Meath V Tyrone

Replying To Toney:  "I'm sorry to say it Htaem, but that's the way I feel. I've been following Meath footballers for over 30 years. My first championship game was in Newbridge against Kildare in 1986. I've never felt as bad since then. Of course there were others years where we had poor campaigns with bad defeats but with better players that would give you cause for optimism. I believe many of the players on the current panel aren't up to the required standard to play inter county. There is better players in the county but it's through no fault of Andy McEntee's as most of them don't want to play. Like Andy said on here last week, 'you just have to keep at it.'"
Being honest Toney it is worse if ye have better players and don't win as in that case one can deduce that you are not getting the best out of the players. If you feel they are not up to inter county standard then losing not as difficult to take. I have said on the Meath forum that as a neutral I think this match is 50 50. I sometimes feel though that some posters in Meath think they have better players than they actually have based on maybe tradition, history etc. Reality is though that Meath have been winging it for a few years and only now seem to be getting it together at underage level.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/05/2018 21:50:08    2105765

Replying To kiloughter:  "Being honest Toney it is worse if ye have better players and don't win as in that case one can deduce that you are not getting the best out of the players. If you feel they are not up to inter county standard then losing not as difficult to take. I have said on the Meath forum that as a neutral I think this match is 50 50. I sometimes feel though that some posters in Meath think they have better players than they actually have based on maybe tradition, history etc. Reality is though that Meath have been winging it for a few years and only now seem to be getting it together at underage level."
tyrone by 7 or 8 points

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 30/05/2018 23:19:36    2105785

Replying To Htaem:  "Absolutely, an achievement is winning against Tyrone, going toe to toe but not getting the job done (like we did against Donegal last year), is no good, moral victories are about as useful as tits on a bull!"
I hate moral victories. Come out of or after loosing by a point in extra time is a bloody waste. For me it's win or bust.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/05/2018 23:20:35    2105786

Replying To Htaem:  "Listen I understand where you're coming from, we've been starved of good championship results for years now, it's an extraordinarily poor run for a county with such a large population and rich history. I also agree that many people just don't want to play intercounty anymore, which is unfortunate but very understandable, it can dominate young people's lives and you can't blame them for wanting away. Although fairplay to those who stick at it aswell.

But personally I don't agree with the view that this is the worst Meath team ever, I don't think it's considered criticism, I think it's a bit reactionary. Like I said we've had many disastrous campaigns in the recent past, and I don't know about you but I didn't feel much optimism after defeats such as Wexford 2008, Louth 2012 (NFL relegation), Armagh 2014, Westmeath 2015, Derry 2016 to name but a small few."
Yes, most of all fair play to those lads that stick at it through thick and thin. I've been fairly critical of this team but I will still support the players next Saturday.

Ok, maybe it's a bit reactionary but I stand by what I said.

The championship defeats to Wexford (twice, under Eamonn Barry and Colm Coyle) and Limerick (Coyle resigned afterwards) were particularly galling. During that period though we could mount a realistic challenge for a provincial title or make a run to the latter stages of the championship. A team with players of the calibre of Niall McKeigue, Darren Fay, Kevin Reilly, Caomhin King, Seamus Kenny, Nigel Crawford, Cian Ward, Joe Sheridan, Shane O'Rourke and Stephen Bray. Even Graham Geraghty was still there. The other defeats you mention were sore too. We still had the bones of a good team under Banty and Micko. And many of those players mentioned above were around. The team Andy McEntee has now looks thrown together after the loss of too many regulars.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 30/05/2018 23:25:28    2105789

Replying To Toney:  "Yes, most of all fair play to those lads that stick at it through thick and thin. I've been fairly critical of this team but I will still support the players next Saturday.

Ok, maybe it's a bit reactionary but I stand by what I said.

The championship defeats to Wexford (twice, under Eamonn Barry and Colm Coyle) and Limerick (Coyle resigned afterwards) were particularly galling. During that period though we could mount a realistic challenge for a provincial title or make a run to the latter stages of the championship. A team with players of the calibre of Niall McKeigue, Darren Fay, Kevin Reilly, Caomhin King, Seamus Kenny, Nigel Crawford, Cian Ward, Joe Sheridan, Shane O'Rourke and Stephen Bray. Even Graham Geraghty was still there. The other defeats you mention were sore too. We still had the bones of a good team under Banty and Micko. And many of those players mentioned above were around. The team Andy McEntee has now looks thrown together after the loss of too many regulars."
The getting rid of Brian Meade, Cain ward, joe Sheridan, juicy O'Connor, Brian Farrell, Jamie Q. Etc etc ,with lesser of quality coming in didn't help. Actually it destroyed the team. Do you not agree with that ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 07:27:25    2105831

