Amateur Game???

Just wondering how the rest of u feel about this amateur game line being trotted out so often. Don't get me wrong I love the games an am appreciative of the players efforts BUT........the latest about the drug testing takes the biscuit.

All our athletes, tri athletes, badminton players, pentathletes etc are amateurs. A lot of these guys get a grant, usually peanuts, and out of this they must pay their own expenses, travel etc to their events most of which are international. They are all drug tested and mostly have to give 24/7 access to the testers and notify them of their whereabouts.

GAA players for the most part are well looked after. Medically, nutrition wise, travel expenses etc (i don't doubt there are exceptions). They are not even being asked to sign up to the same level of testing as the above mentioned athletes yet they are spouting "we have to go to work in the morning" line!

Now I realise some people will say there are no drugs in the GAA.....and hopefully you are right (even if I am dubious) but even if you are correct is now not the time to implement proper procedures to make sure it stays that way. We have wonderful games which we need to protect. There is no point implementing these procedures once the horse has bolted. Look at cycling, it has no credibility anymore.....everything is looked at with suspicion.

There is a real danger of the GAA getting infected....all you need to do is go into any gym in the country and see the amount of 15-18 year olds looking for the body beautiful, which in itself is nothing to be ashamed of, but they are all taking supplements. Not necessarily substances outlawed by WADA but many of these are borderline and it is a slippery slope.

Cop on lads. Ye have been giving out for years that ye were not being treated like proper athletes, now ye are but it comes with certain conditions!

Rant over.....enjoy the weekend:-)

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 01/06/2018 11:52:33    2106226

Replying To Mayonman:  "Just wondering how the rest of u feel about this amateur game line being trotted out so often. Don't get me wrong I love the games an am appreciative of the players efforts BUT........the latest about the drug testing takes the biscuit.

All our athletes, tri athletes, badminton players, pentathletes etc are amateurs. A lot of these guys get a grant, usually peanuts, and out of this they must pay their own expenses, travel etc to their events most of which are international. They are all drug tested and mostly have to give 24/7 access to the testers and notify them of their whereabouts.

GAA players for the most part are well looked after. Medically, nutrition wise, travel expenses etc (i don't doubt there are exceptions). They are not even being asked to sign up to the same level of testing as the above mentioned athletes yet they are spouting "we have to go to work in the morning" line!

Now I realise some people will say there are no drugs in the GAA.....and hopefully you are right (even if I am dubious) but even if you are correct is now not the time to implement proper procedures to make sure it stays that way. We have wonderful games which we need to protect. There is no point implementing these procedures once the horse has bolted. Look at cycling, it has no credibility anymore.....everything is looked at with suspicion.

There is a real danger of the GAA getting infected....all you need to do is go into any gym in the country and see the amount of 15-18 year olds looking for the body beautiful, which in itself is nothing to be ashamed of, but they are all taking supplements. Not necessarily substances outlawed by WADA but many of these are borderline and it is a slippery slope.

Cop on lads. Ye have been giving out for years that ye were not being treated like proper athletes, now ye are but it comes with certain conditions!

Rant over.....enjoy the weekend:-)"
Most of those mentioned above are amatuer in name but are full time at the sport of there choice. Use an "Amatuer" boxer for example. Most are getting between 20-50 thousand a year in grants. Its there 9-5 job. Its what they do for a living although still amatuer. Not sure any of the GAA players are receiving up to 50 grand in a sports grand i am sure if they were they would be more than willing give their home addresses. Its a complete disgrace by the sports council.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 01/06/2018 12:32:07    2106233

Replying To Mayonman:  "Just wondering how the rest of u feel about this amateur game line being trotted out so often. Don't get me wrong I love the games an am appreciative of the players efforts BUT........the latest about the drug testing takes the biscuit.

I would imagine drugs are already in the GAA. Drugs are rife in every sport but it doesn't suit anyone to catch the users and abusers.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/06/2018 12:56:49    2106244

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Most of those mentioned above are amatuer in name but are full time at the sport of there choice. Use an "Amatuer" boxer for example. Most are getting between 20-50 thousand a year in grants. Its there 9-5 job. Its what they do for a living although still amatuer. Not sure any of the GAA players are receiving up to 50 grand in a sports grand i am sure if they were they would be more than willing give their home addresses. Its a complete disgrace by the sports council."
Not true. Very few getting grants like that.

Full list available
https://www.sportireland.ie/Media/Latest_News/International-Carding-2018.pdf

But just to give you an example. This is the complete amount of funding going directly to Athletes (i.e. Athletics). There are a hell of a lot more athletes getting nothing. And even for these they are expected to compete internationally. Most have to subsidise their income. Obviously there will be one or two who are winning prize money but most of the Irish are not. Also as these are not exactly household names they don't get endorsements like the GAA lads.

