Meath V Tyrone

Replying To The_Fridge:  "So it wasn't a penalty. Will McEntee come out and apologise to the ref? Think not"
And the free at the end?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 08:03:21    2109703

You'd be worried about McEntee on the sideline if he has to be held back by his own players to stop him having a go at the referee. Not a great look for him.

It took me a couple of slow motion replays to see that Meath should've had a free in at the death. The ref isn't superhuman lads, he had a split second the make the call.

As for the penalty. I've seen it several times in slow motion since and still can't see whether the foul occurred inside or outside the box.

As in every single game of football (or any sport for that matter), you get some calls and you don't get others. On Saturday night Meath got some calls and didn't get others, the same as Tyrone.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 11/06/2018 08:09:50    2109704

It is not good enough that GAA holds against having a video ref. Also the system of appointing referees is poor. Yesterday Maurice Deegan gave a straight red for a rough challenge on the dublin Goalie. Even though it was well outside the square where the goalie is deemed to have no more protection than an outfield player.
Again no problem if he was anyway consistent and punished Cooper for his carry on.Yet younger better sharper fairer referees will not be brought in to replace him.

At this stage we should stop blaming referees and blame those responsible for appointing them.
Situation within Meath even more ridiculous

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 11/06/2018 09:41:20    2109740

Replying To The_Fridge:  "So it wasn't a penalty. Will McEntee come out and apologise to the ref? Think not"
No he will not. He ate the ref after the game because he felt his decisions cost Meath the game. I wonder does he attack himself like he did the ref as i have never seen him do so and all the decisions he has made that have cost Meath the game. 20% win record in championship football must be the worst ever for a Meath manager involved in 5 championship games

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 11/06/2018 09:44:58    2109743

The Ref did not decide the result. We would be better off working out how on 3 occasions Tyrone ran thru our defence and missed three easy goal chances- same as league. I did think the incident near the end was a free in. The Ref appeared to not understand the advantage rule and his interpretation would have cost Tyrone what looked like a clear cut goal opportunity. As a previous poster correctly said the penalty incident was never a penalty and anyone at the match could see that for themselves as the Ref had his hand up. Thought the RTE analysis was poor as usual- not sure what version the watch.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/06/2018 09:51:17    2109748

Replying To royaldunne:  "Now all slagging aside. Do you see the logic in what some are saying? That cause a Meath ref made a balls of a game between kerry and mayo, that it's alright for another ref to do same in game involving Meath. And no one can complain. Honestly how the hell does that make sense. ??"
Collective amnesia in Meath...ye were very quiet when Big Joe threw the ball over the line against the Wee county a few years back...move on

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1076 - 11/06/2018 09:53:06    2109752

Replying To moros:  "Collective amnesia in Meath...ye were very quiet when Big Joe threw the ball over the line against the Wee county a few years back...move on"
The situation is unsatisfactory and shows the GAa to place treatment of players very far down the list of priorities. They put in a huge effort to get themselves up to a level of giving a performance that the gaa richly profit from by Gate receipts,TV rights,Sponsorship, etc. Then are crushed by the failure to provide a proper system of officiating at their games. Not to mention the added risk of harm/injury. This applies regardless of the County involved.

Maybe the GPA needs to flex muscle, Become a tough to deal with organisation. And rock the boat a bit by calling an occasional lighting strike when tv cameras are at the ready, Or a walk out after bad decisions. I would think team managers would support them.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 11/06/2018 10:27:42    2109772

Replying To moros:  "Collective amnesia in Meath...ye were very quiet when Big Joe threw the ball over the line against the Wee county a few years back...move on"
Well that's a lie. Not one Meath person I have ever spoke to said that goal should have stood. Actually just proves my point about refs costing teams games.
But Meath should just accept Saturday without a word cause a TYRONE ref (ironically) got a call wrong. And 8 years later that should still be seen as evening out things? Yeah pathetic viewpoint

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 10:48:26    2109788

Replying To royaldunne:  "And the free at the end?"
Should have been a free.

