Tyrone V Dublin

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone will also feel very aggrieved at Goldrick's performance. He let an awful lot of Dublin stuff go and gave them a few handy fries. Why was a Leinster referee appointed to this game? That should not have happened."
Poor Tyrone..

Short memories of the daylight robbery they got away with in Navan a number of weeks ago. A blatant penalty, 2 minutes overplayed in full time and that push in the back at the end. Swings and Roundabouts guys. They are the breaks.

Coldrick, a Meath ref - best in the land

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 21/07/2018 23:51:50    2124488

Replying To cjx:  "With Tyrone losing 2 key defendes 1 before 1 during first half they did very well Poor Colm Cavanagh had bad game You could argue goal and one or two points of Dublin's were made easy by his mistakes Why did Harte put on O'Neill with Lee Breenan on the bench that last free miss was awful and O'Neill did nothing worth
On plus Morgan played really well and McCarthy was lucky the rebound came off him into the net and that Tyrone team have the beating of Dublin if Tyrone at full strength but in a series of matches like this that is too much to hope for.
Tyrone gave up the ball too easily and at least 5-6 wides were down to panic/ ill judged shots
Two dub points came from Dubs blocking defenders from challenging the shooter Kilkeny typical.
Tyrone have good claim for penalty because of Dublin 3rd man tackling/blocking too
10 wides 3-4 short fumbles and sloppy handling also lost it for Tyrone
And yet they came close I do not agree Dubs found this easy and Tyrone will learn so much from this
Now the question is holding Micheal Murphy and McHugh et al up in a real fortress Ballybofey not easy at all...."
Any chance we might have had a few calls ourselves.
Ye lost, stop talking about what you didn't get. Get over yourself.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/07/2018 00:07:05    2124498

If you have star quality forwards like dublin do in o Callahan Kilkenny etc you put the opponent on the backfoot from the off. Tyrone dont have this at the minute. Yes sludden and mcshane are good but they dont put the fear in that dublin defence the way canavan o Neil etc used to. I fancy us to get past Donegal but we arent going to beat this dublin team any time soon

bigboon (Tyrone) - Posts: 50 - 22/07/2018 00:11:16    2124499

I just want to say to say Tyrone folk first class absolutely brilliant hosts soundest people I've ever come across at Gaa matches, you get a bad rep for reasons i don't know but you couldn't of been nicer hosts to us , brilliant set up so friendly the lot of you's.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/07/2018 00:46:50    2124507

Replying To Royalio11:  "Poor Tyrone..

Short memories of the daylight robbery they got away with in Navan a number of weeks ago. A blatant penalty, 2 minutes overplayed in full time and that push in the back at the end. Swings and Roundabouts guys. They are the breaks.

Coldrick, a Meath ref - best in the land"
Short memories alright, Tyrone should have been out the gate against yourselfs in the 1st half, nobody cares now anyway-as you say swings and roundabouts. Just a couple of things on the match itself The Dubs some outfit, they went full pelt to hammer us and to our credit we came back well, they use every trick in the book and more to won, which people seem to ignore, and could people please stop saying they're not a defensive team, they defend as much as anyone else and then some! I think the All-Ireland is there's to lose yes, but teams are catching up, ourselves included, you never know, nothing lasts forever, no offence great team and all but I hope someone beats them, otherwise it will just get so boring and predictable! Dublin win the All-Ireland for the 15th time in a row....

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 22/07/2018 01:18:24    2124513

Thing about the ref tonight - he didn't really apply a lot of the rules throughout for both teams. I thought that Dublin were fortunate on a couple of decisions where they got close range frees in when on another night the frees would have been out the field for Tyrone. But that aside he had bad decisions went against both teams.

What I never understand though is why have a ref from within one of the two Provinces of the Counties involved when there are refs from the other two could be utilised. From a check of the Super 8 games so far there have 3 games where a ref was from one of the Provinces (2 today) and the others, including tomorrow's 2 fixtures, have refs from outside. I am not suggesting for a minute that any of the refs in the AI have or would set out to favour any side nor do I think they have (that should cover the legal bit hopefully)
, more that it just seems common sense and would save a lot of debates on one front anyway.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 22/07/2018 01:29:41    2124516

Replying To superbluedub:  "Kerry with there 37 all Irelands and 80 munster titles and domboy take Kerry out of the championship,
and what an equal championship we would have had ,where each could beat each other on any given day"
Kerry a county with a population Of 140,000 who have never played an allireland final at home.

It didn't do Galway or Antrim any good being the only hurling teams in football provinces did it?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2018 02:34:46    2124525

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Dublin are not misfiring in the forwards. They're just not as good as they were and those replacing Brogan and Connolly are not a patch on those two. Manion is a very ordinary forward - a big scorer against the weaker teams when Dublin run riot but extremely one dimensional. A hard worker and tackler but that's it. Flynn and Kevin Mc are not what they were either and there's no shame in that. Dublin s scores are coming from Rock frees and several of their superb backs. Allied with goals. And the idea that Dublin had another gear in them tonight is nonsense - all the momentum was with Tyrone at the end. But why shouldn't it be - Tyrone have had as much if not more underage success than Dublin in last 10 years and should never fear Dublin as they showed tonight. Also showed the freakish nature of last years semi final result. That said Dublin are still the team to beat. Their conditioning, speed, speed of transition play and defensive strength (save for maybe the high ball, but who's not susceptible to that) are all exceptional."
Weaker teams.....?

