Tyrone V Dublin

Replying To TyroneUltra:  "Cacth yourself on man we should have had Meath bate out the gate by halftime. We hit the crossbar and the upright, we had 2 other goal chances that should have been buried as well all in the first half. That was Meath's All-Ireland final, Tyrone had a off day only for that we would have done a Roscommon on ye's."
Yeah Tyrone had a off day. Just like dubs yesterday. It happens , swings and roundabouts.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/07/2018 10:28:48    2124573

Replying To westkerry:  "Crawler... that's a new one on me..
I was never a great fisherman but I always caught atleast one!!
Dublin were the better side last night, really was impressed particularly with how the FB line played.
How many scores did they get ?
It's Dublins to loose after last night."
It's always the champions to lose Captain Birdseye.
You'll get your chance at some point don't worry but hopefully you'll have to wait a bit longer along with all the others before you can dance on our grave.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 22/07/2018 10:41:27    2124584

Really enjoyed the game and great craic up in Omagh been said already but thank you to everyone in Tyrone fantastic hosts and a great day out made for a cracking atmosphere inside and out.

The game its self is exactly what you want a real battle at championship pitch in the height of the summer. I thought Tyrone threw the kitchen sink at us and mixed it up well, they certainly weren't lacking a plan b after last year.

I see many comments about the ref, to be honest i thought both teams sailed close to the wind once it was clear that the ref was willing to let stuff go and the threshold for blacks and reds was going to be high. Both teams had their moments and i think both teams would acknowledge and not apologies for that. Both are well able to put up to each other. It was kind of refreshing in fact, lads having a cut of each other in equal measure. It was a real mans game last night, no diving or feigning injury.

I thought Tyrone opened up a lot, they were tough and structured in defense with out being rigid to the philosophy that out did them last year. There was tough tackling but plenty of space to exploit. Dublin looked a bit wary of that at times. Tyrone tried to use Dublin defensive structure against them in a way they tried to out Dublin, Dublin, didn't quite come of for them.

The game was there for either side much of the first half, once Dublin got their noses in front i think they were happy just to tack the odd score over and see out the game without making a statement, much of the second half was about game management. The goal was a killer for Tyrone. To be fair they stuck to their task and went at for the last 15 mins. I think at that stage Dublin were just content seeing it out and probably had a bit in the tank if required.

Tyrone mixed it up a lot, possession based game, counter attacking, long ball, running game they tried everything. If there is one aspect im pleased with its the way the defense coped all evening. We won a lot of turnover ball and we are very difficult to break down, some very subtle changes in positions at the back this year and looks a great balance. Thought, Small, Cooper, Philly and Cian were immense last night. I was surprised Tyrone didnt put us more under pressure on our kick outs they got joy later in the game when they did.

I see plenty of comments about our forwards, ive said in a few places on here, that i believe our tactics have changed when it comes to our forwards and we are doing something different this year. With that you will see much of our scores coming form deep. Im not one jot worried about our forwards to be honest, i can see whats happening.

Of note i thought, Kilkenny and Fenton were superb again particularly Kilkenny, grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and put in a real leader performance. What a player we have in young Brian Howard, the lad has everything and a big shout out to Murchen as well, these two lads are having brilliant years so far in their debut championship seasons.

Great to win on the road and i suppose if people are going to question if you can win on the road, their is no better or tougher place to go to Omagh to prove your worth.

We roll on now and look to welcome Roscommon t Dublin 1 in two weeks, we have a 7 point handicap to over come on Tyrone as things stand to top the group depending on their game with Donegal. We might see a bit of rotation and rating with the semi final at hand or might experiment a bit and hopefully have one or two back from injury, but give maximum respect to Roscommon.

All in all we are trucking along nicely, i am really enjoying the super 8's

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/07/2018 10:48:15    2124586

Replying To royaldunne:  "And the ref swung it (quite blatantly) for Tyrone in navan. Your point????"
Always managed to stop myself replying to your waffling bs before and won't be doing it again but give it a rest about Meath, nobody cares. There are at least two halves to every game of football you conveniently seem to forget the first half when Meath were totally outplayed and only for Tyrone letting them of the hook the Meath players could of been starting to think about the club championship at half time. How's it getting on by the way? Meath out that long it must be at least at the semi-final stage now?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 22/07/2018 11:09:41    2124597

Replying To JayP:  "Weaker teams.....?

