Mayo V Galway

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I'm not so sure. If Galway lose they could end up in a qualifier away to Monaghan or Tyrone. I know it's ifs and buts and Galway could very well go to Clones and get a result. But I don't think it's as cut and dry saying that the losers will definitely be in the last 8."
Yeah maybe not Lockjaw.

I'll rephrase, regardless of the result I'd fully expect to see Mayo in the Super 8s whereas Galway could be caught in a long qualifier route.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 23/04/2018 14:04:12    2094505

I think if Galway get enough possession they will win as I believe they have better forwards. The kickout strategies of both teams will be very interesting. Will Mayo go with David Clarke who's kickouts have come in for some criticism but is a good shot-stopper or will they go for Hennelly who has the better kickouts and is a good option for long range frees, especially if Cillian O'Connor is unavailable. If Galway do concede the Mayo kickout we will have to defend very well to win the game.

Galway like Mayo have a few injury worries as well as the club footballer of the year Liam Silke being unavailable. Very hard game to call and I'm really looking forward to it!

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 23/04/2018 14:14:53    2094508

Replying To Rocky.Road:  "I think if Galway get enough possession they will win as I believe they have better forwards. The kickout strategies of both teams will be very interesting. Will Mayo go with David Clarke who's kickouts have come in for some criticism but is a good shot-stopper or will they go for Hennelly who has the better kickouts and is a good option for long range frees, especially if Cillian O'Connor is unavailable. If Galway do concede the Mayo kickout we will have to defend very well to win the game.

Galway like Mayo have a few injury worries as well as the club footballer of the year Liam Silke being unavailable. Very hard game to call and I'm really looking forward to it!"
Brannigan a huge loss,he tormented Boyle in the last couple of outings v mayo.
M.daly hasn't played a competitive match since the sigerson and that was just as a sub.
I fully believe mayo will set up defensively as well and play Galway at there own game of counter attack football.galway too have struggled against packed defences ( v Monahan in league) all to play for.

Cornetto2 (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 24/04/2018 20:27:14    2094826

Mayo news reporting a 30k sell out. Have they rounded that up from 28k.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 24/04/2018 22:19:49    2094852

Replying To TheUsername:  "Mayo news reporting a 30k sell out. Have they rounded that up from 28k."
Thought machale park holds about 38000?
Still tickets for sale for the game so doubt that report is accurate

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 24/04/2018 23:27:42    2094875

Whats this Mullarkey about teams showing their Hands/ Peaking too early.

To Be the best team You would want to be playing consistently at a high level for a few Years.
Management teams don't have switches they can turn on and off you know?

If Galway/Mayo/Kerry etc.. want to topple the dubs dominance they will have to get a system that they can perform for 3-4 years. I know for a fact Kevin Walsh expects the most out of his team everytime they cross the line as does every other manager. If the dubs Romp to a 8 point Victory in the league lads are saying " and there only in second gear" but if Galway, mayo, tyrone or Donegal do it there Peaking too soon.

TribalThing (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 25/04/2018 10:05:20    2094901

Replying To TribalThing:  "Whats this Mullarkey about teams showing their Hands/ Peaking too early.

To Be the best team You would want to be playing consistently at a high level for a few Years.

If Galway/Mayo/Kerry etc.. want to topple the dubs dominance they will have to get a system that they can perform for 3-4 years. I know for a fact Kevin Walsh expects the most out of his team everytime they cross the line as does every other manager. If the dubs Romp to a 8 point Victory in the league lads are saying " and there only in second gear" but if Galway, mayo, tyrone or Donegal do it there Peaking too soon."
Spot on. Lots of rubbish talked about that.

If Galway flop in the championship it will be because they are not good enough, not because they won a few league games.

This game might only have a kick of a ball in it yet the winning team will be made out to be great and vice versa. I think a lot of the analysis needs to be taken with a pinch of salt. A lot of broad brush strokes!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 25/04/2018 10:40:09    2094909

2 and half weeks to go can't wait for this game , we know for definite Keegan is out but stop saying Brannigan and O Conor are out we all know they will be playing on the 13th.

Half of me wants Galway to win so it's hopefully the end of our biggest rivals then the other half sees that Galway are coming with a very good young team so maybe it's better for Mayo to win to keep Galway down a little bit longer.

Personally for me Mayo are going to tear into Galway and win , but no doubt it's going to be a war.

What's the starting 15 for Mayo n Galway posters?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/04/2018 11:20:02    2094923

Donegal beat mayo by couple points last night behind closed doors in ballyshannon I heard ,2-20 to 2-18 ,intense physical game strong teams fielded and both teams didn't hold back ,a few of the mayo players who didn't feature in league got game time

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 25/04/2018 11:56:16    2094931

Replying To Galwayjoe86:  "Donegal beat mayo by couple points last night behind closed doors in ballyshannon I heard ,2-20 to 2-18 ,intense physical game strong teams fielded and both teams didn't hold back ,a few of the mayo players who didn't feature in league got game time"
Fair ould score to concede 2 21

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 25/04/2018 12:27:21    2094939

Replying To clondalkindub:  "2 and half weeks to go can't wait for this game , we know for definite Keegan is out but stop saying Brannigan and O Conor are out we all know they will be playing on the 13th.

Half of me wants Galway to win so it's hopefully the end of our biggest rivals then the other half sees that Galway are coming with a very good young team so maybe it's better for Mayo to win to keep Galway down a little bit longer.

Personally for me Mayo are going to tear into Galway and win , but no doubt it's going to be a war.

What's the starting 15 for Mayo n Galway posters?"
Saw Brannigan the other eve and he was on crutches so definitely an injury doubht. Cant speak on O connor.

