Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To witnof:  "Yes because like many Dubs getting tired of the bs from counties who have their hands out looking for money and then complaining they us in CP to make up this money.

Dublin away to Cork or Tyrone.

Funny people forget but when was our last defeat away in the League?........Despite the bs here Dublin do not mind and do well on road trips."
League doesn't count as most counties are just trying out new players and systems. It's all about championship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/07/2018 16:52:58    2117804

Replying To Richieq:  "If it's 5000 between the two that's fair enough, wouldn't have any issue there"
The Wexfod Chariman said Dublin had 3000 season ticket holders in 2017, when he thought the Dubs were going down to Wexford in 2017 and had to be accommodated in the stand (They were beaten by Carlow). I think the remainder of the 5000k is made up of "HIll" season ticket holders and PP terrace tickets.

5000k can be accommodated anywhere really. Especially 3000k in a stand.

The season ticket scheme doesnt to me into it in my opinion, its more the GAA reluctance to limit the tickets on general sale and not meet the demand in my opinion.

Its all very interesting, the GAA are in rock and hard place. By not meeting demand for a fixture they are limiting the ability to create revenue. But unless they limit tickets counties could and will loose the sporting advantage of playing at a certain venue like Kildare last week.

Kildare was a great narrative and there was great trigger of emotion with the tail wagging the dog for a change. But then in the wider scheme things of things, its only a few short years ago since Kildare were bailed out by the GAA and likely Kildare are still in debt to the GAA. They will also be looking for capital grant in the coming years for the much needed upgrade of Newbridge. At the end of the day the GAA is Kildare and Kildare is the GAA, there weren't two different sides, one is dependent of the other and exist for each other.

Its not about Kildare its an illustrative example. Essentially we want to preserve romance and fairness of the of the game but we also want more money for our own county to maximize the development of the game in our own counties or upgrade facilities that we think we are all "entitled" in the interest of our counties.

Its likely those two things cant be reconciled. The GAA must decide on limiting tickets and limiting resources Vs meeting demand for games and loosing sporting romance or fairness. i think we and most counties would all pick the latter until our funds were impacted.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/07/2018 17:07:12    2117810

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "League doesn't count as most counties are just trying out new players and systems. It's all about championship."
Haven't lost an away game in the championship in over 10 years....some record!!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 02/07/2018 17:08:16    2117811

Whats all this rubbish with dubs bringing parnell park into the argument. This Dublin team has played 90% of their championship games whether drawn home or away, or in this case a supposedly 'neutal' venue in croke park.

Using parnell park as a diverson to the discussion shows the dubs are getting embarrassed by the favoritism shown towards them.

Clear disadvantage to whoever is unfortunate to be drawn in their group each year in the super eights as home advantage is clearly worth 3 to 4 points before a ball in thrown in as Kildare have shown recently.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 02/07/2018 17:30:40    2117827

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Whats all this rubbish with dubs bringing parnell park into the argument. This Dublin team has played 90% of their championship games whether drawn home or away, or in this case a supposedly 'neutal' venue in croke park.

Using parnell park as a diverson to the discussion shows the dubs are getting embarrassed by the favoritism shown towards them.

Clear disadvantage to whoever is unfortunate to be drawn in their group each year in the super eights as home advantage is clearly worth 3 to 4 points before a ball in thrown in as Kildare have shown recently."
We also have all your money! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/07/2018 18:53:31    2117868

Replying To jimbodub:  "Listen Muck

If it's going to be a neutral venue then let it be neutral and Clones IMO just isn't.

So what about maximum attendance and Clones holds a few more. We learnt this week that more pressing factors have precedent over bums on seats and generating revenue.

A truly neutral venue wouldn't be in Leinster or Ulster. If the game (which was pencilled in for CP months ago) is to be moved for the benefit of neutrality then let it be played in a suitable venue otherwise what's the point?"
Obviously you don't think Navan is a fair venue for Kildare v Fermanagh.I heard the Dublin goalkeeper ay the draw this morning saying that Armagh v Roscommon is close to a local derby so geography is not a strong point with some of you up there.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1056 - 02/07/2018 18:54:26    2117870

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Whats all this rubbish with dubs bringing parnell park into the argument. This Dublin team has played 90% of their championship games whether drawn home or away, or in this case a supposedly 'neutal' venue in croke park.

