Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To Fionn:  "Exactly, fully agree... that was my point about Donegal management moaning about it so late in the day.....

Everyone knew and agreed the structure but all of a sudden when it directly affects you, as in Donegal's case, suddenly there is an issue with it. Other posters here just jumping on the anti Dublin bandwagon as usual.

I agree with you about the other County Boards - only concerned with the funding Dublin playing in Croke Park, will generate for them. Same as the Dublin League games... All counties benefit from the gate receipts. Hypocrisy at its worst..

That is why Dublin need to move out of Croke Park, and the sooner the better....
We will see how the other counties will like those new apples....

Do people now want the All Ireland Final played outside of Croke Park now also, if Dublin are in it, and moved to a NEUTRAL venue....????"
You miss the point altogether Fionn.

Donegal weren't questioning Croker being the venue for the Donegal/Dublin game, they were in fact questioning how Croker came to be nominated as Dublin's home ground.

That is why there was no furore at Congress, it never occured to anyone that Dublin/Croke Park would be so brazen as to try & pull a fast one when Croke Park was already being used for one Dublin game.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 20:38:33    2120531

Replying To kildare73:  "Show me where i said i wanted you to bring 20,000 fans?? I couldn't really care how many Dublin bring, it's not me who claimed Dublin fans love travelling. And because it's a D2 team as you put it, what happened to this love of the road? Excuses excuses. And if you think it took 20 mins to type my post, God is going to send you some help."
Ha ha thanks it's hard to take you very seriously though.

If there is one thing Dublin fans don't need it's advise from Kildare fans, in fact it's hard to take it seriously.

The crowd in Navan at the weekend was disgraceful, but you can bet there will be new crispy white toger knocking around Kildare this week, Croke Park will be full of shouts on "come on no 6".

As for us we will keep to our own, we know the score, Galway, Omagh by 2, Castlebar, Portlaoise already this year.

If another county can draw the numbers Dublin can away on rainy night in Jan and Feb I've yet to see it. It's part of the problem really so many grounds can't deal with the mass of people.

As for Croke Park I agree with you the S8s are unfair and badly structured, hopefully and it will undoubtedly be changed. As for the Leinster last count was 11-1 to keep Dublin in Croke Park. The issue of Dublin in Croke Park is closer to home Kildare were 1 of the 11. I also agree the Leinster effort is a token, may as well play in Aughrim at PL. In PL as opposed to Nowlan. Let's be honest though it's moving deck chairs around in the titanic really.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2018 20:43:30    2120534

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha thanks it's hard to take you very seriously though.

If there is one thing Dublin fans don't need it's advise from Kildare fans, in fact it's hard to take it seriously.

The crowd in Navan at the weekend was disgraceful, but you can bet there will be new crispy white toger knocking around Kildare this week, Croke Park will be full of shouts on "come on no 6".

As for us we will keep to our own, we know the score, Galway, Omagh by 2, Castlebar, Portlaoise already this year.

If another county can draw the numbers Dublin can away on rainy night in Jan and Feb I've yet to see it. It's part of the problem really so many grounds can't deal with the mass of people.

As for Croke Park I agree with you the S8s are unfair and badly structured, hopefully and it will undoubtedly be changed. As for the Leinster last count was 11-1 to keep Dublin in Croke Park. The issue of Dublin in Croke Park is closer to home Kildare were 1 of the 11. I also agree the Leinster effort is a token, may as well play in Aughrim at PL. In PL as opposed to Nowlan. Let's be honest though it's moving deck chairs around in the titanic really."
Wow Galway portlaoise omagh and castlebar, how do ye keep going? What about U20s and minors?
There weren't many of yer fans in tullamore last Friday night mate.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2018 21:39:44    2120546

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "You miss the point altogether Fionn.

Donegal weren't questioning Croker being the venue for the Donegal/Dublin game, they were in fact questioning how Croker came to be nominated as Dublin's home ground.

