Longford V Meath

I put up a simlair post last year but what do meath supporters think? Surely McEntee has to go at this stage? They're obviously lacking talent but they're getting worse at an alarming rate all the time. Tipp gave them an awful hammering in the league and we seen how far Tipp were off the pace yesterday.
While meath have regressed a lot, longford have got a new lease of life and won me a tidy sum this week. A great football county and hopefully put in a good performance against the dubs

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 27/05/2018 23:20:43    2104440

Replying To tiobraid:  "I put up a simlair post last year but what do meath supporters think? Surely McEntee has to go at this stage? They're obviously lacking talent but they're getting worse at an alarming rate all the time. Tipp gave them an awful hammering in the league and we seen how far Tipp were off the pace yesterday.
While meath have regressed a lot, longford have got a new lease of life and won me a tidy sum this week. A great football county and hopefully put in a good performance against the dubs"
Think it will be a case of wait and see how rest of season goes, looks like being a short one, but still hopeful. Talent is limited at the minute but we are not getting best out of what we have, just look at Carlow/Fermanagh/Longford/Clare

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 28/05/2018 00:08:01    2104468

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Your giving all the success storys..There have been many a manager that should have been given the gate and were left there with no improvement when a change should have happened. This year has been a disaster so open your eyes a little and see both sides of the coin"
But Boylans third year was disater.McGees first three years were a disaster. Dwyer left after third year with no breakthrough. Jimmy Barry Murphy Nick English second years were disasters so was Gilroys first and second with record 17 point defeat to kerry in year 1 and 5 goal hammering v Meath in year 2. I could go on..

My point is if you look at the past the blueprint for sucess is give a manager a couple of years to see if he can turn things around at least 3 probaly 4. No progress next year then he goes. I cannot see supporters giving him third year if no progres. I would give him 2 more years and no progress he goes. Two more years is not going to be end of Meath football. Wouldnt it be worth a risk to take another years chance on the most sucessful Meath manager of his era, one of the most sucessful Meath managers ever.( Only Meath men Boylan Fr Tully O Rourke McEntee have won All Ireland titles as manager). A new manager next year with no experience in a tough division 2. Players like keoghan will be 27 and on his 4th Meath manager. We could go down and what happened to laois or Derry is possible.

Do you not think things can get worse under a new manager. There is a serious lack of managerial talent in Meath and outside the county there are very few top managers out there not in work who would take the Meath job.
If Down can be in div 3. Armagh stay in div 3 for 4 years. And Derry and laois are in div 4. Could we not nosedive if a manger comes with little experience learning on the job , a worse manager then McEntee.

The point he might not be a sucess. But if you dont give the 3 to 4 years how will you know.
My point is two years is not enough time. If Armagh can give McGeeney 4 years and Galway give Walsh 3 yeaes why cannot we. Maybe McEntee will be like McGeeney no sucess. But maybe he will be like Walsh.
When there is no credible replacement only very inexperienced managers who would be much less inexperienced then Mick O Dowd.
If hes not improving get rid of him next year or the year after. Have a sucession plan where someone will take over. Not just whistling in the dark approach where we hope somehow we appoint some inexperienced rookie manager who will turn into Sean Boylan over night. kerry Dublin Tyrone Mayo Galway and Tipp hurlers kilkenny hurlers wouldnt appoint an inexperienced manager with no sucess or little or any management experience at senior club level even. Thats the type of manager we are looking at if McEntee goes. Mick O Dowd Mark 2 but with even less experience. Would it be safer and a better chance of sucess let McEntee build on his first 2 years like we allowed Boylan and Galway allowed kevin Walsh. If jt doesnt work out. it doesn't. But the other option is one hell of a risk and the last time we had 4 managers in 6 years we ended in div 3 heading to div 4. Thats my genuine fear. Things can and possibly will get much worse with an inexperienced rookie .

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 28/05/2018 00:21:53    2104473

Replying To seadog54:  "Think it will be a case of wait and see how rest of season goes, looks like being a short one, but still hopeful. Talent is limited at the minute but we are not getting best out of what we have, just look at Carlow/Fermanagh/Longford/Clare"
Of those 4 teams you have said were doing so well better then us we beat everyone of them and hammerd a few of them in the last year. So be fair also to us.
We lost to longford today but we beat both longford and Carlow in the Byrne Cup early in the year. We hammerd Fermanagh by 15 points last year. And we defeated Clare by an aggregate of 26 points in the last year. In the last year we defeated Clare by 12 points in Navan and only few months ago we defeated Clare by 14 points. And we were only 1 win away from promotion to div 1. If we defeated Cavan in this league we would have been promoted to div 1 the same way if we defeated Down last year and if we beat Roscommon in 2015 and if we beaten not drew with Donegal in 2014 we would have been promoted to div 1 if we got 1 more victory in 4 of the last 5 years. So our league form has been better then the above. We also beat Galway and drew with Roscommon and lost to Donegal by a point or 2 in the last year. Something none of the above have done. So we have beaten all the teams above some by massive scores, had better league campaigns in that we lost out by 1 victory win to be promoted to div 1 , 3 of the above r in div 3. I know longford beat us today. They fully deserved but you cannot say Clare and Fermanagh r somehow miles better then us when we have had 15 point , 14 point, 12 point victories over them . Be fair also to Meath. We have had some big scores v louth Derry. look at Down they had a good win today. We had a good win by 9 points over Down a few weeks ago. Be fair. We have had some great results mixed with some bad results. We r incredibly inconsistent. But we were just beaten by better team today. Longford fully deserved their win. As Cooper and Cavanagh said on Sunday Game they nearly lost in Pearse Park with kerry and Tyrone teams recently. Its a tough place to go and longford r a good team. They will be promoted to div 2 next year.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 28/05/2018 00:49:33    2104478

Replying To Maroonedinlongford:  "Was at the match today
Longford had a couple of lads kicking long range points including Gallagher in midfield and Mc Givney
Meath missed 3 handy goals in the first half, longford had two good chances in the game they missed
I thought that Longford tired a lot in the second half but held on to win
Padraig Mc Cormack, Masterson amongst others really good
Meaths best period was when they went s man down and the two Wallaces caused a lot of pressure when they came on
Great win for Longford, went into the lead early in the second half but held out"
Longford missed 3 at least as well, not to mention a pen. Few beers now going to stop!!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 28/05/2018 01:54:17    2104486

Replying To 11jm11:  "Leinster football is dead."
Correction, Kildare football is dead!

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 28/05/2018 08:55:52    2104523

Thanks to the MEath fans who travelled down and make the day a bit better to be part of. Commiserations, while we will take and enjoy the win and being the slightly better team on the day, it is a pity to see where Meath are at currently. I would hope things can pick up and you get a good run in the qualifiers to build on for next year!

Roll on the Dubs!!

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 28/05/2018 09:02:39    2104526

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Listen , it was a Kildare poster who came on and started making out that year two were the only counties that could put it up to Dublin. Fair play to Carlow and Longford who are really making inroads but don't tell me ye are making the most of what ye have.
It's not about kicking anyone when their down its being straight whether you like it or not."
Well I didn't see that Kildare poster and I wouldn't agree with him anyway, we have gone through major restructuring at underage level and are beginning to see the fruits of that, something that is conveniently ignored by many even the Gooch who said we were showing nothing at U17 level despite winning that championship last year and beating the Dubs already this year. Is that not making the most of resources??

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 28/05/2018 12:20:50    2104680