Mayo V Galway

Serious game coming up

That game will do Galway plenty of good

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/04/2018 21:15:24    2090147

Replying To jimbodub:  "Serious game coming up

That game will do Galway plenty of good"
Totally agree. And mayo have had every chance to watch us in action so they'll be fully prepped. Allegedly their entire focus has been the game against us. I'm expecting a fairly unforgiving encounter. Hopefully there'll be some football played....

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 01/04/2018 21:21:13    2090150

This is going to be epic , such a pity Keegan is out you want the best 15 on both teams playing , but still it's going to be some battle cannot wait for this game.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/04/2018 21:30:23    2090155

If I was a betting man I'd be backing Galway, they look a better team than Mayo at present who are on the way down I think, but time will tell. Galway will take some stopping, maybe the only team that can stop them are Dublin.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 01/04/2018 22:41:38    2090189

Can see both causing some carnage in the Super 8s and beyond,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/04/2018 22:50:25    2090193

The Connacht championship is a difficult one to call, Galway finished top of division 1 and could have won the League title, Roscommon won division 2 title, Mayo have been in 4 of the last 6 All Ireland Finals, Galway have beaten Mayo in the last 2 Connacht championship matches, Mayo have a poor record at home in recent years and play Galway in Castlebar, Roscommon should have beaten Mayo in the drawn All Ireland quarter final last year and know 1 good game against either Mayo or Galway this year means they will be in the super 8s, impossible to call who will win the Connacht title

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 01/04/2018 23:31:25    2090210

And don't forget Roscommon! There are three teams in Connacht this year who could arguably expect to get to a QF or SF. It's probably going to be the most competitive Connacht title in years, with at least two cracking games to look forward to.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 02/04/2018 00:18:39    2090222

Probably the only game neutrals are seriously interested in until the Super 8's start and it comes as early as May 13. Bit of a knockout feel to it although I don't buy the feeling that the losers are done for the year either. I think both can reach the Super 8's anyway.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2208 - 02/04/2018 03:50:49    2090228

Replying To riverboys:  "The Connacht championship is a difficult one to call, Galway finished top of division 1 and could have won the League title, Roscommon won division 2 title, Mayo have been in 4 of the last 6 All Ireland Finals, Galway have beaten Mayo in the last 2 Connacht championship matches, Mayo have a poor record at home in recent years and play Galway in Castlebar, Roscommon should have beaten Mayo in the drawn All Ireland quarter final last year and know 1 good game against either Mayo or Galway this year means they will be in the super 8s, impossible to call who will win the Connacht title"
Would agree with this analysis. The big trick for us or Ros is can we break into the top two or three. Both squads have dept and serious players. My concern for Ros is they will play too open. For us it is a case of getting maximum out of a few of our very talented forwards (including the one or two top Corofin forwards and there was no Corofin player listed in the squad yesterday). For Mayo main question as we know is going to the well once too often. Should be a good provincial Championship.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 02/04/2018 09:40:38    2090237

I think it is Galways to take at the moment; by far the better team.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 02/04/2018 16:14:12    2090356

Replying To Marooned:  "Probably the only game neutrals are seriously interested in until the Super 8's start and it comes as early as May 13. Bit of a knockout feel to it although I don't buy the feeling that the losers are done for the year either. I think both can reach the Super 8's anyway."
I think Mayo need to win this game if they are to reach the so-called 'Super 8'. I'm pretty sure that Galway will reach this goal either way. The return of the Corofin boys and maybe some of their injured players will help to revitalise the team after a successful but tough league campaign

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/04/2018 16:36:39    2090364

Mayo will win this game and really need to as I don't think they would have the legs again to win 8 or 9 games to get back to a semi or final.
The Galway team are taking time off this week and indeed most have gone on a weeks hols wheras the Mayo team are training hard and they will be firing on full tilt on May 13th, It remains to be seen how Galway pick themselves up and go again. Mayo have got to the last two All Irelands and are at home so will be hot favourites, quite frankly if they don't beat Galway again this year it will be curtains for a few of that panel..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 04/04/2018 08:13:17    2090895

The super 8's will seem a long way off for the losers of Mayo/Galway, Cavan/Donegal and Tyrone/Monaghan which adds further bite to these championship games. The condensing of the season means 3 backdoor games will be coming thick and fast before heading into 3 further super 8 games.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 04/04/2018 09:57:24    2090923

Replying To Byanthon:  "The super 8's will seem a long way off for the losers of Mayo/Galway, Cavan/Donegal and Tyrone/Monaghan which adds further bite to these championship games. The condensing of the season means 3 backdoor games will be coming thick and fast before heading into 3 further super 8 games."
As stated the losers of the first rd games will really be entering a minefield.alot of possible tough pressure games.

Qualifiers format

Twenty eight of the twenty nine teams beaten in the provincial championships enter the All-Ireland qualifiers, which are knockout. Sixteen of the seventeen teams (New York do not enter the qualifiers) eliminated before their provincial semi-finals play eight matches in round 1, with the winners of these games playing the eight beaten provincial semi-finalists in round 2. The eight winning teams from round 2 play-off against each other in round 3, with the four winning teams facing the four beaten provincial finalists in round 4 to complete the double-elimination format.

Cornetto2 (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 04/04/2018 10:40:46    2090939

Will AOS ever learn?
He brings it on himself
Some might say he is dead right, feck the begrudgers etc
I would say he brings it on himself and Mayo at this stage would be better off without him

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/04/2018 11:29:48    2094183

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Will AOS ever learn?
He brings it on himself
Some might say he is dead right, feck the begrudgers etc
I would say he brings it on himself and Mayo at this stage would be better off without him"
Why? Because he doing sonething to fund raise for his club? He could be doing alot worse stuff.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 21/04/2018 11:48:12    2094186

Replying To tommy132:  "Why? Because he doing sonething to fund raise for his club? He could be doing alot worse stuff."
a few days before Mayo's crunch clash with Galway, yer man is doing "the full monty"

listen, as I said some people like yourself would say "sure fair play to him"

But, I guarantee you you won't see any lads from Dublin, Kilkenny etc doing similar 2/3 days before a huge game like this

And, its not like AOS has never been at this lark beforem he just seems to find his way into these kinda things.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 21/04/2018 12:26:52    2094194

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "a few days before Mayo's crunch clash with Galway, yer man is doing "the full monty"

But, I guarantee you you won't see any lads from Dublin, Kilkenny etc doing similar 2/3 days before a huge game like this

And, its not like AOS has never been at this lark beforem he just seems to find his way into these kinda things."
Thing is..

Who else do they play?

Options are fairly limited for Mayo and if he wasn't in the panel at the moment and they lost.. Mayo's fan base a can be quick to get on the back of management and it would be a brace move for Rochford

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/04/2018 12:42:30    2094198

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "a few days before Mayo's crunch clash with Galway, yer man is doing "the full monty"

And, its not like AOS has never been at this lark beforem he just seems to find his way into these kinda things."
The film is being shown 2 days before the Galway game, it is being filmed in the next week or 2..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 21/04/2018 12:47:29    2094200

Think he would be excellent in the role as Lomper..............

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 21/04/2018 12:56:08    2094201