That is why there was no furore at Congress, it never occured to anyone that Dublin/Croke Park would be so brazen as to try & pull a fast one when Croke Park was already being used for one Dublin game."
If a fast one was being pulled, it wasn't by Dublin and you can be sure of that.

The blame for all this lies with the money men in Croke Park.

And that is exactly why Dublin need their own stadium. If we can't redevelop PP then use a green site and develop. AIG, Dublin CB and GAA would support it in some shape or form. Especially if it is on, ( heaven forbid ;o( ) the South Side. Dublin need to make a move on this and sooner rather than later especially with the funds and sponsorship we currently have.

Main issue will be having our national stadium vacant for so long if Dublin no longer rent if out, and the money the Gaa and other county boards will lose.
But that is a price most Dubs would gladly pay...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 10/07/2018 21:43:59    2120549

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "
Replying To kildare73:  "[quote=Gavvygavgav:  ""And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!"
- you're making stuff up. And anyway, it had been common knowledge for over a year that the match between the provincial champions would take place in Croke Park. That's been done to death.

"DCB didn't have to get involved in any process as such but even a cursory statement of having no objection to playing home games for Wicklow or Laois might have been appreciated but a wall of silence was put up."
- so DCB didn't have to get involved (correct!) but then you say they SHOULD have got involved. Make your bloody mind up.

"This should have been sorted sooner".
- Yeah, like at congress in february 2017 maybe. ZZZzzzzzzzz.....

"they won't be pleasing the "likes of ME" because Kildare aren't directly involved"
- and yet here you are sticking your Kildare oar in like the village forhorn

"what's seldom is wonderful:)"
- well, All Ireland Quarter Finals don't happen every weekend, as you well know."
Of course I'm not making stuff up, your responses on their own just serve to highlight how prickly the "We love to travel " dubs get at the very thought of not playing in Croke Park. The more you post, the more you are proving my very point. As far as making my mind up goes...........what part is confusing you?? And what's a "forhorn " .........If you are going to insult at least please do me the courtesy of getting it right!! No, All Ireland quarter finals happen every year, i think pretty much everybody knows that by now so your contribution on that was just as empty as what went before. But relax and put your toys back in your pram...........you guys are getting two home games."
I've illustrated the way you're incorrect about Dubs fans travelling. Forgive my typo. I intended to type "village foghorn", although I'd bet most who've read your Kildare ramblings on this Dublin/Donegal issue would have copped what I meant.
Here's to a great month's football."]Well Fair City Foghorn we'll just have to agree to disagree!! One man's ramblings is someone else's point of view, like it or not. Indeed the next month will be great.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 21:45:18    2120550

Replying To TheUsername:  "Ha ha thanks it's hard to take you very seriously though.

As for Croke Park I agree with you the S8s are unfair and badly structured, hopefully and it will undoubtedly be changed. As for the Leinster last count was 11-1 to keep Dublin in Croke Park. The issue of Dublin in Croke Park is closer to home Kildare were 1 of the 11. I also agree the Leinster effort is a token, may as well play in Aughrim at PL. In PL as opposed to Nowlan. Let's be honest though it's moving deck chairs around in the titanic really."
Kinda hard to take you seriously too my friend. And there's one thing nobody needs is a Dublin fans telling is how much they have travelled in a year because that's a comparison you would lose hands down. The crowd at the Leinster Final was disgraceful too, 41k as opposed to 66k last year with Kildare in it.............where were you all?? THAT'S Dublin drawing numbers?? There was 16k at the first round in Portlaoise last year versus Carlow, really just a scuttle down the road for Dublin bit a really low attendance nonetheless for a county who love their travelling. I would agree with you on the county boards voting to leave Dublin in Croke Park but i think there's a ground swell of opinion against that building against that and it will have to be listened to. Even the Titanic moved around.........unless you are afraid of suffering the same fate:)

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 21:56:42    2120558

Replying To Fionn:  "If a fast one was being pulled, it wasn't by Dublin and you can be sure of that.

