Westmeath Forum

Popular Posts from Meridian

Dublin Senior Football Team - 6 Like(s)
I didn't see a Dublin Football team. I just saw 5 or 6 lads kicking ball in a park which is something which is happening all over the country.

Meridian (National) - 01/04/2021 10:29:22

Withdrawals Sound Death Knell For O'Byrne Cup? - 4 Like(s)

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "is the withdrawl of louth and kildare the death keel of the byrne cup? the gaa had propossed doing away with it , is this their excuse?"
Could be alright. The decision by both Louth and Kildare flies in the face of what this competition is all about. It was meant to allow counties to try out new players in an Inter County level competition. I think it is very disrespectful of both the competition and the opposing counties who may have welcomed the game to try out new players at that level. To say that a team cannot field is just ridiculous. Play your U21 team or your Junior team if you have to but fulfil your obligation to the competition and the opposition.

Meridian (National) - 11/01/2023 09:25:32

Mayo Ladies Walk Out - 4 Like(s)

Replying To arock:  "Unsafe was perfectly spelt out last night by Sarah Tierney - unsafe has been replaced with mental abuse so it is now taking a very serious turn. Now we as observers can we say that is rubbish, but yet all sporting bodies are supposed to hold this issue in the highest regard. So are we now playing down these concerns and accusations? So is what she says mental abuse? I am not qualified and you can be absolutely certain the Mayo County board is not. Because effectively the GAA/LGFA/Camogie associations all have signed up to specific protocols is the Mayo County Board following them? I would urge anyone unsure to listen specifically to what Sarah Tierney is saying. This is getting serious someones reputation is going to be in tatters if this is not taken out of the public domain and soon."
I would like to take issue with this line in your comment: "This is getting serious someones reputation is going to be in tatters if this is not taken out of the public domain and soon." You certainly dont seem to have an issue with Leahy's reputation anyway. Do you not realise that this is already happening by the Carnacon players alluding to the fact that Leahy has inflicted this mental abuse and unsafe environment upon them? Or is Leahy not entitled to the same protection to his reputation in your opinion? It seems not.

Meridian (National) - 19/09/2018 15:59:01

Paraic Duffy to step down as Director-General of the GAA - 3 Like(s)
Glad he is gone and his comments just show how much he represents a bygone era. He suggests that Dublin wont win forever - well sorry, they will if most of the resources keep going to 1 county while the others have to beg for scraps from the table. And even if the Kerry's, Tyrone's win the odd All Ireland, what of Leinster where Dublin WILL likely do a 20 in a row. It is highly likely they will. Also, the notion that Hill 16 is for Dublin is rediculous. The idea that Dublin should have sole occupancy to Hill 16 is discriminatory. Why should other counties be forced to pay higher prices for stadium tickets elsewhere which Dublin exclusively get Hill 16 at a cheaper cost. Anyway, this is all his back dated opinion. Why not do something new and innovative. Provincial system in Leinster is dead and will be for some time. Have an open draw for the All Ireland or some sort of round robin system and have Leinster afterwards with a split Dublin North and South. Why not try it rather than harp back at historical identity crap. If we can have Galway as Leinster Hurling Champions (which is ludicrous) why not try a split Dublin. By the way this is not in any way an anti Dublin post but an anti GAA post at them sitting on their hands and allowing Leinster become a formality every year with no sign of that changing through any action from the GAA. Where is the funding, coaching etc for all of the other Leinster Counties to try and address the situation. Look at my home county, Westmeath. 1 full size all weather pitch for the whole county while in Dublin, most clubs have this luxury. I am sure most other counties have the same situation. Good riddance to him i say.

Meridian (National) - 26/01/2018 13:28:48

All Ireland Final 2023 - Dublin V Kerry - 3 Like(s)

