Meath V Tyrone

Replying To The_Fridge:  "McEntee was upset about the penalty. Not the free. Tyrone and Meath were both victims of inconsistent refereeing. Time to move on."
He was upset about both and many other decisions in between, he made that very clear post match

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 12:17:12    2109891

Replying To Richieq:  "Bull........it was the most blatant push in the back you could see and he was 5 yards from it, I was halfway up the terrace and I could see it as could everyone around me including two Tyrone supporters could see it. There was no doubt, no grey area, no uncertainty it was a free in all day long and if it was a Dublin player tackled like that in Croke Park in the dying seconds of an All Ireland Final I'm sure you wouldn't need slow motion replays to help make up your mind on whether it was a free or not. The free count was 30-19 to Tyrone and some of the calls the referee made were utterly mind boggling, we don't want, or need, him to be superhuman we just want him to be human!!!!!"
Yes it was a free but that situation has been replicated in every game of football ever played and will be replicated in every game that ever will be played. You get some, you don't get others. Simple stuff.

People really need to grow up regarding refereeing decisions. Peoples reactions to them are pathetic, like McEntee on Saturday night. He's a grown man. It's not like he has never seen it happen before both for and against him!

The ref is human, that's exactly what you got. Meath benefited from some of his mistakes and Tyrone benefited from others. Just like in every other game that has ever been played.

Refereeing mistakes happen, you'd really think people would have copped on to that by now. Meath were unlucky in that particular instance, whereas they got lucky in other instances.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 11/06/2018 12:19:06    2109892

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep. It wasn't even debatable. It was clear cut. And he was close by. It was either blatant favoritism or incompetence. Either way it's a disgrace."
Yeah it should've been a free but it wasn't given. Just like plenty of other decisions both ways in every game ever played.

The ref didn't see it that way in the split second he had to make the call. That's all.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 11/06/2018 12:20:56    2109894

Replying To royaldunne:  "I'll say this. I wish David coldrick of Meath a great game on Sunday. And not one bad word about him afterwards. Regardless:)"
Hopefully he has a good game, The Derry manager wasnt happy with him at the weekend anyway from reading his comments after the game.

It could have been better if we got Gough but my god it could have been a hell of a lot worse if we had Reilly at the weekend

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 11/06/2018 12:42:59    2109913

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "of course he won't...maybe we should offer them a replay..the whinging is deafening at this stage...remember 96 and when we were told to dry our eyes...the shoe is on the other foot now"
Hold on a second, Meath have never got it easy from Refs, & you can only remember 1 instance where ref went against ye, we have a track record of dis allowed goals, penalties not been given and just bad reffing attitude towards Meath in general. When have you ever heard us "whinge" about a refs decisions before, when have you ever seen a Meath Manager lose his cool with a ref like Saturday...i will tell you...never! And this my good man is because we never had reason to cos we accept that the Ref is right even when wrong, but the lack of respect he showed for the Meath team & supporters was nothing short of a disgrace. Forgetting how appalling he was in extra time, he played on past the 5mins injury time, to allow Tyrone get the equalising point.

But don't worry we will dry our eyes and come back better and stronger next year.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/06/2018 12:56:52    2109916

Replying To giveitlong:  "Ref's seem very reluctant to be in charge of an "upset". A week ago Tipp hurlers were expected (in the eyes of the bookies) to have a handy win due to Waterford being struck with a string of injured players. Waterford were robbed in most peoples eyes. Tyrone were 2/7 to win this fixture as they are considered a top 4 side (by the bookies) . Meath were robbed. I think refs are afraid they are having a bad game if the "outsider" is winning, same in club games."
I agree 100% with you, the underdog very rarely get the close calls. If the so called underdog is leading the mentality appears to be that something is wrong and that he is the cause of it.

However I must admit that Derek McGrath has come out the "ref gate" with a lot more dignity than our man. Thanks in particular to Cillian O'Sullivan for his immediate intervention as the referee left the pitch. You are a fine footballer, Cillian, and even a better man.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 11/06/2018 13:13:53    2109923

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yes it was a free but that situation has been replicated in every game of football ever played and will be replicated in every game that ever will be played. You get some, you don't get others. Simple stuff.

People really need to grow up regarding refereeing decisions. Peoples reactions to them are pathetic, like McEntee on Saturday night. He's a grown man. It's not like he has never seen it happen before both for and against him!

The ref is human, that's exactly what you got. Meath benefited from some of his mistakes and Tyrone benefited from others. Just like in every other game that has ever been played.