And that is exactly why Dublin need their own stadium. If we can't redevelop PP then use a green site and develop. AIG, Dublin CB and GAA would support it in some shape or form. Especially if it is on, ( heaven forbid ;o( ) the South Side. Dublin need to make a move on this and sooner rather than later especially with the funds and sponsorship we currently have.

Main issue will be having our national stadium vacant for so long if Dublin no longer rent if out, and the money the Gaa and other county boards will lose.
But that is a price most Dubs would gladly pay...!"
Ya and ye won't dare bite the hand that feeds ye and tell the powers that be to make our competition fair.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/07/2018 21:59:47    2120561

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya and ye won't dare bite the hand that feeds ye and tell the powers that be to make our competition fair."
I don't see any of the Kerry contingent doing likewise. Pot. Kettle.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/07/2018 22:30:02    2120571

Replying To kildare73:  "Kinda hard to take you seriously too my friend. And there's one thing nobody needs is a Dublin fans telling is how much they have travelled in a year because that's a comparison you would lose hands down. The crowd at the Leinster Final was disgraceful too, 41k as opposed to 66k last year with Kildare in it.............where were you all?? THAT'S Dublin drawing numbers?? There was 16k at the first round in Portlaoise last year versus Carlow, really just a scuttle down the road for Dublin bit a really low attendance nonetheless for a county who love their travelling. I would agree with you on the county boards voting to leave Dublin in Croke Park but i think there's a ground swell of opinion against that building against that and it will have to be listened to. Even the Titanic moved around.........unless you are afraid of suffering the same fate:)"
Would we though thus far, take Kerry they have also played one game away from home thus far as have Dublin. But i take your point. Those who traveled a lot thus far have been in the qualifiers really and the result of conceivably four rounds and a 50/50 chance.

I was in Galway, Omagh and Mayo this year and ill be grudgingly (wanted PUC) in Omagh again next week if the GAA get of the arses and tell us what day its on, the places were stuffed to the gills, Dubs and locals alike. To be honest, no one draws an away crowd like the Dubs. If you can find a higher attendance or an away attendance in league round or like for like in round in the championship id like to hear it. Truth is Dublin are the most well supported football county in the country.

You raise a valid point on the Leinster final, Laois has a population of 80k, Kildare 250k. A division 1 team vs Divison 4 team drew a crowd of 40k. That is phenomenal. The games on Sunday will be lucky to have that crowd as a double header. It also indicates that Kildare brought about 20k the Leinster final, id love to know where the other 13k were last Sunday.

I hope you are right and i know you say it tongue in cheek but Dubs arent arsed where they play, to be honest we will never have an away game, where could we possibly play that we dont out number everyone. The only place ive been to that ever came close to a 50/50 split was Croke Park in finals against Mayo. I would acknowledge there are some who wont go to all the away games, some might plan 1 or 2 in the league. But there is a die hard element who will go to every single one, thats a good 10 k. For the championship early round you are looking at 15-20k in Leinster, to be honest everyone is bored of their head in Leinster. I think a game deep in the championship could be between 20-40k if im honest. There is a crowd who will only go to Championship games in Corker, day tripper or band wagon jumpers, or particularly teenagers and younger people, i would wholly acknowledge that. A converse thing Dublin probably drew better crowds in some circumstances before success, but there is a good hardcore 40k in my opinion.

As for a sea change, thats fine, i genuinely hope you are right. If im honest i would prefer to see a change in the latter stages of the championship, going to PL, Nowlan, or anywhere else in Leinster its just not an away game, everywhere is about an hour from Dublin and you can get there quicker then into Croker in most cases. There is total take over and really its just a bit of a novelty.

A good spin to a big ground like Vs Mayo or Kerry In PUC. Of Galway in Castlebar or Clones is really what needed in my opinion.

The cynic in me thinks that the mini revloution is all well and good, until counties are materially challenged, lets be honest keeping and voting for Dublin in Croke Park is done out of self interest. So in that sense everyone is culpable.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2018 22:35:52    2120572

Replying To Fionn:  "If a fast one was being pulled, it wasn't by Dublin and you can be sure of that.