Look when teams play 14 players behind the ball.....the forwards always look bad. You wouldnt lace Mannions boots lad. Hes a top player."
He is not a top player. And I know I'd not lace his boots, but he wouldn't lace Geaneys, O'Donoghues, Comer, McBrearty, McManus and several more. He does not belong to the top tier of strike forwards and never will whilst he's playing. End of.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 22/07/2018 11:26:03    2124607

Replying To Joxer:  "Dublin had room to spare today, totally in control and 5 points up with just a few mins to play. If they needed to up it they would have upped it. Not sure where you are going with the forward line talk. With the exeception of Andrew who was replaced by Howard, an excellent prospect, the Dublin forward line that started in Omagh is the exact same one that hammered Tyrone in the AI semi last year by 12 points. Con O'Callaghan got 1-2 that day and will be a superb future star for Dublin as will Brian Howard. Costelloe is also waiting to make his mark. Connolly barely figured last year and we've picked up 3 trophies since so you'd be foolish to think that Dublin's forwards aren't top notch. 1-14 in a narrowed pitch in Omagh when in control is a decent enough return but we missed some wides that we wouldn't usually. I'm sure Gavin will have this sorted for the semi."
Some fair points you make. Last year's game was not a fair reflection between the two teams. Tyrone were awful and Dublin rightfully skewered them. I stand by my central contention, and one game or one occurrence in any series of events is never representative of the trend, that Dublins forwards are not as strong as they were. Dublins scores are more weighted towards their middle six with strong input from Rock on the frees (now the best in the country with Sheehan having retired). Brogan is coming to the end of his career, Dublin have moved Kilkenny into the FF line, Andrews, a two sided player who even gave Keith Higgins the runaround once is also in the twilight of his career along with Connolly. The replacements are not as good and unlikely ever to be which is not the same as saying Dublins forwards are not top notch, which I actually didn't say. So the view among the Dublin supporters that the forwards had an off day yesterday and the week previously, in my view, should be considered in this context. Again in my view they did not have off days as that's now the level they are at versus previous forward lines that Jim Gavin has had. All the best.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 22/07/2018 11:44:24    2124613

Replying To TheUsername:  "25!"
"25!"

Like to think I inspired that particular post ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/07/2018 11:55:45    2124617

Replying To TheUsername:  "Really enjoyed the game and great craic up in Omagh been said already but thank you to everyone in Tyrone fantastic hosts and a great day out made for a cracking atmosphere inside and out.

The game its self is exactly what you want a real battle at championship pitch in the height of the summer. I thought Tyrone threw the kitchen sink at us and mixed it up well, they certainly weren't lacking a plan b after last year.

I see many comments about the ref, to be honest i thought both teams sailed close to the wind once it was clear that the ref was willing to let stuff go and the threshold for blacks and reds was going to be high. Both teams had their moments and i think both teams would acknowledge and not apologies for that. Both are well able to put up to each other. It was kind of refreshing in fact, lads having a cut of each other in equal measure. It was a real mans game last night, no diving or feigning injury.

I thought Tyrone opened up a lot, they were tough and structured in defense with out being rigid to the philosophy that out did them last year. There was tough tackling but plenty of space to exploit. Dublin looked a bit wary of that at times. Tyrone tried to use Dublin defensive structure against them in a way they tried to out Dublin, Dublin, didn't quite come of for them.

The game was there for either side much of the first half, once Dublin got their noses in front i think they were happy just to tack the odd score over and see out the game without making a statement, much of the second half was about game management. The goal was a killer for Tyrone. To be fair they stuck to their task and went at for the last 15 mins. I think at that stage Dublin were just content seeing it out and probably had a bit in the tank if required.

