Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "I am a Dub supporter.
In all honesty I view it as unfair.
But it is the GAA's fault and the other counties not Dublin's.
Why was this not brought up at congress, the same kind of craic that allowed munster counties protection from relegation in the hurling.

The time to give out about it was then.
Were were the other county boards doing humming a happy tune while the plans were made?
GAA HQ is always going to try and get the most money out of games where possible so that money can be funneled into grassroots etc.
It was up to to other counties to complain about the Super 8's planning when it was been devised not during the thing!

The whole thing smacks of incompetence from the other county boards in Ireland"
I am on the side of this is unfair obviously , but I believe that this was HQ pulling a fast one , watch the video below about 8 minutes in you will see the Galway County delegate stand up to support the montion at congress telling the crowd it is a good thing especially with 1 home 1 away and 1 neutral venue.

Off the ball AM did a great review of it

https://youtu.be/jK4DqCJnuCo

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 10/07/2018 13:34:30    2120371

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "I am a Dub supporter.
In all honesty I view it as unfair.
But it is the GAA's fault and the other counties not Dublin's.
Why was this not brought up at congress, the same kind of craic that allowed munster counties protection from relegation in the hurling.

The time to give out about it was then.
Were were the other county boards doing humming a happy tune while the plans were made?
GAA HQ is always going to try and get the most money out of games where possible so that money can be funneled into grassroots etc.
It was up to to other counties to complain about the Super 8's planning when it was been devised not during the thing!

The whole thing smacks of incompetence from the other county boards in Ireland"
Exactly, fully agree... that was my point about Donegal management moaning about it so late in the day.....

Everyone knew and agreed the structure but all of a sudden when it directly affects you, as in Donegal's case, suddenly there is an issue with it. Other posters here just jumping on the anti Dublin bandwagon as usual.

I agree with you about the other County Boards - only concerned with the funding Dublin playing in Croke Park, will generate for them. Same as the Dublin League games... All counties benefit from the gate receipts. Hypocrisy at its worst..

That is why Dublin need to move out of Croke Park, and the sooner the better....
We will see how the other counties will like those new apples....

Do people now want the All Ireland Final played outside of Croke Park now also, if Dublin are in it, and moved to a NEUTRAL venue....????

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3725 - 10/07/2018 13:47:43    2120375

Exactly, fully agree... that was my point about Donegal management moaning about it so late in the day.....

Everyone knew and agreed the structure but all of a sudden when it directly affects you, as in Donegal's case, suddenly there is an issue with it. Other posters here just jumping on the anti Dublin bandwagon as usual.

I agree with you about the other County Boards - only concerned with the funding Dublin playing in Croke Park, will generate for them. Same as the Dublin League games... All counties benefit from the gate receipts. Hypocrisy at its worst..

That is why Dublin need to move out of Croke Park, and the sooner the better....

Do people now want the All Ireland Final played outside of Croke Park now also, if Dublin are in it, and moved to a NEUTRAL venue....????
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 2512 - 10/07/2018 13:47:43
Dont be ridiculous. Donegal why would they complain about dublin playing in croke park for home and neutral games if it doesnt directly affect them?
Dont be childish about dublin and all ireland finals. But every dublin game shouldnt be played in croke park for the championship. thats just ridiculous and should be changed especially with the super 8 in place. and this isnt an anti dublin thing no matter how much you want it t be

DonaldDuck (Tipperary) - Posts: 544 - 10/07/2018 14:15:35    2120395

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "it's like you totally missed the entirety of the last week"
In fairness the Kildare Mayo game was originally supposed to be a home game for kildare - as is correct the rules were followed and it was kept in Newbridge.
The Super 8's fixtures were set out ages ago all counties agreed to it.
What were the county boards doing?
Do they not understand the GAA process?
If they had a grievance why not vote against the fixtures as a group.
Dublin were highly likely to be in the super 8s.
Forward planning county boards!
No chance!
Instead everything is unforeseen!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 10/07/2018 14:18:32    2120398