No need to go to all that expense & bother Fionn.

We have no problem with Croker being Dublin's home ground & we have worked for years with the advantage it gives Dublin. The advantage is not huge & most big teams are well used to playing there & enjoy it.

All we need to do is make sure that in the Super 8's there is one home, one away & one neutral for everyone. It means that everyone gets one game on their home ground & two games away from their home ground.

Problem solved.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 22:36:13    2120573

Sure that's it. It's all Croke Park's fault. Dublin will surely now take a leaf from the book of their 'country cousins' Kildare and offer an ultimatum to Croke Park. They'll tell HQ, no no no, unless it's an All Ireland semi final or final we don't want to go to Croker, no no no. Sure haven't we our own groundeen in Parnell Park. That's what will happen now because we know rightly that Dublin, in the interest of fairness, will do this. Watch this space, for a very very long time......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/07/2018 06:26:48    2120608

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya and ye won't dare bite the hand that feeds ye and tell the powers that be to make our competition fair."
You weren't worried about fair when Dublin hurlers had to play Tipp in a neutral venue called Thurles.

So is it fairness you are after? Or just a pop at the Dubs as you can(t beat us on the field?

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 11/07/2018 08:42:54    2120614

To say this is the wise after the event topic of the year doesn't do it justice, I don't remember a single voice on here giving out when this was voted in , not one voice of dissent
To Kingdom baby how many votes do you think Dublin get ,it's not up to Dublin to tell the powers that be to make the competition fair , it's up to every delegate around the country , which bit are you missing or should I draw it in pictures, so let's be clear no one in HQ did this no one in Dublin is responsible, every county collectively is responsible

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/07/2018 08:50:50    2120617

I think you need to speak to the Healy Raes and your county board. Sure they'll sort it out for ye. We'd rather build our own home ground in Tallaght on the south side or Ballymun on the north side and welcome ye to real Dublin instead of pampering ye in CP where the crowd is mute, the Kerrymen are as familiar with the pitch as the Dubs and ye're looked after like royalty eating our hot dogs and drinking our beer. In Tralee a couple of years ago there wasn't as much as a rasher to be had and we left with 13 ripped jersies, but we were undefeated. Yerra, we'll play ye anywhere lad, advantages or disadvantages. Up de Dubs!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 11/07/2018 09:04:43    2120621

Replying To TheUsername:  "Would we though thus far, take Kerry they have also played one game away from home thus far as have Dublin. But i take your point. Those who traveled a lot thus far have been in the qualifiers really and the result of conceivably four rounds and a 50/50 chance.

I was in Galway, Omagh and Mayo this year and ill be grudgingly (wanted PUC) in Omagh again next week if the GAA get of the arses and tell us what day its on, the places were stuffed to the gills, Dubs and locals alike. To be honest, no one draws an away crowd like the Dubs. If you can find a higher attendance or an away attendance in league round or like for like in round in the championship id like to hear it. Truth is Dublin are the most well supported football county in the country.

You raise a valid point on the Leinster final, Laois has a population of 80k, Kildare 250k. A division 1 team vs Divison 4 team drew a crowd of 40k. That is phenomenal. The games on Sunday will be lucky to have that crowd as a double header. It also indicates that Kildare brought about 20k the Leinster final, id love to know where the other 13k were last Sunday.

I hope you are right and i know you say it tongue in cheek but Dubs arent arsed where they play, to be honest we will never have an away game, where could we possibly play that we dont out number everyone. The only place ive been to that ever came close to a 50/50 split was Croke Park in finals against Mayo. I would acknowledge there are some who wont go to all the away games, some might plan 1 or 2 in the league. But there is a die hard element who will go to every single one, thats a good 10 k. For the championship early round you are looking at 15-20k in Leinster, to be honest everyone is bored of their head in Leinster. I think a game deep in the championship could be between 20-40k if im honest. There is a crowd who will only go to Championship games in Corker, day tripper or band wagon jumpers, or particularly teenagers and younger people, i would wholly acknowledge that. A converse thing Dublin probably drew better crowds in some circumstances before success, but there is a good hardcore 40k in my opinion.