Tyrone's record against Leinster teams in the backdoor is very good only one lost in a dozen games I think. Tyrone do not have the players of the past but are still a top 8 team and a big game against Meath away should provide a good idea of where they are at. Tyrone have always been good at recovering for the back door and a loss to Monaghan will not cause maybe the same disappointment as Meath losing to Longford.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 31/05/2018 09:44:09    2105849

Tyrone by 10+ unfortunately. Meath with the current panel are a weak D2/D3 side facing a decent D1 side who will be out to prove a point. Would like to see a shock but have to be realistic. Just dont have any faith in Meaths management to be able to spring a surprise here. Hopefully its a lot closer than i have predicted

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 31/05/2018 09:53:31    2105852

This game has a potential for a shock for a few reasons. The game is in Meath, Tyrone have injuries and suspensions, there's always the danger Tyrone suffer a hangover from the previous game and Meath will have been written off by everyone and should be very hyped up.

For the next few years Meath football is going nowhere, they simply don't have the talent which is obvious given their poor underage record the last decade.

Looks like there's signs they've got their act together at underage though with the u17's winning Leinster last year and the minors and 20's showing well this year so far but its going to take a good few years for these players to filter their way into the senior panel. We desperately need a strong Meath and will only be delighted to be proved wrong.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 31/05/2018 09:56:56    2105855

I think we will be nervous enough coming into this but even with our injuries, we still have more than enough to win comfortably. I don't think there will be a massive amount in it but we should come through. A defeat would surely see the heat increase on Harte to walk.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 31/05/2018 10:13:33    2105862

Replying To royaldunne:  "The getting rid of Brian Meade, Cain ward, joe Sheridan, juicy O'Connor, Brian Farrell, Jamie Q. Etc etc ,with lesser of quality coming in didn't help. Actually it destroyed the team. Do you not agree with that ?"
I do agree with that. Those lads you mentioned shouldn't have been dropped by Micko.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 31/05/2018 10:36:35    2105874

Replying To mon07:  "It is very hard for players to keep lifting themselves up to go for another campaign when you know at the end of it you will meet Dublin in croke park to get a lesson. I think Meath and also Kildare are doing the correct thing by going the back door route. They will have a better chance in getting to the super 8 while picking up confidence along the way. Getting a beating by Dublin is not the best preparation for the next game you have to play before making the super 8."
Awful attitude/mentality and for what its worth I don't believe Meath or Kildare players have the attitude. Why would you bust your balls off all year In training, Make unreal sacrifices just to lose a game and sure hope for the best in the qualifiers where you could still get a very tough draw and/or play in some, lets be honest, pretty poor *stadia* around the country like (no disrespect) Aughrim, Dungarvan, Carrick-on-Shannon, Drogheda. Irrespective of the fact Meath got Tyrone, they could have gotten Waterford in Navan, Beat them, move on and eventually when they got a Mayo or a Tyrone they could (potentially) have their asses handed to them anyway, so what difference does it make ?

In this case, Meath went to Longford, a team in the division below them. If they won they got to play and challenge themselves in Croke Park, the 3rd biggest stadium in Europe, the crème de la crème of GAA stadia. The home of gaelic games against one of the greatest teams of all time, That is what players strive for, to put themselves against the best, and who knows maybe, just maybe come out of the game with a bit of credit and hope going into the qualifiers. Something to build on. Instead, they lost, done the "correct thing" by going the back door route (insane) and got one of the worse draws possible in Tyrone and if Tyrone do beat Meath, which I suspect they will, Meath will e out of the championship on the 9th of June with back to back defeats and only just avoiding relegation, While Longford are still there preparing to play their game against the Dubs in the home of gaelic games, And irrespective of what happens, they will still be in the championship the once the 10th finishes.

I know who's shoes id rather be in.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 31/05/2018 10:49:19    2105879

Replying To Toney:  "I do agree with that. Those lads you mentioned shouldn't have been dropped by Micko."
We were lost for leaders when that happened, very inexperienced side left. Even keoghan was young. Only burke and Reilly left as stand out experience. And didn't sit well with either.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 11:38:26    2105908

Replying To waynoI:  "Awful attitude/mentality and for what its worth I don't believe Meath or Kildare players have the attitude. Why would you bust your balls off all year In training, Make unreal sacrifices just to lose a game and sure hope for the best in the qualifiers where you could still get a very tough draw and/or play in some, lets be honest, pretty poor *stadia* around the country like (no disrespect) Aughrim, Dungarvan, Carrick-on-Shannon, Drogheda. Irrespective of the fact Meath got Tyrone, they could have gotten Waterford in Navan, Beat them, move on and eventually when they got a Mayo or a Tyrone they could (potentially) have their asses handed to them anyway, so what difference does it make ?