Replying To kildare73:  "A) So Dublin fans love to travel but its limited to the league? And the games in Portlaoise and Nowlan Park, as you admit, weren't exactly huge attendances, so why weren't they given that Dublin fans knew this was their last travelling engagement of the year most likely? Regardless of the opposition, i thought it was all about the travelling. And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!
B) DCB didn't have to get involved in any process as such but even a cursory statement of having no objection to playing home games for Wicklow or Laois might have been appreciated but a wall of silence was put up. I think most people around country would, rather than you seem to imply think it was arrogant, would have applauded Dublin on helping their smaller neighbours in a game Dublin would always win.
C) Grand stick to "We play where we are told" but don't then give us every reason under the sun as to why you shouldn't be "told " to not play two games in Croker when everyone else is getting one. This should have been sorted sooner, no problem saying that, and looks like every other county board waited to see who would get the short straw before speaking up. But if you love to travel, don't go spitting the dummy when everyone else is on the road twice in three games and it's pointed out on here Dublin aren't.
D) I am not asking Dublin county board to move a match, that's an issue I and quite a few have with Croke Park. If they were giving Donegal a face saving road as you say well face saving is something Croke Park are trying hard to gain expertise in in the last couple of weeks. And they won't be pleasing the "likes of ME" because Kildare aren't directly involved. If they were I'd be saying a lot more. But there's no law against expressing a point of view even some don't like it.
E) what's seldom is wonderful:)"
"Regardless of the opposition" - I would say a large part of Dublin fans not traveling in bigger numbers is entirely down to the opposition. I was at all three games and each were very poor one-sided spectacles. It's the same in any sport when a complete outsider takes on one of the big guns. The three attendances were: Laois in Nowlan Pk: 16, 764, Carlow in Portlaoise: 13, 238 and v Wicklow this year in the same venue it was 11, 786. To put these in perspective Donegal didn't break the 10k mark for their first game v Cavan this year, a game that would have been on paper far trickier than any of the Leinster games I've mentioned. I don't think our attendances were too bad but put it entirely down to the opposition on each day and fans being entirely disillusioned with Leinster football at the moment. The quality of football is rubbish at times and results are a foregone conclusion. When the opposition is of a higher standard even in the league we have proven we travel. Breffni Park for last year's league game was practically full for example. New venue to visit, unfamiliar opposition and a nice town on top of that.

TrueBlue35 (Dublin) - Posts: 206 - 10/07/2018 14:33:59    2120402

Replying To gormdubhgorm:  "In fairness the Kildare Mayo game was originally supposed to be a home game for kildare - as is correct the rules were followed and it was kept in Newbridge.
The Super 8's fixtures were set out ages ago all counties agreed to it.
What were the county boards doing?
Do they not understand the GAA process?
If they had a grievance why not vote against the fixtures as a group.
Dublin were highly likely to be in the super 8s.
Forward planning county boards!
No chance!
Instead everything is unforeseen!"
Maybe they where not given the full details as , but I believe that this was HQ pulling a fast one , watch the video below about 8 minutes in you will see the Galway County delegate stand up to support the motion at congress telling the crowd it is a good thing especially with 1 home 1 away and 1 neutral venue.

In no ones mind can Croke Park be seen as a neutral venue for Dublin.

Off the ball AM did a great review of it

https://youtu.be/jK4DqCJnuCo

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 10/07/2018 14:37:43    2120403

We need to take the criticism on the chin, have broad shoulders and stick to the process, there is a game to be played in the home of Dublin football with the sun on our backs this Saturday.

Champions, don't become champions by worrying about others options.

Let others worry.

We are delighted to play hosts once again to many traveling to our county and you are all very welcome and we wish you all a safe visit.

The eyes of the GAA world will be on our fair county once again a great occasion and we will cradle history being written.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/07/2018 14:39:52    2120404

Replying To Fionn:  "Exactly, fully agree... that was my point about Donegal management moaning about it so late in the day.....

Do people now want the All Ireland Final played outside of Croke Park now also, if Dublin are in it, and moved to a NEUTRAL venue....????"
if Dublin don't play there week in week out then it would be a genuine Neutral venue.

But that has not been the case for years

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 10/07/2018 14:41:39    2120405

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Stay in Dublin on a Sat night in July?

Are you mad? Do you think we are made of money?"
B&B Gardiner St Muck. No problem to you and only up the road from our home ground ;)

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/07/2018 15:02:14    2120412

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "So much nonsense in one post"
Such accuracy in his post, the truth is often unpalatable.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 10/07/2018 15:03:30    2120416

Replying To Joxer:  "B&B Gardiner St Muck. No problem to you and only up the road from our home ground ;)"
No self respecting Donegal man would be seen dead in a B&B in Gardiner St Joxer.

Any chance of a kip at your place? We would make no noise, unless the unthinkable happened, and all we would want for breakfast would be a mug of tea & a thick slice of bread.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 15:20:47    2120422

