Bottle Throwing Incident In Breffni

Yesterday's incident during the Cavan v Meath game was disgraceful to put it mildly. I hope the culprit was dealt with and a suitable punishment was served (though I doubt it) Does anyone have any information on the reason for this imbecile's behavior?
Anyway, the incident took me back to something I saw in Croke Park as a child. I was about 12 or 13 at the time and a neighbour of mine invited me to the Leinster final between Meath and Offaly. I think it was sometime in the mid/late nineties. Meath were hot favourites to win the match. The game itself was brilliant. The Offaly men played out of their skins. Vinny Claffy,Malone and Daly are names that stand out. Against all odds Offaly won and after the game as their supporters flooded onto the pitch my neighbour asked me if I'd like to have a walk around the pitch. We had just crossed the sideline of the hallowed turf when bottles and other missiles started raining down onto the pitch in large numbers from the canal end where the Meath supporters were. We were quite close to them so we had to turn around and head back to the stand to watch the celebrations. I'm not trying to have a go at the Meath supporters. Just wondering was anyone else there that day and see this happening. I never heard much about it after.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 19/02/2018 20:44:20    2078533

Replying To thegadfly:  "Yesterday's incident during the Cavan v Meath game was disgraceful to put it mildly. I hope the culprit was dealt with and a suitable punishment was served (though I doubt it) Does anyone have any information on the reason for this imbecile's behavior?
Anyway, the incident took me back to something I saw in Croke Park as a child. I was about 12 or 13 at the time and a neighbour of mine invited me to the Leinster final between Meath and Offaly. I think it was sometime in the mid/late nineties. Meath were hot favourites to win the match. The game itself was brilliant. The Offaly men played out of their skins. Vinny Claffy,Malone and Daly are names that stand out. Against all odds Offaly won and after the game as their supporters flooded onto the pitch my neighbour asked me if I'd like to have a walk around the pitch. We had just crossed the sideline of the hallowed turf when bottles and other missiles started raining down onto the pitch in large numbers from the canal end where the Meath supporters were. We were quite close to them so we had to turn around and head back to the stand to watch the celebrations. I'm not trying to have a go at the Meath supporters. Just wondering was anyone else there that day and see this happening. I never heard much about it after."
That was 1997, the year after 1996. I watched that game on the telly and wasn't too upset that Meath lost their Leinster and All Ireland crowns that day, plus there was the not so minor detail that we wouldn't have to play them in the semi final. I'm not saying they would have beaten us and then Kerry in the semi final but I don't think they would have made tae and sandwiches for Maurice Fitzgerald like we did.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 20/02/2018 01:20:30    2078607

Replying To thegadfly:  "Yesterday's incident during the Cavan v Meath game was disgraceful to put it mildly. I hope the culprit was dealt with and a suitable punishment was served (though I doubt it) Does anyone have any information on the reason for this imbecile's behavior?
Anyway, the incident took me back to something I saw in Croke Park as a child. I was about 12 or 13 at the time and a neighbour of mine invited me to the Leinster final between Meath and Offaly. I think it was sometime in the mid/late nineties. Meath were hot favourites to win the match. The game itself was brilliant. The Offaly men played out of their skins. Vinny Claffy,Malone and Daly are names that stand out. Against all odds Offaly won and after the game as their supporters flooded onto the pitch my neighbour asked me if I'd like to have a walk around the pitch. We had just crossed the sideline of the hallowed turf when bottles and other missiles started raining down onto the pitch in large numbers from the canal end where the Meath supporters were. We were quite close to them so we had to turn around and head back to the stand to watch the celebrations. I'm not trying to have a go at the Meath supporters. Just wondering was anyone else there that day and see this happening. I never heard much about it after."
I was in the canal end that day. I do remember a bit of an incident after the game in front of the canal end. A few lads with a big Mayo banner (a big flag with poles on either side) were on the hill supporting Offaly. Mayo won Connaught and were due to play the Leinster winners in the semi. At that time there had been a bit of rivalry between Meath and Mayo from the previous year with the replayed All Ireland final and the fight where Coyle and McHale were sent off. A few minutes after Offaly won the game the lads came down in front of the Canal end fence with their big Mayo banner up to have a laugh at the remaining Meath supporters left on the canal. Remember supporters being annoyed and roaring abuse at them a few lads getting over the Canal fence to get the flag. I don't specifically remember any bottles being thrown though.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 20/02/2018 13:52:55    2078731

