Is Leinster Football Dead And Buried?

Congratulations to my county . 8 in a row equalling Kerry's 8 in a row. Props to Laois for having a cut & not sitting back.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 24/06/2018 17:50:29    2114269

Better 2nd half performance

Jack did very well - very important to have him back. Makes a huge difference

Good impact from Costello and really I'm not sure why Andrews is getting so many starts.

Overall 6/10 from Dublin

Poor finishing for goals yet again and poor wides in first half

Overall most pleasing aspect for me was Evan Comefords performance and even not playing very well still winning by 18pts is impressive

Lots to improve on

The team that started today won't be winning an AI though

Need Jack, Cian and a forward rejigger in there to bring them on to championship winning level

All to play for this year despite the doom and groomers best efforts

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/06/2018 18:01:25    2114274

Replying To Greengrass:  "Most certainly. Leinster has gone from being the flagship province to being a competitive desert."
Don't know what you're talking about; all the dubs I've spoken to tell me it's the most competitive province in the country, maybe even the whole world. And wasn't Ronaldo heard say, just the other day, that if Portugal do well in the World Cup they might consider taking the step up to Leinster next year?

And didn't Laois do well? Fair play to them, they were able to find their way to Croker and didn't get beaten by a million points.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/06/2018 18:18:01    2114282

Replying To jimbodub:  "Better 2nd half performance

Good impact from Costello and really I'm not sure why Andrews is getting so many starts.

Overall 6/10 from Dublin

Overall most pleasing aspect for me was Evan Comefords performance and even not playing very well still winning by 18pts is impressive

Lots to improve on

Need Jack, Cian and a forward rejigger in there to bring them on to championship winning level

All to play for this year despite the doom and groomers best efforts"
Agreed, those groomers will have to do better.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/06/2018 19:00:32    2114297

Replying To festinog:  "Don't know what you're talking about; all the dubs I've spoken to tell me it's the most competitive province in the country, maybe even the whole world. And wasn't Ronaldo heard say, just the other day, that if Portugal do well in the World Cup they might consider taking the step up to Leinster next year?

And didn't Laois do well? Fair play to them, they were able to find their way to Croker and didn't get beaten by a million points."
Yeah and it's much easier to win too when the opposition can't find the posts from play in the whole second half, but sure in a competitive province that wouldn't happen. Especially in a final. .........oh wait!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 24/06/2018 22:13:36    2114387

Replying To kildare73:  "Yeah and it's much easier to win too when the opposition can't find the posts from play in the whole second half, but sure in a competitive province that wouldn't happen. Especially in a final. .........oh wait!!"
You're right. There's absolutely no argument to be made that Leinster isn't as competitive as every other province. Dublin have struggled to maintain their winning margins in every single game they've played; sure didn't they only manage a single goal today? Kildare will catch them any day now. Any day.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 24/06/2018 23:01:51    2114421

Replying To kildare73:  "Yeah and it's much easier to win too when the opposition can't find the posts from play in the whole second half, but sure in a competitive province that wouldn't happen. Especially in a final. .........oh wait!!"
Touché!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 24/06/2018 23:07:12    2114428

Replying To jimbodub:  "Better 2nd half performance

Overall 6/10 from Dublin

Lots to improve on

All to play for this year despite the doom and groomers best efforts"
Jaysus for a man on the Hill, your on your phone a lot

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/06/2018 23:32:23    2114442

Replying To festinog:  "You're right. There's absolutely no argument to be made that Leinster isn't as competitive as every other province. Dublin have struggled to maintain their winning margins in every single game they've played; sure didn't they only manage a single goal today? Kildare will catch them any day now. Any day."
Seeing as you didn't address my comment I take it you agree. You worry about your crowd catching Dublin, same as every other county in the country does, and Kildare people will worry about Kildare.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 24/06/2018 23:47:58    2114448

It is only in the last 10 years that it has become one-sided and that is only a senior level. At underage very competitive, so after 10 years of one team we should kill it?

Munster has had only one team for a 100 years.

Leinster will get back to competitive again when the other's get their finger out and this Dublin team fade anyway.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 25/06/2018 07:03:31    2114481

Replying To kildare73:  "Seeing as you didn't address my comment I take it you agree. You worry about your crowd catching Dublin, same as every other county in the country does, and Kildare people will worry about Kildare."
You drew a false equivalency KD73, which I assumed was patently obvious. But you wanted a response, so there it is.

And if Leinster football wasn't dead before, it surely is now as we watch this stadium nonsense unfold. Apparently Dublin are the only county in Leinster who are allowed home advantage, to the point that they even get it for their "neutral" games too. You couldn't make it up.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/06/2018 19:55:34    2115578

Replying To festinog:  "You drew a false equivalency KD73, which I assumed was patently obvious. But you wanted a response, so there it is.

And if Leinster football wasn't dead before, it surely is now as we watch this stadium nonsense unfold. Apparently Dublin are the only county in Leinster who are allowed home advantage, to the point that they even get it for their "neutral" games too. You couldn't make it up."
Considering ye had Connacht hurling to yourselves forever it didn't do ye any good.
You're mad for yap about Leinster now that ye won an AI after being allowed in to give ye a chance.
You really couldn't make it up.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/06/2018 20:49:24    2115612

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Considering ye had Connacht hurling to yourselves forever it didn't do ye any good.
You're mad for yap about Leinster now that ye won an AI after being allowed in to give ye a chance.
You really couldn't make it up."
Allowed in? A mhic, ye begged us!

Wrong code by the way, but don't let that stop ya!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/06/2018 21:01:37    2115618

Replying To festinog:  "Allowed in? A mhic, ye begged us!

