'The People's Game'

This thread may be more suitable for the 'OtherSports Forum' but it will get a better reaction if I post here and anyway it is GAA related. What do you make of the debate on Against The Head last night and rugby being called 'the people's game'. My tuppence on it, Rugby has a growing popularity and that's largely down to the success of the national team and the good work of the IRFU but its not even close to taking over gaelic games and even soccer as 'the people's game'.

bananaskin (Monaghan) - Posts: 47 - 06/03/2018 17:40:14    2082268

How many public secondary schools play rugby?

Patrician College Newbridge is the only one I know. People's game, that's a joke.

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 102 - 06/03/2018 18:01:02    2082273

Replying To bananaskin:  "This thread may be more suitable for the 'OtherSports Forum' but it will get a better reaction if I post here and anyway it is GAA related. What do you make of the debate on Against The Head last night and rugby being called 'the people's game'. My tuppence on it, Rugby has a growing popularity and that's largely down to the success of the national team and the good work of the IRFU but its not even close to taking over gaelic games and even soccer as 'the people's game'."
Couldn't agree more, not even close , will I watch the rugby v Scotland and England yes , but the people's game honestly thought it was a joke

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 06/03/2018 18:06:16    2082274

It was a laughable statement to be fair. And I love Rugby and get annoyed when people knock it for no reason. But Rugby is the 4th sport in this country, that is a fact.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 06/03/2018 18:10:46    2082277

Can't envisage rugby ever passing out Gaelic Games or football / soccer.

It's done well to establish itself as the 3rd sport so to speak but it'll probably never be second let alone first as the "nations sport".

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 06/03/2018 18:16:05    2082280

I love rugby but peoples game my ass. Bangwagoner's game more like!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 06/03/2018 18:23:37    2082283

I enjoy watching rugby on tv and will absolutely roar Ireland on this weekend and hopefully a grand slam decider on St.Pateicks day but I am a bandwagon supporter.

As for the people's game....that will always be the GAA no question. EVERY irish town and village has the local GAA club as the backbone of the community. I can't see that changing anytime soon.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/03/2018 18:35:15    2082287

Just wishful thinking on their part. Brings to mind the phrase; 'self-praise is no praise'.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/03/2018 18:37:22    2082288

Replying To bananaskin:  "This thread may be more suitable for the 'OtherSports Forum' but it will get a better reaction if I post here and anyway it is GAA related. What do you make of the debate on Against The Head last night and rugby being called 'the people's game'. My tuppence on it, Rugby has a growing popularity and that's largely down to the success of the national team and the good work of the IRFU but its not even close to taking over gaelic games and even soccer as 'the people's game'."
Rugby is a very physical game and very demanding on the body,But young lads love this kind of sport...MMA is also a fast growing sport both MMA and rugby are not for the light hearted or the do good soccer Mom !

Gaelic football was a very tough sport ...it was more about were you able to look after yourself rather than how fast or how long you can run now!

The fattest lad at school can play rugby..all he has to do is hold up one side of the scrum and grunt now and again , his training is to eat all he can ! He can even go out weekends if he wishes ...he can even get paid if he is any good at grunting !

Were as the tall 6ft school kid who plays Gaelic football and wants to be a county footballer has a life like a monk ahead of himself ...and if he is very lucky well shites his thanks for everything !

I personally don't like how demanding Gaelic football has become on young lads....so i can understand why Rugby is a popular sport for them now !

Gaelic football was unbelievable hard sport years ago as you can see link

if something like that happened in croke part now there would be a news flash of suspected terrorist attack in Dublin

Remember that Dublin football team in the early 90s were no angles ...Conor McGregor wouldn't even make the sub bench!

So yes Rugby is a better sport now....we have 4 provincial teams in ireland ...by 2030 they reckon there will be 7 rugby clubs in Ireland...and two could be private owned not anything to do with IRFU !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 06/03/2018 18:51:16    2082289

Rugby was the Main sport in Kerry before football came along. Il be honest I like rugby and so do all my family, i like the game the way it's played now but not so much in the 80s and early 90s, iv never played it but it looks enjoyable to play.

