UK Forum

Popular Posts from Flaherty

Galway Vs Roscommon (Championship) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Really:  "In fairness, I'd say Dylan was a bit young to stake a claim under KW. But he now wears the IC no. 6 quite easily. And I can't see anyone taking it off him. Daly is going to have to look for some other position - possibly full-back. What I like about PJ is he wants players with an honest attitude - no half in/out. The team is beginning to take a settled look. Players like Tierney and Sweeney are now setting the standards - I can only imagine training has moved up several notches. And it's bloody easy on the eye. I can't wait for things to open up so we can see it in the flesh..."
Not saying Dylan McHugh and colleagues aren't the best we have right now but let's not get carried away with our defensive talent, Dylan McHugh was grasping at straws a few times last Sunday and so were a few other defenders. John Daly will be very welcome when fit and a few other defenders need to be found too before we can dream of competing at the top table again. Roscommon and Monaghan play the most defensive tactics imaginable in football at the moment, no one could call them serious attacking outfits. The only true test we can judge our defenders on was that Kerry game...believe me I'm not persuaded much has changed with our defense since then and that's a sobering thought facing Mayo (probably) the next day!

Flaherty (Galway) - 10/07/2021 14:44:36

Starting 15 For Championship (Hurling) - 3 Like(s)

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Look, I am only addressing Katser. The man should stop making excuses. Galway won a fine All Ireland two years ago and everyone was delighted to see Joe Canning win his well deserved medal, however Limerick deserved their win last year and that lad should just get over it. No offence meant to the the Galway team or their other supporters. As regards the team put out yesterday. Hannon was injured, as was clearly evident in the closing minutes of the Clare game. Flanagan had to be played, even though he was rusty, as he is returning from a long term injury. Hegarty was reported to be carrying an injury going into the Clare game and the fact that he was not even brought on yesterday might bear this out. As regards not playing Lynch at midfield, there has been an on going battle for the second position there between O'Donoghue and O'Donovan. WOD seems to be the man in form but after DOD's exploits at the business end of the championship last year it must be hard to drop him. The foregoing might explain more fully why Kiely picked the team he did. Anyway best wishes to Galway in the future. After all the fine minor teams of recent years and the solid backbone of the present team I am sure ye will be back bigger and better than ever in the 'roaring' twenties"
This is a Galway forum...why are we hearing all about Limerick?

Flaherty (Galway) - 17/06/2019 09:35:51

Galway Football 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To FallenStar:  "Queue the celebrations from the "purists" and the homepage."
Sorry but that's not true at all...there can be no celebrations when a genuine Galway legend like KW has thought it best to resign. We knew it was time, he knew it was right. He's played his part in improving the team but knew like MD with the hurlers that someone new is needed to take things on with new ideas to freshen a very young side up. That's brave of him and adds lustre to his stature within the county so all credit to him.

Flaherty (Galway) - 03/09/2019 13:12:09

Galway - NHL 2020 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To katser:  "Brilliant and always sweet when you humiliate the All Ireland Champions!!! Delighted he started Nilland and as I expected a top class free taker. P.Killeen, I've said it time and time he is not suitable for the Galway team. It's only when he took S.Cooney off that the whole team clicked and started to flow!! Daithí Burke No.3 GMAC No.6 is the way it should be."
I'm pretty sure Shane Cooney was injured when he came off and I thought he played very well... Gmac played great too at 3 so should be left there. Daithi should be 2 or 6. Whatever...it's good we seem to have more choices!

Flaherty (Galway) - 08/03/2020 16:28:57

Starting 15 For Championship (Hurling) - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Galwayspur:  "I doubt P Mannion could have as bad a day again. GMac just playing himself into some form and Joe Cooney getting back to full fitness all should help in the half backline. Harte isn't a corner back but will probably pick up the sweeper role in most games. Hanbury made some good interceptions but was off the pace. Interesting to see who comes in for him, hopefully Morrissey. I think ultimately what Daithi is doing with Galway and Corofin will catch up with him, we're lucky to have someone of his quality and again playing himself into form. The biggest problem in defence is the fannying about with the ball, a couple of simple turnovers led to scores, need to work on that big time. Get it out of there. Cathal Mannion hates being interviewed."
You may be right about the form of some of these guys...the improvement can't come quick enough! I just hope Dublin earn every score they get Saturday evening and that we don't have to endure another feast of avoidable goals, soft points and silly frees for the opposition. It would be a big confidence booster.