Wrong code by the way, but don't let that stop ya!"
Yes, allowed in, otherwise you'd still be talking about "88 .
Yes, hurling that's the code I'm referencing. That's the one ye won due to Leinster letting ye play there.
Pipe down there Rambo.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 26/06/2018 21:37:29    2115630

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jaysus for a man on the Hill, your on your phone a lot"
That'll tell how dead Leinster football is the hermit :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/06/2018 22:34:57    2115653

Looks more alive than a lot of places at the moment!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 26/06/2018 23:07:23    2115665

Same goes for Kerry hurling of course. Playing one code essentially in the opposite code province and sniggering at Leinster because a special group of players are dominating there while they've had little or no championship for 130 years.
Another one in the bag and that's only the start for the next 10 year or more .Farcical province for footbal.They've destroyed the game there.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/06/2018 08:18:49    2115708

Replying To witnof:  "It is only in the last 10 years that it has become one-sided and that is only a senior level. At underage very competitive, so after 10 years of one team we should kill it?

Munster has had only one team for a 100 years.

Leinster will get back to competitive again when the other's get their finger out and this Dublin team fade anyway."
To say Dublin have just dominted leinster football for the last ten year is untrue. The fact is yes Kerry have dominated Munster football for 100 years, but Dublin have dominated leinster football for pretty much 100 years also. Both counties are the dominate kingpins in both their respective proviences.

Let look at the facts , the stats below, lets look at an half a century of football , 50 years of gaelic football provicial tiltles won by Dublin and Kerry. The number of provicial titles won by both counties are amazingly similar.

Since 1970 Kerry have won 32 Munster Senior football titles
Since 1970 Dublin have won 28 Leinster Senior football titles

Provicial Titles won by Dublin and Kerry in the last 50 years
1970s: 6 for Dublin (1974-75-76-77-78-79)
1970s: 7 for Kerry (1970-72-75-76-77-78-79)

1980s: 4 for Dublin (1983-84-85-89)
1980s: 6 for Kerry (1980-81-82-84-85-86)

1990s: 4 for Dublin (1992-93-94-95)
1990s: 4 for Kerry (1991-96-97-98)

2000s: 6 for Dublin (2002-05-06-07-08-09)
2000s: 6 for Kerry (2000-01-03-04-05-07)

2010s: 8 for Dublin (2011-12-13-14-15-16-17-18)
2010s: 8 for Kerry (2010-11-13-14-15-16-17-18)

So in summary in the 1990s Dublin and Kerry both won 4 provicial titles each. In the 00s Dublin and kerry won 6 provicial titles each. In this decade so far , Dublin and Kerry have won 8 provicial titles apiece.

So since 1990 (1990-2018)
In the last 28 years Kerry have won 18 Munster senior football titles
In the last 28 years Dublin have won 18 leinster senior football titles

In conclusion Dublin and Kerry have dominted both their respective proviences.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/06/2018 08:59:23    2115715

Lets look at Kerry and Dublin record v counties in both proviences. Both Kerry and Dublin have similar type of records v opposition , where teams beat kerry once in a couple of generations the same for Dublin, many teams beat Dublin once in generation or two.

The main rivals for Kerry and Dublin
In the last 35 years in Munster championship Cork have beaten Kerry 13 times and 4 draws
In the last 35 years in leinster championship Meath have beaten Dublin 9 times and 5 draws

The Rest
Waterford havent beaten Kerry in Munster championship in 60 years.
Tipperary havent beaten Kerry in the Munster championship in 91 years.
Limerick havent beaten Kerry in the Munster championship in 120 years.
Clare have beaten Kerry once in the Munster championship in 80 years.
Carlow havent beaten Dublin in the leinster championship in over 70 years.
Wexford havent beaten Dublin in the leinster championship in over 70 years.
Westmeath have beaten Dublin once in the leinster championship in over 70 years.
Longford havent beaten Dublin in leinster championship in 50 years.
Laois have beaten Dublin twice in the leinster championship in over 70 years.
Louth havent beaten Dublin in leinster championship in over 40 years
Offaly havent beaten Dublin in leinster championship in 35 years.
Kildare have beaten Dublin twice in leinster championhip in 45 years.

Basically Dublin and Kerry have dominted both proviences. The sucess rate of both counties in both proviences is very very similar.

Two other telling stats
The Munster senior championship has been won by Kerry or Cork every year since 1923 with the exception of victories by Tipperary in 1935 and Clare in 1992
Between 1958 and 1997 ( a 40 year period ) every leinster senior football title was won between Dublin Meath and Offay. Only Longford winning leinster in 1968 broke up that record.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/06/2018 09:44:20    2115734

Lets now look at counties provicial title record in both leinster and Munster and again its a very similar pattern.

In Munster u have the kingpins kerry with 80 Munster titles
In leinster u have the kingpins Dublin with 57 leinster titles

In Munster kerrys main rival Cork have won 13 Munster senior titles in last 35 years
In leinster Dublins main rival Meath have won 9 leinster titles in last 35 years

The Rest
Limerick havent won a Munster senior title in over 120 years
Waterford havent won a Munster senior title in over 120 years
Tippearey havent won a Munster senior title in over 80 years
Clare have won 1 Munster senior title in 80 years
Westmeath have won 1 leinster senior title in 120 years
Wicklow have never won a leinster senior title in 120 years
Carlow havent won a leinster senior title in over 70 years
Wexford havent won a leinster senior title in over 70 years
Longford havent won 1 leinster senior title in 120 years
Laois have won 1 leinster senior title in over 70 years
louth havent won leinster senior title in over 60 years
Offaly havent won a leinster senior title in 35 years
Kildare have won 2 leinster senior titles in over 60 years

In conclusion Dublin and kerry have both dominated both proviences. And their record is very similar and the record of teams in both proviences are very very similar.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 27/06/2018 11:24:16    2115823