Rugby does looks like it's becoming number 1 game in the country , I might even swap my Kerry season tickets for Munster season tickets.

Nah .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/03/2018 19:24:31    2082293

Here in Limerick rugby is probably the peoples game. But mainly in the city and primarily down to the GAA like parish mentality of playing for your club, ie the club that represents the area you're born into. That's not a copper fastened rule but definitely contributed to how Rugby evolved in popularity.

IMO though Rugby can't compare or compete with the GAA in terms of hearts and minds because of that parochial mindset.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1056 - 06/03/2018 19:24:38    2082294

I've rarely heard anything more delusional. There's barely any objective way that you could call rugby the people's game.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4201 - 06/03/2018 19:30:11    2082296

Rugby people are gonna say rugby is the most popular game. Gaelic football people will say gaelic football. Soccer people will say soccer. Not a big deal which is the most popular. I think most people love a lot of sports. Obviously on here we think GAA is the most popular. Golf and cycling seem to be a popular pursuit for the 40+ age bracket though neither would float my boat. If you split them into rugby, gaelic football, hurling and soccer I think soccer would be close to the most popular participants wise though I've no figures. People get a bit defensive about their own sports, which is understandable. They'll pull out the 'most TV viewers for an event' chestnut which is a poor barometer for a sport's popularity. I think people are better off enjoying as many sports as they can rather than being bothered which is more popular.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 06/03/2018 19:51:04    2082298

In playing numbers, soccer has the highest percentage of members nationwide. Sports often overlooked as growing are athletics, swimming & basketball which have strong numbers. Gaelic games have the largest membership base but they have the highest dropout rates of all sports, something highlighted through the ESRI reports a number of times. Joe Brolly referenced the same reports this w'end. Rugby has widened its supporter base & financial base but playing numbers have increased but not dramatically. The number of ex Gaa people at Connacht Rugby games now is getting bigger. The numbers the IRFU are coaching in schools though has increased dramatically & Principals find their coaching package very very good. The Gaa take for granted that they are the people's game but if they keep treating club players as they are they won't remain there forever. The so called month of April for clubs hasn't even arrived & it has fallen as a casualty already to county games refixtures. No game should take it for granted that they are the people's game & it shouldn't matter as participation in any sport for all ages should be the aim.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 06/03/2018 19:59:03    2082300

There are more GAA clubs in Cork than there are rugby clubs in all of Ireland.

The people's game?

A long way to go for the rugby goys to be fair.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 20:29:24    2082308

This thread may be more suitable for the 'OtherSports Forum' but it will get a better reaction if I post here and anyway it is GAA related. What do you make of the debate on Against The Head last night and rugby being called 'the people's game'. My tuppence on it, Rugby has a growing popularity and that's largely down to the success of the national team and the good work of the IRFU but its not even close to taking over gaelic games and even soccer as 'the people's game'.
bananaskin (Monaghan) - Posts: 38 - 06/03/2018 17:40:14
There were some fair points made but many stupid on the programme.
Rugby has a growing popularity for nearly 20 years and thats because of the provinces as much as the national team. Munsters run in europe going so close to success before 2 titles in 3 years then Leinsters success. Never mind Connachts improvements. It wont take over gaelic or succer in popularity but it gives people more choices and is a sport more suitable to some peoples talents than other sports so why shouldnt they have option to play it?
4 0

Patrician College Newbridge is the only one I know. People's game, that's a joke.

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 80 - 06/03/2018 18:01:02
many dozens and dozens of "public" secondary schools play rugby. Look at the leinster website and the anne mcinerney cup etc and the articles on development sessions in many schools introducing kids to the sport

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6573 - 06/03/2018 18:23:37
Nonsense. Bandwagoner is such a stupid phrase. There is plenty of them in the GAA as well as all sports and bandwagoning isnt a bad thing.

