Monaghan v Tyrone - Ulster SFC

Replying To mrsme:  "all i will say is discipline will win this game cant have players being sent off for stupid decisions also monaghan lads need to keep their mouths closed to the ref hasnt always being the case and has cost them games monaghan by 2 or 3 tho"
I agree mrsme, discipline will absolutely critical for Monaghan in this game - am sure this will not be an easy task playing against the team that introduced sledging into Gaelic football.
Happy to see Monaghan as the underdogs & there will only be a point or 2 in it & for the first time in a while, my head & my heart concur, the farney will come out on top, by the slightest of margins.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 05/05/2018 21:16:42    2096855

Replying To greysoil:  "I agree mrsme, discipline will absolutely critical for Monaghan in this game - am sure this will not be an easy task playing against the team that introduced sledging into Gaelic football.
Happy to see Monaghan as the underdogs & there will only be a point or 2 in it & for the first time in a while, my head & my heart concur, the farney will come out on top, by the slightest of margins."
It doesnt seem like not many Tyrone men are biting lads. Looks like they are going to do their talking on the field.

Cant blame them as I honestly dont know where Monaghan get this arrogance and attitude out of.

Apart from one Ulster game a few years ago you have never beaten Tyrone in a major championship match. Plus you haven't achieved half of what they have.

I would air on the side of caution and silence until the match is played. I can really see you guys getting quite the hiding.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 07/05/2018 08:56:56    2097003

Replying To greysoil:  "I agree mrsme, discipline will absolutely critical for Monaghan in this game - am sure this will not be an easy task playing against the team that introduced sledging into Gaelic football.
Happy to see Monaghan as the underdogs & there will only be a point or 2 in it & for the first time in a while, my head & my heart concur, the farney will come out on top, by the slightest of margins."
And again!!! So players giving themselves some verbals in a match was invented by Tyrone just a year or two ago. Why do people quite freely show their stupidity on this forum - it reallly astounds me. What's hysterical is he was responding to a guy who actually called it right - it's monaghan lads who need to control their mouths. You need to take the anti Tyrone goggles off and actually call the game based on what Monaghan do not the red hands!

I think it will be a really tight game - with Cavanagh probably out and a few lads coming back that probably aren't match fit - this represents Monaghan's best chance in years to beat Tyrone - but be wary of them later in summer - you know what will happen in croker against them.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 07/05/2018 16:55:33    2097114

And again!!! So players giving themselves some verbals in a match was invented by Tyrone just a year or two ago. Why do people quite freely show their stupidity on this forum - it reallly astounds me. What's hysterical is he was responding to a guy who actually called it right - it's monaghan lads who need to control their mouths. You need to take the anti Tyrone goggles off and actually call the game based on what Monaghan do not the red hands!

I think it will be a really tight game - with Cavanagh probably out and a few lads coming back that probably aren't match fit - this represents Monaghan's best chance in years to beat Tyrone - but be wary of them later in summer - you know what will happen in croker against them.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 07/05/2018 17:01:51    2097116

Replying To IrishGael3:  "And again!!! So players giving themselves some verbals in a match was invented by Tyrone just a year or two ago. Why do people quite freely show their stupidity on this forum - it reallly astounds me. What's hysterical is he was responding to a guy who actually called it right - it's monaghan lads who need to control their mouths. You need to take the anti Tyrone goggles off and actually call the game based on what Monaghan do not the red hands!

I think it will be a really tight game - with Cavanagh probably out and a few lads coming back that probably aren't match fit - this represents Monaghan's best chance in years to beat Tyrone - but be wary of them later in summer - you know what will happen in croker against them."
Absolutely familiar with Tyrone's form in Croke Park - Sean Cavanagh 2013 & the L'Oréal kid McCann in 2015 - hardly inspiring

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 08/05/2018 23:04:39    2097414

Sorry to say but if we are true Gaels we cannot hand on heart say that the neighbours created sledging... Think away back to Gerry Mc Carville and his wee chat with the bomber Liston in Croke Park. At that stage I don't think either Mc Cann or Cavanagh were born. I doubt if Mc Mennanim was around either. Let's concentrate on the football.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 08/05/2018 23:36:40    2097419

Replying To lambofgod:  "It doesnt seem like not many Tyrone men are biting lads. Looks like they are going to do their talking on the field.

