Mayo vs Kerry

Replying To Weary:  "Reasonable performance from Mayo. Seen alot worse at this time of year. An awful lot to improve of course. Kerry lads are flying for early February. Alot involved in Sigerson and it shows. Away ahead in fitness levels. Great movement up front from Kerry. Lovely scores taken but alot of silly wides. No obvious defensive strategy employed by Mayo. With so many of the players outside the county at this time of year Mayo are rarely as organised as they would like. Kerry were by far the better team and deserved their victory.
Happy enough to see the hype around these young lads from Kerry. As I'm sure Jim Gavin is. Kerry still have the same obvious failing. Really struggle when teams run at them. Until they can sort that out they will not beat Dublin. They have everything else needed including bucket loads of cynical and 'tactical' fouling to match the best out there. How times have changed. There was a time when a Kerry man would nod and politely smile in your direction for getting excited about a couple of league victories in January and February....even with kids. They knew the folly of your ways."
What are the last two sentences of that post about?! It's early Feb lad as we are all very aware of down here. Kerry people don't get giddy by League results and none of us are crowning these young lads All-Ireland champions in waiting based on two League wins.
We are just happy that the underage talent we have is finally get a chance and showing they are up to this level, long year ahead.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/02/2018 16:46:21    2073880

Replying To Weary:  "Reasonable performance from Mayo. Seen alot worse at this time of year. An awful lot to improve of course. Kerry lads are flying for early February. Alot involved in Sigerson and it shows. Away ahead in fitness levels. Great movement up front from Kerry. Lovely scores taken but alot of silly wides. No obvious defensive strategy employed by Mayo. With so many of the players outside the county at this time of year Mayo are rarely as organised as they would like. Kerry were by far the better team and deserved their victory.
Happy enough to see the hype around these young lads from Kerry. As I'm sure Jim Gavin is. Kerry still have the same obvious failing. Really struggle when teams run at them. Until they can sort that out they will not beat Dublin. They have everything else needed including bucket loads of cynical and 'tactical' fouling to match the best out there. How times have changed. There was a time when a Kerry man would nod and politely smile in your direction for getting excited about a couple of league victories in January and February....even with kids. They knew the folly of your ways."
Happy enough to see the hype around these young lads from Kerry. As I'm sure Jim Gavin is.

Funny enough on here at least the ones hyping up Kerry's young players aren't from Kerry/ In fact a lot are from Dublin.

Kerry still have the same obvious failing. Really struggle when teams run at them. Until they can sort that out they will not beat Dublin.

Name a team who doesn;t struggle when teams run at them? Also they beat Dublin in the league final last year so it can't be that big of an issue

why (Kildare) - Posts: 142 - 04/02/2018 19:05:49    2073984

Good win by Kerry, but not impressed with that new style jersey.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 04/02/2018 19:09:11    2073988

Was Kerry cynical...YES
Was Mayo cynical...YES
So please everyone give over your daddy is more cynical than my daddy gibberish!
It is well seen any serious team with AI aspirations is cynical, Dublin,Tyrone, you name it.

Very impressed with Kerry's young lads not giving an inch to Mayo. Kerry has 2 big wins now where we should all be delighted with.
But.....still a very soft center where teams now know they can attack Kerry as the open up like the dead sea but I am very hopeful for the young lads coming through.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/02/2018 19:16:20    2073991

Replying To aidan64:  "Take ur beating. Ye were beaten and bullied by a load of kids. Yes our discipline is gone to pot lately but there is no question that ye were played off the park"
Mustn't be able to read in the Kingdom, the 1st thing I said was Mayo were brutal, Kerry were miles better, how does that mean we didn't take our beating, in fact Kerry should have won by 9 or 10 pts

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/02/2018 19:29:15    2074004

Replying To yew_tree:  "A bloody shambles of a performance. Kerry outfought and bullied us off the ball. Yes it's only February and no need to panic but a serious reaction is needed the next day.

Some
Fans can complain About Kerry being cynical which they were but they were the better team
By far. We wouldn't have beaten any team in division 1 (maybe even 2) with that performance."
Very honest and accurate analysis.

On a positive note Mayo looked off the pace and I'm sure once training ramps up that issue will resolve itself like last year.

But on the other hand the really seem to struggle when teams drop everyone back. Lost against 12 in FBD again the last night they were more of a threat against 15. Against Galway last couple of years ye were more of a threat when our attacks broke down, but when ye had all the pressure and we had everyone dropped back ye really struggled.

