Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried?

While Kildare and Meath are failing to compete with Dublin then Leinster football will always suffer

imonmyway (Mayo) - Posts: 113 - 31/05/2018 13:53:53    2105974

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "WOW Offaly and Meath will never again see a poor day, you'd make a great spin doctor."
The boys a natural genius at it, did you hear him on another thread massaging figures to show how Mayo only have 19k less than Dublin every year, completely ignoring the 16.6mill Dublin have been thrown by Croke Park since 2007 as compared to the 534,000 Mayo got off them in the same period :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/05/2018 14:05:53    2105982

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "So what you are saying is the money pumped into Dublin over the last 10 years so has made no difference?

And that the massive backroom team gives ye no competitive advantages over everybody else??

Simple Yes or No Questions"
What backroom team is this? C'mon, give me facts not soundbites then i might debate your point with you. Until then continue hopping from thead to thread Dub bashing. ts great craic!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2018 14:24:05    2105988

Yeah Conor Nash could have made a decent living off the gaa, but it wasn't offered. And I don't blame him one bit for going to Australia. Also I know dubs have the same issues as every county when it comes to tempting players away, and some will. The only difference is Dublin cb have the strength to counteract it. Meath cb don't. Or don't know how to. This is where the gaa or Leinster council imo have a role to play, and actually with Dublin too
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 13367 - 31/05/2018 13:16:54

Big loss for Meath no doubt.

I don't think the Dublin CB have anything to do with Dublin not losing players to be honest. AFAIK Ciarán Kilkenny is the only player to have had interest shown in him by the Aussies. He actually went over and his coming back had nothing to do with the Dublin CB. He didn't like it and wanted to come home to train to be a teacher.

If a young fella in Dublin wants to go to Australia, he'll go. All you can do is support their decision and wish them luck. Ditto Meath or any other county board. Sure you can try and entice them to stay but ultimately there's nothing to be done.

Maybe because young fellas in other counties know that life and work will probably take them away from home in anyways that Australia seems more attractive. I mean if you're leaving home in anyways why not try and adventure on the other side of the world?

Dubs mainly know that if they want it, there is a life for them in their homeplace which I think comes as an advantage in these cases.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 31/05/2018 14:27:30    2105992

Replying To Jackeen:  "This question has been answered to death on here. Of course we have advantages. As we always have had. Do Kildare posters blame Dublin for all their shortcomings. Genuine question?"
So that's a yes to all my questions then. Thanks mate, thought as much. Onwards and backwards, eh?!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/05/2018 15:21:28    2106004

Replying To BoylerForTaoiseach:  "Since the 2012 championship, only 1 Leinster team has managed to get to the Quarter-Finals (bar Dublin). This was Kildare in 2015. They lost by 27 points to Kerry.
In the same time frame, 6 different Ulster teams have made it (Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan, Cavan, Fermanagh and Armagh), 4 different Munster teams have made it (Kerry, Cork, Tipperary and Clare) and 3 different Connaught teams (Mayo, Galway and Roscommon).
This is despite Leinster having more counties than any other province.
As for the argument that this is because of Dublin's dominance in the province recently, just look at Tipperary and Clare reaching the Quarter Final stage from Munster, a province won by Kerry each year since 2012.
This is clear evidence of Leinster under-performance in the All-Ireland series."
Did Laois not get to the quarter final in 2012 and only loose by an Own goal to Dublin in a tight match???

Is my memory fading?

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 31/05/2018 15:49:12    2106016

Replying To kildare73:  "So that's a yes to all my questions then. Thanks mate, thought as much. Onwards and backwards, eh?!"
Well not necessarily....I would advise Kildare to start doing things differently given their recent form. There are some things that we can't blame Dublin on imo.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 31/05/2018 16:19:30    2106025

Replying To kildare73:  "So that's a yes to all my questions then. Thanks mate, thought as much. Onwards and backwards, eh?!"
I think it's pointless pointing the finger at Dublin crying about the advantages we HAVE ALWAYS HAD! Kildare used to be a very decent side. Now, not so much. How is that Dublins fault?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2018 16:23:11    2106027

Replying To lilylanger:  "Well not necessarily....I would advise Kildare to start doing things differently given their recent form. There are some things that we can't blame Dublin on imo."
This!!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2018 16:27:28    2106032

Apologies, meant to say looked a good minor game between Carlow and Loais as well, Carlow really are rising. ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/05/2018 16:44:03    2106037

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Croke Park isn't in Kerry, it is very far away further than anywhere else bar Donegal"
obviously croke park is not in Kerry , but Kerry with there 37 all Irelands , have played there more times than any other county bar Dublin , its as good as a home game for them.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 31/05/2018 17:00:30    2106041

Replying To Jackeen:  "I think it's pointless pointing the finger at Dublin crying about the advantages we HAVE ALWAYS HAD! Kildare used to be a very decent side. Now, not so much. How is that Dublins fault?"
I'm not actually talking about the advantages Dublin ALWAYS HAVE HAD, I'm actually talking about the advantages Dublin have been given. A few years ago the GAA made a concerted effort to make Dublin strong, and let's face it, they even told us they were going to do it. The finances have been put in, the job is done. I wonder if the Dublin CB decided to pick a club in Dublin and tell all other clubs that they were going to get to work on making that club strong in, really concentrate on doing this, would the other clubs all stand back and applaud or would they "cry" as you put it? I'm guessing the latter. We keep being told to make the most of our resources but if your resources are dwarfed by somebody else's, then how does anyone catch up? It's like pushing a boulder up a hill but being told to put your back into it and suck it up. And by the way, it's not Dublin's fault at all, it's the fault of headquarters. If my county were given such help I would grab it too, you would be a fool not to. But if Leinster isn't dead, it's definitely on life support. These days are wonderful for Carlow and Longford but on the whole there's a big problem in Leinster, Munster too for that matter.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/05/2018 17:27:47    2106051

What a nonsense thread carlow improving is a good sign for Leinster football and longford have beaten many good teams outside of Leinster in recent years people love to stick the boot into Leinster football but the reality is Dublin are at their strongest ever while meath are at their lowest as well as kildare not performing at the minute. Anyone who follows underage football will see what's happening at present and I think the decade after this one could be a great era for leinster football.