Athletics Ireland Thomas Barr Podium €40,000.00
Athletics Ireland Ciara Mageean World Class €20,000.00
Athletics Ireland Fionnula McCormack World Class €20,000.00
Athletics Ireland Brian Gregan World Class €16,000.00
Athletics Ireland Mark English World Class €16,000.00
Athletics Ireland Alex Wright International €12,000.00
Athletics Ireland Brendan Boyce International €12,000.00
Athletics Ireland Christine McMahon International €12,000.00
Athletics Ireland Michelle Finn International €12,000.00
Athletics Ireland Paul Pollock International €12,000.00
Athletics Ireland Sara Treacy International €12,000.00

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 01/06/2018 13:22:57    2106256

Do you feel better now you've gotten that off of your chest ? :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 01/06/2018 13:28:09    2106257

Replying To waynoI:  "Do you feel better now you've gotten that off of your chest ? :)"
I do actually!!

It's friday need to let the steam off!!!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 01/06/2018 13:39:54    2106260

Replying To Mayonman:  "Not true. Very few getting grants like that.

Full list available

But just to give you an example. This is the complete amount of funding going directly to Athletes (i.e. Athletics). There are a hell of a lot more athletes getting nothing. And even for these they are expected to compete internationally. Most have to subsidise their income. Obviously there will be one or two who are winning prize money but most of the Irish are not. Also as these are not exactly household names they don't get endorsements like the GAA lads.

Athletics Ireland Sara Treacy International €12,000.00"
Some GAA players probably get more than that for endorsements, etc.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 01/06/2018 14:11:48    2106275

Replying To Pinkie:  "
Replying To Mayonman:  "Not true. Very few getting grants like that.

Full list available

Some GAA players probably get more than that for endorsements, etc."
What have endorsements got to do with it?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 01/06/2018 14:15:56    2106277

Replying To gotmilk:  "
Replying To Pinkie:  "[quote=Mayonman:  "Not true. Very few getting grants like that.

Full list available

Some GAA players probably get more than that for endorsements, etc."
What have endorsements got to do with it?"]Point is the vast majority of tested sports people in Ireland are amateurs. There are a few at the top who make money. Lizzie Lee, mother of 3 or 4 kids, Olympic marathon runner works full time for Apple. She gets testers calling in the middle of the night.

Suck it up. You want to play high level sport, well this is part of the deal!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 01/06/2018 17:44:12    2106328

Good & accurate post, there is no room in any sport for drug cheats, it has destroyed certain sports. The Gaa have escaped lightly on this, some under age County m'ment teams had lads taking supplements & lads were buying them on the internet, many of these had illegal substances in them. A number of underage players under went massive body changes & unexplained increases in performances in a very short period, since coming into the adult sphere where there is a greater scrutiny, these guys have suddenly disappeared. The GPA should look at amateur athletics & their scrutiny, time to suck it up. Dr May seems to have taken exception to the accuracies of the GPA statement. If people have nothing to hide they have nothing to fear & the sport only benefits.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 01/06/2018 20:52:11    2106353

Replying To moc.dna:  "Good & accurate post, there is no room in any sport for drug cheats, it has destroyed certain sports. The Gaa have escaped lightly on this, some under age County m'ment teams had lads taking supplements & lads were buying them on the internet, many of these had illegal substances in them. A number of underage players under went massive body changes & unexplained increases in performances in a very short period, since coming into the adult sphere where there is a greater scrutiny, these guys have suddenly disappeared. The GPA should look at amateur athletics & their scrutiny, time to suck it up. Dr May seems to have taken exception to the accuracies of the GPA statement. If people have nothing to hide they have nothing to fear & the sport only benefits."
Which sports have been destroyed? certainly NOT cycling which has a following in millions. I don't get this "pure" sport aspiration there is NO such thing. In an amateur sport in which there are NO contracts and NO payments to players what is the purpose of say a drug test? Go on explain it I really need to hear the mechanics of how this will IMPROVE the games we love. You talk of the body beautiful, what of the marginal Inter-county player struggling with injury? an in jury that will destroy his dream, a dream NOT of wealth, of fame but to play for his county - what a crime he should try and "play through the pain barrier". I don't get it, sorry i do get it, the GAA to get Sports Ireland grant and funding must be CLEAN - so yes a drug policy is about money. You take Budesonide/formoterol commonly known as Symbicort for the treatment of most sports induced asthma - the sport is forcing players to have to use this in increasing numbers because of the rigors and demands of the modern GAA game. Yet is a drug regime designed to protect player welfare NO it is not, it is designed to protect the monies earned in the game. BTW Symbicort is widely used with exemptions, it is worth pointing out cyclists like Froome are using dosages way way in excess of what is SAFE. So the point I ask what is the purpose of imposing a penal system that will kick an "offender" out of his/her sport? Will the abuse of these drugs enable a team to win if an individual is abusing these drugs? no, we are hypocrites were drugs are concerned.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 02/06/2018 00:55:16    2106393

