Munster Final Kerry Or Cork?

Poor game - two poor teams it was like watching the 1970's again, football now is on a completely different planet to that.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 24/06/2018 14:05:17    2114193

Replying To arock:  "Poor game - two poor teams it was like watching the 1970's again, football now is on a completely different planet to that."
Yerra sure what would Kerry know about football

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/06/2018 14:21:33    2114202

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra sure what would Kerry know about football"
Kerry looked very good.Their forwards are very talented.Surely the best full forward line around.Hard to know just how bad Cork were but I think they were very bad.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 24/06/2018 15:07:04    2114215

As much as every other county.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 15:27:38    2114223

No need for anybody in Kerry to be defensive.Kerry have 37 All Ireland titles.Speaks for itself.They've always found a way to win.I think Kerry remain the far most likely team to take down and beat this fine Dublin side.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2156 - 24/06/2018 15:52:35    2114228

The most remarkable thing about the Kerry team is it's practically brand new. 5 players who started against Cork last year started last night.
We are young hungry and still learning, it may not be this year but this team has a bright future.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 24/06/2018 16:47:47    2114237

Replying To endgame:  "No need for anybody in Kerry to be defensive.Kerry have 37 All Ireland titles.Speaks for itself.They've always found a way to win.I think Kerry remain the far most likely team to take down and beat this fine Dublin side."
I think we'll have a better idea after the super 8 opener with Galway. Whoever comes out on top of that game will be in a great position to try to win that group. They beat us convincingly in the league but I'm not sure how relevant that will be. Mayo are still very much in the hunt as well but if Seamie O'Shea is out for a while now as well as parsons that's a disaster for them.

As for Kerry potentially beating Dublin, the league game in Croker where they blew our young lads away physically is still etched in my mind. It would be some turnaround if we could beat them in the championship, I suspect that with their experience and physicality they'd have too much for us just yet. Too early to be thinking about that anyway, lots of football to play in the meantime.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/06/2018 17:23:08    2114250

Replying To Jackeen:  "As much as every other county."
Yerra I suspect we know more than most, it's not as if we need 16.6million ploughed into us to make us win a few All Ireland's is it ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/06/2018 21:31:09    2114369

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I suspect we know more than most, it's not as if we need 16.6million ploughed into us to make us win a few All Ireland's is it ;D"
That's your problem down there. Ye think he know it all!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 22:27:31    2114395

Replying To westkerry:  "The most remarkable thing about the Kerry team is it's practically brand new. 5 players who started against Cork last year started last night.
We are young hungry and still learning, it may not be this year but this team has a bright future."
I worry about our bench West Kerry, we bring on a lot of ould lads that haven't much speed, dubs bring on fellas that are lightning fast.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 24/06/2018 22:35:30    2114405

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I worry about our bench West Kerry, we bring on a lot of ould lads that haven't much speed, dubs bring on fellas that are lightning fast."
Was greatly surprised to see O'Sullivan introduced at half-time. Also to see Donaghy brought on. To watch the speed and above all the skill of the other forwards in comparison make one think it was steps backwards. Delighted to see Killian Young introduced.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 25/06/2018 18:37:59    2114867

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Was greatly surprised to see O'Sullivan introduced at half-time. Also to see Donaghy brought on. To watch the speed and above all the skill of the other forwards in comparison make one think it was steps backwards. Delighted to see Killian Young introduced."
Ya I'd say killian must be like a new player at this stage and must be well rested.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/06/2018 19:26:53    2114892

Kerry were brilliant last Saturday, played some fantastic football.

However I think the difference in scoreline was enhanced by some truly breathtakingly refereeing errors by Branagan. I can't fathom how he interprets a tackle for the life of me. Two of the black cards he issued were absolutely wrong. This from the same ref who thought a Carlow kick out Vs Dublin last year that flew directly to touch was a line ball to Carlow (leading to Connollys suspension). All that training and sacrifice for nought because of an inconsistent and baffling ref. I dread seeing him taking games involving us. He allowed several serious fouls to go unpunished also????

I'd give him a black card if I was adjudicating on a refereeing panel.

Beacaire Gorm (Dublin) - Posts: 597 - 27/06/2018 09:25:28    2115722