I enjoy watching rugby on tv and will absolutely roar Ireland on this weekend and hopefully a grand slam decider on St.Pateicks day but I am a bandwagon supporter.
As for the people's game....that will always be the GAA no question. EVERY irish town and village has the local GAA club as the backbone of the community. I can't see that changing anytime soon.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 8861 - 06/03/2018 18:35:15
rugby has increasing clubs year on year. You are not a bandwagon supporter. You are a supporter. You have as much right as i to support the irish team and nobody will be measuring how much of a supporter you are anywhere

Rugby is a very physical game and very demanding on the body,But young lads love this kind of sport...MMA is also a fast growing sport both MMA and rugby are not for the light hearted or the do good soccer Mom !
Gaelic football was a very tough sport ...it was more about were you able to look after yourself rather than how fast or how long you can run now!
The fattest lad at school can play rugby..all he has to do is hold up one side of the scrum and grunt now and again , his training is to eat all he can ! He can even go out weekends if he wishes ...he can even get paid if he is any good at grunting !
Were as the tall 6ft school kid who plays Gaelic football and wants to be a county footballer has a life like a monk ahead of himself ...and if he is very lucky well shites his thanks for everything !
I personally don't like how demanding Gaelic football has become on young lads....so i can understand why Rugby is a popular sport for them now !
if something like that happened in croke part now there would be a news flash of suspected terrorist attack in Dublin
Remember that Dublin football team in the early 90s were no angles ...Conor McGregor wouldn't even make the sub bench!
So yes Rugby is a better sport now....we have 4 provincial teams in ireland ...by 2030 they reckon there will be 7 rugby clubs in Ireland...and two could be private owned not anything to do with IRFU !
WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 678 - 06/03/2018 18:51:16
Your idea about rugby is completely laughable(though i know you're taking the piss) Rugby to do well is more than as demanding as gaelic. there wont be 7 pro rugby sides in ireland by 2030. who do you believe is thinking there will be?

In playing numbers, soccer has the highest percentage of members nationwide. Sports often overlooked as growing are athletics, swimming & basketball which have strong numbers. Gaelic games have the largest membership base but they have the highest dropout rates of all sports, something highlighted through the ESRI reports a number of times. Joe Brolly referenced the same reports this w'end. Rugby has widened its supporter base & financial base but playing numbers have increased but not dramatically. The number of ex Gaa people at Connacht Rugby games now is getting bigger. The numbers the IRFU are coaching in schools though has increased dramatically & Principals find their coaching package very very good. The Gaa take for granted that they are the people's game but if they keep treating club players as they are they won't remain there forever. The so called month of April for clubs hasn't even arrived & it has fallen as a casualty already to county games refixtures. No game should take it for granted that they are the people's game & it shouldn't matter as participation in any sport for all ages should be the aim.
moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 06/03/2018 19:59:03
Rugby numbers have increased dramatically at age grade/school level but kick on hasnt happened at adult level yet.

The people's game?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11533 - 06/03/2018 20:29:24
That old chestnut.... There is many parishes with separate clubs for hurling and gaelic... and rugby has increased huge numbers year on year in past decade plus...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/03/2018 21:15:53    2082321

The people's game?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11533 - 06/03/2018 20:29:24That old chestnut.... There is many parishes with separate clubs for hurling and gaelic... and rugby has increased huge numbers year on year in past decade plus...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13327 - 06/03/2018 21:15:53 2082321

Cool story.

The point stands though.

Rugby playing numbers are miniscule in comparison to the 2 big football codes.

It's interest levels have increased it seems but way behind the big boys in terms of players and members.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 22:10:39    2082337

Here in Limerick rugby is probably the peoples game. But mainly in the city and primarily down to the GAA like parish mentality of playing for your club, ie the club that represents the area you're born into. That's not a copper fastened rule but definitely contributed to how Rugby evolved in popularity. 

IMO though Rugby can't compare or compete with the GAA in terms of hearts and minds because of that parochial mindset.
skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 314 - 06/03/2018 19:24:38 

Plus in limerick we love a sport which involves beating the hell out of each other and laughing about it afterwards. Helps that we pretty good at it too for a small enough place

While it is massive and well supported here even at club level, in terms of playing numbers soccer would be far bigger in city (limerick city soccer has around 80 adult teams) and in county hurling is king Around 70 gaa clubs versus around 14 in rugby,

weird thing about club rugby mentality in limerick when a guy moves to different area (get married etc) in rugby the kids tend to play for the dads club, in GAA more likely the local club.