Replying To arock:  "Which sports have been destroyed? certainly NOT cycling which has a following in millions. I don't get this "pure" sport aspiration there is NO such thing. In an amateur sport in which there are NO contracts and NO payments to players what is the purpose of say a drug test? Go on explain it I really need to hear the mechanics of how this will IMPROVE the games we love. You talk of the body beautiful, what of the marginal Inter-county player struggling with injury? an in jury that will destroy his dream, a dream NOT of wealth, of fame but to play for his county - what a crime he should try and "play through the pain barrier". I don't get it, sorry i do get it, the GAA to get Sports Ireland grant and funding must be CLEAN - so yes a drug policy is about money. You take Budesonide/formoterol commonly known as Symbicort for the treatment of most sports induced asthma - the sport is forcing players to have to use this in increasing numbers because of the rigors and demands of the modern GAA game. Yet is a drug regime designed to protect player welfare NO it is not, it is designed to protect the monies earned in the game. BTW Symbicort is widely used with exemptions, it is worth pointing out cyclists like Froome are using dosages way way in excess of what is SAFE. So the point I ask what is the purpose of imposing a penal system that will kick an "offender" out of his/her sport? Will the abuse of these drugs enable a team to win if an individual is abusing these drugs? no, we are hypocrites were drugs are concerned."
Maybe you are but I am certainly not an expert on drug testing. If your argument is that there should be less testing across all sports in Ireland, then fair enough. I have heard it said that we spend way too much on it in Ireland per athlete than other countries thereby having less investment in sport. I don't have enough expertise to argue against you. But if your argument is gaa should be treated differently I would strongly disagree

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 02/06/2018 09:39:00    2106410

Replying To arock:  "Which sports have been destroyed? certainly NOT cycling which has a following in millions. I don't get this "pure" sport aspiration there is NO such thing. In an amateur sport in which there are NO contracts and NO payments to players what is the purpose of say a drug test? Go on explain it I really need to hear the mechanics of how this will IMPROVE the games we love. You talk of the body beautiful, what of the marginal Inter-county player struggling with injury? an in jury that will destroy his dream, a dream NOT of wealth, of fame but to play for his county - what a crime he should try and "play through the pain barrier". I don't get it, sorry i do get it, the GAA to get Sports Ireland grant and funding must be CLEAN - so yes a drug policy is about money. You take Budesonide/formoterol commonly known as Symbicort for the treatment of most sports induced asthma - the sport is forcing players to have to use this in increasing numbers because of the rigors and demands of the modern GAA game. Yet is a drug regime designed to protect player welfare NO it is not, it is designed to protect the monies earned in the game. BTW Symbicort is widely used with exemptions, it is worth pointing out cyclists like Froome are using dosages way way in excess of what is SAFE. So the point I ask what is the purpose of imposing a penal system that will kick an "offender" out of his/her sport? Will the abuse of these drugs enable a team to win if an individual is abusing these drugs? no, we are hypocrites were drugs are concerned."
Of course it has destroyed cycling, Lance Armstrong destroyed cycling on his own & he was just at the top of the iceberg. His profile, his dominance in winning the sport was through cheating, he denied those who didn't cheat the chance of winning. Look at the lengths teams went to to win in cycling, mobile pharmacies following them. There is no need to give other examples as there are hundreds of them. Ask Sonia O Sullivan how it feels to be awarded a gold medal decades on after discovering those who cheated were exposed, sadly in most sports nowadays even at amateur level there are those cheats, you acknowledge this in your opening line. As for body beautiful, your words not mine, read again. Yes it is about money as the Gaa players are getting money from Sports Ireland regardless of how small it may seem, it is from public funds, so they are being asked to follow the protocols as other athletes do. I repeat again, when people have nothing to hide or to fear then openness & transparency is only good for sport & society. I take your point on Asthma sufferers which you seem very strong about & yes allowances must be made, but there must be limits. The Gaa adopt the usual stance on this, very little information, bury their head in the sand & hope nothing arises, everyone knows guys who are at this & who have been not caught, the Gaa are only a step away from a major expose in terms of testing. Let's say a team that wins an All Ireland has a player tested positive, how long do you think sponsors will have their name associated with cheating, how about the team mates who are clean who will also have their victory tarnished by association, what of the beaten finalists who are beaten by somebody giving themselves an illegal edge. There is no defence or justification or excuse for defending cheating & drug testing should only be welcomed in order to protect those who are honest & compete honestly.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 02/06/2018 09:41:51    2106411

The other sports are not amateur! They do not make money because they are not good enough or there is not enough money in the sport to make a living.