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I just watched final again for the 3rd time. This time using pause button rewind etc. Now anyone that watches game again will see that while Clifford left his shooting boots at home his misses had zero to do with Mick Fitz. Now Fitz is a top defender but Clifford ghosted by him everytime and Fitz never won one ball off him. In fact Clifford had free shots as he got by Fitz easily. Even for the goal he wrong footed Fitz who thought David was going to use his left leg but tricked him using the right. Calls for Fitz to be motm were ridiculous. Also it was James Mccarthy poorest game I ever saw him play. Fentonn gad a good second half and Mannion had a fine game. Paddy Small played alot better than I originally thought as did Basquel in 2nd half. For Kerry Morley Paudie Clifford were very good and Geaney had a fine game. Both keepers were excellent and Brian Howard was fab."
Mick, is it just me or is there a distinct lack of talent coming through in Kerry at the moment? I was struck by the standard of their bench which was quite poor I thought. Nobody that you could say was going to provide a spark or turn a game on its head. No young fella with bags of skill which was a trademark of Kerry football. There was always the next superstar on the horizon. The fact that any of the Kerry substitutions on Sunday, was met by any roar from the crowd told its own story. I also think they need to find a new midfielder fast as the jury is out on the 2 that are currently there. Jack Barry's race is run. Great servant but time waits for no man and O'Connor has had 1 good game and was anonymous for lots of the Championship. Same could be said for O'Brien and Moynihan too. I just don't think this Kerry team are that good and the brilliance of the Cliffords and Sean has carried them.

Meridian (National) - 03/08/2023 12:08:10

Westmeath Football thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Being beaten by Wicklow in the championship is no cause for concern??? Elimination from the Leinster championship to the 2nd worst team in the competition is of no concern? I've heard it all now."
Are you trying to be the Roy Keane of this forum? All you seem to do is give out. These are amateur players doing their best. They are not machines. If you are looking for perfection both on the field and off it then go elsewhere. We are a young team, a young new manager, mistakes have been made and will be made again.

Meridian (National) - 09/04/2024 14:05:04

New Senior Manager - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Wmeath2:  "Any young, up and coming coach/manager would be crazy to get involved with Westmeath given how they treated Adrian Moran recently! No thanks from county board, no pathway for progression to senior/U20 as has happened in Dublin, Donegal, etc as mentioned by previous poster. I would feel most people are more loyal to their club first and are more likely get involved with their club before Westmeath under age development squads."
spot on.

Meridian (Westmeath) - 17/11/2017 12:10:44

New Senior Manager - 1 Like(s)

Replying To footiemad:  "Doesn't matter who the selectors are,this team going nowhere and we all know it,knock that"
So dont bother supporting them or waste your time on here then. While i agree with your assessment on our prospects i'll certainly give the man a chance. He's working with a poor lot, but they are the best we have.

Meridian (Westmeath) - 25/10/2017 21:40:39

International Rules - 1 Like(s)
If this was really to be taken seriously they wouldnt have Joe Kernan over the team. End of.

Meridian (National) - 25/10/2017 21:48:56

Westmeath Football thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Good win, two sides at totally different stages of development, experience and physicality ensured we always looked in control, physically the difference between the two sides in the middle third was massive, we dominated that sector throughout, Baker, Loughlin and O' Toole lively up front, Conor Dillon's best display, Offaly supporters worried afterwards about relegation, their away to Antrim next week with the losers facing a relegation battle after only two games, Declan Kelly's job will take 3 years to show progress, we have a Clare side in transition. Expect a fine crowd in Cusack"
Fair play to Dessie for not listening to people whinging on about U23 players a few weeks ago and went with the players with the physicality for the job. Great win.

Meridian (National) - 29/01/2024 09:37:03

Vandalism On GAA Properties - 1 Like(s)
It has nothing to do with GAA facilities or any other sports facilities. It is just down to groups of kids with nothing to do and in groups like that bravado prevails and they just turn to vandalism. Unfortunately sports facilities tend to be the places that they hang out even though it is highly unlikely they are members of the Club which uses that sports facility.

Meridian (National) - 19/04/2021 11:28:13

Movathon 2021 - 1 Like(s)
Give them a chance. Maybe they have some pictures of prizes being awarded and need to collate it all together. Remember that the people that run these things have daily jobs and don't have all day to be working on these things. The least you as a supporter can do is support that and allow them the time to get to it. its not like you are helping in any other regard.

Meridian (Westmeath) - 19/04/2021 11:31:08

Replying To TheGaaMan77:  "I find it almost very funny how Westmeath people will be anti Lomans true Leinster yet will be the first ones to mention the Lomans players when asked by outsiders who are the players on county panel whom are best , I ain't a lomans man but I will get behind them in Leinster there a great club we'll ran club and have some of the best facilities in the country , let go of the bitterness lads not that any lomans man woman or child cares if any one from fella clubs in the county wish upon their downfall"
I think most would have no issue with the Loman's players but how the Club has conducted itself over the years in acquiring players from everywhere and anywhere would have annoyed many. Most Clubs over the years would have had a catchment area and stuck to that. Loman's changed all that.

