Galway Vs Kerry

Replying To The_DOC:  "While I'm on a rant here this morning - did anyone pick up on the RTE live coverage of the game that Daly started for Galway in place of the previously mentioned (and shown on screen) Adrian Varley - not this was an original switch for McHugh.

10mins in: Marty M tells us that Daly is on the pitch but doesn't know for who
12mins in: Marty M asks Martin Carney who is Daly on for to which he responds "I think he in in place of Johnny Heaney" - this is after Johnny H had been involved in 3 separate moves!

Anyway - it was not confirmed for who Daly was playing in place of for the remained of the half.

Like seriously, that's not good enough!"
Yep, hopeless stuff. But you could pick any one of a dozen ineptitudes from the commentary. According to Marty near the end, somebody called Tom Conroy was playing for Galway. I'm surprised Kerry haven't lodged an objection.

There's a kind of an unspoken acceptance now that RTE's coverage is generally one of professional eejitism, meaningless repeated cliches and, of course, 'controversial' pundits.. Sometimes listening to Morrissey and Canning, I weep for the days of Michael and Micheal. Then there's the co-commentators and studio know-alls. 'Very much so', says Martin Carney. 'He'll be disappointed with that', says Dessie Dolan. 'On this occasion', says Paul Earley. 'Players with the X factor', says Tomas O Se. 'Lookit, I suppose', says every post match GAA interviewee ever.

It was laughable too hearing the Sunday Game 'experts' suggest that the Kerry players had believed the hype. Who was responsible for the hype over the last few weeks? The Sunday Game crew themselves. Every single one of them. Whelan should have been embarrassed yesterday after the premature crap he has gushed about them. And then there were Joe Brolly's Indo articles about them before Sunday... but that's just Joe. What a character etc, etc...

marooney (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 16/07/2018 13:17:58    2122675

Replying To sam1884:  "The problem with Kerry is an age old problem. Paddy Tally was a massive influence on the Tyrone breakthrough. Talk is he was the main influence in the tactics used during that famous 2003 semi final. Kerry have re-invented themselves this year as they thought football had moved on. When Kerry teams are shown no respect and not allowed to dance around a pitch, as we have seen time and time again they struggle. Paddy Tally has now brought his methods to a very talented group of Galway footballers and yesterday in many ways reminded me of the Kerry, Tyrone battles of yesteryear. Kerry teams don't like battles."
Kerry teams don't like battles?
Did you seriously just type that?
Christ, this forum is some place. The minute Kerry lose and every yahoo starts polishing their dancing shoes and heading over the the graveyard.

For my own sanity I'm keeping away for this place for the rest of the week...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/07/2018 13:23:36    2122683

Awful spectacle I thought and what a miserable day for a game of football. Galway are hard side to beat and showed how to master Kerry again who don't like these mass defensive sides. It's all grand and dandy when you let them run riot and give them space to play their game but it's another thing when they come up against a tight well organised defensive side as was proven yesterday.Galway will take beating for sure.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 16/07/2018 13:26:28    2122685

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry teams don't like battles?
Christ, this forum is some place. The minute Kerry lose and every yahoo starts polishing their dancing shoes and heading over the the graveyard.

For my own sanity I'm keeping away for this place for the rest of the week..."
I think you left it a bit late for that ! ;0

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/07/2018 13:29:12    2122688

I wouldn't be to worried by yesterdays result if i was Kerry its a snap shot in time, and the thing with any young team is performances will ebb and flow. You also have to factor the opposition Galway are a seriously good side, one of the best in the country and thats a big step up from provincial play. It was always going to be case that teams would try and choke ball going into forward line, tey and dominate the kick out and middle dynamic and target Kerrys indiscipline, i thought they got off very light yesterday on discipline if im honest. the physicality as well is also an issue. Kerry rely on bodies and the swarm that leaves space to be exploited anywhere, the swarm is fine when you are playing Cork or Clare (no disrespect) but when you are playing big imposing men who are comfortable playing the ball into contact or exploit the space then you better have a plan b. They also came of worse in the kickout and midfield dynamic again the bar is raised here in opposition from provincial play.

For all of that i thought the game was in the melting pot and their for either team to win. Galway made very hard work of it in my opinion, some awful wides and i still think they wont score enough at this point to really beat the top teams.

The positive about the S8's is the nature of group play so Kerry still very much in the championship. Yesterday will do Kerry no harm whats so ever, learning and experience generally come from adversity. The group hasn't helped them as they are playing very established and disciplined teams who will try and stunt their natural strengths rather then just allow them to be expansive. In such scenarios is variance and plan b's formed.

I still expect them to get the result just about in Monaghan, but big questions are going to be asked about their mentality and desire. Monaghan beat Tyrone and with 70 mins standing between them and a semi they will want to put this to bed going into fixture 3, the place should be heaving. I expect Kerry to answer the questions asked of them.

As for Galway i think they could make to beat Kildare in Newbridge, Kildare i would be surprised if they racked up a big score and i think Galway will do enough to build on their victory this weekend after a week of shooting practice. really if they add or can become a very clinical team in scoring i think they can be confident of getting to a final this year.

All to play for yet, id still be backing Galway and Kerry to be coming out of this group.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/07/2018 13:34:31    2122693

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry teams don't like battles?