As a Galway man ive noticed this year that very little is coming out of the camp in comparison to other years. you would have got the juicy info of lads around the clubs but this seems to have stopped.
I Would go with
Lavelle
Kyne
O ceallaigh
Kerin
Bradshaw
O donnell
Heaney
Conroy
Duggan
Brannigan
Cooke
Kelly
Walsh
Comer
McHugh

Please god just leave Walsh and Comer inside and Galway will win by 3
Gaillimh Abu

TribalThing (Galway) - Posts: 74 - 25/04/2018 12:49:13    2094944

Agree but also a big score to put up but for them the important thing was being able to give Higgins Vaughan Barrett etc a competitive game before may 13th and another game is expected for next week but haven't heard the opponent yet

Galwayjoe86 (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 25/04/2018 12:51:51    2094945

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Will AOS ever learn?
He brings it on himself
Some might say he is dead right, feck the begrudgers etc
I would say he brings it on himself and Mayo at this stage would be better off without him"
He's as well off doing this as he does feck all on the pitch, 5 or 10 mins playing each game isn't good enough, a man of his strength should be ploughing down players, see how Michael Murphy, Dara O'Se even Donaghy can control a game, AOS is just floating around the pitch. Time now he shaped up and showed the world exactly what he can do on the pitch

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 25/04/2018 13:10:59    2094951

Replying To Mayonman:  "Spot on. Lots of rubbish talked about that.

If Galway flop in the championship it will be because they are not good enough, not because they won a few league games.

This game might only have a kick of a ball in it yet the winning team will be made out to be great and vice versa. I think a lot of the analysis needs to be taken with a pinch of salt. A lot of broad brush strokes!"
Its so true.

Toss in the fact that if you don't have a good league its said "there are no surprises in the championship now, the league is a great indicator of a teams national ranking," unless of Course your not Dublin or Kerry in which case your peaking too early and sure wouldn't it be better to get relegated to division2

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 705 - 25/04/2018 13:46:15    2094954

Replying To riverboys:  "He's as well off doing this as he does feck all on the pitch, 5 or 10 mins playing each game isn't good enough, a man of his strength should be ploughing down players, see how Michael Murphy, Dara O'Se even Donaghy can control a game, AOS is just floating around the pitch. Time now he shaped up and showed the world exactly what he can do on the pitch"
Aidan needs to show more aggression like Comer does. With the hype already around this game and edge I would be surprised if both teams finish with 15...or then again or could turn out to be a damp squip as so often hyped up games are.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 25/04/2018 14:31:17    2094966

Replying To clondalkindub:  "2 and half weeks to go can't wait for this game , we know for definite Keegan is out but stop saying Brannigan and O Conor are out we all know they will be playing on the 13th.

Well unless your a surgeon who knows how to quick fix a torn ankle ligament
Brannigan won't be playing

Cornetto2 (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 25/04/2018 14:58:40    2094975

Replying To yew_tree:  "Aidan needs to show more aggression like Comer does. With the hype already around this game and edge I would be surprised if both teams finish with 15...or then again or could turn out to be a damp squip as so often hyped up games are."
Always thought Mayo were very disciplined especially AOS with all the abuse he gets. Generally the up and coming team cam be over eager and end up getting someone sent off.

This year though Mayo looked to lose their cool a good bit. Particularly COC and Boyle. Not a great sign. I'd imagine once they are back to full strength that will resolve itself.

A good start for Mayo and they could click into there hard running style and it could be a tough afternoon for Galway. On the other hand a good start for Galway would put doubts in Mayos head after the bad league.

Or maybe I'm over thinking it and they will just go hammer and thongs for each other!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 25/04/2018 18:13:52    2095001

Replying To TribalThing:  "Whats this Mullarkey about teams showing their Hands/ Peaking too early.

If Galway/Mayo/Kerry etc.. want to topple the dubs dominance they will have to get a system that they can perform for 3-4 years. I know for a fact Kevin Walsh expects the most out of his team everytime they cross the line as does every other manager. If the dubs Romp to a 8 point Victory in the league lads are saying " and there only in second gear" but if Galway, mayo, tyrone or Donegal do it there Peaking too soon."
Would disagree with you there mate, Dublin change the way they play and their system year on year. The way Dublin play now is radically different to four year ago, different from three years ago and so on. To be fair new players have come into the panel etc.

It's only the league, but Dublin tried a lot of new tactics and styles of play during the campaign.

I think most counties evolve, Mayo play a completely different way and system to say the two semi replays in 15. Mayo have many different variances to their game and system.

I think if you stick rigidly to a system it's soon worked out and you are left behind, evolution is key. Not to be critical as I rate their panel hugely but Tyrone would be an example last year.

I suppose time will tell.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 25/04/2018 21:01:11    2095019

Clarke
Barrett, Crowe, O'Donoghue
Boyle, Higgins, Durcan
Coen, Parsons
McLoughlin, A O'Shea, D O'Connor
Loftus
Doherty, Andy

Still doubts around the fitness of Harrison and Cillian with only 2 weeks to go so I've left them out. Think it would be a good experiment having Seamie O'Shea come on in the 2nd half. He has done well in that role previously, plus we don't have any other proper midfield cover on the bench in the event of injuries/cards. Stephen Coen could be a good foil in midfield to allow Parsons drive forward.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 25/04/2018 23:16:11    2095031

'Or maybe I'm over thinking it and they will just go hammer and thongs for each other'

Good man Mayonman, the Mayo and Galway lads that i know would always get the dander up for an oul thong :-)

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 213 - 26/04/2018 00:06:50    2095035