Replying To kildare73:  "Can Dublin fans stop with the "We love to travel" ........"We love a road trip" stuff on here? Dublin have had TWO chances this year alone to show that and didn't. Wicklow were told to move their game to Portlaoise, the Dublin powers that be stayed silent and didn't support their smaller neighbour. Not that Wicklow is much of a "road trip" for Dublin anyway but the fact remains Dublin haven't played an away Championship game since 2006. Likewise Dublin stayed silent as Carlow were made move their game last year, as were Laois the year before even though Portlaoise miraculously enough managed to be a good enough ground last year once the game wasn't against Laois. Then the other great mantra, "We play where we are told" which even Ciaran Whelan can't help but smile on the Sunday Game any time he has to say it. Dublin by a mile are the single most powerful county board in the country, if they wanted and were interested, they have influence in the decision making process of where games are. This Dublin team will beat most teams anywhere and they even know that themselves. But cut the bull of "we'll play anywhere " because nobody believes it. If that were true why be so touchy about leaving Croker for this Donegal game? Why not meet in Clones or somewhere and ask the GAA to facilitate it for the sake of the fairness and spirit of the competition? We all know it says a Croke Park game in the set up of the Super 8s and yes, it baffles me why it took until now for it to become an issue because Dublin were always going to be part of the Super 8s but here now is Dublin county board, players and fans opportunity to embrace the road trip they say they so much love but they cling to the Croke Park wording rigidly which is their right because it's there in black and white but please don't talk out of both sides of your mouth. Either admit you don't want to leave Croke Park, or go on the road trip you you are meant to enjoy so much because here's an opportunity to squeeze in an extra one, but don't try be too clever."
If I was you I'd ask God for the 20m back that it took you to type that post. So now it's not good enough for you to have us play in a neutral venue, now you want it neutral and for us to bring 20,000 fans. You still don't get the point on the Donegal game. It was always fixed for CP per the rules. It's the Rossies game that should be neutral. No complaints here but don't expect us to meet your demand of hordes of travelling fans to see what most might view as a formality against a D2 team.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/07/2018 15:20:56    2120423

Replying To Joxer:  "If I was you I'd ask God for the 20m back that it took you to type that post. So now it's not good enough for you to have us play in a neutral venue, now you want it neutral and for us to bring 20,000 fans. You still don't get the point on the Donegal game. It was always fixed for CP per the rules. It's the Rossies game that should be neutral. No complaints here but don't expect us to meet your demand of hordes of travelling fans to see what most might view as a formality against a D2 team."
Unfortunately for Dublin they are going to have to reluctantly play one game at home in Croke Park one game away at Croke Park and one game away in Omagh. how fair is that 2 away games that will mean that if they win the All Ireland they will have had to Travel to an away game in Portlaoise and away game in Croke Park and an away game in Omagh.

This is clearly not fair on them having to play 3 away games which is the total of all the championship games away in 15/16/17 added together, this madness has to stop.

I for one think this bullying of Dublin by Croke Park needs to stop.... As you hear every day from Dublin Supporters they are happy to travel and when these supporters say this they don't just mean to the RED COW roundabout and back.

As for their sacred home ground of Parnel Park, it's another bully boy approach by Croke park here I mean that Louth/Wicklow and even Meath have played in the championship more times than Dublin has in the last number of years is a disgrace, the CCCC should organise fixtures better so that they don't clash as apart from Health and safety reason and trouble outside the ground what else could cause the CCCC to do this.

I'll tell you Croke Park Bullying that's what.

Join me it helping the Dub's they need our support . as we all know the GAA is based on fair play for everyone

#letdubsout
#lifebeyondtheM50
#batterburgerforeveryone

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 10/07/2018 16:39:44    2120445

Replying To kildare73:  "A) So Dublin fans love to travel but its limited to the league? And the games in Portlaoise and Nowlan Park, as you admit, weren't exactly huge attendances, so why weren't they given that Dublin fans knew this was their last travelling engagement of the year most likely? Regardless of the opposition, i thought it was all about the travelling. And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!
B) DCB didn't have to get involved in any process as such but even a cursory statement of having no objection to playing home games for Wicklow or Laois might have been appreciated but a wall of silence was put up. I think most people around country would, rather than you seem to imply think it was arrogant, would have applauded Dublin on helping their smaller neighbours in a game Dublin would always win.
C) Grand stick to "We play where we are told" but don't then give us every reason under the sun as to why you shouldn't be "told " to not play two games in Croker when everyone else is getting one. This should have been sorted sooner, no problem saying that, and looks like every other county board waited to see who would get the short straw before speaking up. But if you love to travel, don't go spitting the dummy when everyone else is on the road twice in three games and it's pointed out on here Dublin aren't.
D) I am not asking Dublin county board to move a match, that's an issue I and quite a few have with Croke Park. If they were giving Donegal a face saving road as you say well face saving is something Croke Park are trying hard to gain expertise in in the last couple of weeks. And they won't be pleasing the "likes of ME" because Kildare aren't directly involved. If they were I'd be saying a lot more. But there's no law against expressing a point of view even some don't like it.
E) what's seldom is wonderful:)"
"And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!"
- you're making stuff up. And anyway, it had been common knowledge for over a year that the match between the provincial champions would take place in Croke Park. That's been done to death.

"DCB didn't have to get involved in any process as such but even a cursory statement of having no objection to playing home games for Wicklow or Laois might have been appreciated but a wall of silence was put up."
- so DCB didn't have to get involved (correct!) but then you say they SHOULD have got involved. Make your bloody mind up.