Clear disadvantage to whoever is unfortunate to be drawn in their group each year in the super eights as home advantage is clearly worth 3 to 4 points before a ball in thrown in as Kildare have shown recently."
That and the whole, jaysus we'd love to travel but we are being victimised by the big bad men in Central Council who force our poor team to be chained up in Croker all summer just to make all the dough to line the pockets of the other counties!!!!!!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/07/2018 18:55:00    2117872

Replying To JayP:  "Right I'll break this down so your brain can get this......

If Dublin weren't in the Super 8's, every team would play in Croke Park (Neutral Venue), play at home, and play away. That means all Super 8 teams play 2 away games. The only exception to that is Dublin in the Super 8's. Dublins home game game will be moved to Croke Park. Away game happens. And Dublin play a Croke Park game (Neutral Venue). Now even if they move Dublin to Thurles (Neutral Venue) in the interest of "fairness", all teams will still play 2 away games!

Because of the whining, I'd want Dublin to play in Cork or Limerick for a good night out!!! But Thurles is the best option for capacity. Capacity rules out the venues out West and I'd rule out an Ulster venue because how could that be fair/neutral when Donegal are far more used to playing there will get the home dressing room yada yada yada.......

Same argument Donegal have with the Croke Park game Dublin could have with Clones.

Reality is "the rules" say its a Croke Park game!!!"
Must say it's an absolute joke Dublin play every game in Croke Park, they haven't had a home championship game since 2004!!!! When will the GAA stop victimising them and let them play at home?

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 02/07/2018 19:18:20    2117881

Is this the right time to point out the seats in Croke Park are sky blue as well. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/07/2018 19:53:49    2117893

No issue with Dublin in Croke Park in general but they can't play their home and neutral venue there!!!!! It's ridiculous. On one hand Croke Park is saying your home is C.P. and in the other hand they are saying play your neutral game at home.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 02/07/2018 20:12:53    2117896

Replying To TheHermit:  "That and the whole, jaysus we'd love to travel but we are being victimised by the big bad men in Central Council who force our poor team to be chained up in Croker all summer just to make all the dough to line the pockets of the other counties!!!!!!!!!"
You have it sussed thehermit

We're sick of of being the cash cow and the GAA making millions off our back.. I mean where are all these funds going? This has to stop.. rolling us out to keep the money men in Sky happy!

It's not all about money.. it's time now that Dublin get to be like every other county instead of being used time and time again to bank roll the organisation. It's unfairly drew an awful lot of criticism to Dublin's door step and really Dublin are being used and not getting any sort of due credit for it..

Time for this to stop as it's obvious now that a lot of people are unfairly using it as a stick to beat Dublin with when it's got nothing to do with Dublin.. Dublin are told where to play to generate revenue for the organisation but this in turn unfairly draws criticism, resentment, calls of foul play and denies other venues/towns the opportunity to promote the game within their county..

It also denies Dublin fans the chance to enjoy away games which is a massive part of the enjoyment found in our games.. a source of enjoyment that's been largely denied to Dublin

I actually prefer the league! At least we can get away to games if we get the chance and Dub favs travel in big numbers.. it's theconky chance we/they get

There's more important things than just the GAA using Dublin as a cash cow to generate funds which only brings resentment to Dublin's door.

We're sick of something completely out of our hands being used as a weapon against us.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/07/2018 20:28:23    2117902

Haha sick of it alright then you turn round and say clones isn't a fair venue with the other side of your mouth. Have to love it.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 214 - 02/07/2018 21:31:03    2117912

After winning the three in a row I was a bit concerned as to where the grá and drive might come from for the Dubs to push for the four. The bitching and whining that's come out in the last few days will have slaked a few thirsts.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 02/07/2018 22:00:19    2117927

Replying To jimbodub:  "You have it sussed thehermit

We're sick of of being the cash cow and the GAA making millions off our back.. I mean where are all these funds going? This has to stop.. rolling us out to keep the money men in Sky happy!

It's not all about money.. it's time now that Dublin get to be like every other county instead of being used time and time again to bank roll the organisation. It's unfairly drew an awful lot of criticism to Dublin's door step and really Dublin are being used and not getting any sort of due credit for it..