Refereeing mistakes happen, you'd really think people would have copped on to that by now. Meath were unlucky in that particular instance, whereas they got lucky in other instances."
If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 13:40:49    2109933

Meath should have had a free at the end.

They also should have seen the game out when they had a 1 point lead with seconds to go and let Tyrone back into it.

They also shouldn't have had a free for a throw ball when Cathal McShane was pulled up for throwing when the meath man was holding his arm.

Thought the ref was poor, to both sides.

But the failings of Meath lost them the game not the referee. Their inability and inexperience showed when in injury time. Watch Dublin's Dean rock hit the winning free in last years all Ireland, Straight after that ball went over the bar and in the 2-3 minutes afterwards you saw 3 things happen

1) The Dublin players get stuck into the Mayo lads, therefore having the kick out slowed down so everyone can get back into position. (People on here slaughtered that tactic, but no Meath fan would have cared if they done something similar and got a huge win against Tyrone) We did what we had to do and although no one likes to see it, if its your own team you wont care and that's a fact.

2) We remained alert all over the pitch and we pushed up on their kickout, Clarke was forced to go long and Ciaran Kilkenny won it in midfield out on the cusack stand side of the field. Meaths players, watch it back, they weren't facing the ball.

3) we kept possession of the football for 80 seconds, we didn't panic. We believed we had the game won, we trusted in our ability to keep ball and see it out that our experience in those situations counted for.

Meath done none of those things. They weren't streetwise like the top teams are and they will hopefully learn from it from their point of view.

For a manager to go and have a go at a ref, its not good. But can understand the frustration of McEntee, he was looking for someone to blame and as usual the referee gets the brunt of it, But Meaths inexperience cost them its simple as that

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/06/2018 13:43:48    2109935

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep. It wasn't even debatable. It was clear cut. And he was close by. It was either blatant favoritism or incompetence. Either way it's a disgrace."
RoyalDunne going hammer and tongs at the referee, I don't know how many posts he has put up here, but the cooler Meath heads are reflecting on the moments where we really lost this game. So I will again remind him, it was about one minute fro the end of extra time in normal time when Graham Reilly fumbled the ball and lost possession virtually in the middle of the pitch with plenty of opportunities to lay the ball off to a colleague. Tyrone went on to score the equalizer. Yes RD that was the moment that lost the game but you are a big fan of Graham's as we all know, and he has contributed significantly to Meath over the years but I am afraid he will come out of this a bit like Paddy Cullen, is it his great penalty save against Galway or the goal he conceded to Mikey Sheehy in '78? It will always be the latter. Move on we will have other games to play and referees to contend with so give them a break, I am sure Paddy Neilan is having a bad enough few days.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 11/06/2018 13:47:05    2109938

The ref was just poor full stop. Both sides can feel hard done by over decisions. Just happens Meath ones were nearer the end of the game. His use or non use of the advantage rule was bad all through the game.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 11/06/2018 13:49:24    2109940

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Hold on a second, Meath have never got it easy from Refs, & you can only remember 1 instance where ref went against ye, we have a track record of dis allowed goals, penalties not been given and just bad reffing attitude towards Meath in general. When have you ever heard us "whinge" about a refs decisions before, when have you ever seen a Meath Manager lose his cool with a ref like Saturday...i will tell you...never! And this my good man is because we never had reason to cos we accept that the Ref is right even when wrong, but the lack of respect he showed for the Meath team & supporters was nothing short of a disgrace. Forgetting how appalling he was in extra time, he played on past the 5mins injury time, to allow Tyrone get the equalising point.

But don't worry we will dry our eyes and come back better and stronger next year."
He played avout 30 second past the 5 minute mark and rightly so it happens in a lot of games its a minimum of 5 minutes and when Meath had a free in injury time the kicker took over a minute before taking it which was rightly added on.
Every team in the country can go back through History and give examples of where decisions went against them.
The ref had a terrible day Saturday but he was bad for both teams and gave bad calls against both teams, The free at the end should have been a free but so could numerous challenges through out the game. The challenge was just inside the 45 there is nothing to say Meath would have scored it with Brennan off the field. So take off the blinkers the ref was poor but too both teams and Meath should have been better in the last few minutes when a point up both on the line and on the pitch

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 11/06/2018 14:15:02    2109954