As for a sea change, thats fine, i genuinely hope you are right. If im honest i would prefer to see a change in the latter stages of the championship, going to PL, Nowlan, or anywhere else in Leinster its just not an away game, everywhere is about an hour from Dublin and you can get there quicker then into Croker in most cases. There is total take over and really its just a bit of a novelty.

A good spin to a big ground like Vs Mayo or Kerry In PUC. Of Galway in Castlebar or Clones is really what needed in my opinion.

The cynic in me thinks that the mini revloution is all well and good, until counties are materially challenged, lets be honest keeping and voting for Dublin in Croke Park is done out of self interest. So in that sense everyone is culpable."
To be honest it really sounds like you are polishing things up quite a bit. If there is such massive travelling support for Dublin, why do we never hear any worries in grounds around the country whether they can cope the massive influx of dubs who are on their way? It's never an issue. Only come the summer this stuff starts. Portlaoise holds easily 25k, only 16k at the Carlow game last year, not sure off the top of my head but i would guess at less v Wicklow this year. And I totally disagree with you, 41k at a Leinster Final is an awful crowd. It's barely half full. Dublin is a county of 1.25m people. The games on Sunday you say will be lucky to have that as a double header, and you may be correct but two counties are from the extremes of the country, as in the south and west coast and Monaghan have a nice spin too. Croke Park sits in the middle of Dublin so you are comparing apples and oranges. I still think we will surpass the Leinster Final gate. You say Kildare only brought around 20k to the Leinster Final, if that be true then you are saying Dublin brought 46k, but only 41k total attendance this year indicates a chunk of the Dublin support stayed at home. I thought they were the ones putting money in everyone's coffers? You can't do that if you are at home. Personally I think we brought a nice bit more than 20k to last year's Leinster Final but im using your figures. I do think some people forget there was a GAA before 2005, one that functioned pretty well all over the country. Had classic games, created legends and legendary teams and a GAA that some people might say was a healthier and more equitable one. I'm not so churlish as to not acknowledge that this current Dublin will be legendary too and are a wonderful team but the world, even for the GAA, functions just grand beyond the M50.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 11/07/2018 10:23:04    2120639

Replying To ulsterrules:  "I am on the side of this is unfair obviously , but I believe that this was HQ pulling a fast one , watch the video below about 8 minutes in you will see the Galway County delegate stand up to support the montion at congress telling the crowd it is a good thing especially with 1 home 1 away and 1 neutral venue.

Off the ball AM did a great review of it

https://youtu.be/jK4DqCJnuCo"
I am sorry I am not buying this at all.
It was not pulling a fast one.
That video maddened me.
It is congress incompetence pure and simple all these doddery auld lads not looking at the big picture.
Anyone with half a brain knows Dublin's home ground is Parnell Park.
But Dublin do not play in thier home ground for the footballers since 2009.
Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.
That is clear or have the auld fellas memories gone?

This is not a Dublin issue this is a Congress issue.
Congress incompetence it is just unfortunate Congress incompetence has dragged Dublin into it.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 11/07/2018 11:21:40    2120652

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "I am sorry I am not buying this at all.
That video maddened me.
It is congress incompetence pure and simple all these doddery auld lads not looking at the big picture.

Congress incompetence it is just unfortunate Congress incompetence has dragged Dublin into it."
...and Ger Gilroy hinting at an asterisk beside Dublin's success - what a pile of codswallop.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 11/07/2018 11:48:21    2120658

That video maddened me.

Congress incompetence it is just unfortunate Congress incompetence has dragged Dublin into it."
'Dublin rent Croke Park the neutral venue.' Neutral for all counties except Dublin you mean?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 11/07/2018 11:59:48    2120663

That video maddened me.

It has always been a congress issue.

Thats the point ive been trying to make for ages.