In a funny way ye struggle when dominating but can go toe to toe with the Dubs because it is more open.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 05/02/2018 08:52:39    2074148

Mayo very wasteful, COC over rated, he scores the tap overs, leave the frees to JD. TV guys Horan and Billy Joe are not objective, they just see Green and Red. Mayo will play better in Salthill no doubt, the auld enemy. Mayo have the best keeper in the country.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 05/02/2018 10:27:39    2074181

Replying To maroondiesel:  "Mayo very wasteful, COC over rated, he scores the tap overs, leave the frees to JD. TV guys Horan and Billy Joe are not objective, they just see Green and Red. Mayo will play better in Salthill no doubt, the auld enemy. Mayo have the best keeper in the country."
Little bit harsh on Cillian. He was impeccable from frees until he missed the crucial one in the 2016 final. Confidence dipped a bit after that but was coming back to himself before he missed the almost identical free in the 2017 final. I agree the frees should have been left to Doc on Saturday but come Summer Cillian will be back to his usual self. He will also benefit from the removal of the captaincy. I expect a big year from both himself and Diarmuid. As for the match next weekend I think Galway will win with a little to spare. They are on a roll after two big wins and confidence will be high. Mayo are struggling along minus half their regulars and are lucky to have two points at this stage. I think Rochford would like to bring in a few new faces but with so many, especially defenders missing, his hands are tied to an extent. I don't expect anything from the Galway and Dublin games but, with some of the old reliables coming back in, I think they will target the last three games to get enough points to stay up. As for Cillian being overrated, he has dragged us through so many matches over the years that I don't think his importance can be overstated. Still each to their own!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/02/2018 12:25:25    2074234

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Little bit harsh on Cillian. He was impeccable from frees until he missed the crucial one in the 2016 final. Confidence dipped a bit after that but was coming back to himself before he missed the almost identical free in the 2017 final. I agree the frees should have been left to Doc on Saturday but come Summer Cillian will be back to his usual self. He will also benefit from the removal of the captaincy. I expect a big year from both himself and Diarmuid. As for the match next weekend I think Galway will win with a little to spare. They are on a roll after two big wins and confidence will be high. Mayo are struggling along minus half their regulars and are lucky to have two points at this stage. I think Rochford would like to bring in a few new faces but with so many, especially defenders missing, his hands are tied to an extent. I don't expect anything from the Galway and Dublin games but, with some of the old reliables coming back in, I think they will target the last three games to get enough points to stay up. As for Cillian being overrated, he has dragged us through so many matches over the years that I don't think his importance can be overstated. Still each to their own!"
I think he doesn't need the pressure of us often relying on him to kick frees. Need to let Doherty and possibly a third freetaker to let him work on the rest of his game. He is a class footballer, on his day can contribute very good scores from play but many just see him as a freetaker. For some inexplicable reason, I don't think it's just injuries, Diarmuid hasn't been back to his 2015 performances. Perhaps the weight of expectation has affected his confidence ? Neither of them or anyone on the Mayo team should be undroppable, if that's even a word! But finding new players to put pressure on their places is easier said than done. I don't envy Stephen Rochford but he's not afraid to make changes.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 05/02/2018 14:37:20    2074290

Replying To Mayonman:  "Very honest and accurate analysis.

On a positive note Mayo looked off the pace and I'm sure once training ramps up that issue will resolve itself like last year.

But on the other hand the really seem to struggle when teams drop everyone back. Lost against 12 in FBD again the last night they were more of a threat against 15. Against Galway last couple of years ye were more of a threat when our attacks broke down, but when ye had all the pressure and we had everyone dropped back ye really struggled.

In a funny way ye struggle when dominating but can go toe to toe with the Dubs because it is more open."
Mayo are most venerable this time of year and early in the championship. Training and strength/conditioning is geared towards later in the year.