Flaherty (Galway) - 13/06/2019 10:04:16

Galway v Mayo - 2 Like(s)
Fair play to the team on Sunday...I didn't expect them to win and whilst many of my fears over their weaknesses remain, I will admit they are a gutsy group if somewhat error prone perhaps. I'll refrain from being too critical of their performance on the day but one thing concerned me greatly which few have alluded to and that is what happened in the lead up to half time. What on earth were Galway up to after Higgins got sent off and in the ensuing 12/13 minutes when we completely stood off Mayo on all their kickouts? We allowed them cheap access to possession when we had a gale force wind behind us and an extra man...why?? When we had an extra man and 12/13 minutes left with a strong wind behind us the team should have gone after Mayo whilst instead we had Mayo nonchalantly playing down time and sauntering up the field for a couple of points. It was that period that nearly cost us the game! Was it lack of leadership by the team or the management on the sideline not capable of reacting to the situation on the ground? Whichever, it is another aspect of the team that causes concern...

Flaherty (Galway) - 13/06/2017 17:07:16

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Jackson88:  "Im saying it for so long. He's a huge liability - got caught very poorly for the tipp goal. Mobility wise very poor, distribution poor, tackling poor. I would have daithi burke back at 3 in an instant. Gillane will eat him alive"
I think that's being very unfair on Gmac! Saturday evening was our best defensive performance of the year so why would we change anything? Gmac was admittedly a little sloppy clearing before the Tipp goal but otherwise he was very solid. After all the much vaunted Tipp full forward line of Kehoe, Callanan and Morris failed to score even a point between them in the match. Two of them were in fact called ashore by halftime so let's give GMAC some credit for his part in those outcomes. GMAC will be fine and anyway you couldn't move Daithi from 6 as he's playing a stormer there all year. Daithi at 6 together with Cathal Mannion is the platform for most of our best hurling, let's not mess with that please.

Flaherty (National) - 26/06/2023 18:16:27

Connacht Final 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "the game of football just gets more boring to watch every year.... id rather watch cricket..."
Yeah and it's saying something to be worse than cricket. I had to switch it off before the end, not because I thought we'd lost it by then but just because they're not worth watching or supporting with the way they play. Anyway, it's obvious to anyone they can't win anything going forward playing like that. Maybe they should resign themselves from playing the next round...it would do us all a favor. The hurlers are a tragedy but the footballers are a joke.

Flaherty (Galway) - 16/06/2019 18:00:31

Replying To Claretandblue:  "JM25 have the decency to acknowledge Fahy's contribution"
Too true...JM25 criticism of Fahy way off. A few wides yes but he took two great points and more importantly he won masses of dirty ball in the air and on the ground, one of our best players on the day. He's finally embedded himself i feel in this team and he's a sure fire starter against Limerick. Sadly Conor Cooney in his short cameo only confirmed what we already know...

Flaherty (National) - 25/06/2023 09:38:29

Replying To tiobraid:  "least he was brave enough to move Daithi away from fullback where he was never a natural. Centreback gives him the freedom to play with abandon Hard to know where to start with the above! Cant see anyone agreeing with the first point and a hurling centre back playing with abandon at any level would be some recipe for disaster! For Dublins first goal chance on Sunday DB was in the number 10 position. You wont get away with that later in the year. I certainly wouldnt like to be playing in the FB line with my CB "playing with abandon""
Tiobraid, you don't make a lot of sense here, he scored our goal on Sunday from just 10 metres out from Dublins goaline so if that is not a centreback playing with "abandon" I don't know what is! And it was no disaster Sunday. Sure he can't be out of position all the time like that but at centreback he can take those risks and he's good enough to do it, provided his teammates give him some cover. But he also took those risks when he played fullback and I think I am being "sensible" in saying that's not on for a fullback. You're saying he should still be our fullback i presume? Preferably any time we play Tipp maybe...

Flaherty (National) - 30/05/2023 13:15:49

Galway V Limerick - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Galway9801:  "Gamesmanship, including diving, is an inevitable by product of the win at all costs mentality. I'll repeat i didn't see the game, not casting aspersions, but I do think simulation has crept into hurling these last few years,, not as bad as the embarrassing stuff that goes on in football, but it's worrying to see,and should be called out. If Kiely was wrong he was wrong, and should apologise, but when you look at the thousands upon thousands of frees (at least it felt like that much) awarded in hurling the last couple of weekends, Id put money that there were plenty of occasions when the player could have stayed upright."
Fair enough, very possibly there is some feigning of fouls going on but I think what's equally damaging to the game is the cynical tapping on helmets , lazy hands on arms and other stupid fouls. One leads to the other in my opinion...what's an opponent supposed to do to counter all the cynical fouling? I think the refs are doing right to clamp down on it and once the cynical fouling is reduced perhaps the so called diving will vanish too and hurling will be the better for it. Jackie Tyrrell is naive to think it makes for a more entertaining game if hurling was allowed to be a physical free for all environment. Cynicism and illegality take the good out of any game and there was a lot of that going on when he was playing. I think most people would agree hurling has been far more entertaining the past four or five years then in the period prior to that when Jackie played...how is that?