Replying To MillerX:  "RoyalDunne going hammer and tongs at the referee, I don't know how many posts he has put up here, but the cooler Meath heads are reflecting on the moments where we really lost this game. So I will again remind him, it was about one minute fro the end of extra time in normal time when Graham Reilly fumbled the ball and lost possession virtually in the middle of the pitch with plenty of opportunities to lay the ball off to a colleague. Tyrone went on to score the equalizer. Yes RD that was the moment that lost the game but you are a big fan of Graham's as we all know, and he has contributed significantly to Meath over the years but I am afraid he will come out of this a bit like Paddy Cullen, is it his great penalty save against Galway or the goal he conceded to Mikey Sheehy in '78? It will always be the latter. Move on we will have other games to play and referees to contend with so give them a break, I am sure Paddy Neilan is having a bad enough few days."
Ah now come on dont think its fair to pin this on Biggy. The ref decided to play on for whatever reason after the 5 minutes were up to allow play continue up field until Tyrone got that equalising score. Biggy has put his blood sweat and tears into this team. He has served us well and i do hope we will see him back next year. But for now we will do what we do best, brush ourselves down and look forward to next year and concentrate on Club for now.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/06/2018 14:21:54    2109960

If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......
Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3126 - 11/06/2018 13:40:49

Of course I think Connolly's actions were pathetic. He was rightly banned for it. What type of come back is that meant to be? Giving out to the linesman over a line ball. Come on man. Pathetic.

This has nothing to do with county allegiances. It's about pathetic, idiotic behaviour. Both Connolly and McEntee's behaviour was such.

I find all giving out about referees to be, almost every single time, pathetic. Because that's what it is. I stand on the hill and hear the same people roaring at the referee over every call. Complaining and roaring in a refs face is idiotic and pathetic.

The ref making a mistake is unfair on the players and management teams? Come off it. It happens all the time in every game. You know before you go on the field that the referee will make mistakes both for you and against you. You're supposed to be an adult and should behave like one. These are the best referees we have, like it or not.

Is every mistake made by a player or manager then unfair on the players and management? That's children's logic of screaming 'it's not fair' when something goes against you. I think we can all aim a little higher than that.

You get some decisions, you don't get others. Deal with it like and adult rather than throwing a tantrum like McEntee, who was lucky his players were on hand to make sure the situation didn't escalate. Well done to them. O'Sullivan was defo one.

I say this regardless of county allegiance and will say the same about any Dubs, players, supporters etc that cry about the refereeing.

It's pathetic and makes those that do it look like petulant idiots.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 11/06/2018 14:51:56    2109979

Replying To MillerX:  "I agree 100% with you, the underdog very rarely get the close calls. If the so called underdog is leading the mentality appears to be that something is wrong and that he is the cause of it.

However I must admit that Derek McGrath has come out the "ref gate" with a lot more dignity than our man. Thanks in particular to Cillian O'Sullivan for his immediate intervention as the referee left the pitch. You are a fine footballer, Cillian, and even a better man."
Fair play ot O Sullivan, dont know where he got the energy from after amount of effeort he put in over entire match, No plan B as usual, lads were expected to constantly break from defence, in the heat of Sat evening there needed to be the option of quick ball into forwards just to give lads a chance to catch their breath. Not an option if you have entire team behind ball. Nothing learned from Longford game.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2133 - 11/06/2018 15:25:36    2110007

I normally find it's the people who don't have a clue about football who roar and pin blame on the ref. Getting beat, blame the ref, rinse and repeat.
I would agree with most of the views above, ref poor for both teams, it was a free at the end, penalty call was correct. He give a free to Meath to go one up that was very debatable.
Il be honest, I like McEntee, I think he should be given another year, the players let him down against Longford but raised their performance levels against Tyrone and were unlucky not to win. However his actions after the game were embarrassing. I felt sorry for O'Sullivan(MOTM in my opinion)who had to hold him back. And crying during his interview after the game. It was like a Kevin Keegan moment. People will say "look at the passion" but players look at things differently and if I was a player I would of been embarrassed.
If you look at how Derek McGrath, in his final few games as a county manager, handled himself I would be taking a left out of his book. And he had a lot more to feel aggrieved about.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/06/2018 15:44:14    2110019

Replying To MesAmis:  "If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......

Of course I think Connolly's actions were pathetic. He was rightly banned for it. What type of come back is that meant to be? Giving out to the linesman over a line ball. Come on man. Pathetic.

This has nothing to do with county allegiances. It's about pathetic, idiotic behaviour. Both Connolly and McEntee's behaviour was such.