Look when teams play 14 players behind the ball.....the forwards always look bad. You wouldnt lace Mannions boots lad. Hes a top player.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/07/2018 04:46:02    2124533

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone will also feel very aggrieved at Goldrick's performance. He let an awful lot of Dublin stuff go and gave them a few handy fries. Why was a Leinster referee appointed to this game? That should not have happened."
His name is Coldrick ok.
That's David Coldrick with C.
There now, at least you might get that right in future C.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/07/2018 06:21:15    2124535

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Dublin are not misfiring in the forwards. They're just not as good as they were and those replacing Brogan and Connolly are not a patch on those two. Manion is a very ordinary forward - a big scorer against the weaker teams when Dublin run riot but extremely one dimensional. A hard worker and tackler but that's it. Flynn and Kevin Mc are not what they were either and there's no shame in that. Dublin s scores are coming from Rock frees and several of their superb backs. Allied with goals. And the idea that Dublin had another gear in them tonight is nonsense - all the momentum was with Tyrone at the end. But why shouldn't it be - Tyrone have had as much if not more underage success than Dublin in last 10 years and should never fear Dublin as they showed tonight. Also showed the freakish nature of last years semi final result. That said Dublin are still the team to beat. Their conditioning, speed, speed of transition play and defensive strength (save for maybe the high ball, but who's not susceptible to that) are all exceptional."
Dublin had room to spare today, totally in control and 5 points up with just a few mins to play. If they needed to up it they would have upped it. Not sure where you are going with the forward line talk. With the exeception of Andrew who was replaced by Howard, an excellent prospect, the Dublin forward line that started in Omagh is the exact same one that hammered Tyrone in the AI semi last year by 12 points. Con O'Callaghan got 1-2 that day and will be a superb future star for Dublin as will Brian Howard. Costelloe is also waiting to make his mark. Connolly barely figured last year and we've picked up 3 trophies since so you'd be foolish to think that Dublin's forwards aren't top notch. 1-14 in a narrowed pitch in Omagh when in control is a decent enough return but we missed some wides that we wouldn't usually. I'm sure Gavin will have this sorted for the semi.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/07/2018 08:03:40    2124537

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Oh what a crawler you are. Only a couple of pints ago you were saying fair play and at least trying to hide your begrudging pettiness. Kiss some more ass after tomorrow will you."
Crawler... that's a new one on me..
I was never a great fisherman but I always caught atleast one!!
Dublin were the better side last night, really was impressed particularly with how the FB line played.
How many scores did they get ?
It's Dublins to loose after last night.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 22/07/2018 08:57:41    2124541

Fair play to Dublin. Got a mighty test and came though.
Tyrone were excellent I thought for the most part, hunted in packs, tackled and hit hard.
Thought the subs did well coming on. McKernan and HP McGeary were excellent-I was worried about having two young and inexperienced players in the full back line-didn't need too.
Is it just me or do Tyrone's main players never seem to all play well at the same time. Petey Harte will play well for 10-15 then drift out of game then come back into it, Mattie Donnelly the same, Sludden. If we could all them playing well at same time we wouldn't be far away.
The ref had nothing to do with the result. Simple.
Dub fans great craic and hope to see you again

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/07/2018 09:04:57    2124543

Replying To Royalio11:  "Poor Tyrone..

Coldrick, a Meath ref - best in the land"
Exactly. It's s long road that has no turn.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2018 09:33:42    2124547

Just like Meath felt aggrieved by Tyrone daylight robbery in navan , Tyrone should never been even there. Swings and roundabouts.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2018 09:37:32    2124548

Replying To Farney:  "The referee swung it for Dublin tonight!"
And the ref swung it (quite blatantly) for Tyrone in navan. Your point????

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2018 09:41:02    2124551

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Thing about the ref tonight - he didn't really apply a lot of the rules throughout for both teams. I thought that Dublin were fortunate on a couple of decisions where they got close range frees in when on another night the frees would have been out the field for Tyrone. But that aside he had bad decisions went against both teams.

What I never understand though is why have a ref from within one of the two Provinces of the Counties involved when there are refs from the other two could be utilised. From a check of the Super 8 games so far there have 3 games where a ref was from one of the Provinces (2 today) and the others, including tomorrow's 2 fixtures, have refs from outside. I am not suggesting for a minute that any of the refs in the AI have or would set out to favour any side nor do I think they have (that should cover the legal bit hopefully)
, more that it just seems common sense and would save a lot of debates on one front anyway."
Not only within the province but within their county.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/07/2018 09:49:54    2124552

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just like Meath felt aggrieved by Tyrone daylight robbery in navan , Tyrone should never been even there. Swings and roundabouts."
Sorry, remind me - why are we still talking about Meath?? I'm pretty sure there was a thread on the 1st Rd qualifiers a couple of months ago...

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 22/07/2018 09:55:29    2124554

Replying To royaldunne:  "And the ref swung it (quite blatantly) for Tyrone in navan. Your point????"
Cacth yourself on man we should have had Meath bate out the gate by halftime. We hit the crossbar and the upright, we had 2 other goal chances that should have been buried as well all in the first half. That was Meath's All-Ireland final, Tyrone had a off day only for that we would have done a Roscommon on ye's.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 22/07/2018 09:57:55    2124556

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerry a county with a population Of 140,000 who have never played an allireland final at home.

It didn't do Galway or Antrim any good being the only hurling teams in football provinces did it?"
Kerry a county with a population of 140,000 didn't need to play at home to win all Irelands , for example in 1980 they played 3 games !! to win the All Ireland!! stop with your whinging your time will come again.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/07/2018 10:07:48    2124563

Replying To royaldunne:  "And the ref swung it (quite blatantly) for Tyrone in navan. Your point????"
Get over it man will you, that games long gone, as I said before nobody cares now, no point crying any more

Dergforeeva (Tyrone) - Posts: 90 - 22/07/2018 10:10:25    2124564