Cant blame them as I honestly dont know where Monaghan get this arrogance and attitude out of.

Apart from one Ulster game a few years ago you have never beaten Tyrone in a major championship match. Plus you haven't achieved half of what they have.

I would air on the side of caution and silence until the match is played. I can really see you guys getting quite the hiding."
Based on what?

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 09/05/2018 16:32:51    2097617

Replying To FootblockREF:  "Based on what?"
I would say the hiding they got in the league.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 09/05/2018 17:49:33    2097640

Replying To border Gael:  "Sorry to say but if we are true Gaels we cannot hand on heart say that the neighbours created sledging... Think away back to Gerry Mc Carville and his wee chat with the bomber Liston in Croke Park. At that stage I don't think either Mc Cann or Cavanagh were born. I doubt if Mc Mennanim was around either. Let's concentrate on the football."
Fair play there's always a few like greysoil who really don't get it - everything's that's bad in football happened a few years ago and it was the red hands who did it. I remember the stories of Paudi Ohea and Ciaran Duff - now that was verbals and more.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 09/05/2018 17:50:32    2097641

Replying To IrishGael3:  "Fair play there's always a few like greysoil who really don't get it - everything's that's bad in football happened a few years ago and it was the red hands who did it. I remember the stories of Paudi Ohea and Ciaran Duff - now that was verbals and more."
I don't think it is a coincidence that a lot of supporters think the same as greysoil.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 09/05/2018 19:56:53    2097665

Replying To mon07:  "I don't think it is a coincidence that a lot of supporters think the same as greysoil."
I'm thinking the red hands nor their fans care particularly what a few deluded people think - this particular narrative is being peddled by the same few posters on this forum and continuing to say it doesn't make it fact. The Cavanagh incident is something most top players have admitted they'd do the same in the same position, the hair incident was totally embarassing and the player has held his hands up - I wonder what Hughes was saying to him prior to it - does that count as sledging - maybe not because he didn't have a Tyrone jersey on. However this has the making of a good game and will watch it carefully if it was only on TV.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 09/05/2018 20:35:20    2097671

Replying To mon07:  "I would say the hiding they got in the league."
Again just a league game played in winter. How much did you win by again? What sort of hiding was it?

Listen i have no love for Tyrone but my point is that Monaghan seem to do this every year. You have a half decent league and then you all go sprouting off like you are world beaters. Then you are usually dumped on your ass by one of the big teams come championship time.

Tyrone are a successful and seasoned championship team. Why don't you wait until you beat them before you start mouthing off.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 09/05/2018 21:34:49    2097685

Replying To lambofgod:  "Again just a league game played in winter. How much did you win by again? What sort of hiding was it?

Listen i have no love for Tyrone but my point is that Monaghan seem to do this every year. You have a half decent league and then you all go sprouting off like you are world beaters. Then you are usually dumped on your ass by one of the big teams come championship time.

Tyrone are a successful and seasoned championship team. Why don't you wait until you beat them before you start mouthing off."
The gap that existed between the teams 10 years ago is much narrower. They are not seasoned IMO. The current Tyrone team have done nothing to say to me they are that much better than Monaghan. Last year they were beaten in the same manner by Dublin as we were...even a tad worse as it goes.

I wouldn't 'mouth off' about our chances but I don't think its necessarily a case where supporters shouldn't have some confidence. As you point out we have been dumped out come championship team (I assume you mean later stages)...Last time we met in an Ulster championship...Monaghan won.

It will be close. I hope we can do it and even then I would not be 'mouthing off'.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 09/05/2018 22:14:16    2097698

Replying To seanfinn:  "The gap that existed between the teams 10 years ago is much narrower. They are not seasoned IMO. The current Tyrone team have done nothing to say to me they are that much better than Monaghan. Last year they were beaten in the same manner by Dublin as we were...even a tad worse as it goes.

I wouldn't 'mouth off' about our chances but I don't think its necessarily a case where supporters shouldn't have some confidence. As you point out we have been dumped out come championship team (I assume you mean later stages)...Last time we met in an Ulster championship...Monaghan won.

It will be close. I hope we can do it and even then I would not be 'mouthing off'."
Confidence is one thing, arrogance is another. Monaghan seem to be prodding Tyrone men on this forum like you are world beaters. It always seems to come back to who got the worst hiding from Dublin last year. What a pathetic way to judge success.
You laughed at Tyrone's pedigree and you mentioned the last ten years. Ok let's do a little comparison.