So one really bad decision and the ref needs protection from the manager? And as you said yourself its lucky the fans couldnt get out of stand at the ref. Really?? Meath fans need get over themselves. It should have been at free at the end. Tyrone should have been given advantage when they had goal chance, The ref had an extremely bad day but dont give me Meath were robbed bull.

Is McEntee championship record one of the worst ever for a Meath manager who played 5 or more championship games? 20% win rate is very bad for a county like Meath in a time when Leinster football is weak. Furlong may be able to answer

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 11/06/2018 11:07:27    2109813

Replying To MesAmis:  "You'd be worried about McEntee on the sideline if he has to be held back by his own players to stop him having a go at the referee. Not a great look for him.

It took me a couple of slow motion replays to see that Meath should've had a free in at the death. The ref isn't superhuman lads, he had a split second the make the call.

As for the penalty. I've seen it several times in slow motion since and still can't see whether the foul occurred inside or outside the box.

As in every single game of football (or any sport for that matter), you get some calls and you don't get others. On Saturday night Meath got some calls and didn't get others, the same as Tyrone."
Bull........it was the most blatant push in the back you could see and he was 5 yards from it, I was halfway up the terrace and I could see it as could everyone around me including two Tyrone supporters could see it. There was no doubt, no grey area, no uncertainty it was a free in all day long and if it was a Dublin player tackled like that in Croke Park in the dying seconds of an All Ireland Final I'm sure you wouldn't need slow motion replays to help make up your mind on whether it was a free or not. The free count was 30-19 to Tyrone and some of the calls the referee made were utterly mind boggling, we don't want, or need, him to be superhuman we just want him to be human!!!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 11:25:25    2109836

Replying To royaldunne:  "And the free at the end?"
McEntee was upset about the penalty. Not the free. Tyrone and Meath were both victims of inconsistent refereeing. Time to move on.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/06/2018 11:30:43    2109841

Replying To Ashrules:  "The situation is unsatisfactory and shows the GAa to place treatment of players very far down the list of priorities. They put in a huge effort to get themselves up to a level of giving a performance that the gaa richly profit from by Gate receipts,TV rights,Sponsorship, etc. Then are crushed by the failure to provide a proper system of officiating at their games. Not to mention the added risk of harm/injury. This applies regardless of the County involved.

Maybe the GPA needs to flex muscle, Become a tough to deal with organisation. And rock the boat a bit by calling an occasional lighting strike when tv cameras are at the ready, Or a walk out after bad decisions. I would think team managers would support them."
The GPA won't rock the boat. They get paid to much.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 11/06/2018 11:34:22    2109844

The game of the championship so far, both teams went hammers and tongs at it. Meath were very unlucky, probably should have won it in regulation time but a great equalizer from Cathal McShane. Cillian O'Sullivan is a brilliant player, just a real handful for any defence. Hopefully Meath can build in this performance for next year. If they can perform like this on a consistent basis they could be back in business.

Thought Tyrone showed great character, even though things were not going their way they really dug in and got a result. Mickey O'Neill is a much steadier keeper than Morgan and Frank Burns is playing great stuff. The biggest problem for Tyrone is the amount of wides, even the brilliant Conor McAlliskey was struggling to kick scores near the end. If they can avoid Mayo, then Tyrone should make the Super 8s abd they could be dangerous opponents there. Colm Cavanagh looks totally out of sorts, must be a difficult time for him stuggling with fitness and his brother openly criticizing his manager. There wasn't much to the Tiernan McCann sending off, was it not more a yellow card? Granted it was a stupid thing to do.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 11/06/2018 11:34:46    2109845

Replying To Richieq:  "Bull........it was the most blatant push in the back you could see and he was 5 yards from it, I was halfway up the terrace and I could see it as could everyone around me including two Tyrone supporters could see it. There was no doubt, no grey area, no uncertainty it was a free in all day long and if it was a Dublin player tackled like that in Croke Park in the dying seconds of an All Ireland Final I'm sure you wouldn't need slow motion replays to help make up your mind on whether it was a free or not. The free count was 30-19 to Tyrone and some of the calls the referee made were utterly mind boggling, we don't want, or need, him to be superhuman we just want him to be human!!!!!"
It was 100% a free for the push on Jamesy McEntee but the referee was terrible for both teams (not just Meath). Some of his decisions were unbelievable but in fairness he did get the penalty call correct.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 11/06/2018 11:38:38    2109850

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Should have been a free.