I find all giving out about referees to be, almost every single time, pathetic. Because that's what it is. I stand on the hill and hear the same people roaring at the referee over every call. Complaining and roaring in a refs face is idiotic and pathetic.

The ref making a mistake is unfair on the players and management teams? Come off it. It happens all the time in every game. You know before you go on the field that the referee will make mistakes both for you and against you. You're supposed to be an adult and should behave like one. These are the best referees we have, like it or not.

Is every mistake made by a player or manager then unfair on the players and management? That's children's logic of screaming 'it's not fair' when something goes against you. I think we can all aim a little higher than that.

You get some decisions, you don't get others. Deal with it like and adult rather than throwing a tantrum like McEntee, who was lucky his players were on hand to make sure the situation didn't escalate. Well done to them. O'Sullivan was defo one.

I say this regardless of county allegiance and will say the same about any Dubs, players, supporters etc that cry about the refereeing.

It's pathetic and makes those that do it look like petulant idiots."
Very seldom do I give out about refs or officials because rarely have I seen one cock up as bad as last Saturday. Now before I continue let me state the following;

1) Meath execution of certain things wasn't what it should have been, yes they should have seen the game out in normal time and yes they should have extended the one point lead

2) Yes the referee made bad calls for both sides, that was clearly visible and acknowledged

But the decision at the end, in my view, is unforgivable and I don't feel pathetic in any way shape or form for criticising an inter county referee who did not have the ability to call a blatant foul not 5 yards in front of him. Should McEntee have reacted the way he did, no he shouldn't, do I blame him? No because he, and his players, have parked their lives for two years to try and bring this team back up the ladder and a win on Saturday night, just like last year v Donegal, would have been a huge boost and the type of win this Meath team so desperately needs to progress itself. Yes Meath can look at themselves and things they should or shouldn't have done but as McEntee said afterwards players will pay the price for their mistakes, what price will the referee pay for his mistakes?? Each incident, a bad wide, a poor tackle, a misplaced pass etc will be judged and the influence of those incidents are discussed in the context of the game, you can recover and make amends for such errors but a referees mistake can be fatal to any team and an error like the one last Saturday night, like the one in Thurles the week before, is in my view unforgivable in 2018. Given the efforts that players and management put in nowadays getting clear basic calls like that right has to be a given, I accept mistakes can be made due to obstructed view or miscommunication or mistake of identity or being too far behind the play but there were no such influences in this decision. The only reason Meath weren't awarded that free at the end is because of incompetence, panic or fear, or just old fashioned bias in the part of the referee, I hope the latter is not the case, and that is not acceptable nowadays. I travel from Donegal to every Meath match I can, I was in Thurles and Roscommon for league matches and Longford just over two weeks back and I can accept us being beaten when it's our fault, down to playing badly or making our own mistakes etc no problem whatsoever, I've got used to it, but I cannot and will not accept us suffering losing a chance to equalise the game and go into further extra time because the referee couldn't blow the whistle for one of the most straight forward and simplest decisions he had to make all day.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 15:48:41    2110023

Replying To Richieq:  "
Replying To MesAmis:  "If you haven't the capacity to make a call on a blatant foul 5 yards in front of you then you shouldn't be there, it's unfair on players, management teams supports and indeed the official himself if he's putting himself in a position where he can't react to the most basic and simplist of decisions, there is no excuse here, no reasonable out for him. Seeing as you feel McEntee's reaction to a match official was pathetic I would presume and your brethren would feel Connolly's reaction to a linesman lady year was just as pathetic if not worse seeing as he actually made contact with him, you could do with educating some of your own about reacting to match officials rather than coming on here and telling us......

It's pathetic and makes those that do it look like petulant idiots."
Very seldom do I give out about refs or officials because rarely have I seen one cock up as bad as last Saturday. Now before I continue let me state the following;

1) Meath execution of certain things wasn't what it should have been, yes they should have seen the game out in normal time and yes they should have extended the one point lead

2) Yes the referee made bad calls for both sides, that was clearly visible and acknowledged