All Ireland titles - Tyrone 1 / Monaghan 0
Ulster titles - Tyrone 5 / Monaghan 2
All Ireland Semi Final Appearances - Tyrone 5 / Monaghan 0
Division 1 NFL Final Appearances - Tyrone 1 / Monaghan 0

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 10/05/2018 09:41:47    2097763

Replying To lambofgod:  "Confidence is one thing, arrogance is another. Monaghan seem to be prodding Tyrone men on this forum like you are world beaters. It always seems to come back to who got the worst hiding from Dublin last year. What a pathetic way to judge success.
You laughed at Tyrone's pedigree and you mentioned the last ten years. Ok let's do a little comparison.

Division 1 NFL Final Appearances - Tyrone 1 / Monaghan 0"
Worry about your own county, whom I would love to see win Sam. The vast majority of Monaghan & indeed Ulster folk cheered on Tyrone to all-Ireland vitories in '00's & would do again if they were Ulsters last reps.

We know full well how successful Tyrone are, but at the moment Monaghan folk feel we gave a team capable of at least giving Tyrone a good game!

Ps; I also think Mayo will beat Galway on Sun!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 10/05/2018 11:31:10    2097795

Replying To lambofgod:  "Confidence is one thing, arrogance is another. Monaghan seem to be prodding Tyrone men on this forum like you are world beaters. It always seems to come back to who got the worst hiding from Dublin last year. What a pathetic way to judge success.

Division 1 NFL Final Appearances - Tyrone 1 / Monaghan 0"
Good to see you are so interested in the ulster championship. Is this because Galway are going to beat yous and then yous will have a really short year as you may meet an ulster team in the back door.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 10/05/2018 15:51:58    2097890

Replying To mon07:  "Good to see you are so interested in the ulster championship. Is this because Galway are going to beat yous and then yous will have a really short year as you may meet an ulster team in the back door."
Mature response there.

Apart from the 2012 all ireland final can you name the last time an Ulster side beat us in the championship?

Believe it or not but we are not heart scared of Ulster teams. The only one who would probably put it up to us would be Tyrone. The rest are average at best.

lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 116 - 10/05/2018 16:31:51    2097913

Lamofgod got his heart broke by a Monaghan girl or maybe it was a fella, and is obviously still bitter about.
The chance to move up to the lush green fields of Monaghan and away from the rushes has obviously left a sour taste.
Or maybe 22 years on Pat McEnaney still bugs him and cant let it go.

I like Mayo myself, sure Monaghan even gave Mayo Tom Reilly.

Let it go!!! life is too short to be bitter.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1928 - 10/05/2018 17:23:48    2097935

Replying To lambofgod:  "Mature response there.

Apart from the 2012 all ireland final can you name the last time an Ulster side beat us in the championship?

Believe it or not but we are not heart scared of Ulster teams. The only one who would probably put it up to us would be Tyrone. The rest are average at best."
Mature response there.

Believe it or not but we are not heart scared of Ulster teams. The only one who would probably put it up to us would be Tyrone. The rest are average at best.
lambofgod (Mayo) - Posts: 54 - 10/05/2018 16:31:51 2097913

And thats a real mature response from you? lambofgod you seem to have a real bee in your bonnet about not only Monaghan football but Ulster football in genera. That 2012 final against our fellow Province Comrades "DONEGAL" I noticed in your post you couldn't even say their name must still really sting. We Monaghan supporters are entitled to our opinions. Now we might not have the success of Tyrone and to a lesser degree Mayo but for a county that has the third or fourth smallest population in Ireland we are punching well above our own weight and have been for the last 10 years and arguably even getting stronger. So lambofgod why don't you stick to your own Province and we Ulster Gaels will stick to ours
By the way I would love to see Mayo winning an All-Ireland because if there is one team in Ireland that deserves SAM it's Mayo

McFight (Monaghan) - Posts: 12 - 10/05/2018 17:48:21    2097942

Replying To lambofgod:  "Mature response there.

Believe it or not but we are not heart scared of Ulster teams. The only one who would probably put it up to us would be Tyrone. The rest are average at best."
Doesn't take a lot to get you worked up. Maybe you should do a dance to get the hodo removed from Mayo and who knows what could happen.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 10/05/2018 19:03:55    2097954