Tyrone mixed it up a lot, possession based game, counter attacking, long ball, running game they tried everything. If there is one aspect im pleased with its the way the defense coped all evening. We won a lot of turnover ball and we are very difficult to break down, some very subtle changes in positions at the back this year and looks a great balance. Thought, Small, Cooper, Philly and Cian were immense last night. I was surprised Tyrone didnt put us more under pressure on our kick outs they got joy later in the game when they did.

I see plenty of comments about our forwards, ive said in a few places on here, that i believe our tactics have changed when it comes to our forwards and we are doing something different this year. With that you will see much of our scores coming form deep. Im not one jot worried about our forwards to be honest, i can see whats happening.

Of note i thought, Kilkenny and Fenton were superb again particularly Kilkenny, grabbed the game by the scruff of the neck and put in a real leader performance. What a player we have in young Brian Howard, the lad has everything and a big shout out to Murchen as well, these two lads are having brilliant years so far in their debut championship seasons.

Great to win on the road and i suppose if people are going to question if you can win on the road, their is no better or tougher place to go to Omagh to prove your worth.

We roll on now and look to welcome Roscommon t Dublin 1 in two weeks, we have a 7 point handicap to over come on Tyrone as things stand to top the group depending on their game with Donegal. We might see a bit of rotation and rating with the semi final at hand or might experiment a bit and hopefully have one or two back from injury, but give maximum respect to Roscommon.

All in all we are trucking along nicely, i am really enjoying the super 8's"
we just need to win against roscommon to finish top. Only way we don't finish top is if we lose and we aren't losing to roscommon. So the scoring difference won't come into this.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/07/2018 12:05:06    2124620

Replying To Joxer:  "Dublin had room to spare today, totally in control and 5 points up with just a few mins to play. If they needed to up it they would have upped it. Not sure where you are going with the forward line talk. With the exeception of Andrew who was replaced by Howard, an excellent prospect, the Dublin forward line that started in Omagh is the exact same one that hammered Tyrone in the AI semi last year by 12 points. Con O'Callaghan got 1-2 that day and will be a superb future star for Dublin as will Brian Howard. Costelloe is also waiting to make his mark. Connolly barely figured last year and we've picked up 3 trophies since so you'd be foolish to think that Dublin's forwards aren't top notch. 1-14 in a narrowed pitch in Omagh when in control is a decent enough return but we missed some wides that we wouldn't usually. I'm sure Gavin will have this sorted for the semi."
Some fair points you make. Last year's game was not a fair reflection between the two teams. Tyrone were awful and Dublin rightfully skewered them. I stand by my central contention, and one game or one occurrence in any series of events is never representative of the trend, that Dublins forwards are not as strong as they were. Dublins scores are more weighted towards their middle six with strong input from Rock on the frees (now the best in the country with Sheehan having retired). Brogan is coming to the end of his career, Dublin have moved Kilkenny into the FF line, Andrews, a two sided player who even gave Keith Higgins the runaround once is also in the twilight of his career along with Connolly. The replacements are not as good and unlikely ever to be which is not the same as saying Dublins forwards are not top notch, which I actually didn't say. So the view among the Dublin supporters that the forwards had an off day yesterday and the week previously, in my view, should be considered in this context. Again in my view they did not have off days as that's now the level they are at versus previous forward lines that Jim Gavin has had. All the best.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 22/07/2018 12:11:10    2124623

Are we not guaranteed top spot - I thought head to head came before points difference and we've beaten the 2 teams that could end up on 4 points?

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 22/07/2018 12:18:56    2124624

Replying To dawals:  "Are we not guaranteed top spot - I thought head to head came before points difference and we've beaten the 2 teams that could end up on 4 points?"
Yeah you're confirmed top

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 22/07/2018 12:26:54    2124628

The best team won although Tyrone have improved from their game in Navan having some of their better players back from that tie. Tyrone missed too many easy chances and lost the ball too easily in the tackle. Good to see so few cards in a match.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 22/07/2018 13:17:57    2124640

Good game Tyrone has a good young team
They have to stick at it find a few new players
What can you say about Dublin unreal
I think their defending and tack;ling is awesome
its almost impossible to break through that backline
I though cooper was excellent

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 22/07/2018 13:56:12    2124657

Replying To rhudson:  "Good game Tyrone has a good young team
They have to stick at it find a few new players
What can you say about Dublin unreal
I think their defending and tack;ling is awesome
its almost impossible to break through that backline
I though cooper was excellent"
Awesome is right. Cooper is phenomenal and only ever not on the pitch when Gavin calls him ashore for being a bit bold. Him, McCarthy and McMahon are a modern days Hell's Kitchen! I wonder how they get on off the field. They're obviously neighbours in Glasnevin, Ballymun and you can picture them as local legends long after they retire. Maybe the three of them having a few drinks in the Sunnybank, holding court!