For my own sanity I'm keeping away for this place for the rest of the week..."
Lol - it's no coincidence when Galway use similar tactics used by Tyrone in the 00's, Kerry look like a different team to that who played Cork. Kerry teams cannot play against this type of tactic, they are ok when teams stand off them and allow them to play.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/07/2018 13:41:10    2122703

Replying To eaglehaslanded:  "FFS..... legal goal!!!!! There's not much bothering you!"
I'd have my doubts!!!

Moyle (Tipperary) - Posts: 86 - 16/07/2018 13:55:48    2122710

Great spectacle to see Galway forcing the long kickouts, very traditional, its Newbridge or nowhere now

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 16/07/2018 14:15:00    2122728

Replying To sam1884:  "Lol - it's no coincidence when Galway use similar tactics used by Tyrone in the 00's, Kerry look like a different team to that who played Cork. Kerry teams cannot play against this type of tactic, they are ok when teams stand off them and allow them to play."
Complete nonsense. We won an All Ireland in 2014 playing against a very defensive and physical Donegal team.

We were beaten by a better team yesterday, that's all.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/07/2018 14:31:53    2122746

Replying To Moyle:  "Was last minute Kerry goal legal?

Looked to me as if it came off a thrown illegal hand pass.

Any views?"
Think your right it looked to me that the Kerry player threw the ball along the ground with a one handed motion

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 16/07/2018 14:37:30    2122752

Replying To marooney:  "Yep, hopeless stuff. But you could pick any one of a dozen ineptitudes from the commentary. According to Marty near the end, somebody called Tom Conroy was playing for Galway. I'm surprised Kerry haven't lodged an objection.

There's a kind of an unspoken acceptance now that RTE's coverage is generally one of professional eejitism, meaningless repeated cliches and, of course, 'controversial' pundits.. Sometimes listening to Morrissey and Canning, I weep for the days of Michael and Micheal. Then there's the co-commentators and studio know-alls. 'Very much so', says Martin Carney. 'He'll be disappointed with that', says Dessie Dolan. 'On this occasion', says Paul Earley. 'Players with the X factor', says Tomas O Se. 'Lookit, I suppose', says every post match GAA interviewee ever.

It was laughable too hearing the Sunday Game 'experts' suggest that the Kerry players had believed the hype. Who was responsible for the hype over the last few weeks? The Sunday Game crew themselves. Every single one of them. Whelan should have been embarrassed yesterday after the premature crap he has gushed about them. And then there were Joe Brolly's Indo articles about them before Sunday... but that's just Joe. What a character etc, etc..."
Totally agree.

At one point towards the end of the game, I think there was 1min played of added time in the 2nd half with Galway up by a bit, and the missus (who has zero interest in GAA) walked in to Marty M saying "there's still time for Kerry in this game" the game was held up for an injury and 14secs later M Morrissey says "well Kerry look to have run out of time here" - herself was like "Jesus that seems to have been a crucial 14 seconds there for Kerry!

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 16/07/2018 15:48:47    2122788

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Complete nonsense. We won an All Ireland in 2014 playing against a very defensive and physical Donegal team.

We were beaten by a better team yesterday, that's all."
A freak goal changed the 2014 final, upto that stage Donegal's plan was working perfectly and probably would have worn Kerry down. Kerry have great players coming through but they need to learn how to play against teams who don't respect their tradition and won't allow them to play on their terms. I suspect this won't be first time Galway beat Kerry over the next 5 years.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 16/07/2018 18:33:53    2122845

Replying To sam1884:  "A freak goal changed the 2014 final, upto that stage Donegal's plan was working perfectly and probably would have worn Kerry down. Kerry have great players coming through but they need to learn how to play against teams who don't respect their tradition and won't allow them to play on their terms. I suspect this won't be first time Galway beat Kerry over the next 5 years."
Lol!! Even if we give you that, they also knocked Tyrone out the year after. You are talking pure BS.

We have a very young team and they got beaten by a better side yesterday, hopefully they will learn from it. We are not at the required level yet. Nothing more to it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 16/07/2018 19:18:47    2122861

Whats exciting for galway supporters
is that we have a young team too
9 of the lads that played yesterday are 24 or under
4 of that 9 only 21/22
walsh ,burke ,varley ,sweeneys Flynn around 25/26
and the fact that most are not long playing at this level
means theres huge room for improvement
and that's not counting the u20 s coming along in the next few years

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 16/07/2018 20:01:37    2122875

Replying To rhudson:  "Whats exciting for galway supporters
is that we have a young team too
9 of the lads that played yesterday are 24 or under
4 of that 9 only 21/22
walsh ,burke ,varley ,sweeneys Flynn around 25/26
and the fact that most are not long playing at this level
means theres huge room for improvement
and that's not counting the u20 s coming along in the next few years"
You're not wrong but every team is young nowadays , Kerry Kildare Dublin Tyrone etc all young sides.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/07/2018 22:13:25    2122934

kerry tactically naive in todays modern game.
Think their living off their past at this stage
The days of the 1990s shoot-outs are long over

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 17/07/2018 07:02:27    2122980

Replying To dubarra:  "Think your right it looked to me that the Kerry player threw the ball along the ground with a one handed motion"
It was 100% a free out

Kerry got lucky there

He threw the ball while touching it on the ground

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/07/2018 13:19:57    2123115