Flaherty (National) - 19/05/2021 14:35:18

Galway V Limerick - 2 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "No need for me to apologise PoolSturgeon, Kiely like a lot of Limerick followers is annoyed with the double standards with regards to Limerick and the way we are being refereed. If 2 players collide on a 50/50 ball and 1 falls to the ground now days the ref will give a free to the player on the ground more often than not, as Limerick men are usually bigger and stronger than their opponents then the opposition will get a free and a lot of that seemed to be happening on Sunday. Maybe the Galway man 'dived' or fell under the weight of the challenge I don't know but with the yelling amd roaring that could be easily heard on the tv from the player tackled and the sideline of Galway then a weak ref gave ye a lot of frees. Galway I'm sure like Limerick would have no problem getting into a hard hitting physical match that wouldn't cross the line but the rules now days prevent that. Limerick seemed to come out the wrong side of a lot of the calls on Sunday like Peter Caseys booking, English having his hurley held and the free going against him, Costello being blown up for over carrying near the end of the game after he had stumped and got up and see the photos in the Irish Examiner on Monday of Tuohys hurley up inside Hegartys helmet and no free either and 2 photos of Mannion with the spare hand pulling back Limerick forwards getting away from him. The most cynical foul I saw on Sunday was Mclnerney holding onto Flanagan after he won a ball in the air and was getting free to run at the goals from 30 yards out. The play acting of Tuohy at 1 stage I thought he had a broken neck and a minute later he was running around like a spring lamb or Flynn after the final whistle hitting Byrne's in the back and apparently getting a box to the face and going down like he was shot even though he had a helmet on with the face guard- surely Byrne's must have a broken hand if he hit him that hard. As for the suggestion the Hayes kicked a man on the ground do what Kiely did and review the video because on Sunday if Limerick players looked crooked at Galway men the ref gave a free. Finally get a saddle for Shane Cooney for the next time he marks Lynch- he did everything but ride him."
This is just drivel...

Flaherty (National) - 19/05/2021 14:58:59

Galway V Limerick - 1 Like(s)

Replying To updwell:  "So the hurling of the last 2 weekends is better according to you than KK v Tipp from around 2010 or Tipp v Gal from the mid teens or go further back to Cork v Waterford or Cork v KK from the early part of this century. If you want a tippy tappy no contact with 42 frees like Waterford v Westmeath then I'm sure you must be one of the few hurling fans who's happy at the moment."
Ah yes, I remember those days up to 2010 when we had a hugely exciting Leinster championship we followed the whole summer long! Those were the days alright...let's have them back.

Flaherty (National) - 19/05/2021 16:48:34

Kilkenny and Tipp Give Us A Traditional All Ireland Hurling Final - 1 Like(s)

Replying To perfect10:  "plenty of refs would have went with hurlings age old "nobody wants to see someone sent off in an all ireland final,hes not that kind of player" nonsense. did it not occur to cody that james owens probably had his mind made up but just wanted to check with the linesman in case he thought he was wrong?"
Was he ever any different? Cody was being his own typically canny and contradictory self...how can he say on the one hand "you need to be very sure if you're going to give a red card" and nearly in the same breath criticize the ref for taking the time to consult linesman, etc before confirming his decision...complete tosh from Cody. Without question a red card and several commentators too have embarrassed themselves.

Flaherty (National) - 19/08/2019 13:16:18

Starting 15 For Championship (Hurling) - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Galwayspur:  "I doubt P Mannion could have as bad a day again. GMac just playing himself into some form and Joe Cooney getting back to full fitness all should help in the half backline. Harte isn't a corner back but will probably pick up the sweeper role in most games. Hanbury made some good interceptions but was off the pace. Interesting to see who comes in for him, hopefully Morrissey. I think ultimately what Daithi is doing with Galway and Corofin will catch up with him, we're lucky to have someone of his quality and again playing himself into form. The biggest problem in defence is the fannying about with the ball, a couple of simple turnovers led to scores, need to work on that big time. Get it out of there. Cathal Mannion hates being interviewed."
I had been hoping your optimism during the week was on the money Galwayspur...but not to be! To be fair all the warning signs have been there about our defense as i posted last week and particularly Daithi's role at full back for some time now. So If we're rational about it we don't need to be overly disappointed because the truth is the facts don't lie. We've been conceding huge scores for 6/7 championship matches now and lots of soft goals, eventually that will kill you as a team and finally it did last night. The pity is that the profligacy of our defense last July/August and last Sunday vs KK was never addressed with any seriousness. That's why I question if MD should carry on...I fear he's been in denial about our full back line since last summer. Daithi is a busted flush now at full back and must be moved to six or seven and the whole full back line rebuilt but I'm not sure MD sees it that way/would make the change. Our opponents have seen the defense issues long before ourselves and now they are targeting it. Don't think for a minute TJ'S goals were just accidental last Sunday, he knew where the weaknesses/casualness were and reaped the rewards. At the very minimum MD should change his defence coaches or get someone like O'Shea (if he would come) to look at things afresh. The team and in particular the forwards have huge potential and can win A Irelands still in the next few years but only if we have the courage to face reality and make these changes. Let's be positive, after all we only have half the team or less to fix, time was when we had problems everywhere and we should be grateful we're not in that position...at least not yet.