Meridian (National) - 11/10/2023 09:26:06

Replying To Bettyboo22:  "The Downs will be back to contest it no doubt bout that . Kinnegad will give it a go to . I don't think it's clean cut for Lomans this year either did they get any new players in from other clubs"
If they didn't it wont be for a lack of trying anyway!!

Meridian (National) - 17/05/2023 09:16:33

Replying To PowellJohn3:  "Will the O'Byrne cup be a disaster like it was the last few years, it used to be a great competition to blood players and when the colleges were involved it made for very interesting contests i thought some big scalps taking over the years. Countys seem to just ignore it now and play loads of challenge games each week. Should the O Byrne cup become an U-22/23 competition or does that add more fixtures clashing with sigerson?? Thoughts"
Its up to each County to determine how they want to approach the O'Byrne Cup. Some will play their strongest side and go all out to win it while others just use it to test out new players. I have always been in favour of the latter. Who cares who wins it - does anyone remember who won it last year or the year before (without having to Google it) ? I also preferred the competition when the Colleges were in it as it gave more players matches as it forced County managers into playing fringe players, as i think county players in College had to play with their College. I don't recall why the Colleges left the competition again but at a guess it would be because the the county managers weren't happy with that rule.

Meridian (National) - 02/01/2024 14:05:01

Senior & intermediate championship 2016 - 1 Like(s)
How is it that Westmeath were knocked out of the Championship at the end of July and we are only at the semi final stage of a Senior Football Championship with 12 Clubs competing. Dublin won the All Ireland in October yet 2 weeks later they are at the Quarter Final Stage of their Championship and they have 32 Senior Football Clubs!

Meridian (Westmeath) - 11/10/2016 14:54:33

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Please point out where I criticised a single player ever on this forum, it hasn't happened, save you scrolling back through pages, I have criticised the management and do not apologise for so doing, they're extremely well looked after for their efforts. At least try to get things right when taking aim at other posters, no one is forcing you to read these pages."
It cannot be all down to the management which is what you are alluding to for weeks. Any poor or average performance its down to Dessie and his management team. This is wrong. Players are also culpable. We get it, you are not a fan of his management but he has brought in a number of young players and we have secured Div 2 which was the main aim. Anything after that is in bonus territory. Would we have won Leinster? - No. Sam Maguire? No chance. I hope we end up in the only Championship competition we can actually win which is the Tailteann Cup.

Meridian (National) - 10/04/2024 08:42:38

Mayo need to save football - 1 Like(s)
I think one player will have a big bearing on the final and can bring Mayo on again and that is Cillian O'Connor who for me hasnt had the best of years to date. Yes, he is a good free taker but his scoring from play hasnt been great and he seems to have lost some pace. I know he will largely be a marked man and the quality of the defender on him will be excellent but he just hasnt done it from play this year. One thing I have noticed, and i know he is Captain, but does he have to try and referee the game and question EVERY decision. He seems to get too involved in referee decisions and cynical stuff off the ball (e.g. Darren O'Sullivan incident) when he should be concentrating on getting scores for his team. Maybe i'm wrong but i just find that he is spending too much time involved in reffing the game rather than getting scores from play.

Meridian (National) - 30/08/2017 12:07:44

Better team won on the day. Fair play Wicklow, full value for their win. At least all the Sam/Tailteann Cup debate is now over. Dessie has his excuse all ready last week (schedule). A very disappointing result.

Meridian (National) - 07/04/2024 18:51:25

Replying To AmberNBlack:  "The leinster championship is no longer "the championship". Its an inconvenience thats being kept alive because of provincial councils and old school traditionalists. Dublin use it as a training exercise to fight for a place in the actual championship which is now the all ireland series. Dean Rock admitted the other day in an interview he doesn't even know how many times he's won it! The facts are westmeath are promoted into division 2 and faced straight into a game with wicklow which they lost. Fair enough, they lost. But in the grand scheme of things its like losing an o byrne cup game in terms of relevance to the actual championship which will either be tailteann cup or the all ireland series. Whatever competition they're in more luck to them"
Agree completely. There are some right clowns on here who are too quick fire to vent their frustrations but know nothing about the game.

Meridian (National) - 09/04/2024 14:09:51