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 22/07/2018 15:37:32    2124689

Replying To waynoI:  "we just need to win against roscommon to finish top. Only way we don't finish top is if we lose and we aren't losing to roscommon. So the scoring difference won't come into this."
Ha yeah, your right of course, I was still half cut from last night writing that.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/07/2018 15:47:38    2124696

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv been saying that since last September, take Dublin who are a province disguised as a county out of the championship and your left with 5/6 teams that are pretty equal and that could beat eachother on any given day."
I would have thought you would have more to concern yourself with....
Like your own county and how dire they are....

A Kerry man moaning about Dublin supremacy and wanting them taken out of Leinster...
Dont make me laugh...
Ye really are so far behind these days that all you and another couple of Kerry posters can do is continually moan about Dublin...
I love it....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 22/07/2018 18:29:49    2124788

I would rate Tyrone as 5th best team in the country. Theyre a mediocre group that are extremely well drilled. They lack athletism and skill of the big teams and they will walk away from Ballbofey with non points. They're like the England team, media hyped, can beat the lower ranking teams but always come up short against good sides. Tyrone would struggle to beat Galway, Kerry, Monaghan, Dublin, Donegal and also Mayo. I think Dublin look a bit rusty only to beat Tyrone by a few points, they'll need to get better if they're going to get another sam this year. My money is on Galway.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 22/07/2018 19:27:44    2124818

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I would rate Tyrone as 5th best team in the country. Theyre a mediocre group that are extremely well drilled. They lack athletism and skill of the big teams and they will walk away from Ballbofey with non points. They're like the England team, media hyped, can beat the lower ranking teams but always come up short against good sides. Tyrone would struggle to beat Galway, Kerry, Monaghan, Dublin, Donegal and also Mayo. I think Dublin look a bit rusty only to beat Tyrone by a few points, they'll need to get better if they're going to get another sam this year. My money is on Galway."
I'm not sure if your post is sincere. I will be sincere in saying Tyrone fans should appreciate how lucky they are to have MH and his management team. They really are maximising the counties potential, I predict Tyrone will not win an All Ireland over the next five years. Galway, Dublin, a young Kerry team (probably in two years) and a refreshed Mayo team will dominate the semis and finals in that time.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 22/07/2018 19:46:58    2124828

Why does every game have to end up in petty childish squabbling on here with certain posters with agendas . I get rarely post or even look on this forum much any more and when I do nothing seems to have changed.
Reason I am on now is to say i thought that was a great game of football. Really enjoyed the trip and the Tyrone people after the game were brilliant and great hosts. It was a game of real championship atmosphere where two teams put their bodies on the line , thundering hits all over the place.
Instead of slagging off players maybe some here should appreciate what a fantastic game we have and great guys who put in a huge amount of dedication and effort (basically putting their lives on hold) to allow us watch these games.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/07/2018 20:01:26    2124834

Replying To AthCliath:  "Why does every game have to end up in petty childish squabbling on here with certain posters with agendas . I get rarely post or even look on this forum much any more and when I do nothing seems to have changed.
Reason I am on now is to say i thought that was a great game of football. Really enjoyed the trip and the Tyrone people after the game were brilliant and great hosts. It was a game of real championship atmosphere where two teams put their bodies on the line , thundering hits all over the place.
Instead of slagging off players maybe some here should appreciate what a fantastic game we have and great guys who put in a huge amount of dedication and effort (basically putting their lives on hold) to allow us watch these games."
Can't argue with that

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 22/07/2018 20:31:28    2124843