, why would I? Kilkenny benefited from the decision on that occasion (should have been a free in rather than out in my opinion) . I'm not sure however why you are asking? I suspect that you're asking it as counter to some point that I am in fact not making."
because when decisions go for any of us we aren't complaining.when they go against us we are up in arms,blaming the referee.what about a player making a bad pass,or a poor wide.are those mistakes not worth mentioning as being part of the reason why you lost the match?
why is all the focus always on the referee getting it wrong?
for what its worth,i thought there were a few frees both ways which the referee missed.
a referee has never ever got every decision correct in a match,the tempo of the game has sped up to a point where we either need 2 referees or to accept that they won't get every decision right.
kilkenny supporters are particularly moany at the referee every day they are out.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 16/07/2018 12:40:43    2122650

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "Appreciate you are going through the "morning after the day before" but you're talking crap. Dark Art's are part of the game of hurling (historically a.k.a. Faction Fighting)...... it's just KK are better at it! There was no melting pot....Limerick bate ye yesterday playing honest hurling.....ye were gone going into the last 10 minutes of the first half! Have no problem with KK ...but your analysis is wrong......Limerick were superior for 55 minutes."
Eaglehaslanded, I'm not sure how my post lead you to some of these places in your reply!

"Dark Art's are part of the game of hurling (historically a.k.a. Faction Fighting)". - I never said that were not?

"it's just KK are better at it!" - this is a matter of opinion, may have been true in the period 2006-2012 say, but certainly not now - but again, as in many of previous posts here, I have never claimed Kilkenny are angels, I tend to post replies when I see posters ascertain that certain more unsavoury or cynical parts of the game are solely Kilkenny traits, while being completely oblivious to the behaviour of their own and other teams.

"There was no melting pot....Limerick bate ye yesterday playing honest hurling.....ye were gone going into the last 10 minutes of the first half! " The teams were level at 3 minutes remaining in normal time, was the hurling Kilkenny played somehow dishonest? Kilkenny made more unforced errors in shooting than Limerick, shooting 16 or 17 wides, Limerick were thwarted by Eoin Murphy, a Kilkenny player (there seems to be some who are discounting that he is player rather than a piece of pitch infrastrucutre like a goal post for example) so to state that with the teams level with a couple of minutes to go that the game was not up for grabs is dishonest

"but your analysis is wrong" I didn't really offer much analysis to be fair, I was more interested in addressing an accusation made about how Kilkenny play and commenting on the ref's performance

"Limerick were superior for 55 minutes" Again I didn't say that they were not, although I don't agree with the 55 mins figure there. Who had the better start to the game for example? And I stated Limerick deserved their win

Fair enough if you don't agree with my post, but please refute things that I actually did state rather than what you want me to have stated

Heftydickonem (Kilkenny) - Posts: 175 - 16/07/2018 12:40:50    2122651

Nothing to refute....love hurt's.....KK were their usual awesomeness for 20 minutes...ordinary thereafter! I nailed my colours to the mast very early this year THAT Limerick would have a huge say in this year's championship.....

eaglehaslanded (Cork) - Posts: 135 - 16/07/2018 12:50:58    2122658