Kerry Vs Galway

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "They have just changed that rule in this years congress and now an U20 player can be named on a senior panel and once he doesn't play he can play U20."
ok I see but I don't know if that's a good or bad thing
in our case in galway we haven't had to use our u20s that much,
some have played in Connacht fbd leauge to get experience,
they be the lads who played Kerry in 2016 all Ireland minor final,
there a different group to young lads who are on galway senior team
it looks like they will be left to play u20and wont be required
as we have a lot of 21 to 22 yr olds lads to pick from
a good few have come from last years u21 team who were runners up in all Ireland final
in kerrys case the 2 best lads on the u 20 would be sean o shea and david Clifford
not only that but 2 of the best in the country at u20 for sure
it looks like there will be huge pressure to play these lads in senior team
as they already look better than some of the forwards Kerry have at senior
that will rule them out of u 20 championship and be a huge loss to the u20team
and even if a u20 plays only 5 mins senior hes ruled out of u20 champ

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 27/02/2018 16:57:17    2080997

Replying To rhudson:  "ok I see but I don't know if that's a good or bad thing
in our case in galway we haven't had to use our u20s that much,
some have played in Connacht fbd leauge to get experience,
they be the lads who played Kerry in 2016 all Ireland minor final,
there a different group to young lads who are on galway senior team
it looks like they will be left to play u20and wont be required
as we have a lot of 21 to 22 yr olds lads to pick from
a good few have come from last years u21 team who were runners up in all Ireland final
in kerrys case the 2 best lads on the u 20 would be sean o shea and david Clifford
not only that but 2 of the best in the country at u20 for sure
it looks like there will be huge pressure to play these lads in senior team
as they already look better than some of the forwards Kerry have at senior
that will rule them out of u 20 championship and be a huge loss to the u20team
and even if a u20 plays only 5 mins senior hes ruled out of u20 champ"
Ya we'll definitely need Clifford and o'Shea for our senior team this year but that still leaves jack O'Connor a lot fine footballers for his U20s team, the one position I'd worry about on our U20s team is goal keeper we've been playing midfielders and forwards in goals for the last 4-5 years whereas ye have young haslam who was a a class goalie at minor level.

We have good opinions up front even without the two boys we have Dara Moynihan , David Shaw , Donal o'Sullivan, fiacra Clifford , Brian friel , Adam donaghue , and diarmuid o'Connor can play there as well but he'll probably be used in midfield I'd say.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/02/2018 20:59:22    2081089

Replying To Townee2018:  "Seem to be a bit of a mystery alright. If Heaney did spray water, would a yellow card not suffice? Hardly fair ending a lad's game over something so minor. With regards Sean Andy, he seemed totally stunned when he got his card. Also think the 7 added minutes was a bit mental, and the ref even ended up playing nearly 9 minutes. Thought the ref actually had a very good game and didn't get too many decisions wrong but just thought the black cards and the added on time stood out as strange and unclear. Could well be deserving but just didn't seem like it to me."
Only explanation i can think of is Kyne was pulling and dragging off the ball and ref picked the wrong ginger! SA didn't seem to be doing anything. Hopefully they will appeal it. Important to set the record straight because these things can come back and bite you.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 28/02/2018 11:07:52    2081181

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya we'll definitely need Clifford and o'Shea for our senior team this year but that still leaves jack O'Connor a lot fine footballers for his U20s team, the one position I'd worry about on our U20s team is goal keeper we've been playing midfielders and forwards in goals for the last 4-5 years whereas ye have young haslam who was a a class goalie at minor level.

We have good opinions up front even without the two boys we have Dara Moynihan , David Shaw , Donal o'Sullivan, fiacra Clifford , Brian friel , Adam donaghue , and diarmuid o'Connor can play there as well but he'll probably be used in midfield I'd say."
you sure have some pick there for sure
last years minor team looked exceptional
just a pity the u20 is on same time as senior championship
another thing is wont there be lot lads in that age group ,
heading to usa for the summer from all over Ireland
its gonna be interesting to see how it all unfolds
quite possible Kerry and galway might meet later in u20
all going well that is

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 28/02/2018 12:52:19    2081205

Replying To rhudson:  "you sure have some pick there for sure
last years minor team looked exceptional
just a pity the u20 is on same time as senior championship
another thing is wont there be lot lads in that age group ,
heading to usa for the summer from all over Ireland
its gonna be interesting to see how it all unfolds
quite possible Kerry and galway might meet later in u20
all going well that is"
Ya it'l be interesting if we do meet as we need to get some payback for last years defeat :-)

And ya it's a pity they run them both off together and in the summer as well because like you say we could all potentially lose a lot of our players to America for the summer, also would it not have been a good idea to maybe play the semis and final in conjunction with the senior semifinal and final as the minor going to U17s has lost some of its flare now imo.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 28/02/2018 13:09:00    2081212