Time for this to stop as it's obvious now that a lot of people are unfairly using it as a stick to beat Dublin with when it's got nothing to do with Dublin.. Dublin are told where to play to generate revenue for the organisation but this in turn unfairly draws criticism, resentment, calls of foul play and denies other venues/towns the opportunity to promote the game within their county..

It also denies Dublin fans the chance to enjoy away games which is a massive part of the enjoyment found in our games.. a source of enjoyment that's been largely denied to Dublin

I actually prefer the league! At least we can get away to games if we get the chance and Dub favs travel in big numbers.. it's theconky chance we/they get

There's more important things than just the GAA using Dublin as a cash cow to generate funds which only brings resentment to Dublin's door.

We're sick of something completely out of our hands being used as a weapon against us."
You'd bring a tear to a glass eye Jim.

All that slavery to the GAA's coffers and what has it got ye? Nothing only a miserable 16.6m pumped back into Dublin GAA on top of the money earned from those 14 official sponsors including our national airline and one of the world's largest financial service companies (whose net profits last year were over 6billion).

All those supporters in a city that's economically booming - being denied the chance to spend all that disposal income on a few roadtrips. Instead forced to get a short bus or tram ride (or worse yet take a quick stroll) to all their Championship games. No need of hotels or even having to shell out for a dinner cause it's waiting for ye at home.
And what's perhaps most upsetting of all, never getting the chance to be outnumbered in the crowd at a game. Never being unable to influence the refs and get the home town calls every time.

I think the only choice the rest of us have now to end this senseless abuse of Dublin is to organise a massive protest concert (in Semple Stadium for justice's sake) - let's call it Dub Aid and sure we can get that Dún Laoghaire ex-pat Sir Bob to take up the cause!!!

Today it's Dublin but if this senseless abuse continues then tomorrow it might just be YOUR COUNTY (probably not though)...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/07/2018 22:03:32    2117929

Rattled indeed.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2018 22:32:05    2117939

This is getting silly now, with all sorts of stray stuff being brought into what is a simple problem to solve.

All we are asking for is a level playing field in the Super 8's, we accept the fact that the semis & final will be played in Croke Park, as they have been for many years, but is it so much to ask that in a new format that fairness would be paramount.

That's all there is to it .

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 02/07/2018 22:33:24    2117940

It is totally unfair, not the dubs fault though. Just the greed of the paid officials supported by the yes men on central council and various county boards around the country.

As a donegal man living in leitrim the argument that the money generated from all the big croke park games is filtering back to weaker counties at club level is an absolute nonsense. Clubs are on their knees in terms of generating funds and trying to develope facilities having to rely on funding from the likes of leader if you can get it!! Or sports capital. Little or no money getting to aid clubs unless you have a good TD in your area!

The whole debate is wider than dublin, fair play to kildare, it was a first step, the dubs are a pawn for the gaa in this also, GAA are in bed with sky now and the tail is wagging the dog..... Super 8s, even the name is offensive directly from sky's rugby league, GPA only spoke up last week were stanhely silent on sky deal...,sweetner methinks.....

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 912 - 02/07/2018 23:38:30    2117964

Jaysus there hasn't been as many tears coming from down over a field since the Bull McCabe. :D

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/07/2018 23:44:35    2117966

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "After winning the three in a row I was a bit concerned as to where the grá and drive might come from for the Dubs to push for the four. The bitching and whining that's come out in the last few days will have slaked a few thirsts."
You reckon that Jim and the boys take a keen interest in the ramblings on HS?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/07/2018 23:54:45    2117970

The GAA seem to be willing to let this slide which is a big mistake because if either Donegal or the winners of the Roscommon v Armagh game protest, then this house of cards falls down because this is simply not fair. Parnell Park can barely hold the Dublin season ticket holders so it isn't a viable option. Dublin have won 5 of the last 7 All Ireland's. They are a brilliant side and therefore they last thing Gaelic Football needs is Croke Park manufacturing ways to give them additional advantages. But remember, Dublin will play wherever they are sent. This is not Dublin's fault. It's the GAA's fault for not correcting an issue that was raised even before the proposal was passed. Personally, I think that the ego's in Croke Park are so fragile, they can't have another climbdown after last week and before last week, they didn't know what a climbdown was!

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 03/07/2018 08:32:24    2117994