I gave no real time for the GPA but they are right that at the last minute 2017 payments are held up because of this.

Also remember in Athletics, cycling etc drug use is institutional and supported (covered up) by the organising sports body.

And don't believe this rubbish it's just the Russians.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 02/06/2018 11:34:47    2106432

Replying To witnof:  "The other sports are not amateur! They do not make money because they are not good enough or there is not enough money in the sport to make a living.

I gave no real time for the GPA but they are right that at the last minute 2017 payments are held up because of this.

Also remember in Athletics, cycling etc drug use is institutional and supported (covered up) by the organising sports body.

And don't believe this rubbish it's just the Russians."
No one is arguing about the organised cover up by governing bodies, that has never entered the debate here. As for amateur bodies, look up the list of amateur sports on Sports Ireland that are in receipt of funding & have to adhere to testing. Read Ian O Riordan's article in the Irish Times in relation to this also, it gives a good detailed insight. The GPA are way off the mark on this, they as a body representing just over 2,000 players are doing very well out of the Gaa in comparison to the 500,000 plus members of the Association who are treated like crap in comparison. The GPA want everything their own way, when representative bodies such as GPA have nothing to hide, they should welcome testing & transparency. This country has been hindered by decades of hiding things in all spheres of society which caused much damage to people. Only the cheats fear openness & transparency & have anything to hide.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 02/06/2018 16:39:15    2106502

By definition the meaning of Amateur as we all know is, - - -
"a person who engages in a pursuit, especially a sport, on an unpaid basis"
The fact that GAA players get grants, travelling expenses however small, or kit gear expenses, still keeps them part and parcel of the Amateur status, so where's all this leading to, well look at it this way, if I was a player today I would walk away from it sooner than provide my home address for a drug testing exercise, perhaps in a health centre, clubhouse even, or some other convenient place yes, but not in my home, I would consider it a gross invasion of family home privacy, my home is not alone mine but other family members as well, so in my view it would require their signature also. Once those flood gates are open, they are open for thousands of other Amateurs,semi professionals, semi skilled, etc, etc. to be tested in their own home, how dare they suggest the sanctuary of ones home be a test centre for illegal substances of any description or prescription for that matter, how dare they. This cliché that's often so loosely used, "when people have nothing to hide or to fear then openness & transparency is only good for sport & society" it is used like in this case, used to excite the debate / argument, when clearly there is no argument for this "threat" sign up or sign off.
The point of rejection for me is, the family home being a test centre, nothing more and nothing less,
other than the thought, - - - Only the cheats fear openness & transparency & have anything to hide, "People in glass houses and all that."is my response to that.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 02/06/2018 17:57:47    2106519

A poster talking about GAA players wishing to be considered as 'proper athletes' left me wondering what a 'proper athlete' is. Even Google failed to come up with an answer.
It would be naive to believe that drug use is not rife withing the GAA and has been since S & C became popular in training programmes. People may feel that, since Gaelic Games are not played at International level, players should not be tested. However, I feel that drug testing is very important to protect players' health.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/06/2018 21:37:08    2106588

It's a very tricky one. Unlike probably most posters here I have benefitted from GPA grants in the past, it was not life changing sums of money but was a nice boost as it was usually paid at Christmas time. There is no way I would agree to signing up to a scheme where I had to confirm where I was every night, I'd happily forfeit the money rather than do that. If I'm not at the address provided I believe it is the equivalent of failing a test and I would then be suspended. But then if it was announced in the media that I did not agree to drug testing procedures there would immediately be suspicions about me also. Home drug testing seems to be appropriate for some athletes but for GAA teams who train 4 times a week collectively and can be tested at the sessions it seems totally unnecessary. I have no idea about PEDs but imagine none of the ones that work would leave a players system in less than 48 hours?

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 02/06/2018 23:00:07    2106611

It's a very simple question. Should GAA players be treated differently to other elite Irish amateur athletes.

In my opinion no! There seems to be a certain story being spun that all other sports are professional or getting big money grants. And ya in some cases that is true but not in the vast majority. The O'Donovan brothers get €40k each. Today it was reported they had to but their own boat, ship it to Austria and sort out their own travel for a world cup event all at their Owen expense. This is the real world lads. Olympic medallists and they just get on with it.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 04/06/2018 00:31:47    2107120

The bottom line or contentious issue again is being tested in the family home, I would make myself available to be tested anytime, day or night 24/7 but not in the family home, so I'm told.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 05/06/2018 09:05:02    2107552