Terrible to see any throwing anything at other fans or players and has no place in our game. The indiviual involved at the weekend should be given a ban on attending matches.(Would never be enforced)
Saying that every team has a few clowns of supporters and not all Meath fans who act like thugs. The few around me in the Hyde a few weeks ago were sound and good craic

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 20/02/2018 15:11:56    2078756

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I was in the canal end that day. I do remember a bit of an incident after the game in front of the canal end. A few lads with a big Mayo banner (a big flag with poles on either side) were on the hill supporting Offaly. Mayo won Connaught and were due to play the Leinster winners in the semi. At that time there had been a bit of rivalry between Meath and Mayo from the previous year with the replayed All Ireland final and the fight where Coyle and McHale were sent off. A few minutes after Offaly won the game the lads came down in front of the Canal end fence with their big Mayo banner up to have a laugh at the remaining Meath supporters left on the canal. Remember supporters being annoyed and roaring abuse at them a few lads getting over the Canal fence to get the flag. I don't specifically remember any bottles being thrown though."
Thanks for shedding some light on that. That explains a lot alright. It's something I've always wondered about.
Once I saw an umbrella being thrown onto the field in an Ulster club championship match. I've also seen a supporter stick the top of an umbrella in a players eye in a club match. I don't think it would be possible to enforce a ban on these supporters though.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 20/02/2018 20:02:43    2078842

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I was in the canal end that day. I do remember a bit of an incident after the game in front of the canal end. A few lads with a big Mayo banner (a big flag with poles on either side) were on the hill supporting Offaly. Mayo won Connaught and were due to play the Leinster winners in the semi. At that time there had been a bit of rivalry between Meath and Mayo from the previous year with the replayed All Ireland final and the fight where Coyle and McHale were sent off. A few minutes after Offaly won the game the lads came down in front of the Canal end fence with their big Mayo banner up to have a laugh at the remaining Meath supporters left on the canal. Remember supporters being annoyed and roaring abuse at them a few lads getting over the Canal fence to get the flag. I don't specifically remember any bottles being thrown though."
How do we end up getting blamed for trouble in a match between Offaly and Meath? We weren't too used to Croke Park back then, so the lads probably went in too familiarise themselves with the place.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/02/2018 20:54:45    2078859

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "How do we end up getting blamed for trouble in a match between Offaly and Meath? We weren't too used to Croke Park back then, so the lads probably went in too familiarise themselves with the place."
Ye may not have been playing but ye had some supporters there who decided to wind up some of the Meath boys after the game.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 21/02/2018 14:54:16    2078998

yeah i remember a few meath fans grabing a flag and ripping and tearing it up down on the field for years i thought it was an offaly flag and was always disapointed to see that, because although i was very disapointed to lose i was also happy for offaly as they played brilliant and took thier chance that day and very gracious in victory. thank god that explains it.

