Meath v Westmeath O Byrne Cup final

Play it as the curtain raiser to the Leinster final :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/03/2018 15:04:57    2081706

Replying To jobber:  "Cursed the hogan stand calls the Ó Byrne cup final but maybe the powers that be should realise a competition started four days after Christmas day deserves to be "cursed""
I don't know what the panic is about finishing this competition, up to not so long ago the O'Byrne Cup was played throughout the summer months. Indeed I remember games being played in August and September.

If I were either the Meath or Westmeath managers I would recommend that it be played in early May thereby providing a meaningful game just before the Leinster Championship. It would bea lot more useful that some of the meaninglessness challenge games that are played at that time.

PS. This competition (along with the Walsh and Kehoe Cups in hurling) was originally meant to be a Leinster Council Accident Fund raiser.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 03/03/2018 16:13:35    2081717

Replying To realdub:  "Play it as the curtain raiser to the Leinster final :D"
No way are we putting out two senior teams on same day.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 03/03/2018 16:41:32    2081721

Ahh jasus the lads are fit no doubt but with both counties been in the final too it might be a step too far :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/03/2018 17:36:06    2081732

Replying To MillerX:  "I don't know what the panic is about finishing this competition, up to not so long ago the O'Byrne Cup was played throughout the summer months. Indeed I remember games being played in August and September.

If I were either the Meath or Westmeath managers I would recommend that it be played in early May thereby providing a meaningful game just before the Leinster Championship. It would bea lot more useful that some of the meaninglessness challenge games that are played at that time.

PS. This competition (along with the Walsh and Kehoe Cups in hurling) was originally meant to be a Leinster Council Accident Fund raiser."
They still act as fundraisers for the Leinster GAA Hardship fund.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 03/03/2018 18:38:13    2081740

That's the spirit lads :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/03/2018 18:44:17    2081743

Replying To CastleBravo:  "They still act as fundraisers for the Leinster GAA Hardship fund."
I know that but a lot of posters on here want to get it out of the way ASAP. And speaking of fundraisers, the Dublin Co Board did not even bother to collect a "gate" at the Walsh Cup game earlier this year between Meath and Dublin in Abbotstown. There was a good crowd there as it was Pat Gilroy's first official game in charge of the Dublin hurlers. Then again Dublin are swimming in money at the moment so why bother funding an accident fund for the minnows.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 03/03/2018 19:44:48    2081754

Replying To realdub:  "That's the spirit lads :D"
You just look at my reply to CastleBravo.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 03/03/2018 19:47:59    2081756

I read all posts, and?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 03/03/2018 23:30:25    2081777

Replying To realdub:  "I read all posts, and?"
It is hardly in keeping with the "spirit" of an accident scheme not to collect a gate.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 04/03/2018 11:13:23    2081789

Jaysus lads things have really gone bad in Meath when there is interest in the obyrne cup.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/03/2018 15:50:11    2081809

Replying To MillerX:  "It is hardly in keeping with the "spirit" of an accident scheme not to collect a gate."
I think you may have got the wrong end of the stick, I was referring to royaldunne and seadog.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 04/03/2018 17:49:43    2081824

Replying To realdub:  "I think you may have got the wrong end of the stick, I was referring to royaldunne and seadog."
Sound

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 04/03/2018 18:36:33    2081833

Can they not just place the O'Byrne Cup on the border between the two Meaths.. half and half on each side and yiz can stand on your own side and bask in your glory

Problem solved

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/03/2018 22:34:55    2081867

Haha.!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/03/2018 22:41:01    2081868