"This should have been sorted sooner".
- Yeah, like at congress in february 2017 maybe. ZZZzzzzzzzz.....

"they won't be pleasing the "likes of ME" because Kildare aren't directly involved"
- and yet here you are sticking your Kildare oar in like the village forhorn

"what's seldom is wonderful:)"
- well, All Ireland Quarter Finals don't happen every weekend, as you well know.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 10/07/2018 17:18:39    2120467

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Such accuracy in his post, the truth is often unpalatable."
I believe I've pointed out the reasons why it's nonsense. Keep up.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 10/07/2018 17:19:15    2120468

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "No self respecting Donegal man would be seen dead in a B&B in Gardiner St Joxer.

Any chance of a kip at your place? We would make no noise, unless the unthinkable happened, and all we would want for breakfast would be a mug of tea & a thick slice of bread."
No self respecting Dub would be found on Gardiner St Muck. On a serious note, you're welcome to kip at my place. Bring an iron, a hoover and a tea towel (your wan left me for a Spanish sailor and there's noone to do the house work and iron the slacks ) Bring a few sausages for the coddle breakfast as well. You can find me on Railway St, just off Gardiner St.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/07/2018 18:05:18    2120488

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  ""And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!"
- you're making stuff up. And anyway, it had been common knowledge for over a year that the match between the provincial champions would take place in Croke Park. That's been done to death.

"DCB didn't have to get involved in any process as such but even a cursory statement of having no objection to playing home games for Wicklow or Laois might have been appreciated but a wall of silence was put up."
- so DCB didn't have to get involved (correct!) but then you say they SHOULD have got involved. Make your bloody mind up.

"they won't be pleasing the "likes of ME" because Kildare aren't directly involved"

- well, All Ireland Quarter Finals don't happen every weekend, as you well know."
Of course I'm not making stuff up, your responses on their own just serve to highlight how prickly the "We love to travel " dubs get at the very thought of not playing in Croke Park. The more you post, the more you are proving my very point. As far as making my mind up goes...........what part is confusing you?? And what's a "forhorn " .........If you are going to insult at least please do me the courtesy of getting it right!! No, All Ireland quarter finals happen every year, i think pretty much everybody knows that by now so your contribution on that was just as empty as what went before. But relax and put your toys back in your pram...........you guys are getting two home games.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 19:07:22    2120507

Replying To Joxer:  "If I was you I'd ask God for the 20m back that it took you to type that post. So now it's not good enough for you to have us play in a neutral venue, now you want it neutral and for us to bring 20,000 fans. You still don't get the point on the Donegal game. It was always fixed for CP per the rules. It's the Rossies game that should be neutral. No complaints here but don't expect us to meet your demand of hordes of travelling fans to see what most might view as a formality against a D2 team."
Show me where i said i wanted you to bring 20,000 fans?? I couldn't really care how many Dublin bring, it's not me who claimed Dublin fans love travelling. And because it's a D2 team as you put it, what happened to this love of the road? Excuses excuses. And if you think it took 20 mins to type my post, God is going to send you some help.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 10/07/2018 19:16:24    2120509

Replying To kildare73:  "
Replying To Gavvygavgav:  ""And why was the very thought of not playing Donegal in Croke Park met with such huge opposition on here straight away? For people who love to travel and get so little chance it was a strong backlash!!"

- well, All Ireland Quarter Finals don't happen every weekend, as you well know."
Of course I'm not making stuff up, your responses on their own just serve to highlight how prickly the "We love to travel " dubs get at the very thought of not playing in Croke Park. The more you post, the more you are proving my very point. As far as making my mind up goes...........what part is confusing you?? And what's a "forhorn " .........If you are going to insult at least please do me the courtesy of getting it right!! No, All Ireland quarter finals happen every year, i think pretty much everybody knows that by now so your contribution on that was just as empty as what went before. But relax and put your toys back in your pram...........you guys are getting two home games."
I've illustrated the way you're incorrect about Dubs fans travelling. Forgive my typo. I intended to type "village foghorn", although I'd bet most who've read your Kildare ramblings on this Dublin/Donegal issue would have copped what I meant.
Here's to a great month's football.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 10/07/2018 20:14:21    2120525

Replying To Joxer:  "No self respecting Dub would be found on Gardiner St Muck. On a serious note, you're welcome to kip at my place. Bring an iron, a hoover and a tea towel (your wan left me for a Spanish sailor and there's noone to do the house work and iron the slacks ) Bring a few sausages for the coddle breakfast as well. You can find me on Railway St, just off Gardiner St."
If you think for one minute that I'm kipping in the same house as a man who wears slacks you have another thought coming.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/07/2018 20:32:28    2120530