As a county sportswise we are pretty ecumenical -the guys who support limerick in hurling will support munster as well and follow soccer

youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 06/03/2018 22:35:59    2082346

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "This thread may be more suitable for the 'OtherSports Forum' but it will get a better reaction if I post here and anyway it is GAA related. What do you make of the debate on Against The Head last night and rugby being called 'the people's game'. My tuppence on it, Rugby has a growing popularity and that's largely down to the success of the national team and the good work of the IRFU but its not even close to taking over gaelic games and even soccer as 'the people's game'.
bananaskin (Monaghan) - Posts: 38 - 06/03/2018 17:40:14
There were some fair points made but many stupid on the programme.
Rugby has a growing popularity for nearly 20 years and thats because of the provinces as much as the national team. Munsters run in europe going so close to success before 2 titles in 3 years then Leinsters success. Never mind Connachts improvements. It wont take over gaelic or succer in popularity but it gives people more choices and is a sport more suitable to some peoples talents than other sports so why shouldnt they have option to play it?
4 0

G.A.A._fan (Laois) - Posts: 80 - 06/03/2018 18:01:02
many dozens and dozens of "public" secondary schools play rugby. Look at the leinster website and the anne mcinerney cup etc and the articles on development sessions in many schools introducing kids to the sport

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6573 - 06/03/2018 18:23:37
Nonsense. Bandwagoner is such a stupid phrase. There is plenty of them in the GAA as well as all sports and bandwagoning isnt a bad thing.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 8861 - 06/03/2018 18:35:15
rugby has increasing clubs year on year. You are not a bandwagon supporter. You are a supporter. You have as much right as i to support the irish team and nobody will be measuring how much of a supporter you are anywhere

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 678 - 06/03/2018 18:51:16
Your idea about rugby is completely laughable(though i know you're taking the piss) Rugby to do well is more than as demanding as gaelic. there wont be 7 pro rugby sides in ireland by 2030. who do you believe is thinking there will be?

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 570 - 06/03/2018 19:59:03
Rugby numbers have increased dramatically at age grade/school level but kick on hasnt happened at adult level yet.

The people's game?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11533 - 06/03/2018 20:29:24
That old chestnut.... There is many parishes with separate clubs for hurling and gaelic... and rugby has increased huge numbers year on year in past decade plus..."
No, not nonsense, I hear lads talking about rugby in recent years that wouldn't have spit on the game when we were the underdog. Yes GAA has bandwagon fans, especially in my own county. But mostly the core of the fanbase nationally has always been there.
I know you are defensive when it comes to rugby, but I think its pretty obvious around the towns of Ireland that GAA is far more popular.
I have been watching rugby as long as I have GAA, and I love it, but to call it the peoples game this stage, is actual nonsense.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 06/03/2018 22:43:53    2082348

I think the biggest advantage GAA (and to a lesser extent football) have over rugby is in the number of female players. The IRFU estimated female playing numbers as 4,500 (personally heard it to be closer to 3,000 but we'll stick with the IRFU's figure). The LGFA claim to have 1,000 clubs / teams in Ireland alone - a massive difference, and one that helps promote GAA clubs as more a family type environment. Especially when you factor in programmes like Gaelic for Girls and Gaelic for Mothers.

One of the main arguments for rugby being so popular and one being put forward on social media is the idea that Irish rugby produces winning teams.

We've produced European and World champions in athletics, swimming, golf and cycling among others and each has higher participation rates than rugby - you'd be laughed at if you tried to claim any of those and the number one sport in the country though.

Even in football our best performance at a World Cup is no worse than it is in rugby, in fact I'd argue there's a strong case for saying we've underachieved on the world stage in rugby over the last 2 decades.

The 6 Nations will bring in big viewing figures but no more so than the national team would at the Euro's or at a World Cup, and no more than the All Ireland's would.

In terms of professionalism in the way it's administered, financed / sponsored and promoted though, along with the positive spin that seems to be very prevalent in almost all forms of media rugby is way out in front - you have to give them credit for that.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 07/03/2018 00:01:06    2082363