So one really bad decision and the ref needs protection from the manager? And as you said yourself its lucky the fans couldnt get out of stand at the ref. Really?? Meath fans need get over themselves. It should have been at free at the end. Tyrone should have been given advantage when they had goal chance, The ref had an extremely bad day but dont give me Meath were robbed bull.

Is McEntee championship record one of the worst ever for a Meath manager who played 5 or more championship games? 20% win rate is very bad for a county like Meath in a time when Leinster football is weak. Furlong may be able to answer"
I think most Meath fans realize that we weren't robbed, yes it should have been a free at the end and given that it happened right at the end, it was always likely to rile the crowd and the manager. But the free wasn't given, simple as that and we only have ourselves to blame for losing the game, we were a point up with seconds left and we let Tyrone equalize, would they have let us equalize if the roles were reversed? would they ****!! The ref can't be blamed for Tyrone scoring an equalizer in open play, no excuses here.

As for McEntee, I have no idea if it's the poorest record or not, to be honest I don't think it's even constructive to focus in on it. The man should be given another year to try and improve things, for all his flaws (I don't agree with running on to the pitch and abusing an official), he's not a bad manager. Some in Meath will want him out, some never wanted him in, but for me he's clearly passionate about Meath football, he works like a dog and demands the same from his players, so look give him another year.

If we fail to improve next year or worse, go further back then it probably would be time to call it a day, but chopping and changing managers every other year won't bring stability to any team.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/06/2018 11:41:00    2109852

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Typical Tyrone, winning again even though most Tyrone fans cant bear the management and team set up. Typical Down....ermm typical Down going nowhere."
Agree and with all the Down anti Tyrone brigade out in force again this season - I wonder how proud they are of their own team - didn't they do well yesterday against 14 men?

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 11/06/2018 11:42:05    2109853

Replying To MesAmis:  "You'd be worried about McEntee on the sideline if he has to be held back by his own players to stop him having a go at the referee. Not a great look for him.

As in every single game of football (or any sport for that matter), you get some calls and you don't get others. On Saturday night Meath got some calls and didn't get others, the same as Tyrone."
I disagree Mes that's the easiest most straight forward free you can call, it was disgraceful from the referee not calling that one.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 11/06/2018 11:55:10    2109866

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Should have been a free.

Is McEntee championship record one of the worst ever for a Meath manager who played 5 or more championship games? 20% win rate is very bad for a county like Meath in a time when Leinster football is weak. Furlong may be able to answer"
I'll say this. I wish David coldrick of Meath a great game on Sunday. And not one bad word about him afterwards. Regardless:)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 11:59:50    2109871

Replying To clondalkindub:  "I disagree Mes that's the easiest most straight forward free you can call, it was disgraceful from the referee not calling that one."
Yep. It wasn't even debatable. It was clear cut. And he was close by. It was either blatant favoritism or incompetence. Either way it's a disgrace.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 12:01:31    2109873

Replying To Richieq:  "Bull........it was the most blatant push in the back you could see and he was 5 yards from it, I was halfway up the terrace and I could see it as could everyone around me including two Tyrone supporters could see it. There was no doubt, no grey area, no uncertainty it was a free in all day long and if it was a Dublin player tackled like that in Croke Park in the dying seconds of an All Ireland Final I'm sure you wouldn't need slow motion replays to help make up your mind on whether it was a free or not. The free count was 30-19 to Tyrone and some of the calls the referee made were utterly mind boggling, we don't want, or need, him to be superhuman we just want him to be human!!!!!"
Yes it was a blatant free and the ref bottled it, I think anybody saying otherwise is being disingenuous for one reason or another. But that's sport, it happens we can't sit around giving out about it because it won't change the result, it's over, done, gone, forget about it.

What we can do is focus on the future, that's where the we can work to improve, because if we're up by a point with seconds to go again, we have to make damn sure that there's no equalizer!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/06/2018 12:04:54    2109878