Flaherty (Galway) - 16/06/2019 14:23:28

Galway V Dublin - 1 Like(s)

Replying To shanestaple:  "Whenever Galway put in a half decent performance against the likes of Dublin/ Kerry you will always hear " Ah they were only in second gear " Dublin had a strong team out whether you like it or not, you can only play against the team they put out. Something like 11 of the lads that started AI replay. Do you suggest that Galway were in fifth gear? I certainly don't think so. Think you're being harsh on conroy also, think he's been nominated twice for an all star so he couldn't have been that bad? Hope the young lads aren't reading your comments or sure there's no point lining out at all. We have a good team, awful performance against Mayo but we were better against Dubs, if we keep building , beat Sligo , we won't be easy to beat in the Connaught final. Years not over yet ."
I don't mean to be harsh on Paul Conroy, he's always been a good player but let's be honest he never quite held down one position and called it his own over the years. I don't know, perhaps KW was at fault in the past or something. Maybe Paul Conroy was messed around over the years but look at him on Sunday and he would be the first man on your team sheet, you'd play him anywhere wouldn't you? Players don't usually become a revelation quite suddenly at 31? Of course the point I'm really making is more to do with the rest of the team...and how Paul Conroy contrasts with their inexperience right now or so it would seem. Has he become massively better or do they make him look better? I too think we're starting to put together a decent team and a style of play more suited to Galway so I'm not disparaging them but we do need to be realistic as heavy expectations, too soon, are also just as damaging as honest criticism.

Flaherty (Galway) - 26/10/2020 19:10:48

Galway Hurling 2021 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Who matched it? I missed that part"
Shane Morgan I believe...

Flaherty (Galway) - 16/07/2021 12:00:38

Galway Up Against The Cats - 1 Like(s)

Replying To hashtag2017:  "The young goalkeeper needs to go back to goalkeeping school. You dont play as a fly keeper at senior level."
I think the young goalkeeper did alright...he just saw unfortunate gaps left by his defenders in front of him. Poor awareness of space by them I believe... Sometimes the best team loses...it's how they react to this defeat that matters! The players are there I believe...it's mostly down to their positioning. I think SON might still have a chance to get it right...will need to show some bravery after the facts though!

Flaherty (Galway) - 14/11/2020 21:21:03

Galway Hurling thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Whelan has spent plenty of time operating around the middle for Kinvara. Generally to good effect, as no more than Joe Canning with Portumna, your best players need to be involved as often as possible. No more than Canning for Galway in the 'bad days' there would be no point in Whelan playing 14 for Kinvara unless they can get the ball to him consistently. And for all that Dáithi Burke in full flight is a sight to behold, we can't get away from the fact the unit as a whole wasn't hectic during his tenure in the 3 shirt. While it would be hard to point to a single 'incident' he was 'responsible for' the stability of the unit trumps the individual and we concede(d) plenty of avoidable goals, and I'm not referring to sunday's, which were of the laughably soft variety, the sort that you just say 'please try not to repeat that, gentlemen' The post you refer to was one of the better ones I have ever seen here, though at the end of the day, all it is, is a matter of opinion, of course. He is thinking outside the box, and I applaud him for it."
Respect SP!

Flaherty (National) - 31/05/2023 22:03:41

Galway Hurling thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Kinvara:  "Daithi Burke not a natural FB and Whelan a midfielder This might be the worst post on this board and that beats some seriously stiff competition"
Wow a bit sensitive are you not? It's not as if I said he was a bad fullback or anything, just that he's such a much better centre back and I'll stand by that. He's in his best position now and he's been proving it all season...he gets to play with the freedom his talents deserve, don't know why you take issue with that? Another poster says he was our best full back ever, well if he was I don't believe Henry would have moved him anywhere else and got away with it. No one has been on here knocking down the walls screaming for him to swap with GMAC at FB, have they now! You'd imagine there'd be an outcry if we moved our "best full back" ever anywhere else. You're talking tosh and so are others. As for Whelan you'd leave him suffering with loss of form at full forward...would you? To my mind he's talented enough to play anywhere in the forwards and midfield too if need be, why such little faith? He needs to be moved out to get him on the ball and recover his confidence. I hate this narrow mindedness...oh he's a full back, you can't play him anywhere else or he's only a full forward, he won't work at centre forward! Too often in Galway we drown in our lack of ambition or innovation.

Flaherty (National) - 30/05/2023 19:52:33