I think we need to go the direct route this year which has me more focused on our meeting in May. Still should be a good aul battle on Sunday but either way it's not the b all this Sunday.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 05/02/2018 18:01:12    2074392

Didn't see the game but I read that Evan Regan needs surgery on his face after a hit in the game.
Anyone see it? What happened exactly?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/02/2018 10:31:00    2074512

Replying To keithlemon:  "Didn't see the game but I read that Evan Regan needs surgery on his face after a hit in the game.
Anyone see it? What happened exactly?"
Here's my read on it from a completely biased point of view. Regan was soloing towards goal from the right hand side and heading towards the fourteen yard line. The Kerry number seven was in front of him and as Regan moved to go around him and on to his left foot the Kerry lad, a little off balance, threw up his arm and caught Regan in the face. Regan was down for a while and had to be helped off. It was more a reactionary foul that anything premeditated so I suppose the ref couldn't give more than a yellow. Regan was through on goal only for the foul so it worked out well for Kerry. A black card would probably have been fairer but I don't know if a black card covers a foul like that. The Kerry lads will probably have seen it differently.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/02/2018 12:39:49    2074556

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Here's my read on it from a completely biased point of view. Regan was soloing towards goal from the right hand side and heading towards the fourteen yard line. The Kerry number seven was in front of him and as Regan moved to go around him and on to his left foot the Kerry lad, a little off balance, threw up his arm and caught Regan in the face. Regan was down for a while and had to be helped off. It was more a reactionary foul that anything premeditated so I suppose the ref couldn't give more than a yellow. Regan was through on goal only for the foul so it worked out well for Kerry. A black card would probably have been fairer but I don't know if a black card covers a foul like that. The Kerry lads will probably have seen it differently."
That's pretty much how I saw it my self llaw, Reagan was being marked by Shane enright who slipped twice in the build up and his man got away and Shanahan had to go to him and he caught Reagan high and in fairness if he was given a red we could have no complaints.

Best wishes to Reagan and hopefully he'll have a speedy recovery.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/02/2018 13:29:58    2074574

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Here's my read on it from a completely biased point of view. Regan was soloing towards goal from the right hand side and heading towards the fourteen yard line. The Kerry number seven was in front of him and as Regan moved to go around him and on to his left foot the Kerry lad, a little off balance, threw up his arm and caught Regan in the face. Regan was down for a while and had to be helped off. It was more a reactionary foul that anything premeditated so I suppose the ref couldn't give more than a yellow. Regan was through on goal only for the foul so it worked out well for Kerry. A black card would probably have been fairer but I don't know if a black card covers a foul like that. The Kerry lads will probably have seen it differently."
Very fair post. I watched it and it looked innocuous at first viewing, even Billy Joe Padden said a yellow card was the right call. Needless to say the Mayos are going beserk again.. Agree it was hard and a poor challenge but not premeditated. Best wishes on his recovery

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/02/2018 13:36:33    2074576

Replying To Belclare1:  "Very fair post. I watched it and it looked innocuous at first viewing, even Billy Joe Padden said a yellow card was the right call. Needless to say the Mayos are going beserk again.. Agree it was hard and a poor challenge but not premeditated. Best wishes on his recovery"
Lol a bit like the posters on here who are obsessed with Aidan O Se and Cillian O C and never stop giving out about them, beserk like that or just normal beserk. It was a terrible challenge but he never meant to badly injure the lad, is that ok with you?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 06/02/2018 15:06:54    2074592

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Lol a bit like the posters on here who are obsessed with Aidan O Se and Cillian O C and never stop giving out about them, beserk like that or just normal beserk. It was a terrible challenge but he never meant to badly injure the lad, is that ok with you?"
Two balanced posts from two different Mayo posters not calling for the Kerryman's blood. I'll make it a third, I agree completely. That really isn't fitting into Belclare's narrative of the "Mayos" going beserk. I wonder have the "Galways" ever gone beserk in their time?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 06/02/2018 15:44:23    2074599

Replying To the_walls:  "Two balanced posts from two different Mayo posters not calling for the Kerryman's blood. I'll make it a third, I agree completely. That really isn't fitting into Belclare's narrative of the "Mayos" going beserk. I wonder have the "Galways" ever gone beserk in their time?"
1983 !!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/02/2018 17:44:31    2074627

On further viewing I don't think the Kerry lad meant it. I'm sure he didn't mean to break Evans jaw. Well that's what I hope anyway.

My motto in these situations would always be to keep quiet and let it be...pay it back by beating them next time you meet.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 06/02/2018 20:24:54    2074649

Replying To yew_tree:  "On further viewing I don't think the Kerry lad meant it. I'm sure he didn't mean to break Evans jaw. Well that's what I hope anyway.

My motto in these situations would always be to keep quiet and let it be...pay it back by beating them next time you meet."
Well said..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 06/02/2018 20:39:23    2074655