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 687 - 01/03/2018 16:21:13    2081461

Offaly were a division 4 team that year if I remember correctly, where I originally come from we bordered Offaly (actually parish takes in both counties, I met many a old school friend that day from both counties all good humour banter. I congratulated the Offaly supporters and waited for the cup to be presented (as I always do regardless of winning or loosing) I do remember the flag incident from a couple of idiots (I doubt they actually from mayo directly) there was no bottles as I recall, but then I've witnessed flares been thrown at Meath supporters and pieces of wood too. I won't mention the counties.
All counties have idiots, the funny thing is according to some I have spoken to the bottle incident in brefni may have been a Cavan supporter trying to hit a Meath player after a challenge. I don't think the culprit was caught. Be it a Cavan or Meath fan (I use term loosely) there is no place for that in any sport.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/03/2018 16:46:39    2081463

Replying To royaldunne:  "Offaly were a division 4 team that year if I remember correctly, where I originally come from we bordered Offaly (actually parish takes in both counties, I met many a old school friend that day from both counties all good humour banter. I congratulated the Offaly supporters and waited for the cup to be presented (as I always do regardless of winning or loosing) I do remember the flag incident from a couple of idiots (I doubt they actually from mayo directly) there was no bottles as I recall, but then I've witnessed flares been thrown at Meath supporters and pieces of wood too. I won't mention the counties.
All counties have idiots, the funny thing is according to some I have spoken to the bottle incident in brefni may have been a Cavan supporter trying to hit a Meath player after a challenge. I don't think the culprit was caught. Be it a Cavan or Meath fan (I use term loosely) there is no place for that in any sport."
Ballinabrackey.
Would ye have much of a pick in comparison to the Harps?
I think they've about 550-650 bodies in their area of the parish.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 01/03/2018 18:35:07    2081487

Couldn't have been a Cavan fan, their bottles would be on elastic, and the Meath lads can't afford to throw away bottle :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 01/03/2018 19:30:12    2081501

Here is the actual bottle that was flung

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 01/03/2018 20:11:00    2081510

Replying To royaldunne:  "Offaly were a division 4 team that year if I remember correctly, where I originally come from we bordered Offaly (actually parish takes in both counties, I met many a old school friend that day from both counties all good humour banter. I congratulated the Offaly supporters and waited for the cup to be presented (as I always do regardless of winning or loosing) I do remember the flag incident from a couple of idiots (I doubt they actually from mayo directly) there was no bottles as I recall, but then I've witnessed flares been thrown at Meath supporters and pieces of wood too. I won't mention the counties.
All counties have idiots, the funny thing is according to some I have spoken to the bottle incident in brefni may have been a Cavan supporter trying to hit a Meath player after a challenge. I don't think the culprit was caught. Be it a Cavan or Meath fan (I use term loosely) there is no place for that in any sport."
All counties have idiots, the funny thing is according to some I have spoken to the bottle incident in brefni may have been a Cavan supporter trying to hit a Meath player after a challenge. I don't think the culprit was caught. Be it a Cavan or Meath fan (I use term loosely) there is no place for that in any sport.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 12744 - 01/03/2018 16:46:39 2081463

The culprit was removed by 2 guards.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 848 - 01/03/2018 21:02:17    2081517

Replying To RHF:  "All counties have idiots, the funny thing is according to some I have spoken to the bottle incident in brefni may have been a Cavan supporter trying to hit a Meath player after a challenge. I don't think the culprit was caught. Be it a Cavan or Meath fan (I use term loosely) there is no place for that in any sport.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 12744 - 01/03/2018 16:46:39 2081463

The culprit was removed by 2 guards."
I was in the stand behind Meath dugout, I seen a plastic bottle on field, where it came from or who threw it I have no idea. It followed a challenge from a Meath player on a Cavan player.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2018 09:57:08    2081539

nothing proves your love for your county like throwing a bottle at a gaa match,i mean you would need to be EXTREMELY passionate about your county to do that.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 02/03/2018 11:03:57    2081549

I was in the canal end that day. I remember at the end of the game obvious celebrations by the offaly fans a few of whom went towards the canal end which I suppose wasnt taken too well by the Meath fans. I remember also the Mayo banner being unveiled. There was then a rain of bottles thrown in the direction of the pitch. To be fair I think every bottle these idiots threw hit the nets and were more likely to hit Meath fans. Gaurds pulled a few young lads up on it too.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 02/03/2018 12:41:47    2081572