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 31/05/2018 18:11:24    2106063

Replying To kildare73:  "I'm not actually talking about the advantages Dublin ALWAYS HAVE HAD, I'm actually talking about the advantages Dublin have been given. A few years ago the GAA made a concerted effort to make Dublin strong, and let's face it, they even told us they were going to do it. The finances have been put in, the job is done. I wonder if the Dublin CB decided to pick a club in Dublin and tell all other clubs that they were going to get to work on making that club strong in, really concentrate on doing this, would the other clubs all stand back and applaud or would they "cry" as you put it? I'm guessing the latter. We keep being told to make the most of our resources but if your resources are dwarfed by somebody else's, then how does anyone catch up? It's like pushing a boulder up a hill but being told to put your back into it and suck it up. And by the way, it's not Dublin's fault at all, it's the fault of headquarters. If my county were given such help I would grab it too, you would be a fool not to. But if Leinster isn't dead, it's definitely on life support. These days are wonderful for Carlow and Longford but on the whole there's a big problem in Leinster, Munster too for that matter."
You make valid points about the extra finances. I've seen so many numbers flying around I have no idea which ones to trust. Obviously all non Dubs trust the disproportionate amounts doing the rounds. Somebody posted on this thread another version where Dublin weren't that far ahead at all so who knows. These finances....when did they start for Dublin? Did I see somewhere that is was 2005? However notwithstanding Dublins dominance, Kildare are not where they should be traditionally would you agree? Why?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 31/05/2018 18:47:26    2106071

Replying To Jackeen:  "What backroom team is this? C'mon, give me facts not soundbites then i might debate your point with you. Until then continue hopping from thead to thread Dub bashing. ts great craic!"
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-backroom-team-picture-98181

Thats a list of Dublins 23 man backroom team. No sure how this compares to other Leinster counties

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 31/05/2018 19:01:21    2106075

Replying To seadog54:  "https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-backroom-team-picture-98181

Thats a list of Dublins 23 man backroom team. No sure how this compares to other Leinster counties"
Haha in the list in that article is Jim Gavin Senior his role in the back room team is described as "Offering Fatherly advice to his son" :D

You couldn't make it up. I'll call B-Manure on that article.

I'd be surprised if the back room team was that small really, some of those roles are guessing as well, lads who happened to be in the picture.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 31/05/2018 21:04:01    2106103

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "What a nonsense thread carlow improving is a good sign for Leinster football and longford have beaten many good teams outside of Leinster in recent years people love to stick the boot into Leinster football but the reality is Dublin are at their strongest ever while meath are at their lowest as well as kildare not performing at the minute. Anyone who follows underage football will see what's happening at present and I think the decade after this one could be a great era for leinster football."
Your correct if u took dubs out and put in similar level teams to laois Carlow wexford say leitrim limerick Antrim everyone would say that Leinster is the most competitive championship in Ireland.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1763 - 31/05/2018 22:45:11    2106119

Replying To Jackeen:  "You make valid points about the extra finances. I've seen so many numbers flying around I have no idea which ones to trust. Obviously all non Dubs trust the disproportionate amounts doing the rounds. Somebody posted on this thread another version where Dublin weren't that far ahead at all so who knows. These finances....when did they start for Dublin? Did I see somewhere that is was 2005? However notwithstanding Dublins dominance, Kildare are not where they should be traditionally would you agree? Why?"
In reference to Kildare, I think there's a real disillusionment among the supporters and I think that's seeped into the squad. Too many heavy defeats to Dublin and the Kerry one a couple of years ago have knocked the stuffing out of everyone. The current losing run goes back to the Armagh game last year, a game we should have been able to win but we were completely bereft of ideas on the day. Losing has become a habit and we are losing to teams in every grade now. We are a soft touch, nobody fears playing us. Our manager quoted stats in the first few seconds of his post match interview, did anyone ever heard Boylan, O'Dwyer or Cody, the guys managers aspire to be trot out stats. They went by what the saw with their eyes, what was going on right of them. I think the players don't believe they can win a Leinster or can get any tangible reward for their efforts, sorta the Paddy O'Rourke line but he actually came out and said it. Psychological scars and lack of belief is a bad recipe to try and cure. We need a motivator right now, or the Pope!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/05/2018 22:47:42    2106121

Replying To seadog54:  "https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/dublin-backroom-team-picture-98181

Thats a list of Dublins 23 man backroom team. No sure how this compares to other Leinster counties"
Ah don't be going and dealing in facts!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 31/05/2018 22:56:02    2106123

Replying To Jackeen:  "You make valid points about the extra finances. I've seen so many numbers flying around I have no idea which ones to trust. Obviously all non Dubs trust the disproportionate amounts doing the rounds. Somebody posted on this thread another version where Dublin weren't that far ahead at all so who knows. These finances....when did they start for Dublin? Did I see somewhere that is was 2005? However notwithstanding Dublins dominance, Kildare are not where they should be traditionally would you agree? Why?"
I wonder if Kildare are all that far off where they've been traditionally. Last All Ireland win 90 years ago. Think though that over the years they've had a tendency to underestimate opposition and have games won in their heads before they take to the field. 1998 All Ireland final being a case in point when the hype got to them.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 01/06/2018 04:38:30    2106145