Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair?

All of this talk of "advantages" given to Dublin got me thinking of a quote that I once read from a member of the Croatian football team
"Our nickname is the Brazil of Europe because of the style we play. Conditions in Croatia are far worse than in England where you have better facilities, better pitches, experts on nutrition and physiology and so on. But we are creative. Creativity is the deciding factor in growing a good player". The population of England is about 14 times that of Croatia also.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 06/07/2018 08:41:02    2119020

Replying To Fionn:  "I am sure you are really worried about Donegal......

Only thing you and some of the other Kerry moaners are worried about is facing Dublin......

If we meet in All Ireland Semi Final's or Final's going forward, does this mean ye want the game played outside of our National Stadium that is Croke Park....??? Would Clones be NEUTRAL enough for you then....!!!

Did ye feel the same when we couldnt buy a win off Kerry for years - no, ye wanted to stuff the Dubs in Croker.
So cop on.....!!!"
This thread is about the super 8s not the All Ireland final if you paid more attention. If you see nothing wrong with ye playing your most difficult game of the super 8s at home every year then fair enough.

As we used to see the dubs almost always the last game on Sunday it was no surprise ye switched to Saturday due to the world cup. The GAA are not even trying to hide their efforts of keeping the dubs happy at all costs.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 06/07/2018 15:36:15    2119157

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "This thread is about the super 8s not the All Ireland final if you paid more attention. If you see nothing wrong with ye playing your most difficult game of the super 8s at home every year then fair enough.

As we used to see the dubs almost always the last game on Sunday it was no surprise ye switched to Saturday due to the world cup. The GAA are not even trying to hide their efforts of keeping the dubs happy at all costs."
Seriously, grow up.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 06/07/2018 15:54:32    2119162

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "This thread is about the super 8s not the All Ireland final if you paid more attention. If you see nothing wrong with ye playing your most difficult game of the super 8s at home every year then fair enough.

As we used to see the dubs almost always the last game on Sunday it was no surprise ye switched to Saturday due to the world cup. The GAA are not even trying to hide their efforts of keeping the dubs happy at all costs."
The GAA are not even trying to hide their efforts of keeping the dubs happy at all costs.

Its actually the exact opposite - the GAA are not even trying to hide their efforts regarding minimising costs / lost revenue.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/07/2018 16:27:28    2119166

I get you, like say you were from Cork or Tipp and you had to play Kerry in the Munster final every year in Kilarney in the recent past.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/07/2018 16:53:29    2119170

There is more than a little favouritism shown to Dublin and that's for sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/07/2018 17:09:37    2119175

And the Kerry lads can't contain their saltiness. Tis wonderful!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/07/2018 17:17:10    2119177

Replying To TheUsername:  "I get you, like say you were from Cork or Tipp and you had to play Kerry in the Munster final every year in Kilarney in the recent past."
Exactly, playing every game at home year in, year out would give us no satisfaction in victory. Fortunately we had a trip to Cork recently and our next 2 or 3 games v Cork will be in PUC and im sure a game in Thurles if we meet Tipp.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 06/07/2018 18:50:32    2119187

I never really thought much of it till this issue came up, but having your home and 'neutral' game in the same venue is a bit Irish alright.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 06/07/2018 19:06:48    2119190

If it was any other county than Dublin there would never be as much debate. Maybe time for the GAA to ban Dublin from all competitions.

Everything we do is either cheating or for money!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/07/2018 20:31:45    2119209

It is very funny but when the hurling q-finals were down for neutral venues and Dublin objected to playing Tipperary in Thurles no one cared. Dublin objected and the country told us to f off

When the Super 8 match announced for CP is down to be played in CP it is all down to giving Dublin an advantage and our legacy is questioned.

But do not worry....It's not anti Dub ....we are just paranoid

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 06/07/2018 20:45:41    2119214

Replying To witnof:  "If it was any other county than Dublin there would never be as much debate. Maybe time for the GAA to ban Dublin from all competitions.

Everything we do is either cheating or for money!"
Ye should be playing in the inter provincials (railway cup ) against the Munsters Leinsters Connachts and Ulsters not against proper county teams.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/07/2018 08:43:41    2119276

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ye should be playing in the inter provincials (railway cup ) against the Munsters Leinsters Connachts and Ulsters not against proper county teams."
It's the only silverware this greates team of all time has yet to lift. Bring it on I say. A railway cup for the Dubs. i think we should let Kerry play with 17 men the next time we meet. It's too easy at this stage.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 07/07/2018 16:31:51    2119359

I remember MAYO coming out the Dublin Side of Croke Park to warm up some years ago, must be 10 years at least, in an All Ireland Semi Final. Dublin Sideline Lost the rag!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 07/07/2018 22:41:00    2119457

Replying To Joxer:  "It's the only silverware this greates team of all time has yet to lift. Bring it on I say. A railway cup for the Dubs. i think we should let Kerry play with 17 men the next time we meet. It's too easy at this stage."
http://www.the42.ie/mayo-dublin-2006-warm-up-1087580-Sep2013/
This Article Proves that Dublin always considered Croke Park their own Personal Property. Hope I get it put up. Will Post on Twitter and FB anyway.

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 07/07/2018 22:48:47    2119458

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "http://www.the42.ie/mayo-dublin-2006-warm-up-1087580-Sep2013/
This Article Proves that Dublin always considered Croke Park their own Personal Property. Hope I get it put up. Will Post on Twitter and FB anyway."
All of the eyerolls.....

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/07/2018 23:26:50    2119476

Replying To SAMMYTHEBULL:  "http://www.the42.ie/mayo-dublin-2006-warm-up-1087580-Sep2013/
This Article Proves that Dublin always considered Croke Park their own Personal Property. Hope I get it put up. Will Post on Twitter and FB anyway."
Of course it's ours in the same way Pearce Park is Galway's. Both are the biggest stadium in their counties but fundementally both are owned by the GAA. There is no difference really.

It just so happens Croke Park in Dublin is the biggest stadium in Ireland and the GAA play other counties games their in the latter stages of the championship and other Counties gave a romantic attatchement to it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/07/2018 01:36:48    2119497

Replying To Jackeen:  "All of the eyerolls....."
Your eye rolls can't be seen behind your blinkers which all the Dubs on here obviously wear. Independent thinking hidden by the need to green thumb the usual Dub suspects on here. Yer failure to dethrone the Kerry boys makes for great viewing.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 08/07/2018 10:11:43    2119522

Replying To TheUsername:  "Of course it's ours in the same way Pearce Park is Galway's. Both are the biggest stadium in their counties but fundementally both are owned by the GAA. There is no difference really.

It just so happens Croke Park in Dublin is the biggest stadium in Ireland and the GAA play other counties games their in the latter stages of the championship and other Counties gave a romantic attatchement to it."
"Pearce Park" where is that ? If your talking about Pàirc an Phiarsaigh / Pearse Stadium, well that is owned & under the auspices of Galway County Board. When did Dublin County Board take control of Croke Park ? Renting it is different to owning it ! Yes all units come under the Association but there is a difference really. Sammy has called a spade a spade & as usual the Dubs on here don't like their cage being rattled.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 08/07/2018 10:23:59    2119524