But the decision at the end, in my view, is unforgivable and I don't feel pathetic in any way shape or form for criticising an inter county referee who did not have the ability to call a blatant foul not 5 yards in front of him. Should McEntee have reacted the way he did, no he shouldn't, do I blame him? No because he, and his players, have parked their lives for two years to try and bring this team back up the ladder and a win on Saturday night, just like last year v Donegal, would have been a huge boost and the type of win this Meath team so desperately needs to progress itself. Yes Meath can look at themselves and things they should or shouldn't have done but as McEntee said afterwards players will pay the price for their mistakes, what price will the referee pay for his mistakes?? Each incident, a bad wide, a poor tackle, a misplaced pass etc will be judged and the influence of those incidents are discussed in the context of the game, you can recover and make amends for such errors but a referees mistake can be fatal to any team and an error like the one last Saturday night, like the one in Thurles the week before, is in my view unforgivable in 2018. Given the efforts that players and management put in nowadays getting clear basic calls like that right has to be a given, I accept mistakes can be made due to obstructed view or miscommunication or mistake of identity or being too far behind the play but there were no such influences in this decision. The only reason Meath weren't awarded that free at the end is because of incompetence, panic or fear, or just old fashioned bias in the part of the referee, I hope the latter is not the case, and that is not acceptable nowadays. I travel from Donegal to every Meath match I can, I was in Thurles and Roscommon for league matches and Longford just over two weeks back and I can accept us being beaten when it's our fault, down to playing badly or making our own mistakes etc no problem whatsoever, I've got used to it, but I cannot and will not accept us suffering losing a chance to equalise the game and go into further extra time because the referee couldn't blow the whistle for one of the most straight forward and simplest decisions he had to make all day."
Richieq it is pathetic becuase you lost that game to a free badly taken and **** poor defending at the end.

It WAS Meaths fault you needed a free at the end to win it not the refs fault for not given it!

Its like the people who blame the ref for Meath's win in 2010 but forget how bad Louth were in the last 10 minutes to let Meath comeback into it.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 11/06/2018 16:01:32    2110031

The main problem I have with the ref on the final call was that he was calling that foul all day. I thought it was overfussy and a classic example of a boxticker.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 11/06/2018 16:03:04    2110032

It's not as if either team would do anything other than make a show of themselves as soon as they meet a real contender anyway. That's a limited Tyrone team, which was understrength on the day. If you're struggling to beat Tyrone at the weekend, the reality is you're better off out of it anyway.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 11/06/2018 16:08:07    2110036

Replying To witnof:  "Very seldom do I give out about refs or officials because rarely have I seen one cock up as bad as last Saturday. Now before I continue let me state the following;

But the decision at the end, in my view, is unforgivable and I don't feel pathetic in any way shape or form for criticising an inter county referee who did not have the ability to call a blatant foul not 5 yards in front of him. Should McEntee have reacted the way he did, no he shouldn't, do I blame him? No because he, and his players, have parked their lives for two years to try and bring this team back up the ladder and a win on Saturday night, just like last year v Donegal, would have been a huge boost and the type of win this Meath team so desperately needs to progress itself. Yes Meath can look at themselves and things they should or shouldn't have done but as McEntee said afterwards players will pay the price for their mistakes, what price will the referee pay for his mistakes?? Each incident, a bad wide, a poor tackle, a misplaced pass etc will be judged and the influence of those incidents are discussed in the context of the game, you can recover and make amends for such errors but a referees mistake can be fatal to any team and an error like the one last Saturday night, like the one in Thurles the week before, is in my view unforgivable in 2018. Given the efforts that players and management put in nowadays getting clear basic calls like that right has to be a given, I accept mistakes can be made due to obstructed view or miscommunication or mistake of identity or being too far behind the play but there were no such influences in this decision. The only reason Meath weren't awarded that free at the end is because of incompetence, panic or fear, or just old fashioned bias in the part of the referee, I hope the latter is not the case, and that is not acceptable nowadays. I travel from Donegal to every Meath match I can, I was in Thurles and Roscommon for league matches and Longford just over two weeks back and I can accept us being beaten when it's our fault, down to playing badly or making our own mistakes etc no problem whatsoever, I've got used to it, but I cannot and will not accept us suffering losing a chance to equalise the game and go into further extra time because the referee couldn't blow the whistle for one of the most straight forward and simplest decisions he had to make all day."
Richieq it is pathetic becuase you lost that game to a free badly taken and **** poor defending at the end.

It WAS Meaths fault you needed a free at the end to win it not the refs fault for not given it!

Its like the people who blame the ref for Meath's win in 2010 but forget how bad Louth were in the last 10 minutes to let Meath comeback into it."]So let me get this straight, we can give the ref a pass on a brutally bad call because we didn't win the match in normal time!!!!!! Because we missed a free and didn't clamp the game down???? That's gives the ref a right and an allowance to make such a poor call??? Jesus sir with logic like that you should certainly be employed in Croke Park with a top notch salary, I salute you.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 16:32:32    2110070