In this case, Meath went to Longford, a team in the division below them. If they won they got to play and challenge themselves in Croke Park, the 3rd biggest stadium in Europe, the crème de la crème of GAA stadia. The home of gaelic games against one of the greatest teams of all time, That is what players strive for, to put themselves against the best, and who knows maybe, just maybe come out of the game with a bit of credit and hope going into the qualifiers. Something to build on. Instead, they lost, done the "correct thing" by going the back door route (insane) and got one of the worse draws possible in Tyrone and if Tyrone do beat Meath, which I suspect they will, Meath will e out of the championship on the 9th of June with back to back defeats and only just avoiding relegation, While Longford are still there preparing to play their game against the Dubs in the home of gaelic games, And irrespective of what happens, they will still be in the championship the once the 10th finishes.

I know who's shoes id rather be in."
He's a WUM wayno. ignore.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 31/05/2018 13:49:12    2105972

Forget about Carlow beating Kildare....If Meath win this, it will be the shock of the decade, never mind the season!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 31/05/2018 15:43:49    2106014

Replying To tiobraid:  "Forget about Carlow beating Kildare....If Meath win this, it will be the shock of the decade, never mind the season!"
And if tipp win anything in either code. Same could be said.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 17:02:43    2106042

Replying To royaldunne:  "And if tipp win anything in either code. Same could be said."
Spot on. No denying that :-)

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 31/05/2018 17:14:26    2106046

Back to the match itself.
I hear Tyrone have a couple more injury concerns. Is this true?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 18:07:20    2106061

Tyrone with one third of their preferred team missing and rows in the camp. Set up perfectly for a Meath ambush.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 31/05/2018 18:14:50    2106064

Replying To essmac:  "Tyrone with one third of their preferred team missing and rows in the camp. Set up perfectly for a Meath ambush."
Not so sure about that. Nothing will be taken for granted. I think Andy will walk if we don't win this, so it really is all or nothing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 31/05/2018 18:45:47    2106070

Replying To waynoI:  "Awful attitude/mentality and for what its worth I don't believe Meath or Kildare players have the attitude. Why would you bust your balls off all year In training, Make unreal sacrifices just to lose a game and sure hope for the best in the qualifiers where you could still get a very tough draw and/or play in some, lets be honest, pretty poor *stadia* around the country like (no disrespect) Aughrim, Dungarvan, Carrick-on-Shannon, Drogheda. Irrespective of the fact Meath got Tyrone, they could have gotten Waterford in Navan, Beat them, move on and eventually when they got a Mayo or a Tyrone they could (potentially) have their asses handed to them anyway, so what difference does it make ?

I know who's shoes id rather be in."
Wayno we don't need a briefing in the merits of Croke Park, we've been there often enough and challlenged ourselves in it and won and lost in it and also contributed handsomely to its redevelopment so we know all about it. I'm one of those old school people that believe you need to earn an appearance in Croke Park i.e. by getting to a provincial final or Super 8's, playing a provincial semi final in Croker does nothing to enhance anyone's reputation, remember the double header two years back.......more craic in a morgue. Yeah of course test yourself against one of the best, but do it in an environment that has atmosphere and a bit of a pulse, a half empty Croker has neither. The provincial championships need to go down the route that hurling does and be played off on a round robin basis home and away, and when I say home and away I mean home and away irrespective of what your grounds capacity is or how many seats you have. Every Meath footballer went out to beat Longford, if didn't happen and Longford thoroughly deserved their win and whilst some see that defeat as a watershed moment they are ignoring the work going on at underage in Meath, ignoring the excellent good results at Minor and U20 over the past month, ignoring last years U17 success. The Senior team is only one aspect of "Meath Football" and whilst its very important that the Senior team is successful it's also equally important that we have successful underage teams to maintain confidence and belief in the county and provide a stream of young successful and confident footballers to play Senior football. I've heard it said and it's true maybe drawing a "bigger" team in the first qualifier was a good thing, certainly playing at home is, but we shall see either way I think Meath supporters will have a lot to look forward to in years ahead and the doomsday merchants in the national press will have to work harder for their headlines in the future.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 31/05/2018 19:38:27    2106079