How our games are being run is farcical, this year has been farcical in the extreme.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1326 - 11/07/2018 12:38:17    2120669

Replying To kildare73:  "To be honest it really sounds like you are polishing things up quite a bit. If there is such massive travelling support for Dublin, why do we never hear any worries in grounds around the country whether they can cope the massive influx of dubs who are on their way? It's never an issue. Only come the summer this stuff starts. Portlaoise holds easily 25k, only 16k at the Carlow game last year, not sure off the top of my head but i would guess at less v Wicklow this year. And I totally disagree with you, 41k at a Leinster Final is an awful crowd. It's barely half full. Dublin is a county of 1.25m people. The games on Sunday you say will be lucky to have that as a double header, and you may be correct but two counties are from the extremes of the country, as in the south and west coast and Monaghan have a nice spin too. Croke Park sits in the middle of Dublin so you are comparing apples and oranges. I still think we will surpass the Leinster Final gate. You say Kildare only brought around 20k to the Leinster Final, if that be true then you are saying Dublin brought 46k, but only 41k total attendance this year indicates a chunk of the Dublin support stayed at home. I thought they were the ones putting money in everyone's coffers? You can't do that if you are at home. Personally I think we brought a nice bit more than 20k to last year's Leinster Final but im using your figures. I do think some people forget there was a GAA before 2005, one that functioned pretty well all over the country. Had classic games, created legends and legendary teams and a GAA that some people might say was a healthier and more equitable one. I'm not so churlish as to not acknowledge that this current Dublin will be legendary too and are a wonderful team but the world, even for the GAA, functions just grand beyond the M50."
I'm not so sure i am and if i am perhaps we are both guilty.

To answer your points honestly as an away attender, the league is fine as most counties in Div 1 have the infrastructure to cope with a cohort of hardcore 10 - 15k traveling support for a league game. The only time i remember it being an issue was they had to close roads in Cavan last year due to traffic and Kildare a few years ago couldn't accommodate an away game in Newbridge. Dublin games away from big cities tend to be on a Saturday night to allow high volumes in and out of places over a longer period time then condensed to a specific time on Sunday in my experience, with extra trains etc being put on.

It doesn't really come up in the summer primarily apart from the token away game given in Leinster that i said isnt really an away game. Im not so sure a low attendance is down to location or the context of the game, with no disrespect playing Carlow or Wicklow doesn't get the blood racing, i not so sure if those games were in Croke Park or anywhere else would the crowd be different. Still, i wonder could any other county manage those numbers away against the same opposition, i doubt it.

I think when you average the attendances over the last 10 years of the Leinster final there is a direct correlation to the population base of opposition and the attendance. For example in years were Dublin play Kildare or Meath the Leinster Final is in the 55k - 60k range, when we play Loais ofr went Meath we are in the mid 40s. Obviously there is far more people in Meath and Kildare then in West Meath or Laois. Thus you have to draw the conclusion that Dublin bring 40k to games and whoever the opposition make up the remainder, the Dublin figures look pretty consistent and are the only constant variable. I would disagree with you on last year as well, Kildare brought a crowd, id say 20k was being optimistic, ive been to Leinster finals with Kildare in the past ive seen more Lilly's at Leinster Semi finals to be honest. I suppose it depends what base you are coming from. I imagine it was a far bigger crowd then the round before the Leinster final so appeared huge. Like 7k being in Navan last week and likely far more on Sunday.

We will see this Sunday, apples and oranges may be and you can argue about the appe and oranges etc and about who feels coffers, the reality is though there is a reason Dublin are prime time on Saturday afternoon at 7.00. Its being billed as a main event, while Sunday is the under card, certainly not in a sporting context as it will be brilliant from a commercial and financial point of view. An example being the GAA didnt put its biggest fundraising and commercial entity up against a competing sporting event, what does that tell us about filling coffers......

I take your final point, but thats a sporting argument, Dublin are there to be shot at really, there is no where left for them to climb and down is the only direction. If another team is better at football they have to earn the opportunity of beating them and i suspect all these "inequalities" will disappear. Fatigue with Dublin dominance is clearly fueling so much of this unrest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/07/2018 12:41:22    2120671